Find companies:
United Health Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

United Health Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what promised
Patient Line Cook (Former Employee), Johnson City, NYAugust 16, 2014
Pros: every other weekend off
Cons: short staffed most days.
Typical day was quite hectic, usually short staffed. Coworkers weren't always helpful, out for themselves. Enjoyed creating tasty food for patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to learn much about health insurance
Customer Service (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 15, 2014
- I learned many things about medical insurance and benefits. Also learned alot about claims, how their processed, codes billed and member responsibility
- I had an awesome manager who took a sincere interest in our development and progress with monthly scores and goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy office and each day is different
Medical Receptionist (Current Employee), Endicott, NYJuly 25, 2014
Always something to do and I enjoy being busy
We have something to do all the time , mail and interoffice mail to put away. Very busy phones too. We also put a lot of messages in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very High Pace Work Environment
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Johnson City, NYJune 11, 2014
A typical day at work is just doing my job as a phlebotomist, working well with co-workers and also working well with patient care. The hardest part of my job is the rate of shortness of staff ever month, and the stress it puts on all of the workers. I love my job and what I do, and really love the workers I have to work with. I come in with the head – more... up high and I am ready for what the day has to bring. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
uhs
Revenue Processor (Current Employee), Binghamton, NYJune 6, 2014
come in at 8 in the morning fix a couple of scanners, trouble shoot the problem which takes me about two hours to complete to get everything running again. scan in documents and index them to patients accounts. move electronic 835 remits files from the error folder over to the ansi splitter tool on the ansi server and take small files over to the in – more... folder so it can be processed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor Policy on Rehiring former employees
Medical Receptionist (Former Employee), Endicott, NYJune 6, 2014
I worked for UHS 12 years ago, I was young, not mature and had one child with health issues. I quit without giving a 2 weeks notice because of my sons health issues. Because of that poor decision 12 years ago UHS has blackballed me and I can no longer be hired at any UHS facility. Which by reading the past reviews that is probably a good thing. Since – more... then I have gone back to school, have gotten a degree in the medical field and have become a Certified Medical Assistant. My attendance while at school was excellent and I was on the deans list every semester. Yet, instead of giving someone with excellent qualifications another chance they would rather stand by their ignorant hiring policies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Weightroom Coordinator (Current Employee), Canton MoApril 29, 2014
Pros: work around schedules
Cons: no breaks
The entire Athletic Department encourage every individual and gives them opportunities to take the initiative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful working environmant
Certified Professional Coder (Current Employee), Johnson City, NYApril 9, 2014
I code for family practice, with tons of support from within our department. You never stop learning when you are a coder. I have also done Internal Medicine and Pediatrics coding. I work with many other great people who are hard workers , but also have fun at times. We have parties and make sure people are recognized when so deserved. The hardest part – more... of the job is keeping up with all the changes. We have programs changes often and new programs coming soon. We always get plenty of training with any program changes. We – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management (former employee)
Medical Office Assistant (Former Employee), Johnson City, NYMarch 15, 2014
UHS has too many young people in management positions with absolutely no experience in management, problems are not delt with fairly, employee problems are "brushed off" , UHS is more run like a business and not very much concerned with patient care, UHS only cares about the almighty dollar.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I've ever worked
Medical assistant (Former Employee), Johnson cityMarch 4, 2014
Pros: patient contact
Cons: rude management no results when you have a real problem
Management is self orientated and not helpful, rude leadership, hr is not helpful when you have a problem, they will lie to make them selves look better and ignore your calls when you are trying to get ahold of them, fail to keep promises and absolutely worst treatement ever of employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challanging job, but has made me much more confident
Nurse Team Leader, RN (Current Employee), Binghamton, NYFebruary 14, 2014
Reviewing schedule to prepare for what to expect as far as challenges. Co-workers are a big asset to the office, working together as a team is extremely helpful to have a productive day. The hardest part if the job can be time, seeing many patients in a day, and dealing with difficult parents and children can be challenging also, must be patient. Most – more... enjoyable part is the children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational, But stressful environment
Medical Receptionist (Former Employee), Johnson City, NYJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: health insurance, and 401k
Cons: no breaks, complants volided and not reviewd for maganement, gossup
Very busy, stressful environment with a high turn over in specialty office within in hospital. Management was poor quality, no follow up on employee complaints regarding management. Some coworkers very helpful and would help educate others, others didn't have the time to help wasn't in there job description. The hours and work days were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work.
Social Worker (Former Employee), Binghamton, NYDecember 31, 2013
Pros: learning the community.
Cons: leaving.
I so enjoyed working in the hospital setting. Working with other co-workers. Working with patients and working through their issues in individual settings as well as groups settings. Learned the community when assisting with their placement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Data Control Clerk - Finance Dept (Former Employee), Johnson City, NYDecember 9, 2013
My day consisted of assuring patients that there personal hospital accounts were correct at all times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Externship
Externship (Former Employee), Greene, NYOctober 31, 2013
Very friendly place to work. All the employes were helpful with the training that I received.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved what I did---it was a challenge.
Credit Specialist (Former Employee), Johnson City, NYOctober 28, 2013
Pros: i made some excellent friends and money during the time i was there.
Cons: the job was short-lived.
My typical day started by setting the computer up and having the records of credits we had on the system. Then I would start to investigate who paid what and who the overpayment should go to, patient or insurance company. It was a time-consuming job, but was always interesting which made the day seem to go faster. I enjoyed my co-workers and made many – more... friends during the time I was there. When they hired me, they failed to tell me that it was just a temporary job, lasting just a little over a year. I took millions of dollars of credits off the system for them and made the appropriate refunds. The job was a definite challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start, not great to stay
Emergency Room Nursing Assistant/Secretary (Former Employee), Johnson City, NYSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: benefits, nice people, experience
Cons: run like a buisness.
The people where all great, and you learn a lot through their education programs. However, I often felt as if there were little opportunity for advancement, and I was constantly on the edge of being replaced. Felt more like a business environment than a healing environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Start!
Registered Nurse- Intensive Care Unit (Former Employee), Binghamton, NYSeptember 16, 2013
I worked on an 8 bed Intensive Care Unit at Binghamton General Hospital (BGH). This was my first Registered Nursing job out of college. My orientation could have used some improvements, however I still learned a great deal. I took a critical care course and coronary care course during my 6 month orientation. I learned how to take care of patient's on – more... ventilators, drug overdoses, and so much more. I did not like it when critical patient's were sent to Wilson. BGH has an ICU and shouldn't be treated any less. Many of the doctors would have patient's transported to Wilson because they did not want to come to BGH.
The hardest part of the job was keeping up with the documentation. I understand how important documentation is, however I feel as if a majority of nursing is spent documenting instead of at the bedside. The most enjoyable part of nursing is the relationships that you build with your fellow employees and most importantly your patient's and their family. Just one true "thank you" makes all those physical and emotional days worth every minute. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nursing facilities are difficult to work at
unit assistant in Hemodialysis (Former Employee), Binghamton, NYSeptember 11, 2013
caring for residents was rewarding, though there was more time needed to provide more personal care for each resident
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Mental Health Technician (Former Employee), Binghamton, NYJuly 25, 2013
I loved working at United Health service as a Mental Health Aide, my co workers were fun and just could not wait to be at work everyday.