Find companies:
Union Pacific
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
148 reviews

Union Pacific Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Trackman (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 28, 2014
I really enjoyed the people I worked with, they were like an extension of my family. In a time where pensions are disappearing, it's nice to have worked for an organization that still honors their retirees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Carman (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 19, 2014
N/A
The Job of being a carman is not a difficult task. I feel as though I have learned just about all there is to being a carman as I have been doing Heavy mechanic work for many years. I just do not see myself using any of the knowledge I have or the skills I have learned and I don't want to let the knowledge I have go without use to in an environment – more... where there are advancement opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful, but fun and always a challenge
Operations/Load Manager (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 10, 2014
A typical day here at the this position, is coming in, seeing and going over your turnover with the person you are relieving.. Looking at the line up of trains coming in or going out if were are creating an outbound train.. Ingate and out gate intermodal containers.. make sure the billing is correct on all flat cars and containers .. Reports, yard plans.. – more... Meetings and confrence calls.. make sure the tracks are switched correctly to be able to expidite faster and safer.. and alot more.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Overall a good place to work
Railroad Conductor (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJune 9, 2014
Pros: the ability to work independently and learn a lot.
Cons: poor managment, working on call, being exposed to all weather conditions.
Personally I think that Union pacific is a good place to work but has room for improvement through managment knowledge and managment employee relations. I think that if this was in place along with concrete policys Union Pacific Railroad would be a better place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal day at the office
Mechanical Service Operator (Current Employee), Denver, COJune 9, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no chance for advancement
A typical day at work is to either move locomotives at or clean shop. I have learned that management is not their to help you advance. I get along with my coworkers and am well liked. The hardest part of my job is the daily drama that happens at work. There is really no enjoyable part of the job anymore. Was a good company to work for when I started – more... but with my education that I have they wont give me the chance for advancement – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It takes a certain type of person
Engineer/Conductor (Former Employee), MinnesotaJune 5, 2014
Pros: pay/benefits
Cons: hours/management
Working on the railroad entails working in all types of weather, not having a life outside of work (working on call), and working with management that watches for you to do something wrong. I personally enjoyed it, but illness prevented me from continuing my employment. Benefits and the pay are the top plusses from working on the railroad, although – more... you won't have time to spend. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benifits, poor management
Remote Control Operator(RCO) (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJune 1, 2014
Work day consist of dealing with yard switching of freight trains in the open elements all day with little to no breaks in a 12 hr shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent co-workers with a family like environment but terrible management.
Conductor/Engineer (Current Employee), Boone, IAMay 30, 2014
Pros: decent pay and good benefits.
Cons: chaotic work schedule, always looking over your shoulder for a manager.
Union Pacific is a very different place to work than any other job because of the chaotic schedule. Being on call 24/7 and unable to plan things ahead of time can be very draining on an individual and their health and on family harmony. I get called anytime day or night one and one half hours before I'm on duty and then UP has me for 12 hours, or more – more... sometimes. I'm only allowed to perform duty for 12 hours but that doesn't mean I won't sit around waiting for a ride home or to a hotel for another 5 or 6 hours depending on if someone in the Omaha dispatching center has thought ahead or not.

Management is taught to manage by fear and get failures as they are required to present a certain amount to the FRA (Federal Railroad Administration) each month. If they don't get failures then according to the higher management and the FRA, something is wrong because nobody works that perfectly. The management also constantly keeping us in fear of being "fired" whenever we do something wrong. Union Pacific thinks they own their employees and can do whatever they want with them despite the employee's being a part of a union.

The bright spot of working for Union Pacific are that my co-workers are very much like a family. I've made many good friends working there and many of them I consider brothers (and sisters) in a way as we all go through the same situations each day together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay
Conductor (Former Employee), Denver, COMay 20, 2014
Hours are long but pay is great. Travel is a requirement and the job is based on seniority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Diversity is what makes it a great place to work
Chief Clerk (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOMay 8, 2014
every day is different because you meet so many different people all the time, never a dull moment either because someone always ends up doing something silly to get a laugh out of a few others
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machinist Helper
Work Equipment Machinist Helper (Current Employee), Denver, COApril 21, 2014
GOOD PLACE TO WORK. ONE OF A FEW COMPANIES THAT STILL HAS COMPANY CONTRIBUTED RETIREMENT PLAN. MOST COMPANIES NOW HAVE A 401K THAT YOU FINANCE. GOOD HEALTH INSURANCE FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY.
NO FRILLS AT WORK
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mechanic,Locomotive
Supervisor - locomotive/Mechanist (Former Employee), grand saline, texasApril 10, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: lots of travel
Great place , good money , health ins was top notch, work day 8 to 5 weekend off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused, business driven, excellent employee base
Manager (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 7, 2014
Pros: benifits, security
Cons: limited mobility without having to geographically re-locate
A normal day on the railroad guarantees a good night sleep, you are never wanting for something to do. There is much more going on behind the scenes of the iconic train carrying its cargo through local towns, over mountains and across the great plains of America. Management has proven to be well trained and continues to develop future generations of – more... leaders. The toughest part of working for this industry is grasping the geographical area which the tracks crisscross over this nation. In this we also find the best part of this industry – knowing that the economy is on the move. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours with good pay
Manager of Yard Operations (Former Employee), CaliforniaMarch 24, 2014
Pros: money, benefits
Cons: hours
managed ty&e employees, did multiple conference calls each day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Train crew (Former Employee), West Colton, CAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: the pay
Cons: make sure you have good boots. a whole lot of walking on uneven ground
If you love working outdoors. This is the perfect job. It's hard work, but at the same time very rewarding and worth it, because of the pay and the benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding Company
Manager of Intermodal Operations (Former Employee), Lathrop, CAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: working with vendors, contractors, and ground crews.
Cons: not employee friendly
Very stressful environment and NOT an employee friendly company. The work was interesting when you come into a mess, clean it all up, and watch it carry itself out. The co-workers are always fatigued. The worst part of the job is how much you are away from your family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Director of Operations (Former Employee), Omaha, NEMarch 12, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: many work hours
Good place to make a career. Good people working there.
Advancement is there for you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
constantly gone from home
Conductor (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARMarch 10, 2014
Pros: pay scale
Cons: hours away from home
Good job for a single man, terrible life for a family man, need to review how many trips are made in a month
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NICE JOB/LOW PAY
Conductor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 5, 2014
Pros: outdoors
Cons: pay
THE JOB IS ROUGH AND THE PAY IS LOW AND ROUGHER. VERY LOW MOVEMENT ON ADVANCEMENT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule
Conductor (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXFebruary 28, 2014
An enjoyable place to work with some long hours, but nice travel co-workers.

About Union Pacific

Union Pacific Corporation (UPC) is engaged in the transportation business. The Company’s operating company, Union Pacific – Read more