Find companies:
Union Pacific
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
223 reviews

Union Pacific Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work!
conductor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 11, 2015
Pros: all
Cons: none
I gained a great deal of conductor experience, I believe I can handle anything the railroad has to give me now that I have worked for such a great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNApril 7, 2015
Pros: great pay
Cons: no life
great job,greatest people to work with met people from all walks of life, truly one of the greatest expereinces of my life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, Dangerous job
Freight Conductor (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIApril 7, 2015
Pros: Good pay
Cons: All hours, in all areas, no rest.
Work various hours and shifts. Working with heavy equipment in all weather conditions. All the time you are to be on call.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job for single individuals
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 2, 2015
Pros: money
Cons: home time
good money not a lot of time at home. Safety is first priority. The people are great to work with. The biggest drawback was being able to spend time with kids, therefore causing problems in the family dynamics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging job, but no set stability
Conductor (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 1, 2015
I love the job itself, it is very challenging and pushes me everyday. Due to over hiring I am being laid off for an undetermined amount of time. Do to the constant on call schedule and the not knowing my future there I am seeking out something a little more stable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE WORKPLACE WITH LONG HOURS AWAY FROM HOME
Engineer (Current Employee), Monroe, LAMarch 31, 2015
Pros: EXCELLENT BENEFITS, HEALTHCARE
Cons: LONG HOURS, UNDISTURBED REST, LIVE BY THE PHONE
A TYPICAL DAY AT WORK STARTS WITH CREW CALLER GIVEN YOU YUR JOB AND TRAIN ID SO YOU CAN BE AT THE TERMINAL AT SPECIFIED TIME TO TAKE CONSUMER GOODS TO THE NEXT TERMINAL - CREW CHANGE POINT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough
Conductor (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXMarch 26, 2015
Pros: insurance
Cons: schedule
This job requires working all hours of the night with no definite work schedule until you've been there many many years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and focused on safety
Diesel Electrician (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILMarch 26, 2015
Union Pacific is a great company that makes safety a priority. The hiring process is thorough and ensures that new hires get a good understanding of the companies goals and values.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee), Bloomington CAMarch 23, 2015
Pros: tools and resources are very available.
Cons: non personal work environment.
Scheduling classes and preparation. Training fellow electricians in classroom and hands on. Learned technical aspects and training of Locomotives. Management is multi tiered. Love working with hands on projects and seeing a person have what is called and ah-ha moment. The time when a person shows a intuitive showing that you taught them something.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just a statistic
Conductor (Current Employee), Pueblo, COMarch 23, 2015
your are a number and nothing more, they spend most of their day trying to fire you, managment has no respect for the employees trying to do their work. not an ideal place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Groundsmen/Hostler Operator-Outdoor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 20, 2015
overall a great place to work however its very time consuming you cant plan anything because you never know your days off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Total Safety Culture Coordinator / Electrician (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 20, 2015
Benefits are fantastic. Transitioning culture with high retirement rate over next two years. Fantastic senior leadership with great vision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful company to work for. Outstanding leadership your teamor personnel that trained you are superb and well skilled in there field.
freight conductor (Former Employee), N Little Rock, ARMarch 18, 2015
Pros: all the benifits
Cons: walking up and down the tracks
The job is super and the people you work for are outstanding and well trained. the management is super the hardest part of the job is walking up and down the tracks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay for hard work
Locomotive Mechanic (Former Employee), Burnham Locomotive House, Denver, COMarch 12, 2015
Good pay for hard work mostly in a work partner arrangement. Choose your partner wisely, or you'll be doing the most. Good benefits. Good training available. Learn as you go, from a more experienced partner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail operations
Switchman/Brakeman (Former Employee), Dexter, MOMarch 10, 2015
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: shift work every 5 days
Enjoyed job. Would still be there if they had not closed down their operations in Arkansas. Good benefits and pay. The cons were rotating shift work every 5 days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are only a Number
Licensed Conductor and RCO operator (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 9, 2015
They hire you then after training they kick you to the curb because they hired too many people or something. Had a job quit that job for a railroad job completed their training then got furloughed now i don't have a job!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, you can see our great country in a completly different point of view, while being paid!
Service Engineer/ Conductor (Former Employee), North Little Rock ArkansasMarch 2, 2015
Pros: travel and great co-workers
Cons: on-call at all times
Selecting to a specific train, and transported freight by rail. Management was excellent and professional at all times. I loved my co-workers great group of hard working men. Hardest part of the job was constantly being on-call not having a definitive work schedule. My most enjoyable aspect was traveling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Train conductor
Train Conductor (Current Employee), Roseville, CAMarch 2, 2015
Pros: you work on your own when working
Cons: no work where you hired out, no work period
The company is not up front during the hiring process. If you were told that after 6 months of training and making only $19,000 that you would not be able to hold a job ( seniority driven) and if you are able to work it wouldn't be in the area you were hired. I would never have left my old job for this company if I would have known.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best major Railroad employers in the country
Signalman (Former Employee), Omaha, NEFebruary 18, 2015
Pros: challenging, good training, proper tools and equipment given to do the job with excellent compensation.
Cons: extensive travel away from home with no compensation.
Excellent training and job support. Long work days away from home but excellent compensation. Managed well, all though for management to function properly there are a bit to many managers overseeing a single project (overly managed). Good work environment, most employees are proud of their positions and willing to help fellow employees improve. The most difficult part of the job would have to be the incredible amount of travel required to get to the job site (without compensation). I found it to be a very rewarding job with great training and support as well as being challenging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
LOCOMOTIVE ENGINEER (Former Employee), North Platte, NEFebruary 18, 2015
Pros: great pay. not back breaking work.
Cons: poor management. union distractions.
If you don't mind poor management and being married to your job. The best money to be made is working the main line, the downfall is on call 24/7 and poor train dispatching.

About Union Pacific

Union Pacific Corporation (UPC) is engaged in the transportation business. The Company’s operating company, Union Pacific – Read more

Union Pacific Salaries

Conductor
$60,000 per year
Engineer
$80,000 per year
Manager of Operations
$85,000 per year
Dispatcher
$63,000 per year
Operator
$60,000 per year