Find companies:
Union Pacific
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
159 reviews

Union Pacific Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Company!!!
Field Signal Supervisor (Current Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 22, 2014
Pros: great work enviroment
Cons: on call 24/7 during all weather conditions
For the past 14 years I have served as a Journeyman Signal Control Maintainer for the Union Pacific Railroad. For the past 5 years, I have served as a Field Signal Control Planning Supervisor, and was responsible for ensuring that my Company remained in Compliance with both State and Federal environmental policies and guidelines.

With safety being – more... our primary responsibility, my position was to ensure that our employees maintain and pursue Continual Process Improvement. I am fluent in Hazardous Waste and Pollutant Management and Mitigation, with over 14 years of direct experience with a Class 5 railroad. I am also familiar with wet land policies, permitting, and adhering to both State and Federal Regulatory Guidelines and Procedures, with emphasis on both Environmental Employee Safety Behavior and Risk Mitigation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to for
work equipment manchanic (Current Employee), san antonio, txAugust 15, 2014
great place to work at lots benefits mangement is great co worker work together meet alot of different people keeping up with changes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay/benefits and job securement.
Machinist (Current Employee), Bloomington, CAAugust 3, 2014
Pros: good pay, good benefits, easy work
Cons: management, hours
The overall job is easy and not stressful. If you enjoy working on heavy equipment you will enjoy working here. Management is based upon micromanagement. This system of management does not work well with the employees and the work environment is hostile. The work can be difficult but overall is easy and fun. The hours suck. Its a union based job meaning – more... your job position is based upon seniority. There is 3 shifts. More than likely you will be placed on 3rd shift with a Tuesday , Wednesday off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Gate Clerk (Former Employee), Joliet, ILAugust 1, 2014
Pros: only worked 6 months out of the year
Cons: being harassed for not "kissing butt"
I was on a texas two step working 12 hr shifts, but the days off
in between was a plus. I was re-acclimated with the drivers' and loved my job. It wasn't hard to learn and I enjoyed it. I cannot say the same for the office people I worked with. Starting with the management, they definately have their favorites who can get away with anything from letting – more... certain clerks text, posting on FB, leaving work early without permission, not working at all while on their shift, taking 30 min breaks every 2 hrs, sleeping underneath the bosses desk (while working overnight), and its swept under the rug. IF you are NOT a butt kisser to the management, then you are harassed, treated unfairly if you did any of the above mentioned and they dispose of you without a reason. My most enjoyable part of my job was knowing that I was able to provide some kind of income for my daughters along with health benefits, and I knew what I was doing which made my shift there doable whether I spoke to anyone in that office or not. They all became invisible to me. I was there to do my job and I did it well, but I didn't have to subject myself to their games and compromise my morals or work ethic to do it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay, Young Managment
Conductor (Former Employee), UtahJuly 28, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: young managers looking to climb the corporate ladders. don't care about you.
Good paying job with good benefits. Averaged 12-14 hour days. Managers know how to manage people but know very little about actual train operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay and benifit
Fireman/Oiler (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great pay and benifits
Cons: relocation due to senority
great job pull train into workshop for repair,clean and fuel.pull unit out for other trainman to add power to unit making the haul
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Freight Train Conductor (Current Employee), Villa Grove, ILJuly 21, 2014
Great Pay and Benefits but long and random hrs of work. Train route is from Villa Grove IL to Chicago IL and takes about 10-12hrs on the train to get one way. Stay over night in the hotel and do it all over again the next day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of job security but lacks a good work/life balance.
Train Dispatcher (Current Employee), Omaha, NEJuly 20, 2014
The job is rewarding and it pays very well. However, the work/life balance is not great. It is also a very stressful work environment. Opportunities for advancement exist, but promotions mean even worse work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Information Technology Intern (Former Employee), Omaha NEJuly 12, 2014
Great place to learn technical aspects of a software project. Leadership, management and colleagues are dedicated and good to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Job Securtiy
Conductor (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 1, 2014
One mistake during training and they fired me and another student.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked at very many job functions.
Foreman-Railroad (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJune 30, 2014
