UNITED INSURANCE Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work.
Debit Collector (Former Employee) –  Macon, GASeptember 19, 2017
drive your own vehicle unlimited hours go to unknown areas door to door sales phone harrassment quota must be reached or paycheck reflects minimal pay for maxium work.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLAugust 29, 2017
The company does not care about the employees or the field managers...you were expected to work at least 50 to 60 hours per week if the agents you supervised did not out sell your lapse
Pros
none
Cons
too many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 15, 2017
Coming in the office. Make calls to my current clients to schedule to pick up premiums due. Make code calls for new business. Come up with an incentive to get new business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fair place to work.
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Miami, FL 33169May 24, 2017
One of the best things about working for United Insurance is the people you meet every month, there are constant opportunities to sell. The challenges are trying to convince someone to pay their premium when there are other needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant Changing Workplace Environment
Senior Accounting Associate (Current Employee) –  Falmouth, MEMay 15, 2017
I enjoy my job as it can be fast paced and I am always learning something new everyday. In the accounting department we not only work with numbers but we learn the insurance side as well. The hardest part of my job is that management doesn't hold people accountable for their actions. We work hard to develop procedures and do multiple training classes a year, however there are several employees that don't feel they need to follow these procedures and this gets very frustrating.

The most enjoyable part of my job is that I get to talk with several employees a day. I love to be able to help them when they are struggling to figure out a problem. I also enjoy reconciling bank statements especially when needing to investigate why balances are off.
Pros
Accommodating to family needs
Cons
Benefits, upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to make great money
Licensed Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Hillside, ILMay 10, 2017
Unethical company
Opportunity to earn lots of money
Laid back environment
Pressured to sale
Nice coworkers
Supportive coworkers
No Sales equals low or no pay
Pros
Can earn good money off of commission
Cons
No Sales equals low or no pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work place
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSFebruary 21, 2017
United Insurance was the first ever desk job and I had to learn fast to keep up with the requirements that were made. I loved seeing the customers come in each month and I couldn't have asked for a better boss.
Pros
Consistent Schedule
Cons
Not many days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable enviroment to work in.
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Sumter SCJuly 29, 2016
Work on your own as an Agent so hours are scheduled around your clients. Great Company to be associated with. I especially enjoyed working with my clients, as this is a home service insurance setting. The co-workers were very professional and fun to be with during our scheduled bi-weekly meetings. Management is top of the line!
Pros
excellent benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life insurance agent
life insurance agent (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 28, 2016
the positon I learned a lot from. I was able to run my own business on my own schedule as well as set up my own hours to come into the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Call Center Agent (Former Employee) –  IllinoisMay 27, 2016
Terrible, treat employees terrible and no benefits. Learned about medicare. they took phones and locked them up, locked bathrooms and made people sign in and out to use bathroom because someone kept messing it up.
Pros
bad
Cons
bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment is not safe
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 26, 2016
Have to collect insurance premium door to door in East Los Angeles.
Management is very pushy, always ask agents to sell more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Work Place
Secretary (Current Employee) –  Columbus, MSMay 19, 2016
I love this job because of the great customers, the boss is incredible. The work was easy to learn. I learned to take payments and use all of the cites needed on a daily basis. I loved meeting new customers and making them smile!
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
I need more hours, I need better pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a learning experience.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mount, NCMay 12, 2016
Typical day was just going door-to-door trying to get sales. Also, visiting my clients making sure they was happy with their policies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
insurance
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Elk Grove, CAMay 4, 2016
I loved working in a fast paced office. The only thing I did not like Is the district where I worked closed down. I would have loved some career advancements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant/insurance agent (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 25, 2016
This is my first job and I learned everything from here.The management is very good too.Servicing client is most enjoyable part of the job , interacting with client.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok placed to work
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 29, 2015
Ok place to work. There's a lot of flexibility you have to work weekends a must.
Work environment different
Need to provide a better training program for employees
Pros
No pros
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depressing
agent (Current Employee) –  Lumberton, NCOctober 16, 2015
bad management no feed back.make your own schedule.mangement
always putting you down.never an encouraging word.the overall product for this company is unfavorable to new clientele.
Pros
set your own hours
Cons
charge backs on commission
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outside sales report to office once a week
Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Hillside, ILSeptember 29, 2015
Sales Agent works outside writing policies and collecting premiums. Must meet a quota salary plus commission pay may increase or decrease.
Pros
work your own hours pay increase with sales
Cons
cold calling, solicting, need referrals collecting premiums door to door.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Schedule, great clients and coworkers
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCSeptember 16, 2015
Great company with very supportive management. Most enjoyable is meeting with new clients and servicing my existing clients.
Pros
Meetings at district office are always enjoyable
Cons
Sometimes gets stressfull toward end of month closeout, but that is to be expected
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I donĀ“t recommend.
Sales agent. (Former Employee) –  Opa Locka, FLSeptember 7, 2015
Very little money to be made there, average of $300 to $500 weekly, on top of that you have to use your own car to visit customers all day and the company do not pay for your gas or milage. The management is a joke.
Pros
You can manage your time as you want.
Cons
Poor money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UNITED INSURANCE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 56 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.0