Find companies:
United American Insurance Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

United American Insurance Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
insurance agent
Exclusive Agent (Former Employee), Tucson,AZJuly 30, 2014
Pros: obtained az health insurance license
Cons: everything
Company out of business. assisted individuals in obtaining limited health insurance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent company with room to advance
Agent Recruiter (Current Employee), McKinney, TXJune 3, 2014
Pros: full vestment and 401k
This is company that gives an employee all the tools they need to be successful, and a front runner in agent driven production.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drama
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), McKinney, TXApril 16, 2014
Pros: they hire easy
Cons: supervisor don't communicate, they barly want to answer question. they change you pay, also its comission (per piece)
The hardest part of job talking to supervisor they get mad. Typical day customer on hold all time, missing checks customers sent in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice setting
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Dunwoody, GeorgiaJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: my own boss
Cons: very far from home
filing, answering calls, faxing, data entry
learned how to adjust to all kinds of agents/personalities
no co-workers just my boss, she was great
hardest part was the drive there
meetings & conferences where the best part of my job finally people in the house... :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and pleasant environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), McKinney, TXDecember 29, 2013
Pleasant environment, enjoyed working with the people there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Investment Accounting Specialist (Former Employee), McKinney, TXOctober 23, 2013
Everyone is friendly and the pay is good. I learned various jobs and was able to advance within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing an Office
Office Manager (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJuly 29, 2013
Managing the day to day activities within a busy office like this one was, allowed me the opportunity to develop excellent phone etiquette with policyholders, potential clients, insurance agents, the branch manager, and corporate contacts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Interesting place to work.
Refund Auditor (Former Employee), McKinney, TXJune 19, 2013
Pros: run for advancement
A Typical day would be to collect all mail and go through and code all invoices then key in all invoices and print checks out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold call sales of insurance
Licensed Life and Health Agent (Former Employee), Deltona, FLJune 12, 2013
Pros: can set own schedule.
Cons: cold calling. no hourly pay.
Make cold phone calls to setup appointments, drive to meet possible clients for possible sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not have a lot of opportunity in my location
Independent Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Longwood, FLMarch 19, 2013
Cons: lack of local leads.
I was to sell medicare supplement polices to senior citizens, however, most of the lead generation was for areas in Orlando, and I was 60 miles south in Lakeland. I did not have many leads for my area, and therefore did not sell as much as my coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace that helped consumers understand and choose Life and Health Insruance to fit their needs.
INSURANCE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Strongsville, OHMarch 4, 2013
Calling to set appointments or going to homes or businesses to sell insurance. The hardest part was only making commission. I enjoyed helping people pick a policy that was financially suitable for their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee), McKinney, TXMarch 4, 2013
Pros: got to listen to music or audio books while i worked
Cons: hard data entry
Entered life insurance applications from all over the United States.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sold insurance on commission.
Licensed agent (Former Employee), Toledo, OhFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: seeing and meeting people.
Cons: straight commission
Cold calling customers, drove around all day burning gas. Spent very little time in the office and had to spend many hours driving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun while it lasted
Recruiting Agent (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 7, 2013
I'm not really into selling insurance, but I enjoyed being a recruiting agent for United American Insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Fast Paced Environment
Travel Intern (Former Employee), McKinney, TXDecember 28, 2012
A typical day at work included receiving flight information from agents and filing paperwork for upcoming conventions. I also assisted the Director of Travel at the annual convention, which included working the hospitality desk, compiling information packets, setting the stage with awards and handling guest complaints. I enjoyed this internship experience – more... because it allowed me to be exposed to a fast paced environment that has new challenges every day. I also enjoyed working with agents from all across the nation as well as executives within the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company ok
Agent Licensing Specialist (Former Employee), McKinney, TXOctober 6, 2012
Cons: low pay
Worked on computer daily, writing memos, reviewing applicants information. Management and co-workers were pleasant. working on
computer all day was difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UA insurance is a great company for those that need experience in working on their own.
AE/Licensed Sales Representative (Former Employee), Maumelle, ARSeptember 24, 2012
Pros: great experience in being an independent sales agent
Cons: excessive travel
At United American we prospected potential clients in the market for individual and supplemental insurance. The management was very knowledgeable but the turnover seemed to be a problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Producer (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAAugust 19, 2012
Cold call insurance inquiries. visitation and sales pitch. if interested, sign and collect check. Commission arrives shortly. Continue with next client
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UNITED AMERICAN INSURANCE IS A WONDERFUL COMPANY TO WORK FOR
Executive Secretary (Former Employee), McKinney, TXAugust 18, 2012
Pros: very nice bosses to work with as well as all coworkers
I would come into the office answer phones for my two bosses and any unfinished business from the day before. Get coffee ready for everyone. I ran erands for my bosses frequently. I did whatever they needed. I am very computer literate. I type 55wpm and I learn quickly.I am a hard worker and VERY dependable. The hardest part of my job was filing Annual – more... Statements - it was not that it was hard just EXTREMELY maticulus and we had a lot of VERY important deadlines to meet with all of the states we were doing business in so we would work all day until late at night and all weekend starting in February and it would not end until April. It was exhausting but rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Vancouver, WAAugust 13, 2012
Pros: fun and enjoyable
Cons: no benefits
This was a beginning to my Insurance career.

Everything I could about the business

There was only one Manager here and we got a long just fine.

Co workers were great and learned quite a bit for everyone.

Enjoyed going to work everyday.

About United American Insurance Company

United American Insurance, a subsidiary of Torchmark, lights the path for Medicare customers. The firm sells supplemental Medicare – Read more