Find companies:
United Nations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
143 reviews

United Nations Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Analyst assistant (INTERN) (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 30, 2012
The multicultural environment and the constant dialogue regarding international affairs provide the employee to develop a wider perspective from the current global issues. The environment is stimulating for analysis and development of new approaches to contemporary issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working to make a difference
Senior Programme Officer (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 26, 2012
Engaging place to work with colleagues from 193 different countries, working on pressing world problems and solutions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traditional and friendly environment
Marketing Intern at Yearbook Unit (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYSeptember 11, 2012
It's a good start of career and learned a lot about the inside roles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse workplace with great opportunities for travel and meeting people from all walks of life.
Asset Management Officer (Former Employee), Darfur, SudanSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: travel and greatoverall benefit package.
Cons: overally bureaucratic.
Due to its overly bureaucratic culture, the UN may seem that it's all about paper pushing and not really results driven like most private firms Stateside. However, once you learn the culture, you learn that you can achieve a lot more through your contact list and sometimes bypass the tedious and timeconsuming bureaucracy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The very thing I was looking for
ASSISTANT (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 25, 2012
Highly disciplined environment.
High-energy, fast-paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UN/Dyncorp
Deputy Commander (Former Employee), Falls Church, VAAugust 16, 2012
Pros: benefits, pay, location, support
Cons: mission was not long enough
This is a mission to Bosnia under the UN with Dyncorp being the hiring agency. Such a gratifying experience in my career
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Intern, Climate Change Research (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 23, 2012
Pros: global topics
Cons: temporary position
Performed tasks related to the preparation of the Copenhagen Climate Summit, including researching climate change mitigation and adaptation measures and closely working with officials from 25 countries in gathering data and coordinating Climate Summit activities. Accomplishments: identified more than 20 issues affecting intellectual property transfer – more... related to alternative energy generation and distribution; drafted a 50-point list of recommendations on reducing the carbon impact, including a detailed research on replacing income taxation with CO2 taxation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy comfortable work environment
Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 12, 2012
Pros: every one communicates
Cons: some time pay was late
early morning fast paced work cleaning offices an restrooms of 22 floors. i learned how to be a team player an diplomatic. I ran the cleaning company as my former boss the owner lives in another country. my co-wokers where more like family we have worked so many years together. the hardest part of the job was sometimes going a month or two with out – more... pay every one smiled an talked to each other sn flexibility – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most interesting job ever.
Chief of Building Engineering Services (Former Employee), Angola, AfricaJuly 7, 2012
Pros: the most interesting job ever.
Cons: the mission has a definite completion date.
Never dull, always new situations and new conditions. New cultures to learn from the natives, client groups of the UN staff, and my own staff. Each client group had different needs, but most groups worked together for the sake of the mission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an absolutely fascinating position
Travel Consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 27, 2012
Pros: dealing with situations i never dealt with previously
Cons: the commute was very difficult considering my home location
The days went by very quickly as we were always busy.I increased
my geographical knowledge(which was execellent when I started).
I also increased my knowledge of difficult and complicated itineraries.

Management was very strict considering the circumstances,but always very helpful.Co-workers were for the most part helpful and
friendly,though we didn't – more... have much time to communicate given the
work load.

The hardest part of the job was completing submitted itineraries in time for the traveler's departure,especially within Africa or Asia.

The most enjoyable part of the job was spending my time off in the
library and the adjacent map room,which was incredibly fascinating

