Find companies:
United Nations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
153 reviews

United Nations Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dynamic working environment
Policy Adviser (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 18, 2013
-Following the work of the major UN organs
-Attending daily meetings
-Writing reports for the government
-Organizing events
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it has been as good jod for me
EOD Deminer and Mine sweeper (Former Employee), Syria, VAMarch 11, 2013
Pros: on contract basis only by un
Cons: na
Ive had been experienced as DE miner and mine sweeper during the time i was deployed as peacekeeper as part of United Nations peacekeeping mission in Golan Heights Israel and Syria, Ive enjoy what am doing there with the help also of other contingent like contingent from Austria,Croatia,India and Japan Peacekeeper.The hardest part of my Job there is – more... when the time you have to recover a landmines and Unexploded Ordnance (UXO) with the used of our knowledge and techniques and render safe procedure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human Rights
Fordham UN Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 3, 2012
What a great learning experience on an international level. Great networking opportunities and a wealth of information received to bring about change across the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funworkplace
Nurse (Former Employee), Manila, P00November 18, 2012
Pros: free snacks
Cons: nice facilities
very challenging, peopel have full cparations pleasing and outsranding achievements
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very tough to get a job here
operator (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 8, 2012
Pros: none because you will not get hired
Cons: none because you will not get hired
It is very tough to get a position here unless your great grandfather was a diplomat. A lot of politics and red tape.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The UN Secretariat is a massive bureaucracy run by professional international civil servants. It is a highly structured and rule-driven environment.
Business Analyst and Writer (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 17, 2012
Pros: great benefits for staff. permanent staff have good security.
Cons: difficult to adapt to organization.
The UN Secretariat may not be everyone's cup of tea. It is an interesting place to work because of the international character and the proximity to the General Assembly and Security Council and diplomatic activity.

On the other hand, it is governed by a vast accumulation of resolutions, information circulars, and staff rules. This can make it difficult – more... at times to make change. – less

March 7, 2013

I LIKE WORKING WITH UNITED NATIONS BECAUSE I LIKE BEEN A DIPLOMAT. SECOND, LIFE IS WORTLESS WITHOUT LIVING FOR OTHERS. UN MAKES ONE LEARN MORE ABOUT DIVERSE CULTURE, ETHNICITIES, AS WELL AS RELIGIOUS BACKGRAND.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social Worker.
Social Worker (Former Employee), PakistanOctober 6, 2012
Pros: met a lot of new people
Cons: n/a
I liked working there, I have no complaints. During the day I had meetings daily with people, if there was any problem with schools, families, hospitals, etc. we report it to our main office and they take care of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Analyst assistant (INTERN) (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 30, 2012
The multicultural environment and the constant dialogue regarding international affairs provide the employee to develop a wider perspective from the current global issues. The environment is stimulating for analysis and development of new approaches to contemporary issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working to make a difference
Senior Programme Officer (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 26, 2012
Engaging place to work with colleagues from 193 different countries, working on pressing world problems and solutions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traditional and friendly environment
Marketing Intern at Yearbook Unit (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYSeptember 11, 2012
It's a good start of career and learned a lot about the inside roles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse workplace with great opportunities for travel and meeting people from all walks of life.
Asset Management Officer (Former Employee), Darfur, SudanSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: travel and greatoverall benefit package.
Cons: overally bureaucratic.
Due to its overly bureaucratic culture, the UN may seem that it's all about paper pushing and not really results driven like most private firms Stateside. However, once you learn the culture, you learn that you can achieve a lot more through your contact list and sometimes bypass the tedious and timeconsuming bureaucracy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The very thing I was looking for
ASSISTANT (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 25, 2012
Highly disciplined environment.
High-energy, fast-paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UN/Dyncorp
Deputy Commander (Former Employee), Falls Church, VAAugust 16, 2012
Pros: benefits, pay, location, support
Cons: mission was not long enough
This is a mission to Bosnia under the UN with Dyncorp being the hiring agency. Such a gratifying experience in my career
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Intern, Climate Change Research (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 23, 2012
Pros: global topics
Cons: temporary position
Performed tasks related to the preparation of the Copenhagen Climate Summit, including researching climate change mitigation and adaptation measures and closely working with officials from 25 countries in gathering data and coordinating Climate Summit activities. Accomplishments: identified more than 20 issues affecting intellectual property transfer – more... related to alternative energy generation and distribution; drafted a 50-point list of recommendations on reducing the carbon impact, including a detailed research on replacing income taxation with CO2 taxation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy comfortable work environment
Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 12, 2012
Pros: every one communicates
Cons: some time pay was late
early morning fast paced work cleaning offices an restrooms of 22 floors. i learned how to be a team player an diplomatic. I ran the cleaning company as my former boss the owner lives in another country. my co-wokers where more like family we have worked so many years together. the hardest part of the job was sometimes going a month or two with out – more... pay every one smiled an talked to each other sn flexibility – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most interesting job ever.
Chief of Building Engineering Services (Former Employee), Angola, AfricaJuly 7, 2012
Pros: the most interesting job ever.
Cons: the mission has a definite completion date.
Never dull, always new situations and new conditions. New cultures to learn from the natives, client groups of the UN staff, and my own staff. Each client group had different needs, but most groups worked together for the sake of the mission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an absolutely fascinating position
Travel Consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 27, 2012
Pros: dealing with situations i never dealt with previously
Cons: the commute was very difficult considering my home location
The days went by very quickly as we were always busy.I increased
my geographical knowledge(which was execellent when I started).
I also increased my knowledge of difficult and complicated itineraries.

Management was very strict considering the circumstances,but always very helpful.Co-workers were for the most part helpful and
friendly,though we didn't – more... have much time to communicate given the
work load.

The hardest part of the job was completing submitted itineraries in time for the traveler's departure,especially within Africa or Asia.

The most enjoyable part of the job was spending my time off in the
library and the adjacent map room,which was incredibly fascinating

Unfortunately,I was compelled to leave this position as I was caring for my terminally ill mother,and could not coordinate the commute
and care effectively to do both. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsh working eviroment but productive and supportive in all aspect of operations.
Central Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), Darfur SudanJune 15, 2012
Pros: more vacations
Cons: restricted break time.
Having worked with the United Nations for the period of eight (8) years as warehouse assistant/Supervisor, I have gained more experience working with and supervising six (6) International Staffs. Dealing with each staff with respect,dignity, professionalism and respect for diversity as each of them are completely different nationals establishes a good – more... working relationship.Team work helped archieve organization goals and enhance warehouse productivity and meet deadline/timelines.Though the enviroment is very harsh and almost always hot but working with different nationals to obtaine one goal is significant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in War torn Areas always with a Recreational centre and a Church..
Security Specialist (Former Employee), Former YugoslaviaJune 14, 2012
Pros: learning, experience, survival and ability to work anywhere in the world.
Cons: none to comment on..
My First International Job as a Peace Keeper...Worked Eagerly and Experienced Change of Weather seasons,Different Cultures and Languages..It was an Experience to Later change Both, My Understanding of the World and Way of Living..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to make a difference to the world
Financial Assistant Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 5, 2012
Usually I sat in front of a computer to edit a offcial document of UN.
My mangers and co-workers were all very nice. This intership required to negotiate with other co-workers. They taugh me a lot and never hesitate to give me advices. I thought the most enjoyful part of this job was that it's very meaningful. What my department had done can save a – more... lot of lives from stavation or keep peace in certain place. – less

About United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining – Read more