United Disability Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a lot of time at home
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHJuly 16, 2017
12 hours per day is needed for success in this job. Transportation management is very good, and upstairs management falls short in their duties. I takes nearly 3 months to be hired.

Transportation is unionized, and health benefits are terrible.
Pros
Love the people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No ability to advance within the company
Art Director (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAMay 1, 2017
Although I loved my Job, and Loved my patients i realized after a few years i had no oppurtunity to advance within the company. Benefits were not offered, and i spent hours every night working on lesson plans, and individual support plans. This would be fine however i was not paid salary, so my evenings were consumed by work related projects.
Pros
Employee appreciation picnics
Cons
No benefits, no full time hours, Daily unpaid work at home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional company to work for.
Facility Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHApril 25, 2017
All some company to work for with great benefits. Staff is treated fairly and the individuals are a great pleasure to work with. This company cares about its employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment
Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHMarch 19, 2017
I greatly enjoy being a part of this company. I however am looking for a place that I can advance. The environment is welcoming and there is a large sense of reward at the end of the day
Cons
Limited room to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Specialist I (Former Employee) –  Kent, OHFebruary 13, 2017
Sexist, homophobic boss who will make you uncomfortably and thinks he's better than everyone else. This company plays favorites and only works with one personality type.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Sexist. Homophobic boss. Company plays favorites
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Kent, OHFebruary 1, 2017
I was a assembler there and I would get paid on piece rate but it was okay working there but not the best because when you don't have work the day would be pretty boring and you would have nothing to do but go in and sit on you butt.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting company with room for growth.
driver (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHJanuary 10, 2017
i loved working for this company. Not only was the staff great but the clients were the highlight of my day. I regret leaving them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place - Great People
Supervisor/Artist (Former Employee) –  701 S. Main St. Akron Ohio 44311July 6, 2015
Working at UDS was rewarding and challenging.

As Silkscreen Artist - Workshop specialist at United Disability Services, I produced and prepared art to go on novelty items. I taught adults with disabilities to print and package the novelty items.

A typical day would include setting up the work area, setting daily production goals and choosing the right people for each task. I would keep the customers informed regarding the status of their order. While keeping up with the daily production, each of the people in my area had personal goals that we would work together to achieve.

The management and co-workers were some of the best I've ever worked with. The staff had the best interest of the people we served in their hearts and at the fore front of everything we did.
Pros
Great people to work with, good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work with.
Team Assembler (Former Employee) –  Kent, OHJuly 4, 2015
United Disability Services was a workshop where you get paid by piece rates not by the hour and sometimes when there is no work, you had nothing to do.
Pros
People were very nice
Cons
You would get paid by piece rates not by the hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and satisfying place to work.
Specialized Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHOctober 9, 2014
The hardest but most enjoyable part of my job was dealing with persons with special needs. Knowing sometimes you were there only contact with the outside world, but also knowing I had treated them like I would anyone else in my life. With respect.
Pros
The people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working for united Disabilty Services
Personal Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tamaqua, PANovember 25, 2013
They work well with my day to day life. Very understanding and great team work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping individuals with disabilities live an independent lifestyle within their own homes.
Personal care assistant (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PASeptember 9, 2013
I recommend home-care for anyone whose schedule may not be very flexible, as you can create your own! I have two children at home, both under the age of two. I absolutely love this line of work!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Responsibilities
CAREGIVER (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJuly 11, 2013
My responsibilities included doing laundry, washing dishes, running errands, etc.
Pros
flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job that requirers caring personality
Certified Nursing Assistant/Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Coatesville, PAJuly 25, 2012
ADL's
cleaning
feeding
giving meds
taking to appointments
grooming
ROM (rang of motion)
Pros
having someone to communicate with, getting to know yur clients
Cons
clients pass away, attachment to client
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendship
I work as a Hab-Specialist (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHJuly 18, 2012
I work as a Day Hab Specialist. I work with people who are mentally and physically disabled I have been doing this type of work for almost 8years I love it. It can be trying at times but I love making a difference in people lives an enhancing their everyday living. I enjoy my mangement and my co-workers. The hardest part is dealing with behaviors and handling you patience. I have learned that life is very precious an how there are alot of people who do not have someone who loves and cares for them...so most of the time we are that person who makes their day an who cares about them most.
Pros
flexiable
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a fun place to work
Habilitation Aide (Former Employee) –  Twinsburg, OHApril 10, 2012
the staff and consumer were great it was always a team work force
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet varies of clients,
care provider (Current Employee) –  Lancaster PAMarch 5, 2012
Varies of clients and services provided, wide range of clients with varies means of communication
Pros
clients and family one meets
Cons
driving and not much work for male employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Disability Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.7
Culture
3.5

United Disability Services Reviews by Location