Unfortunately,I was compelled to leave this position as I was caring for my terminally ill mother,and could not coordinate the commute
and care effectively to do both. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsh working eviroment but productive and supportive in all aspect of operations.
Central Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), Darfur SudanJune 15, 2012
Pros: more vacations
Cons: restricted break time.
Having worked with the United Nations for the period of eight (8) years as warehouse assistant/Supervisor, I have gained more experience working with and supervising six (6) International Staffs. Dealing with each staff with respect,dignity, professionalism and respect for diversity as each of them are completely different nationals establishes a good – more... working relationship.Team work helped archieve organization goals and enhance warehouse productivity and meet deadline/timelines.Though the enviroment is very harsh and almost always hot but working with different nationals to obtaine one goal is significant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in War torn Areas always with a Recreational centre and a Church..
Security Specialist (Former Employee), Former YugoslaviaJune 14, 2012
Pros: learning, experience, survival and ability to work anywhere in the world.
Cons: none to comment on..
My First International Job as a Peace Keeper...Worked Eagerly and Experienced Change of Weather seasons,Different Cultures and Languages..It was an Experience to Later change Both, My Understanding of the World and Way of Living..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to make a difference to the world
Financial Assistant Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 5, 2012
Usually I sat in front of a computer to edit a offcial document of UN.
My mangers and co-workers were all very nice. This intership required to negotiate with other co-workers. They taugh me a lot and never hesitate to give me advices. I thought the most enjoyful part of this job was that it's very meaningful. What my department had done can save a – more... lot of lives from stavation or keep peace in certain place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
housekeeper rooms attender
housekeeper (Former Employee), New York, NY 309 east 48 street manhattanApril 25, 2012
Pros: free lunch
Cons: not benefice
Full time job.
rooms attender and housekeeper and cleaning offices.
set up the table.
set up the local for party and set up the dishes
cleaning offices, pick up the garbage,
cleaning a big kitchen.
organized the dishes.
cleaning rooms and a pent house.
mopping big lobby.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work ethic
LAN HELPDESK ANALYST INTERN (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 19, 2012
This internship was phenomenal and a valuable learning experience. One of the most enjoyable parts of the job was working in a diverse cultural environment which fostered continuous learning. Everyone was a professional and I had the opportunity to learn and master new IT tools. A typical day could potentially include setup account access privileges, – more... relocation of employees and roles of privilege, employee hire setup, Polycom A/V setup for global conference calls. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUNFILLED MULTICULTURAL ENVIRONMENT
TEAM LEADER VOLUNTEER IN SOUTH SUDAN (Former Employee), JUBAMarch 23, 2012
Pros: acquisitions of further skills and competencies
Cons: challenging infrastructure
WORKING IN SOUTH SUDAN WAS AS CHALLENGING AS IT WAS REWARDING!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very kind, generous and thoughtful couple to work for.
Caregiver, Housekeeper, personal assistant, driver (Former Employee), United Nations PlazaFebruary 28, 2012
Pros: excellent food, and very kind couple.
Cons: can't think of any.
I worked for the Reed's for 11 years. They treated me as part of the family. I became their right hand, and they were very kind and supportive. They did a lot of travelling and may times I was taking along.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No luxuries in Africa, but otherwise a good place to work for.
Air Conditioning and Refridgeration Technician (Former Employee), Loki, Nothern Kenya. Juba and Rumbeck, South SudanFebruary 27, 2012
Pros: everything was free. competitive salary.
Cons: none.
A lot of traveling by air and road, beautiful countries, friendly people. A lot of respect for the work that the United Nations are doing for Africa.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at the pinnacle of the world is amazing.
Public Information Officer (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 24, 2012
Working at the UN is like working at every story that you read in the newspaper. You have to deal with people from all over the world and with important global issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team building and relationship trainer /Safety and security manager/Experience with UN
Military observer/Team leader and liaison officer (Former Employee), Eritrea/Ethiopia/GeorgiaDecember 14, 2011
Pros: in charge
Cons: team building and health care, security, supervisor
Rami EREIQAT/Main Experiences
In charge as Business development staff at Challenger team 2011
Experience in Team building training and Adventures around Jordan...etc.
Curriculum development and Training staff /Royal military academy 2008-2010

With UN/Military observer 2006/2008
worked as team leader, train newcomers(UNMOs) the principles and instructions – more... as SOPs, my duties focused on Duty roster , providing assessments and analysis for the mission headquarter, writing daily and weekly assessment of the latest events in the area of responsibility, liaise with the NGOs and peacekeepers operating in the area, participated in formulating the security matrix of UNOMIG to improve the security rules in the mission, reporting in daily, weekly and monthly basis to the HQ regarding the political and security situation in my sector, that’s included a written reports and verbal briefings as well, providing a strategic, military and political analysis concerning the area of interest, Collecting information, processing and producing intelligence, participating with FFT(Fact Finding Team) to follow up and collect the information about any incident , making sure of implement the rules and orders as SOPs in UNOMIG and providing advice for the military side regarding the security and military developments in the area of interest.
Military observer
UN
Anti protest and demonstrations instructor at Royal military academy for cadets’ officers 2005-2006
Operations officer 2002-2005
Dead Sea company commander 2001-2002
Intelligence officer 1998-2001
Peace keeping and liaison officer in ERITREA/Ethiopia in 2000. – less

About United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining – Read more