Find companies:
United Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

United Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A joke of a bank
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Parkersburg, WVAugust 28, 2014
Cons: pay, treatment of employees, no advancement
This bank is a joke of a company. There is zero appreciation towards employees and absolutely no professionalism. You would think it would be more professional at one of the biggest branches but it is far from it. They like to hire people with well known last names and then give them special treatment. They will screw over an employee that has been – more... with the company for many years to make sure those people with last names get what they want. The pay is very poor for the work that is expected. If you go to any other bank, you get paid more for half the work load. The ethics there are unbelievable. They have family members in charge of or over another family member. Those people also get special treatment and promotions handed to them. They also lie to employees saying that they are giving them a promotion to another job and then go back on their word. Just think long and hard if you are thinking about applying here. The only benefit is that you will gain experience to go elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to Work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Morgantown, WVUMay 19, 2014
Pros: "bankers' hours"
Cons: to many to list
Some of the employees are nice but overall a terrible place to work. The pay is terrible and what you are expected to do for that pay is outrageous. There is a lot do favoritism shown to females and others with connections beyond the workplace. They say advancement is from within but in my time there, more than half the open positions were filled from – more... outside. 6 day work weeks leave little time outside of the job. I could go on but please only use this place as a last resort. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start up place for a career
Assistant Senior Teller (Former Employee), Hurricane, WVAugust 10, 2013
Lengthy and drawn out advancement process, worked along side management, duties were the same each day, training wasn't too bad, very friendly and helpful people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for!
BSA/AML/Risk Management Specialist (Current Employee), Chantilly, VAAugust 7, 2013
Pros: no dress code if you work in the back office
Cons: everything - nothing good to say
The pay is awful; their is no leadership; the pay raises are almost so low that it is disrespectful to even issue the raise in the first place; the management is a joke; you are unappreciated to say the least; their benefits aren't great; you have no room to advance, and there is discrimination within the workplace. Need I say more?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Day
Sales Associate (Teller) (Current Employee), Martinsburg, WVJune 18, 2013
Pros: vacation time
Cons: not a lot of room for advancement, not challenging
Each day is packed full. There is always something to do which keeps all employees going. I have a wonderful manager and believe that she is incredibly personable, while also being a strong leader. Id say the hardest part of my job is coming across customers with issues im unable to help with; do to the fact that as tellers we are limited to what we – more... can do as far as account maintenance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed & poor pay.
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee), West VirginiaMay 7, 2013
Pros: banker hours, health insurance package
Cons: pay, poorly ran, understaffed, no over time exceptions
Poor pay, job advancement based on relation to upper management or appearance instead of skill, high turn over, poor executive decisions, outdated corporate environment, lack of resources, and very stressful high tension environment with some co-workers. Do not waste your time here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underwhelmed
Full Time Teller (Current Employee), Morgantown, WVApril 18, 2013
Pros: work hours, holiday and sick pay, benifits.
Cons: management, values (or lack thereof).
I was really looking forward to working for this company and starting what I had hoped would turn into a life long career. United gave me the worst first impression I have ever had of a job. Between the disorganization and having managment talk to me like I was four, I was very underwhelmed. After only working there for two months, I knew I needed to – more... find somewhere else to buile a career. The final straw was when a co-worker was promoted because she was pretty (very nice and very promising as an employee, but still pretty) after only having worked there for two weeks...the worst part, they made no attempt to hide the fact that her promotion was due to looks. Not impressed at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Bankers hours and holidays
Management (Current Employee), Wheeling, WVMarch 14, 2013
Great hours and holidays paid off. Sick time plus vacation time immediately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging environment
Credit Analyst in Commercial Lending (Former Employee), Bethesda, MarylandJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: good co-workers, good managment
Cons: slow with promotions
A solid company with excellent co-workers, who were great teachers. I enjoyed working there and only left for personal reasons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment with great co-workers
Credit Analyst in Commercial Lending (Former Employee), Vienna, VAJanuary 3, 2013
United Bank is a great company with great benefits, ability for professional growth, and intelligent/friendly co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Head Teller (Former Employee), Dumfries, VAJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: training and opportunities
Cons: opportunities limited to northern va area.
Great place to gain experience in an financial setting. Great training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United Bank
Sales & Service Representative (Current Employee), Washington, DCNovember 29, 2012
Pros: nice co-workers
Cons: many choices for healthcare providers
A typical day at work includes but is not limited to answering the phone, helping customers in multiple ways and supporting co-workers. I have learned how to pace myself and not try to do everything at once which can cause anyone to get too stressed out at their job. Management could use some better communications skills but they mean well. The hardest – more... part of my job is balancing many jobs that should be taken care of by at least one or two more people. The most enjoyable part of the job is when I can help a customer accomplish something they would not have been able to do on their own. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Parkersburg, WVOctober 29, 2012
Pros: the customers, co-workers, busy atmosphere
Cons: getting new accounts and brokerage
United Bank was very busy, especially around lunch time. I enjoyed getting to know customers and interacting with all types of people on a regular basis. There was never a dull moment. I had really friendly customers and really hateful ones but its expected when you deal with money. The hardest part of my job was trying to greet customer at the same – more... time I was trying to get them to set a new account and invest their money. I was required to get so many new accounts and brokerage accounts a month, we were evaluated on it every month. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and Service
Customer Sales and Service (Current Employee), Parkersburg, WVSeptember 30, 2012
Pros: i enjoyed working with customers
Cons: my job was eliminated.
I managed Note Collections, Bonds, Foreign Currency, Safe Deposit Boxes, Reports, and Sales and Service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, nice place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Parkersburg, WVAugust 27, 2012
Pros: good benefits, and holiday/vacation pay
Cons: appearance was too important
A typical day at work consisted of greeting customers and processing transactions. I learned how to do all of the duties of a bank teller, and the training was fairly good. Management was good, and they worked well with me. My co-workers were nice, for the most part. The hardest part of the job is when you have an upset customer, but most problems were – more... resolved easily. The most enjoyable part of the job was balancing and the mathematical parts of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Teller (Former Employee), Washington D.cFebruary 29, 2012
Pros: nice working environment, friendly managers
Cons: closing times
My summer job for 2 years of my college life. I enjoy the customers and the hours and days worked. My employers were pleasant and they prepare you well for the tasks at hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that values the opinion of its' employees.
Teller (Former Employee), Fairfax, VirginiaFebruary 29, 2012
Pros: values employee opinions, caring executives, and great room for advancement
Cons: mild stress, high work volume on certain days, and busy holiday season.
United Bank is a company that values the opinions of its' employees, pays high wages as compared to other employers, and has an open door policy where employees play a large role in shaping company policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place to grow up as a professional
Commercial File Manager (Current Employee), VirginiaJuly 22, 2011
Pros: in expansion, benefits
Cons: technologically behind
Excellent environment to be working in, great Managament.

About United Bank

United Bankshares, Inc., with dual headquarters in Washington, DC and Charleston, WV, is a bank holding company with full service – Read more