Find companies:
United Nations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
125 reviews

United Nations Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most interesting job ever.
Chief of Building Engineering Services (Former Employee), Angola, AfricaJuly 7, 2012
Pros: the most interesting job ever.
Cons: the mission has a definite completion date.
Never dull, always new situations and new conditions. New cultures to learn from the natives, client groups of the UN staff, and my own staff. Each client group had different needs, but most groups worked together for the sake of the mission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an absolutely fascinating position
Travel Consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 27, 2012
Pros: dealing with situations i never dealt with previously
Cons: the commute was very difficult considering my home location
The days went by very quickly as we were always busy.I increased
my geographical knowledge(which was execellent when I started).
I also increased my knowledge of difficult and complicated itineraries.

Management was very strict considering the circumstances,but always very helpful.Co-workers were for the most part helpful and
friendly,though we didn't – more... have much time to communicate given the
work load.

The hardest part of the job was completing submitted itineraries in time for the traveler's departure,especially within Africa or Asia.

The most enjoyable part of the job was spending my time off in the
library and the adjacent map room,which was incredibly fascinating

Unfortunately,I was compelled to leave this position as I was caring for my terminally ill mother,and could not coordinate the commute
and care effectively to do both. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsh working eviroment but productive and supportive in all aspect of operations.
Central Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), Darfur SudanJune 15, 2012
Pros: more vacations
Cons: restricted break time.
Having worked with the United Nations for the period of eight (8) years as warehouse assistant/Supervisor, I have gained more experience working with and supervising six (6) International Staffs. Dealing with each staff with respect,dignity, professionalism and respect for diversity as each of them are completely different nationals establishes a good – more... working relationship.Team work helped archieve organization goals and enhance warehouse productivity and meet deadline/timelines.Though the enviroment is very harsh and almost always hot but working with different nationals to obtaine one goal is significant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in War torn Areas always with a Recreational centre and a Church..
Security Specialist (Former Employee), Former YugoslaviaJune 14, 2012
Pros: learning, experience, survival and ability to work anywhere in the world.
Cons: none to comment on..
My First International Job as a Peace Keeper...Worked Eagerly and Experienced Change of Weather seasons,Different Cultures and Languages..It was an Experience to Later change Both, My Understanding of the World and Way of Living..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Human Rights Assistant (Former Employee), Kinshasa, DR CongoJune 1, 2012
Pros: vacation after a long period of work
Cons: system healthcare for national staff
I learned a lot, working with United Nations in DR Congo.I joined the Human Rights Office like an Interpret (translator), but my title was changed 2 months later as a Human Rights Clerk. I am very engaged and I learned computer, administrative task, fax machine, scan, photocopy and to deal with the others colleagues.
The relationship with my colleagues – more... was very good and I tried to help some of them.
I did my work consciously with professionalism. I respect the timing according for doing the job.
I used to travel in a lot of place for duty for long moment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are wirking in heavon
National Professional Officer (Admin) (Former Employee), Kabul, afghanistanMay 22, 2012
Pros: perfecto
The best employeer in the world, they care the best for their employees. Eno
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to make a difference to the world
Financial Assistant Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 5, 2012
Usually I sat in front of a computer to edit a offcial document of UN.
My mangers and co-workers were all very nice. This intership required to negotiate with other co-workers. They taugh me a lot and never hesitate to give me advices. I thought the most enjoyful part of this job was that it's very meaningful. What my department had done can save a – more... lot of lives from stavation or keep peace in certain place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
housekeeper rooms attender
housekeeper (Former Employee), New York, NY 309 east 48 street manhattanApril 25, 2012
Pros: free lunch
Cons: not benefice
Full time job.
rooms attender and housekeeper and cleaning offices.
set up the table.
set up the local for party and set up the dishes
cleaning offices, pick up the garbage,
cleaning a big kitchen.
organized the dishes.
cleaning rooms and a pent house.
mopping big lobby.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work ethic
LAN HELPDESK ANALYST INTERN (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 19, 2012
This internship was phenomenal and a valuable learning experience. One of the most enjoyable parts of the job was working in a diverse cultural environment which fostered continuous learning. Everyone was a professional and I had the opportunity to learn and master new IT tools. A typical day could potentially include setup account access privileges, – more... relocation of employees and roles of privilege, employee hire setup, Polycom A/V setup for global conference calls. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is great working with a UN. The management, the cultural values and compensations are remarkable.
Information Management Officer(P3) (Current Employee), Cambodia, Phnome PenhApril 18, 2012
I have extensive experience in working with a UN. Resourceful and Challenging opportunities in my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Program Manager
Program Manager Logistics (Former Employee), AfghanistanApril 9, 2012
Responsible for project financial overview in provincial locations throughout Afghanistan.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUNFILLED MULTICULTURAL ENVIRONMENT
TEAM LEADER VOLUNTEER IN SOUTH SUDAN (Former Employee), JUBAMarch 23, 2012
Pros: acquisitions of further skills and competencies
Cons: challenging infrastructure
WORKING IN SOUTH SUDAN WAS AS CHALLENGING AS IT WAS REWARDING!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culturally Stimulating Environment
IT Officer (Current Employee), DRCMarch 10, 2012
Pros: good benefits
Cons: !
Culturally Stimulating Environment. Challenging work under stressful current world events, yet very rewarding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very kind, generous and thoughtful couple to work for.
Caregiver, Housekeeper, personal assistant, driver (Former Employee), United Nations PlazaFebruary 28, 2012
Pros: excellent food, and very kind couple.
Cons: can't think of any.
I worked for the Reed's for 11 years. They treated me as part of the family. I became their right hand, and they were very kind and supportive. They did a lot of travelling and may times I was taking along.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No luxuries in Africa, but otherwise a good place to work for.
Air Conditioning and Refridgeration Technician (Former Employee), Loki, Nothern Kenya. Juba and Rumbeck, South SudanFebruary 27, 2012
Pros: everything was free. competitive salary.
Cons: none.
A lot of traveling by air and road, beautiful countries, friendly people. A lot of respect for the work that the United Nations are doing for Africa.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at the pinnacle of the world is amazing.
Public Information Officer (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 24, 2012
Working at the UN is like working at every story that you read in the newspaper. You have to deal with people from all over the world and with important global issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team building and relationship trainer /Safety and security manager/Experience with UN
Military observer/Team leader and liaison officer (Former Employee), Eritrea/Ethiopia/GeorgiaDecember 14, 2011
Pros: in charge
Cons: team building and health care, security, supervisor
Rami EREIQAT/Main Experiences
In charge as Business development staff at Challenger team 2011
Experience in Team building training and Adventures around Jordan...etc.
Curriculum development and Training staff /Royal military academy 2008-2010