my career at the UNION PACIFIC railroad was a very rewarding experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Trackman (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 28, 2014
I really enjoyed the people I worked with, they were like an extension of my family. In a time where pensions are disappearing, it's nice to have worked for an organization that still honors their retirees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Carman (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 19, 2014
N/A
The Job of being a carman is not a difficult task. I feel as though I have learned just about all there is to being a carman as I have been doing Heavy mechanic work for many years. I just do not see myself using any of the knowledge I have or the skills I have learned and I don't want to let the knowledge I have go without use to in an environment – more... where there are advancement opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful, but fun and always a challenge
Operations/Load Manager (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 10, 2014
A typical day here at the this position, is coming in, seeing and going over your turnover with the person you are relieving.. Looking at the line up of trains coming in or going out if were are creating an outbound train.. Ingate and out gate intermodal containers.. make sure the billing is correct on all flat cars and containers .. Reports, yard plans.. – more... Meetings and confrence calls.. make sure the tracks are switched correctly to be able to expidite faster and safer.. and alot more.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Overall a good place to work
Railroad Conductor (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJune 9, 2014
Pros: the ability to work independently and learn a lot.
Cons: poor managment, working on call, being exposed to all weather conditions.
Personally I think that Union pacific is a good place to work but has room for improvement through managment knowledge and managment employee relations. I think that if this was in place along with concrete policys Union Pacific Railroad would be a better place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal day at the office
Mechanical Service Operator (Current Employee), Denver, COJune 9, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no chance for advancement
A typical day at work is to either move locomotives at or clean shop. I have learned that management is not their to help you advance. I get along with my coworkers and am well liked. The hardest part of my job is the daily drama that happens at work. There is really no enjoyable part of the job anymore. Was a good company to work for when I started – more... but with my education that I have they wont give me the chance for advancement – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It takes a certain type of person
Engineer/Conductor (Former Employee), MinnesotaJune 5, 2014
Pros: pay/benefits
Cons: hours/management
Working on the railroad entails working in all types of weather, not having a life outside of work (working on call), and working with management that watches for you to do something wrong. I personally enjoyed it, but illness prevented me from continuing my employment. Benefits and the pay are the top plusses from working on the railroad, although – more... you won't have time to spend. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benifits, poor management
Remote Control Operator(RCO) (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJune 1, 2014
Work day consist of dealing with yard switching of freight trains in the open elements all day with little to no breaks in a 12 hr shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent co-workers with a family like environment but terrible management.
Conductor/Engineer (Current Employee), Boone, IAMay 30, 2014
Pros: decent pay and good benefits.
Cons: chaotic work schedule, always looking over your shoulder for a manager.
Union Pacific is a very different place to work than any other job because of the chaotic schedule. Being on call 24/7 and unable to plan things ahead of time can be very draining on an individual and their health and on family harmony. I get called anytime day or night one and one half hours before I'm on duty and then UP has me for 12 hours, or more – more... sometimes. I'm only allowed to perform duty for 12 hours but that doesn't mean I won't sit around waiting for a ride home or to a hotel for another 5 or 6 hours depending on if someone in the Omaha dispatching center has thought ahead or not.

Management is taught to manage by fear and get failures as they are required to present a certain amount to the FRA (Federal Railroad Administration) each month. If they don't get failures then according to the higher management and the FRA, something is wrong because nobody works that perfectly. The management also constantly keeping us in fear of being "fired" whenever we do something wrong. Union Pacific thinks they own their employees and can do whatever they want with them despite the employee's being a part of a union.

The bright spot of working for Union Pacific are that my co-workers are very much like a family. I've made many good friends working there and many of them I consider brothers (and sisters) in a way as we all go through the same situations each day together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay
Conductor (Former Employee), Denver, COMay 20, 2014
Hours are long but pay is great. Travel is a requirement and the job is based on seniority.

About Union Pacific

Union Pacific Corporation (UPC) is engaged in the transportation business. The Company’s operating company, Union Pacific – Read more