Find companies:
Union Pacific
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
138 reviews

Union Pacific Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machinist Helper
Work Equipment Machinist Helper (Current Employee), Denver, COApril 21, 2014
GOOD PLACE TO WORK. ONE OF A FEW COMPANIES THAT STILL HAS COMPANY CONTRIBUTED RETIREMENT PLAN. MOST COMPANIES NOW HAVE A 401K THAT YOU FINANCE. GOOD HEALTH INSURANCE FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY.
NO FRILLS AT WORK
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mechanic,Locomotive
Supervisor - locomotive/Mechanist (Former Employee), grand saline, texasApril 10, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: lots of travel
Great place , good money , health ins was top notch, work day 8 to 5 weekend off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused, business driven, excellent employee base
Manager (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 7, 2014
Pros: benifits, security
Cons: limited mobility without having to geographically re-locate
A normal day on the railroad guarantees a good night sleep, you are never wanting for something to do. There is much more going on behind the scenes of the iconic train carrying its cargo through local towns, over mountains and across the great plains of America. Management has proven to be well trained and continues to develop future generations of – more... leaders. The toughest part of working for this industry is grasping the geographical area which the tracks crisscross over this nation. In this we also find the best part of this industry – knowing that the economy is on the move. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours with good pay
Manager of Yard Operations (Former Employee), CaliforniaMarch 24, 2014
Pros: money, benefits
Cons: hours
managed ty&e employees, did multiple conference calls each day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Train crew (Former Employee), West Colton, CAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: the pay
Cons: make sure you have good boots. a whole lot of walking on uneven ground
If you love working outdoors. This is the perfect job. It's hard work, but at the same time very rewarding and worth it, because of the pay and the benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding Company
Manager of Intermodal Operations (Former Employee), Lathrop, CAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: working with vendors, contractors, and ground crews.
Cons: not employee friendly
Very stressful environment and NOT an employee friendly company. The work was interesting when you come into a mess, clean it all up, and watch it carry itself out. The co-workers are always fatigued. The worst part of the job is how much you are away from your family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Director of Operations (Former Employee), Omaha, NEMarch 12, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: many work hours
Good place to make a career. Good people working there.
Advancement is there for you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
constantly gone from home
Conductor (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARMarch 10, 2014
Pros: pay scale
Cons: hours away from home
Good job for a single man, terrible life for a family man, need to review how many trips are made in a month
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NICE JOB/LOW PAY
Conductor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 5, 2014
Pros: outdoors
Cons: pay
THE JOB IS ROUGH AND THE PAY IS LOW AND ROUGHER. VERY LOW MOVEMENT ON ADVANCEMENT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule
Conductor (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXFebruary 28, 2014
An enjoyable place to work with some long hours, but nice travel co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had family picnics,thanksgiving dinners.
Gate/Yard Clerk (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Pay was good considering the economy,the work was pretty easy and fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well-handled industry through years of transportation changes
Sr. Systems/Software Engineer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: nice facilities for mental-emotional-physical balance
Cons: could've been more sensitive to cultural, age, and gender equality
I began designing and writing software, which later advanced me into systems engineering and project management. I worked with Union Pacific subsidiaries, primarily with billing and accounting-related programs. My management was open-minded and willing to explore employee-led suggestions and approaches. My co-workers were very supportive towards each – more... others' learning curves and upward mobility. The most difficult part of job was supporting batch runs which required my attentiveness throughout the night. However, this was balanced with the strengthening of my personal skillset across several engineering disciplines – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't like it because I work overnight....
Gate Clerk (Current Employee), Mesquite, TXFebruary 4, 2014
Cons: pay not good
I want to be home with my daughter, they under pay and show favoritism .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The environment was a relaxed one but also exciting
Conductor/Switchman (Former Employee), Green River, WYJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: the pay was amazing
Cons: long hours in the cold
I thoroughly enjoyed my job with the Union Pacific. They treated me very well and pay was amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working for the Union Pacific Railroad!!!
FRA Certified Engineer/Conductor/Operator (Current Employee), Avondale, LAJanuary 28, 2014
I working on the road, while riding on the train, seeing the different location of our services unit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Hostler Driver (Former Employee), Long Beach CaliforniaJanuary 21, 2014
Very great company to work for. They really have great wages and benefit packages to offer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bias backstabbing letting drunks run the program
na (Former Employee), systemJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: 2 faced people
long days,do things totally different than policy.Management is in bread always looking for someone less than the one above all types of coworkers from excellent to very poor quality. dealing with stupidity,and working with people that hold their own
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Organized and expanding Company
Fireman Oiler/ MSO (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: great benefits for my family.
Cons: mandatory shift change
Union Pacific RailRoad taught me alot of things such as how to Lead, train, work smarter, and how to be a great team player. I gained a Certified Locomotive Engineer Lisence with the company and also good friends. Working as a team on a daily basis were my best time of the day getting the job done with other experience engineers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no advancement no raises no sympathy or gratitude
unloader (Current Employee), Mira Loma, CAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: good ramp manager
Cons: no breaks or raises. dead end.
I DO NOT WORK FOR UNION PACIFIC I ONLY WORK ON THEIR YARD UNION PACIFIC IS A VERY GOOD EMPLOYER TO WORK FOR. very little chance for advancement little pay long hours with no brakes no raises what so ever. No sympathy from higher ups what so ever or gratitude. no over time until over 10 hours of work. Caliber auto transfer higher ups wonder why no one – more... is willing to go the extra mile. My ramp manger is a good guy glad to be on his team anyone beyond that not so much. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high stress career
Locomotive Manager (Current Employee), Omaha, NEDecember 31, 2013
In charge of the Locomotive blue network witch includes NLR, FTW, and ST Louis terminals. I find opportunities for enhancing service, increasing productivity and reducing costs. I work in planning and analyzing data to monitor performance and plan improvements and demands of corridors lines to ensure that we meet internal and external client needs.

About Union Pacific

Union Pacific Corporation (UPC) is engaged in the transportation business. The Company’s operating company, Union Pacific – Read more