With UN/Military observer 2006/2008
worked as team leader, train newcomers(UNMOs) the principles and instructions – more... as SOPs, my duties focused on Duty roster , providing assessments and analysis for the mission headquarter, writing daily and weekly assessment of the latest events in the area of responsibility, liaise with the NGOs and peacekeepers operating in the area, participated in formulating the security matrix of UNOMIG to improve the security rules in the mission, reporting in daily, weekly and monthly basis to the HQ regarding the political and security situation in my sector, that’s included a written reports and verbal briefings as well, providing a strategic, military and political analysis concerning the area of interest, Collecting information, processing and producing intelligence, participating with FFT(Fact Finding Team) to follow up and collect the information about any incident , making sure of implement the rules and orders as SOPs in UNOMIG and providing advice for the military side regarding the security and military developments in the area of interest.
Military observer
UN
Anti protest and demonstrations instructor at Royal military academy for cadets’ officers 2005-2006
Operations officer 2002-2005
Dead Sea company commander 2001-2002
Intelligence officer 1998-2001
Peace keeping and liaison officer in ERITREA/Ethiopia in 2000. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Professional Organisation with Scope and work ethics.
Crossing Point Monitor Team Leader (Former Employee), Former Yugoslavia-Sizak-CPNovember 28, 2011
Pros: crossing point monitor team leader-sizak-cp
Cons: all un contractors benefits.
During my tour in Former Yugoslavia as a Crossing Point Monitor Team Leader,i was deligated to a Denmark Military Unit,they were very supportive towards my needs,in Crossingpoints,the Serbian Troops that time were very unstable for negosiations and sometimes agrivated towards UN Convoy movements,and with the cooperation of Denmark(DANBAT) i could manage – more... easily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The UN from afar
Sr. Field Operations Officer (Former Employee), Washington D.C.September 9, 2011
I had a great run with The United Nations, the job took me in an complete different direction in which I thought my life would go, but I would not change it for anything. The people you get to meet and interact with, the cultures that you are exposed to, being a military brat and born overseas I was lucky to be exposed to a lot of different places and – more... customs, but for those of you who have not had the fortune to do so, working for the UN in any capacity is by far a whole new experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a temporare job
Head of awareness campaign department (Former Employee), depends on the taskJune 24, 2014
Pros: a school to learn in both life and work levels
Cons: high exposure of other miserable cultures
It was a great place to work in yet as a start in my career i wanted something stable

About United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining – Read more