Find companies:
United Nations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
131 reviews

United Nations Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsh working eviroment but productive and supportive in all aspect of operations.
Central Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), Darfur SudanJune 15, 2012
Pros: more vacations
Cons: restricted break time.
Having worked with the United Nations for the period of eight (8) years as warehouse assistant/Supervisor, I have gained more experience working with and supervising six (6) International Staffs. Dealing with each staff with respect,dignity, professionalism and respect for diversity as each of them are completely different nationals establishes a good – more... working relationship.Team work helped archieve organization goals and enhance warehouse productivity and meet deadline/timelines.Though the enviroment is very harsh and almost always hot but working with different nationals to obtaine one goal is significant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in War torn Areas always with a Recreational centre and a Church..
Security Specialist (Former Employee), Former YugoslaviaJune 14, 2012
Pros: learning, experience, survival and ability to work anywhere in the world.
Cons: none to comment on..
My First International Job as a Peace Keeper...Worked Eagerly and Experienced Change of Weather seasons,Different Cultures and Languages..It was an Experience to Later change Both, My Understanding of the World and Way of Living..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to make a difference to the world
Financial Assistant Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 5, 2012
Usually I sat in front of a computer to edit a offcial document of UN.
My mangers and co-workers were all very nice. This intership required to negotiate with other co-workers. They taugh me a lot and never hesitate to give me advices. I thought the most enjoyful part of this job was that it's very meaningful. What my department had done can save a – more... lot of lives from stavation or keep peace in certain place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
housekeeper rooms attender
housekeeper (Former Employee), New York, NY 309 east 48 street manhattanApril 25, 2012
Pros: free lunch
Cons: not benefice
Full time job.
rooms attender and housekeeper and cleaning offices.
set up the table.
set up the local for party and set up the dishes
cleaning offices, pick up the garbage,
cleaning a big kitchen.
organized the dishes.
cleaning rooms and a pent house.
mopping big lobby.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work ethic
LAN HELPDESK ANALYST INTERN (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 19, 2012
This internship was phenomenal and a valuable learning experience. One of the most enjoyable parts of the job was working in a diverse cultural environment which fostered continuous learning. Everyone was a professional and I had the opportunity to learn and master new IT tools. A typical day could potentially include setup account access privileges, – more... relocation of employees and roles of privilege, employee hire setup, Polycom A/V setup for global conference calls. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUNFILLED MULTICULTURAL ENVIRONMENT
TEAM LEADER VOLUNTEER IN SOUTH SUDAN (Former Employee), JUBAMarch 23, 2012
Pros: acquisitions of further skills and competencies
Cons: challenging infrastructure
WORKING IN SOUTH SUDAN WAS AS CHALLENGING AS IT WAS REWARDING!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very kind, generous and thoughtful couple to work for.
Caregiver, Housekeeper, personal assistant, driver (Former Employee), United Nations PlazaFebruary 28, 2012
Pros: excellent food, and very kind couple.
Cons: can't think of any.
I worked for the Reed's for 11 years. They treated me as part of the family. I became their right hand, and they were very kind and supportive. They did a lot of travelling and may times I was taking along.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No luxuries in Africa, but otherwise a good place to work for.
Air Conditioning and Refridgeration Technician (Former Employee), Loki, Nothern Kenya. Juba and Rumbeck, South SudanFebruary 27, 2012
Pros: everything was free. competitive salary.
Cons: none.
A lot of traveling by air and road, beautiful countries, friendly people. A lot of respect for the work that the United Nations are doing for Africa.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at the pinnacle of the world is amazing.
Public Information Officer (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 24, 2012
Working at the UN is like working at every story that you read in the newspaper. You have to deal with people from all over the world and with important global issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team building and relationship trainer /Safety and security manager/Experience with UN
Military observer/Team leader and liaison officer (Former Employee), Eritrea/Ethiopia/GeorgiaDecember 14, 2011
Pros: in charge
Cons: team building and health care, security, supervisor
Rami EREIQAT/Main Experiences
In charge as Business development staff at Challenger team 2011
Experience in Team building training and Adventures around Jordan...etc.
Curriculum development and Training staff /Royal military academy 2008-2010

