United Group Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive very busy place
Mixer Driver (Former Employee) –  Dunmore, PAFebruary 14, 2017
I made laytex, spacle, and crack filler. I learned how to use a mixer and how to drive fork lift. Management was on top of things very good company. The hardest part of the job was being covered head to toe woth chemicals. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the people i did with and the responsibility they gave me.
Pros
Certified to drive fork lift
Cons
Not having the equipment to prevent chemicals on the skin
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Community Manager (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYDecember 6, 2016
I was first hired at United Group in 2013, I was extremely excited to be apart of there family. The first year was great, I loved our team and the dedication everyone had. As time progressed, however, management began to demand things that were not required in the employee handbook. They began to disregard school schedules among other things. I would not work for this company again, nor would I recommend anyone work for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work but no room for advancement for a small company
sales account manager (Current Employee) –  Lake Forest, ILNovember 16, 2015
I enjoy working at United Group but with a small company the advancement opportunities are very limited. The management and co workers are very supportive in order to grow the business.
Pros
The freedom to control your own territory
Cons
Limited growth opportunity and pay raise
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional company
Preset .. IT Online Supervisor (Former Employee) –  SyriaOctober 12, 2015
UG is place where you can develop yourself .manger is very supportive.you can develop quickly and get better position if you are talent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work / life balance
Project Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Phosphate HillFebruary 14, 2015
Varied work which allows employees to tap into their skills and technical ability to perform their role. This UGL division is servicing the client - Incitec Pivot on site, and all work is conducted from a contractor perspective. Enjoy the challenge of finding solutions for the client, while continuing my personal development in this role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAAugust 11, 2014
I love work here, so sad it was only temporary, but if I had the chance I will go back in a heart beat.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver
Driver (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHMay 19, 2014
 Demonstrated capacity to ensure delivery within specified timeframes; assist with load/unload process and promote customer loyalty and retention
 Provided customer service and options for exponential growth of existing customers
 Solid track record achieving efficient, cost-effective transportation operations of goods while maintaining federal compliance with federal, state, and municipal regulations
 Reads and interprets road maps and directions to plan most efficient routes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed working there.
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYApril 12, 2014
Nice friendly work environment enjoyed coworkers. We handled ourselves in professional like manner. We were a tight knit crew.
Pros
Hour lunch breaks
Cons
Twelve hour shifts didn't care for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible productive work space
Community Manager (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYDecember 9, 2013
worked great with past school schedule!the Hardest part was turning people away who messed up too many times. everyday task is friendly atmosphere so families and residents feel welcomed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small firm dealing with Facility Mgmt and some data
IT Network Solutions Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Auburndale, MAOctober 23, 2013
Not impressed. This company sought after me from the consultant industry and folded the company selling it to a European company only after I worked there 2 years. The new company gave everyone employed there under 5 years a severance. The company is stretched "thin" trying to make the jump to serve clients on a bigger IT Networking need. They're behind the curve and should stick to what the original owners of the company (deceased) were upholding (promoting from within and sustaining a strong employee family orientated business)
Pros
A few groups still left here worth working with..
Cons
Always looking to "trim the fat" and Upper Exec are where you want to be in this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not at all a good place to Work
Engineer (Former Employee) –  SydneyOctober 13, 2013
Not a friendly work environment.
High level politics.
Earlier employees left for similar reasons.
They would find a scape goat to cover the companies faults and reputation.
Pros
reputed name, major company
Cons
Worst Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Facilities Maint. Tech (Current Employee) –  Brevard NcMay 15, 2013
with the right management in place this company would not lost its contract with the college
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UGL Services
Regional Accounting/Admin/Procurement (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 6, 2013
My day begins early as I'm a morning person that hits the ground running. This sets the tone for the remaining hours necessary to continue a living for the life I love.

I've been in the workforce quite a number of years and know a job well done and take pride in doing it. I'm company loyal and have worked with a few that feel the same way about their employee. This is the workplace that I'm searching for.
Pros
i took this positon with less pay and comprehensive benefits package to improve my quality of life
Cons
little room for growth, no promotion from within and lack of training
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall not a bad company to work for.
Precision Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHSeptember 5, 2012
Was more of a family feel to UGL the first couple of years but it steadily declined. I think that kind of atmosphere is condusive to quantity and quality of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting
Cleaner/Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 24, 2012
I had one typical day at work, That day when the sewage piples has
busted in the basement we had to clean and disinfect .
Over the years how waxes ,strip,buff,carpets floors
vaccum,clean offices (etc.)
Ilike what I do.We all get along lone .Very little complains.
Itwas not hard it not what you do it how you do it to get the job done.
At the end of the day we all sit around and talk about the work we done.

Thank you
Pros
very good pros
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Administrative Assistant/ Human Resource Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hebron, KyJuly 18, 2012
There is no room for advancement with UGL. It's a workplace with Tech's that do building maint. The hardest part of the job is there isn't enough people in the workplace and I'm doing a job for 2 people.
Pros
close to home
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UGL Internship
Equity Research Sales Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 7, 2012
Flexible internship hours. Great learning experience!
Co-workers were friendly. I learned a lot about corporate real estate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of travel.
Route Mechanic (Current Employee) –  PennsylvaniaJune 22, 2012
Maintain multi-state Fed Ex equipment. Most of what I do I already knew, but I had to let go of the 5 day 40 hour week because some days you might work 12 hours or 2 hours, so you learn to just round out your week instead of just working 8 hours a day for 5 days. Management and co workers are great. I guess the most enjoyable part of my job is doing what I love and the new people I meet every day.
Pros
great benifits and pay
Cons
a lot of travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  billerica MAMay 4, 2012
I been on this company almost five years and I love but is time to start new things in my life
Pros
great pay
Cons
great pays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New company on west coast
Journeyman Engineer (Current Employee) –  CAMarch 16, 2012
UGL is new company on the west coast. It is still to early to tell how it will be in the future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more United Group reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 68 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4