United American Insurance Company Employee Reviews in United States

Found 33 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No real growth opportunities
Insurance Agent /Health (Former Employee) –  Atlanta Suburban areasJune 2, 2016
this was a part time position for me, and they really don't train well so, it was an 'uphill' battle.
This was an outside sales position in which they didn't give you very many good leads to set appointments with.

The challenges were great- had to fight to get to the good leads. There was no training hardly at all.

If you're self made and have other means of income - this is a fine job. If not, don't expect to make any money for years!
Pros
Work from home position
Cons
Again, no real training
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid Cancer Claims
Senior Claims Examiner (Former Employee) –  McKinney, TXApril 19, 2016
Came in and ran claims through the Medicare calculator to determine what the Medicare expected amount would be to pay them there rate. Would pay the grandfathered people the old way and pay them more than what they should have been paid on claims.
Pros
Helping dying people
Cons
Knowing the people were going to die
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
accep inbound/outbound calls for customers applying for life insurance
Quality Assurance Representative (Former Employee) –  Mckinney TxAugust 25, 2015
I accept inbound and make outbound phone calls to people who are applying for life insurance. I would ask a series of health questions and submit that information to processing so that they will make a decision to determine whether or not they are eligible
Pros
Nice people to work with
Cons
Management is not willing to work with you if you are sick or unable to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this company
Sr. Programmer/Analyst (Former Employee) –  McKinney, TXAugust 10, 2015
Best company I ever worked for. Great pension plan. Best people to work with. I wish I could do more programming there. Good health and dental insurance.
Pros
Get to wear jeans on Friday
Cons
Had to wear business casual Monday thru Thursday
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an ethical company
Independent Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 28, 2015
After being laid off at AT&T I decided to get get my Insurance sales license.

This was the one and only company I worked for selling insurance.

I am a very ethical person so this company was not for me.
Pros
i learned a new area getting my license
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telemarketing
Telemarketer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 12, 2014
Manual cold calls customers, set appointments for interested clients
,and filling out forms concerning schedules for insurance agents to make sale calls. A floor manager made sure proper calling techniques were used by all coworkers..Cold calling to individual customers. Convenient at times because you could work from home at times..
Pros
work from home at times
Cons
commission basis
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning everyday
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  McKinneyOctober 22, 2014
You have to be ready to take incoming calls everyday. You will learn about life insurance and what it is all about. The management is constantly evolving. You will meet new people everyday. The hardest part about the job is when you have to tell a customer bad news. The most enjoyable part is when you are able to assist them in what they needed.
Pros
learning about life insurance
Cons
not able to move within the company
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
insurance agent
Exclusive Agent (Former Employee) –  Tucson,AZJuly 30, 2014
Company out of business. assisted individuals in obtaining limited health insurance
Pros
obtained az health insurance license
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent company with room to advance
Agent Recruiter (Current Employee) –  McKinney, TXJune 3, 2014
This is company that gives an employee all the tools they need to be successful, and a front runner in agent driven production.
Pros
full vestment and 401k
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drama
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  McKinney, TXApril 16, 2014
The hardest part of job talking to supervisor they get mad. Typical day customer on hold all time, missing checks customers sent in.
Pros
they hire easy
Cons
supervisor don't communicate, they barly want to answer question. they change you pay, also its comission (per piece)
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice setting
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dunwoody, GeorgiaJanuary 17, 2014
filing, answering calls, faxing, data entry
learned how to adjust to all kinds of agents/personalities
no co-workers just my boss, she was great
hardest part was the drive there
meetings & conferences where the best part of my job finally people in the house... :)
Pros
my own boss
Cons
very far from home
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and pleasant environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  McKinney, TXDecember 29, 2013
Pleasant environment, enjoyed working with the people there
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Investment Accounting Specialist (Former Employee) –  McKinney, TXOctober 23, 2013
Everyone is friendly and the pay is good. I learned various jobs and was able to advance within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing an Office
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 29, 2013
Managing the day to day activities within a busy office like this one was, allowed me the opportunity to develop excellent phone etiquette with policyholders, potential clients, insurance agents, the branch manager, and corporate contacts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Interesting place to work.
Refund Auditor (Former Employee) –  McKinney, TXJune 19, 2013
A Typical day would be to collect all mail and go through and code all invoices then key in all invoices and print checks out.
Pros
run for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold call sales of insurance
Licensed Life and Health Agent (Former Employee) –  Deltona, FLJune 12, 2013
Make cold phone calls to setup appointments, drive to meet possible clients for possible sales.
Pros
can set own schedule.
Cons
cold calling. no hourly pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not have a lot of opportunity in my location
Independent Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Longwood, FLMarch 19, 2013
I was to sell medicare supplement polices to senior citizens, however, most of the lead generation was for areas in Orlando, and I was 60 miles south in Lakeland. I did not have many leads for my area, and therefore did not sell as much as my coworkers.
Cons
lack of local leads.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace that helped consumers understand and choose Life and Health Insruance to fit their needs.
INSURANCE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Strongsville, OHMarch 4, 2013
Calling to set appointments or going to homes or businesses to sell insurance. The hardest part was only making commission. I enjoyed helping people pick a policy that was financially suitable for their needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  McKinney, TXMarch 4, 2013
Entered life insurance applications from all over the United States.
Pros
got to listen to music or audio books while i worked
Cons
hard data entry
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sold insurance on commission.
Licensed agent (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OhFebruary 6, 2013
Cold calling customers, drove around all day burning gas. Spent very little time in the office and had to spend many hours driving.
Pros
seeing and meeting people.
Cons
straight commission
Was this review helpful?Yes3No

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United American Insurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.3

United American Insurance Company Reviews by Location