With UN/Military observer 2006/2008
worked as team leader, train newcomers(UNMOs) the principles and instructions – more... as SOPs, my duties focused on Duty roster , providing assessments and analysis for the mission headquarter, writing daily and weekly assessment of the latest events in the area of responsibility, liaise with the NGOs and peacekeepers operating in the area, participated in formulating the security matrix of UNOMIG to improve the security rules in the mission, reporting in daily, weekly and monthly basis to the HQ regarding the political and security situation in my sector, that’s included a written reports and verbal briefings as well, providing a strategic, military and political analysis concerning the area of interest, Collecting information, processing and producing intelligence, participating with FFT(Fact Finding Team) to follow up and collect the information about any incident , making sure of implement the rules and orders as SOPs in UNOMIG and providing advice for the military side regarding the security and military developments in the area of interest.
Military observer
UN
Anti protest and demonstrations instructor at Royal military academy for cadets’ officers 2005-2006
Operations officer 2002-2005
Dead Sea company commander 2001-2002
Intelligence officer 1998-2001
Peace keeping and liaison officer in ERITREA/Ethiopia in 2000. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Professional Organisation with Scope and work ethics.
Crossing Point Monitor Team Leader (Former Employee), Former Yugoslavia-Sizak-CPNovember 28, 2011
Pros: crossing point monitor team leader-sizak-cp
Cons: all un contractors benefits.
During my tour in Former Yugoslavia as a Crossing Point Monitor Team Leader,i was deligated to a Denmark Military Unit,they were very supportive towards my needs,in Crossingpoints,the Serbian Troops that time were very unstable for negosiations and sometimes agrivated towards UN Convoy movements,and with the cooperation of Denmark(DANBAT) i could manage – more... easily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The UN from afar
Sr. Field Operations Officer (Former Employee), Washington D.C.September 9, 2011
I had a great run with The United Nations, the job took me in an complete different direction in which I thought my life would go, but I would not change it for anything. The people you get to meet and interact with, the cultures that you are exposed to, being a military brat and born overseas I was lucky to be exposed to a lot of different places and – more... customs, but for those of you who have not had the fortune to do so, working for the UN in any capacity is by far a whole new experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support Information Technology daily operation in the Organization
LAN technician & Help desk Specialist (Former Employee), Lebanon, Syria with training in Italy, IsraelAugust 4, 2014
Pros: happy hours, letters of appreciation and encouragement
Cons: lack of appreciation, ignoring the strong silent achievers within the team, when staff effort goes unnoticed, when partiality and favour becomes a practice, the team spirit becomes fake and staff leave, get sick and take a long leave, anxiety takes over the team then the team suffers, projects could be delayed, motivation would decrease.
I ensured daily with punctuality that Information technology services at available and in use by both military and civilian personnel.
The related issues with computers, printers, emails, password are sent to the desk through help desk software application and is being taken care of . In many cases remote access is done with the agreement of the customers – more... and issues are resolved online.

In terms of management, the job is based on core values: Team spirit, respect of diversities, planning and prioritizing work, responsibility and accountability.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when the team has to complete a project such as installation of outlook webmail application or rollout, the team works with perfect harmony, perfectly helping each other and focus on great results. I love working with co-workers who have got or are close to the core values and support each other for the best of the company, I personally invest more time and energy too help a team mate and satisfy customers for the interest of the organization.
The most difficult part if when there is a dictator playing games by taking advantage of other staff's achievements and reporting to the Chief of the section as his personal achievement which obviously the chief would find out through general meeting. We sometimes end up having a weak team that will make any change or bring success because of one staff acting around maliciously, some staff end up leaving the job regardless of money, other staff just get sick r take a long leave ....which will affect either productivity and customers satisfaction or stay an institution with the same repetitive issues.
A good company could definitely value every staff contribution encourage upgrading of skills, continuous learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peaceful and fun workplace
General Coordinator Assistant (Internship) (Former Employee), Valencia, VenezuelaJuly 23, 2014
Pros: working with all king of people
Cons: n/a
• Raising awareness of what the United Nations does, indeed, in favour of peace, justice, humanitarian assistance.
• Promote research, information, training and education on the United Nations, human rights, democracy and human development.
• Promote and facilitate civil society participation in the activities of the United Nations, and the great international – more... issues, derivatives thereof, specifically affect them, through the presence in international activities.
• Encourage the construction of a universal citizenship culture of peace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United Nations - World Food Program
Program Associate (Former Employee), Erbil, IraqJuly 17, 2014
Pros: free lunch, transportation, medical insurance
Cons: field work
Iraq Emergency Operation / Syrian Regional Emergency Response
 Managed and collected data from five refugee camps and conducted weekly onsite visits to ensure food delivery and to coordinate food distribution dates
 Reviewed thousands of camp voucher requests each month; coordinated logistics for incoming funds in order to account for all vouchers – more... and distribute money efficiently to implement all programs
 Input data including commodity requirements, financial commitments, and country/regional information into WFP Information systems to maintain updated and accurate information
 Summarized and analyzed monthly financial and operational reports on camp data for WFP management
 Ensured financials such as new estimates/budget revisions, insurance claims, funding requests and cost information was being correctly allocated
 Trained and managed six field staff on commodity management, data collection, surveys and assessments – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
guard
Security Guard (Former Employee), Afghanistan HeratJuly 9, 2014
Pros: helped my country .
Cons: did hard job
Have done good job was honest in my job .keep securety of the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a temporare job
Head of awareness campaign department (Former Employee), depends on the taskJune 24, 2014
Pros: a school to learn in both life and work levels
Cons: high exposure of other miserable cultures
It was a great place to work in yet as a start in my career i wanted something stable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my work with service desk has been,a good exprences & lot of fun as well and also good interaction with diffrence national.
IT-Assistant (Former Employee), MonroviaJune 18, 2014
worked with service desk /Help desk responsible to Log calls, provide first line support using remote tools prepare daily NOC report work with various application like CACTI, averted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Translating
Volunteer translator (Current Employee), HomeJune 12, 2014
Translation and proofreading of texts concerning children rights.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi cultural environment
Resident Coordinator Office, Jordan (Former Employee), Amman , JordanJune 7, 2014
Pros: exclusive diplomatic privileges
Cons: selective bureaucracy
- set up meeting with volunteers
- go to selected events to represent the resident coodinator
- write local reports concerning current jordanian demographics
- spread ballots concerning the post 2015 goals in order to involve local population

About United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining – Read more