Find companies:
UNION TANK CAR COMPANY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

UNION TANK CAR COMPANY Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Welder/Set-up (Former Employee), East Chicago, INNovember 12, 2013
Union tank was a good place to work. They were good to their employee's, and was a diverse work place. When it came down to them shutting down the Indiana location they offered to either send employee's to learn a trade or transfer to a different location
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work building tanker cars for the railroad
Certified Welder (Former Employee), East Chicago, INOctober 1, 2013
Pros: pay, benefits, experience
Cons: poor management
Weld sill and bolster sub assemblies, end frames, heater coil straps and ties, roll plates into tank shells, train new hires, team leader for the tub line, most managers had college degrees but no experience in the field, co-workers were friendly but competitive because it being a union shop, the hardest part was trying to do the best job possible with – more... the old and outdated equipment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company good business plan
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: 6 days a week 12 hour plus days have become normal
Good core group of inspectors. With new production managers, quality and safety are no longer equals to production. Has top notch RT & UT equipment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved that job
Car Repairman (Former Employee), Longview, TXJune 20, 2013
Pros: good wages good manegment
Cons: the plant shut down
good place to work i loved what i did there but the plant shut down
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad environment to work in
Welder (Former Employee), Ville Platte, LAMay 28, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: bad working conditions.
The atmosphere is so negative. The working conditions are unsafe. It is cold in the winter and hot in the summer. It floods when it rains.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible culture of management.
repairman - temporary (Former Employee), Galena Park, TxMay 22, 2013
Pros: straight days
Cons: management from lower to the top
Galena park Tx. Temporary.
Got about 50 days in and realized that my time was better spent somewhere else. Management is incompetent, degrades employees. Very old unsafe equipment. No incentive whatsoever to continue here. Will continue my job search.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all that bad
Salaried Employee (Current Employee), LouisianaMarch 15, 2013
Good job great benefits. I've worked in better environments but all in all it wasn't terrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westaff Temporary Agency
Plant Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Alexandria, LAFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: named employee of the month, makeover, magazine article
Cons: salary
They helped me to get my position at Union Tank Car. They provided me with an "after college" makeover. Featrued me in the local magazine about college students & their struggle to find work after college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Machine operator (Former Employee), East Chicago, INJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: layoffs
Great palce to work except for the constant lay off time (3 months at a time)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced,lots of work
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Stanley, NDOctober 29, 2012
Pros: good benefits
A great company to work for. A very top notch company to work for. Great benefits. Lots of room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place for minorities
Benefits Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 9, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: must be part of a clique to be successful.
Not a good place for minorities, particularly in HR. Must be able to become part of clique and must show unearned respect to those in the higher positions within the department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAJune 25, 2012
Pros: company lunches for all employees
Cons: healthcare benefit premiums
Multi-tasking, answer phones, process personnel updates, payroll, accounts payable, new hire orientation, review applications, background checks.

Learned to appreciate the freedom to work alone with little supervision.

Several managers through the 18 years there, with very different views. All with the vision of success and customer service for the – more... outcome of the Company.

I enjoyed my co-workers had a very good relationship with salary and hourly staff.

The termination process, because I hated for someone to lose their job.

Going to work everyday with a smile on my face, because I enjoyed my career there and the flexibiity of work schedule when needed to make a change. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Master X-Ray Welder (Former Employee), East Chicago, INJune 22, 2012
Cons: company was moving
Assigned your tasks and complete them. I learned how to flux core weld with 1/6th in wire,confined space entry requirements, and the abilty to master air-arc gouging. Management was good, co- workers were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At Corporate location it was a great place to work
Fleet Marketing (Former Employee), Chicago, IlMarch 3, 2012
Pros: team work mentality, fun atmosphere, great product
Cons: limited upward movement from the position i had.
Business is Business, however you have to enjoy your career. I in fact did enjoy it. I only left as a chance to be in law enforcement presented itself. I was happy while working there. Hard work, but a good group of people. If I had the opportunity to go back and stay... I most surely would have. If my position ever became available I would apply again.

About UNION TANK CAR COMPANY

With more monikers than most, Marmon monitors a mélange of more than 130 autonomous manufacturing and service companies. A subsidiary – Read more

UNION TANK CAR COMPANY Photos