Union Pacific

341 reviews

Union Pacific Employee Reviews

Showing all 341 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Train Crew Conductor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 9, 2016
Not interested in doing a review on the company at this time n date.. You start off doing on call work, with no set days off,
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent career for those without a degree
Conductor (Former Employee) –  La Grande, ORFebruary 8, 2016
Long hours, a ton of rules and regulations, many hours spent away from family, a lot of bureaucracy, but the pay is great, benefits are outstanding, the co-workers are helpful, and you go home feeling like you really did something beneficial for the country.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong company good benifits
Foreman General - Mechanical Department (Current Employee) –  ILFebruary 3, 2016
Learning the railroad is its own , it is very interesting the daily funcions and how it all works. How locomotives run also is very interesting
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good paying job
Remote Control Locomotive Operator (Current Employee) –  conductorFebruary 2, 2016
Union Pacific is a good paying job with good benefits the down fall is you have little to no private life. Job security is based on seniority so if you have many years then you can work in a stable location if not you may be forced to work at several different places without knowing from one day to the next how long you will be there.
Pros
pay, benefits
Cons
work schedule, senoirty based
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Road Conductor (Former Employee) –  Northlake, ILFebruary 1, 2016
good benefits, constant work. unorganized, no quality of life time. enjoyed the work , great coworkers, stressful job , and vary dangerous, on call 24 hours a day.
Pros
great pay and benifits
Cons
dangerous, and demanding not only on your time but also your bodty and mind
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stragetic work environment
Track-Laborer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 1, 2016
Working for Union Pacific was a really great place to work and the labor was tuff. Long shifts but the work was expected to get done. The co-workers there worked well with one another.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job wth great potential
Thru Freight Conductor (Current Employee) –  WyomingJanuary 30, 2016
This is a solid company but management needs to place as high a value on employees as they do share holders. Balance is key to any successful operation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Freight Train Conductor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 27, 2016
Working for PPDG was a good experience as a recently discharged veteran to get a job back with the military as a civilian.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict management takes the enjoyment from work.
Track Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Twin Cities, MNJanuary 26, 2016
This company has a safety policy like nowhere else. And although this should seem like a good thing, trying to keep anyone from getting hurt and what not. It leaves you with no room to use common sense in day to day tasks. everything must be done strictly by the words in their rule book, which they use as a club to get people fired versus a guideline to work safely.
Pros
high level of compensation.
Cons
constantly having to watch your steps.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work at.
Intern - Information Technology (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 25, 2016
I love being there, everyone is so helpful and knowledgeable. Learnt a lot from the role i was assigned to. My co workers are so good. Most enjoyable part is to meet new people at work and learn new things.
Pros
excellent work culture
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Want to know more about Union Pacific?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy work and good co-workers.
Conductor (Current Employee) –  La Grande, ORJanuary 24, 2016
Crew chief was a very rewarding but very hard job. There was days that were slower that we could try and catch up on things, but for the most part it was a go go go job. Younger airmen were definitely the busiest people on the flight line. From the moment you step through the door to the moment you leave airmen will be doing any and all tasks that are available. Start of shift could be morning (launch jets), evening (quick-turns), or nights (catch jets). No matter what shift you were on there was always jobs to do. They could be a few big ones or a ton of little ones, but no matter what you were never done. If you thought you were done because your assigned jet was caught up you were swept off to work with another crew on their jet. This could be somewhat aggravating at times, but over all made us a tight group of workers. Also taught us not to be lazy and get the job done so you can give your friends a hand with their work if it was harder. Hardest part of the job was the long hrs on night shift and the long exercises we would do. Though it had its up sides, at least for me, and that was launching and catching the jets, that was fun.
Pros
Met a lot of great people, great benefits and good pay.
Cons
Lots of time from wife and far away from family.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great money, horrible life style.
Conductor (Former Employee) –  IllinoisJanuary 22, 2016
I worked on the train crew and the money was amazing. But a year in i got laid off with no unemployment from them or the state. Just got a call one day that i was no longer working. Also no schedule so impossible to have a life just live by the phone. If all you car about is the money to start out at 70k then its the job for you. In my opinion after doing it for a year, i would rather have a life and find a new job.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rail Employment
PROMOTED TO:Manager Terminal Operations-Topeka,KS (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 18, 2016
Long hours, physical labor in all types of weather condition, but overall a good company to work for. Excellent benefits/retirement.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job sucks but the money is great
Conductor (Current Employee) –  Northlake, ILJanuary 18, 2016
Managers are looking to fire employees daily, get called all different times of the day and work some different attitudes daily.
Pros
Money
Cons
Furlough / lay offs, time away from home, being on call 365 days a year
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! Loved it there
Conductor/Yard Switch man (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYJanuary 18, 2016
A typical work day for me was enjoyable and always tested my skills. I learned how to have pride and dedication towards the task I was assigned. All of my managers were great to me because they appreciated my hard work and self motivation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Running Locomotives
Locomotive Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 12, 2016
Running Locomotives is both challenging and rewarding. Being on call 24/7 and working every holiday takes its toll. Being on the road and in hotels every other day is extremely hard on a family.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Money
Conductor/Engineer (Current Employee) –  South Saint Paul, MNJanuary 10, 2016
The money is the best part of this career path. Long hours, being on call 24/7 and then the management is always looking for a reason to fire or suspend you. Job security comes with time but currently something like 40% are laid off.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are wonderful
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAJanuary 7, 2016
Employees bond together as a family and makes working a little bit more personal. Everyone helps each other whatever the situation maybe. Benefits are top notch.
Pros
Benefits!
Cons
Union dues are high and you don't get anything for your money except when your in trouble.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Conductor (Former Employee) –  South Pekin, ILJanuary 7, 2016
Loved the job was great at what i did learned to run engines. The best part was outside work, and the pay.. Traveled to lots of new places met lots of people/friends
Pros
Pay
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Locomotive Electrician
Supervisor Aaron Tyler (Former Employee) –  Pine Bluff, ARJanuary 6, 2016
Repairing locomotives was exciting loved the challenge each one presented.. Typical day consisted of a safety meeting then assignment of work.. I learned the processes in which to trouble shoot and diagnos issues with all types of locomotives using schematics and standard work parctices.. Management was very invlolved and wanted to make sure you succeded. Co-workers were great everyone got along and really enjoyed each others company.. the hardest part was the hours working third shift wasn't my favorite but the people I worked with made it that much better. Child hood dream working on Trains....
Pros
healthcare, pay
Cons
advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 341 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture