Find companies:
United Nations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
139 reviews

United Nations Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistics and Supply Chain Management professional experienced in leadership roles at strategic, technical and operational levels
Doubled as HUB AdministratoR and also Chief (Former Employee), Juba South SudanApril 7, 2014
Pros: team player and highly interpersonal skills
Cons: great team player
Logistics and Supply Chain Management professional experienced in leadership roles at strategic, technical and operational levels in directing, managing and developing strategies for Supply Chains to enhance capacity, services provision and products delivery.

Full spectrum of experience in: • Logistics & Supply Chain Development & Enhancement • Strategic – more... Planning & Implementation • Business Development & Negotiations • Process & Procedures Improvements • Procurement/Sourcing & Contract Management • Conflict identification & Resolution • Systems Analyses & Assessments • Institutional Development & Capacity Building • Leader/Team Builder/Trainer • Relationship Cultivation & Management • ERP systems & software used/exposed to are SAP/R3, SYSPRO ver6.0, Quantimed, Pipeline, Orion, CRM, GALILEO (Business Objects/INFO-PAC).
Expertise areas: Logistics & Supply Chain Management of Assets, Commodities, Medicines, Health Care & HIV/AIDS Programs —Implementations/Interventions Strategies — Embryonic Start-Up Operations — USAID & UN Regulations/Management.

An accomplished Supply Chain Manager with operational experience in: Partnership building, Relationship management, Collaboration and Liaising with stakeholders, implementing partners and PEPFAR/USAID Activity Managers • Resource mobilization, Dissemination, Knowledge and information sharing on good practices, Systems strengthening, Supply Chains and scale-up of HIV/AIDS programs • Developed Work-Plans, Budgets and technical strategies and implemented annual Country Operating Plans (COP) with budgets over US$ 12 million • Reporting and providing feedback on financial status, disbursements, resource allocation, project performance and GAO Audits • Coordinated support to host government ministries/departments through Advisory/Consultancy services in developing best practice distribution/storage plans • Conducted analyses of supply chains to identify improvements and service delivery of pharmaceuticals and commodities • Monitoring COP, Work Plan implementation, budgets and adjustments driven by Continuing Resolutions (CR) • Human Resources management, Annual Performance Reviews (APR) and Capacity building through technical assistance, training, and appropriate skills transfer for effective service delivery as key to sustainability. Negotiated absorption into staff establishment/table of seconded officers for continued health care service delivery – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International Civil Servant
Editorial Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 31, 2014
Pros: being part of an intergovernmental organization, an incredibly comprehensive benefits package and pension
Cons: bureaucracy
Editorial work that is very detail focused and timeline driven.
I have learned a lot about U.N. editorial manual guidelines and standards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An former international civil servant working for peace and security globally
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 10, 2014
Working in a multicultural setting was a very enriching experience. My focus on a team effort towards the organizational's goals was rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enlightening, fun, busy
Communications Officer (Former Employee), NYFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: exposure
Cons: being away from home 98%
Travel, long days
Hard work, respect, appreciation of life
positive and involved
mix from all over
travel 100%
seeing the world and its people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UNICEF
EDF Climate Corp Fellow (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 9, 2014
Innovating for social change - The best work environment I have ever experience. It was incredibly rewarding to have the opportunity to work with individuals like-minded, with a high intellectual curiosity and an intrepid ability to question processes to create a greater impact.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique culture with diversity
Project Manager (Former Employee), NY NYJanuary 22, 2014
It was a great opportunity to work here. it is important to keep in mind that the mentality and culture is not what one sees in traditional US settings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly bureaucratic
Liaison (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 13, 2014
Mediocre workplace - good mission but bureaucratic headaches abound.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Organisation which requires innovative thinking to address complex issues
Risk Management Officer (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 6, 2014
Diverse environment offering the opportunity to deal with complex, real world, global issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great platform
Controller assistant intern (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 15, 2013
Huge institute.
Friendly co-workers.
Job rotation.
Productive office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with great staff
Webmaster (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 13, 2013
It was a great gig.
I was happy to help a little mission with little assets.
Even though they had limited assets, staff were very professional and willing to do whatever it take to go above and beyond
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Organization
Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 10, 2013
Pros: good employers
Cons: nothing
Great organization, great experience and lots of people to interact with especially during meetings you will learn a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place
Interpreter/Website Manager (Former Employee), turkeyNovember 2, 2013
that was great company for work there. good benefits and friendly workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and multi-cultural
Marketing (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 28, 2013
I translated and published 7 official documents covering various subjects dealt with by the United Nations. I led and supported cross-cultural talks and activities regarding Youth Migration with more than 1000 Young Preventatives from over 100 countries to commemorate International Youth Day 2013 at the UN Secretariat. I also arranged meetings among – more... people of different cultures and facilitated cross-cultural dialogue and received by UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon as one of the representatives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dryiving
driver (Former Employee), KosovoOctober 25, 2013
I get driving experience in this company and 22 drivers use to work in this building contraction company. My brother is the owner of Ndertimi company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, and Professional
Conference Officer Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 21, 2013
Pros: one hour lunch, opportunity to see high level officials and sometimes heads of state
Cons: sometimes stressful hours
The hardest part of this job is the level of professionalism that is expected of the employees, because of the environment that they are in. Meaning the environment of high level government officials, and at times heads of state. As well as one week in Spetember where the work day starts at around 7 or 8 and won't have a definite ending. Although physically – more... exhausting we were rewarded with time and a half pay after 8 and a half hours.
Other than that the staff is all very friendly, and the separate offices tend to create their own culture of friendship or family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic, Multicultural Institution with a Precious Mandate
RESOURCE MOBILIZATION INTERN AT UN WOMEN (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 6, 2013
Assisting Program managers in research on solutions applied to Gender issues have provided opportunities to expand my knowledge on the subject. Engagements in assisting in the development of Fund raising proposals have given me a chance to see the practical application of methods and techniques used by such institutions.

The office environment is open – more... and friendly and a rich sense of direction allows the integration of ideas amongst staff. Inter actions among colleagues are informal yet allow for serious work and respect.
The need for a significant depth of information collection, to be used with short periods of time was demanding on occasions.

Serving in an organization with a very valuable cause. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new experiences
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 2, 2013
Pros: meeting all kind of people
Cons: no personal relationships
Lively atmosphere, Like a real live melting pot of the world. Never a bad day, enjoyed ever moment. Co-workers was knowledgeable and willing to help with everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun place to work
Administrative Assistant and Team Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: very interesting job.
Cons: short lunches
Provide extensive administrative and secretariat support to the Chief and Desk Officers in the Section, as well as staff in the Field Offices, in the most effective manner.
Schedule and coordination of appointments and meetings with high-level Government authorities, United Nations Agencies and NGOs. Organize and coordinate flow of documents and follow – more... up timely responses. Sort out correspondence. Answered queries on various office matters. Carry out quality control functions for outgoing documents; proofread and edit texts for adherence to format, grammar punctuation and style in compliance with the United Nations's correspondence manual. Coordinate interviews, Section Meetings. Arrange bridge lines for teleconferences. Maintain electronic and paper filing system for the Section including converting relevant documents into PDF files through scanning or conversion using Adobe PDF applications and retrieve documents whenever required. Assemble and distribution of documentation for internal meetings, interviews and workshops confirming arrangements with participants and find venues. Prepare and process confidential information., Make , process and finalize travel arrangements for the Chief of Section and Desk Officers. Coordinate travel itenerary. Prepare Visa requests. Prepare and collate information packages for the Section Chief and Desk Officers's mission trips and work with Section staff to pepare briefings books for Director and Chief of Section. Prepare final travel claims. Get security clearances for travel to the Field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplae one of a kind
Trainee, Fifth Committee (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: multicultural
Cons: long hours, stressful
As a trainee to the European Union Delegation to the United Nations, I worked in a team within the Fifth Committee which participates in budget-related issues of the UN on behalf of the EU. I handled highly sensitive information, I analyzed the reports of the oversight bodies and the UN, and I created briefs which were used by the Member States during – more... the consideration of financial matters. I organized coordination meetings and briefings and I directly participated in budget negotiations. I also supported the EU team by fulfilling various administrative tasks. I believe that this experience gave me an insight in negotiation and communication strategies and exposed me to the decision-making process within the EU. Moreover, the experience reinforced my attention to detail, further strengthened my analytical skills and exposed me to the process of reading, writing and summarizing various financial reports. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable experience in workplace
Consultant/Program Assistant (Former Employee), New York, N.Y.September 20, 2013
Had opportunity to work with a diverse group of people: all nationalities, religion, culture, socioeconomic backgounds.

About United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining – Read more