Union Pacific Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressfull enviroment
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 12, 2018
you are constantly looking over your shoulder to see if management is watching for the slightest mistake or anything they can interpret as something they can twist into a violation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Freight Car Inspector, Inbound (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJanuary 12, 2018
great company. Don't know why you guys are making me write a review. but whatever I'm just going to write a bunch of bs blah blah blah blah blah. whatver
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
FileNet Administrator (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 11, 2018
Learned alot on this assignment. Was able to complet what seemed like and impossible data center migration of a Tier 1 system with minimal downtime. Had to move 3 optical jukeboxes from St. Louis, MO. to Omaha, NE in a manner not to affect the massive customer service dept. Successfully pulled it of and gain allot of confidence and respect from my colleagues
Pros
Great team collaberation
Cons
Not much room for advancement as the employees stick around forever
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
in the elements, marine/army mentality
Flagger (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 8, 2018
its was a fantastic experience to be able to travel from town to town staying in very nice hotels, seen much landmarks and met a variety of different people. its an ethnically diverse company , fortune 250 company
Pros
good pay, family feel, every body matters
Cons
long hrs, 14-21 consistent days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good jog
Signalman (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 8, 2018
It was a great job for the past 6 years but unfortunately getting laid off. I would highly recommend Union Pacific but just expect to get laid off at some point
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees and compensation
Conductor/Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 7, 2018
I worked with a great bunch of railroaders that are like family to this day. Being away from home can be hard at times but the comradere and bonds that we developed are what helped us through!
Pros
Pay, benefits and relationships
Cons
Erratic work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Up
Conductor remote control operator (Current Employee) –  SLC, UTJanuary 7, 2018
It is a great job for someone who does not want to have a life or ever see their family it does pay well and has great benefits but the hours are horrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management practice
Engineer (Current Employee) –  ProvisoJanuary 6, 2018
They manage through intimidation. Always threatening discipline that will lead to dismissal for any rule infraction whether it be an extreme infraction or something as simple as not pausing long enough while dismounting a ladder.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and Collaborative
Marketing/Logistics Intern (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 4, 2018
I was a marketing intern at Union Pacific and I enjoyed almost every part of my experience. Unfortunately, this was an unpaid internship and I could no longer afford to be an intern.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union Jobs only..
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 4, 2018
Horrible working environment and poor management. If you are in the unions, you are fine. If not, you're a target. Look for a job anywhere else. Their corporate focus is on money only, no focus on quality of life, no focus on employee safety if it costs money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut Throat
Manager (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 3, 2018
People are quick to take credit for your knowledge, and will stab you in the back at any given chance. The work place there is very cliquey, and has an unhealthy atmosphere.
Pros
Paid lunch, nice gym
Cons
If you don't know someone, and aren't willing to move, you won't get far
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very relaxed and good benefits
mechanical service operator (Former Employee) –  Rawlins, WYJanuary 2, 2018
my job was to fuel and oil trains during my 8 hour shift. hardest part of the job was the working in the weather especially winter. the most important thing was the safety of our job. doing the job properly and safely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union Pacific
Operations Manager, Terminal (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 1, 2018
typical work day was anywhere from 12-15 hr days/nights, the culture as an OMT is deceptive....once finished the OMT program, it becomes a different world, especially if you are female. Sexism, harassment is rampant......reporting this to upper management only gets you labeled as a trouble maker and it becomes even worse. HOWEVER, the crews are amazing, they treated me with respect and taught me much.....this was the only enjoyable part of the job
Pros
the Crews
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career
Conductor/Switchman (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYJanuary 1, 2018
You may not have a set work schedule but you always know when your going to work, the pay is amazing, the benifits are incredible Safety is 1st above all. Working for the Railroad was by far the best job I've ever had.
Pros
Company Progession, Benifits, Steady Work
Cons
Time away from home, On call
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive Environment Ultimately Rewarding
Conductor (Former Employee) –  Avondale, LADecember 31, 2017
The job is somewhat repetitive but you are dealing with highly dangerous products. The pay won't necessarily make you rich, but your bills will stay paid. Retirement is probably the best benefit of the company. Overall, all facets seem to get along fairly well.
Pros
Steady work, Great retirement
Cons
Very competitive work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat and exhausting
Locomotive Engineer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 28, 2017
This is the only job I've ever had where managers don't lead, they only looking to write you up and fire you because it looks better to the FRA. You have no schedule and very little family time. you make really good money but at a cost.
Pros
great benifits
Cons
everything else about the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Manager Mechanical Engineering Car (Former Employee) –  DeSoto, MODecember 26, 2017
long hours
Bad management
Good pay
Shop work can cause injuries if not careful
Not many opportunities for advancement in the company
Ticket employees for breaking the rules
Pros
pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved putting the puzzle together
Train Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEDecember 20, 2017
Very high paced. Was not concerned about dispatcher job load. Kept adding territory to my desk over safety complaints from many dispatchers about job load.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced hard working environment
Conductor/Switchman (Former Employee) –  Green River, WYDecember 20, 2017
I enjoyed my time with the railroad. In the first five years you have to worry about furloughs but all in all a very good company to work for. I would definitely recommend anyone taking the job if given the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Work/Life Balance
Manager Locomotive Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEDecember 20, 2017
Management does not care about the employees anymore. Typical publicly traded company just cares about pleasing the shareholders at the expense of employees. Work/Life balance is horrible. Managers expect to work 60+ hours a week.
Pros
Used to have good benefits but those are slowly eroding as well
Cons
Work/Life balance is non-existent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Union Pacific. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 662 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.9
Culture
3.2