United Nations Employee Reviews in United States

Found 140 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome work/life balance. Great benefits, generous pay!
Assistant to the Chief of Plant Engineering (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 24, 2016
Had an amazing experience working at the United Nations. Making it my life's mission to get back somehow. I worked with a lot of different people from all walks of life. To be a part of an organization that houses and embraces different cultures working together was an amazing once in a lifetime opportunity. Truly a rewarding experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un
Visiting the field and distribution sites (Former Employee) –  Zahle, LebanonMay 8, 2016
Counsel individual asylum-seekers and refugees to manage their expectations on protection, assistance and durable solutions
Identify vulnerable asylum-seekers and refugees
Reporting and monitoring and evaluating nominated products/operations
Prepare detailed records of counseling sessions and follow-up on individual cases
Conduct registration interviews
Maintain registration and counseling database and provide regular input on daily actions
Ensure quality and integrity of information captured at registration, notably through peer review of
registered cases and follow up with respective functional units
Ensure constant and accurate upkeep of data (physical and electronic) to reflect status of persons of
concern by checking that all ProGres data fields are filled in properly
Manage and update refugee files as necessary
Compile periodic registration statistical reports and circulate them to all concerned parties, including
external parties. Analyze data to ensure data quality and integrity, and report trends and issues as required
Participate in support missions to the field offices
Liaising with partners and people of concern regarding field distributions
Draft routine correspondence based on instructions provided by the supervisor or based on background
information available on office files
Act as interpreter and translator when needed
Help in implementing new CS projects and conducting HPQ ( Household Profiling Questionnaire)
Monitoring and evaluating community services work of partners
Support the administrative unit when
  more... required (check for best quotations from suppliers during tendering
process, etc. )
Requesting office supplies and stationary
Visiting the field and distribution sites
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment.
Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  La Habana, CubaMay 8, 2016
Respect for employees, excellent benefits. Good organization to work at. Interesting projects. Poor funds for the projects.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Organisation with Global outreach
Chief Supply Chain Management (Former Employee) –  KosovoMay 2, 2016
Having been involved in the provision of Technical Support to major peacekeeping operations, the United Nations is a leading service delivery Organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Envirenment
Citrix Cloud Architect consultant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 27, 2016
Good Environment, good for long term engagement, technologies is up to date, many projects going on, possibilities of having a career path.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good interpersonal skills and ability to establish and maintain effective partnerships and working relations in a multi-cultural, multi-ethnic en
LOGISTICS OFFICER (Former Employee) –  BUKAVUMarch 16, 2016
Develops clear goals that are consistent with agreed strategies; identifies priority activities and assignments; adjusts priorities as required; allocates appropriate amount of time and resources for completing work; foresees risks and allows for contingencies when planning; monitors and adjusts plans and actions as necessary; uses time efficiently.
Works collaboratively with colleagues to achieve companyl goals; solicits input by genuinely valuing others’ ideas and expertise; is willing to learn from others; places team agenda before personal agenda; supports and acts in accordance with final group decision, even when such decisions may not entirely reflect own position; shares credit for team accomplishments and accepts joint responsibility for team shortcomings.
Pros
free luches
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un ima
IMA (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 14, 2016
Good work life balance and good benefits makes it a good place to work

Very casual and good people in the workplace

Highly recommendable
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Comapny
Operations Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 8, 2016
Huge opportunities to network and gain exposure to different cultures. Also working under a new secretary general was intense yet rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with people of all walks of life and cultures. The Delegates dining rooms and events are very good.
AV Audio Operator, Event Audio & Video Engineer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 25, 2016
Great people to work for. Getting to know many cultures and different people from around the around in one building makes the UN experience unique.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Finance Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 2, 2016
I really love this working place since people around you are very nice and try to help. I know more about non-profit organizations and understand its mission.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Special Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bogotá, CUNJanuary 22, 2016
Very hierarchical culture, lots of politics and difficulty to reach top executives. Bureaucratic procedures make execution very slow sometimes. Great co-workers always willing to collaborate and share ideas.
Pros
Remuneration, human talent
Cons
No schedule, available 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like sport and a ping pong table is part my hoby
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mission in Central Africa RepublicJanuary 17, 2016
I start my career in International arena dealing with people from almost 194 countries with different background and I am open minded and easy going. I always make the best of every situation, I am a Great Team Player. I get the job done in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No15
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work to get experience
OBIEE Architect / Lead (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 13, 2016
I learn a lot in United Nations. Very diversified culture. co-workers are really helpful. Overall nice place to work. Management really good. Food serve in cafeteria is really good. i like it
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional
Visa Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 12, 2016
Collect passports and issue visas for co-worker.
Answer and made phone calls.
Enter data in computer
The best part of the day is running around getting the visa in the passport before the due date
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Temp job
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Both boring and exciting at times
Meeting Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 9, 2016
Working as a meeting service assistant, or MSA can be exciting in times, that is when servicing large meetings that include heads of state and foreign ministers. The topics up for discussion include human rights, current global crises (Syrian refugees, Yemen & Syrian Civil War, etc) and climate change which can be intriguing for the international affairs enthusiast. However most of the times working as an MSA can be menial, mundane, and boring. There were some great people to work with, but I would not call it a carer to aspire to.

I did learn the basics of meeting management within the United Nations, the complex method of scheduling, and logistics for meeting services, also more interestingly the positions held by several member states (countries) on certain global issues. A fitting job overall for my current study of international affairs.
Pros
good people, relatively easy work, paid overtime
Cons
boring, long hours at times
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and creative
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  anyJanuary 5, 2016
moving up and down,most enjoyable is associating with people, newskills, realy intresting, long working periods,very good management
Pros
free lunches
Cons
healthycare
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting environment and opportunities to connect with professionals
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 4, 2016
The United Nations is a wonderful organization to work for. Although the demands are great, the opportunities to grow and connect with professionals are very good.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bureaucratic Environment
human resources associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 21, 2015
If you're starting out your career here, only stay for a year or two. The UN is an interesting place, but highly bureaucratic. The skill sets learned within the UN are mostly useful within only the UN. The private sector/corporate world utilize different processes and procedures. The UN is highly political and a hierarchical place; so it's difficult to move up or establish your career quickly. You have to wait at least 18-36 months to make any shifts in positions.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes23No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The working condition were very friendly.
Project Engineer. (Former Employee) –  Pakistan South Asia.December 21, 2015
I had Good experience while working for the this company, All of the staff was very co-operative. I had full support from my bosses during my stay with company and their help enabled me to complete the job on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and educative
Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 7, 2015
Always amazed when working with others and what they can bring in the table. I appreciate every moment i take engaging my colleagues at work.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Nations. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 248 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture