Find companies:
Union Rescue Mission
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 reviews

Union Rescue Mission Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different people in the shelter, made it very challening
Pm Cook (Former Employee), Wichita, KSSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: inventing different meals
Cons: better working condition
Going in the kitchen, speaking with the supervisor about the evening meals. We had a group of 4 employees who all helped put the evening meals together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictable and fast paced work environment, very diverse location
Coordinator, Volunteer Department (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 19, 2014
Pros: many opportunities to grow as an individual
Cons: not a team-oriented environment, a lot of burn out.
A typical day at work included communicating with volunteers via email, telephone, and in person. Duties included scheduling new volunteer orientations, creating new processes to ensure an easier sign up process, managing hundreds of weekly volunteers (scheduling, processing with background checks, ensuring security protocol was met). Entering and evaluating – more... the previous day's volunteer hours and experiences. Ensuring the volunteer needs of the mission were properly met, and creating a safe environment for both clients and volunteers of the mission.

I learned how to become the bridge between two different cultures (on Skid Row and off Skid Row), as well as how to effectively communicate with departments and volunteers to meet a goal (event, volunteer opportunities, etc.).

The hardest part of the job is that it required me to work every weekend, which took away from time with my husband.

The most enjoyable part of the job was having an office that was on the ground floor on Skid Row, so I got to have a lot of interaction with the clients of the mission and help in ways that were not part of my job description. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
dental student (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 5, 2014
Many patients, great experience
Once a week for 6 months, get exposed to different treatment plans. Help patients get a better smile without cost.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was such a great experience it is like working with family
Clerk (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 9, 2014
This job isn't really a job it is more like a blessing to help the less fortunate and provide support for people that have none.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace serving those in need
Program Coordinator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAFebruary 27, 2014
My last experience is as a Program Coordinator. Before taking this position I worked in the Food Service dept. in which I was already knowlegeable about there procedures. When I worked in the dept I was a line server and dishwasher. I was a all around utility person as well. I enjoyed the prep work of helping prepare15 to 18 hundred plates of food a – more... day. I had the the chance to stay in the dept with a managing position. I held the operating supervisor position before. But I want to deepen my ministry involvement. So i took the Program Coordinators position. I love to cook and prepare foods. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy productive job
Intake Clerk/ Donations (Former Employee), Sylmar, CANovember 19, 2013
I loved volunteering at union rescue mission. I loved helping families out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union Rescue Mission
Volunteer (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 18, 2013
This is volunteer work. They are doing a great thing for the community in the name of Christ.I went there with a youth ministry and I highly recommend it to take a trip over there and see what Union is doing for Los Angeles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a very rewarding job
Lead Case Manager/Housing Advocate (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: being able to interact with all ages to end their homelessness
Cons: not being able to help everyone
The Gateway Lead Case Manager is responsible for the daily management of one of Union Rescue Missions transitional housing facilities for homeless women and men with mental illness and/or other special needs. This position works as part of an interdisciplinary direct service team, providing supportive services to residents that will assist them in the – more... stabilization and maintenance of housing. The Gateway Lead Case Manager is the accessible point-of-contact for residents, staff, and volunteers, and must be skilled at problem-solving resident issues, crisis situations, and facility emergencies. The Gateway Lead Case Manager plays a key role in creating a safe and home-like environment for residents that promotes community and well-being. This position will work collaboratively with other staff members to plan and execute life skills and community activities. Additionally, this position will supervise other Gateway Case Manager staff as assigned and report directly to the Guest Hospitality Supervisor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work to learn compasion for people that have it alot worse then the average person.
Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: free lunch, working with at risk youth, and being able to share my life to touch someone else's
Cons: working for a non-profit is kind of hard as far as salaries and pay compansation.
A typical day working as the Volunteer Coordinator at the Union Rescue Mission started at 7:30 am with greeting all homeless clients sitting around my office front door. I then would go get daily volunteer sign in sheets and log in all volunteer and court committed volunteer hrs. I gave historical tours to different organizations ,donors, law enforcement, – more... and just random people that wanted to know about the mission and what we did. Every other Saturday I would give New Volunteer Orientations and tours. I also Helped coordinate special holiday events and monitored all monetary and hygiene donations. Working at the Union rescue Mission was a great experience for me, especially when I got to help people get into one of many programs we had available especially our drug and alcohol program. It was nice to see some come in broken and desperate and a year later see the leave clean and healthy and go home to be productive people. I had the best team and was really close to my co-workers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bloom from where you are!
Front Desk Coordinator (Former Employee), Wichita, KSAugust 18, 2012
Pros: learning to make decisions.
Cons: looking from where to bloom from.
The Union Rescue mission help me stay proficent in my work in realigning
a whole new structure to my life. Seeing others progress back into society is a challenge. It takes heart helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteering
office assistant (Former Employee), los angeles caApril 13, 2012
nice work area an good people to work with an i really got work done an i loved volunteering there

About Union Rescue Mission

Union Rescue Mission (URM) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to serving the poor and homeless. Established in 1891, – Read more