Find companies:
United Nations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
131 reviews

United Nations Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enviroment to help people and projects that fights against worldwide hunger
ICT Assistant & Security Focal Point (Former Employee), Bolivia, La PazJune 4, 2014
Pros: excelent working politics and procedures
Cons: limited contract for all staff menbers
A typical day is involver with a starting procedures of verification of services and all system administration basic standarts. Then I have to check all activities involved in running projects, continious user assistance, interagency coperation, IT team continuous capacitacion, IT conferences, Review Security standarts for Most operative compliance, – more... IT device improvement.

Telecomunications priorities, administration of specific equipments, radio comunications, VSAT maitenance and installation.

Were very supportive and copearate all the time, understanding the needs and the requirements.

Leading with fast activities, and following beurocratic procedures.

Helping beneficiaries, and people in need, also learning new cultures, and technologies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Confindent and reliable working place
Quality Assurance/Quality Control in Fuel/Jet A-1 (Current Employee), Darfur, SudanMay 28, 2014
Pros: charting with colleagues at break time
Cons: holidays
Under the direct supervision of the Chief Fuel Unit, as OIC Fuel Operations on daily basis my duties are the following but not limited :
- Monitor closely the fuel stock at all 34 fuel sites of Darfur to ensure the provision of aviation and ground fuel, oil and lubricants for aircrafts, vehicles and generators.
- I liaise and coordinate with Logistics, – more... Military and Police contingent, Transport Section, Generator Unit and with the Contractor/Supplier of fuel, PETRONAS.
- I process and review the fuel request from all the above components of Darfur mission and forward to Chief Fuel Unit for approval.
- I ensure Quality Assurance/Quality Control of ground/aviation fuel and equipment in the Contractor sites.
- I ensure training of UNAMID colleagues at all level/International and National Staff.

The job becomes challenging during the rainy season in Darfur when roads are impassable. To tackle this problem, I plan ahead of rainy season by reinforcing the stock of fuel increasing DOS/Days of supply to cover the entire period of rainy season.

I work with more than 20 colleagues assigned in various hubs and Team Sites throughout Darfur mission ensuring that fuel operations are carried out according to Fuel Unit SOP/Standards Operating Procedures.

I feel more confident and encouraged when my Chief is happy about the work performed by me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
LAN/WAN Administrator (ICTA) (Former Employee), MONROVIA, LIBERIAMay 19, 2014
The United Nations is one of the best places i have work, the work environment is very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support technician/Security officer
Security Officer / Driver (Former Employee), Port au Prince, HAITIMay 19, 2014
 Protected UN personnel and Properties; provided secure escort services and patrol.
 Supervised officers and handled scheduling.
 Called upon to handle occasional IT support matters.
 Assisted in setting of PCs and workstations (cabling, desktop configuration).
 Troubleshot issues with operating systems and printer connectivity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Security Officer (Current Employee), Matadi DR CongoMay 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
assess control at gate and main entrance to UN facilities
report all security information and threats around the province.
I have learned more about UN security system and how to prepare a security plan for evacuation or relocation.
I can manage a team work of more than thirty staffs.
all my co-workers are happy to be supervise by me and all my supervisors – more... are lucky to be assisted by me because I did all and they can only approved.
the hardest parts of my job are: when we are investigating for an incident or accident in which UN staffs or properties are involving.
when we are supposed to provide briefing to the non UN staffs.
the most enjoyable part is serving others and contributing in promoting security for people in their duty and in helping people in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright
Surveyor & Field Engineer (Former Employee), sawtMay 9, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
on the ramp (tarmac)
duty manager (Current Employee), DRC CongoMay 9, 2014
Cons: long hours
hard work everyday.
other peoples culture and food.
stress and to much of work load.
locals are very friendly and i learn everyday and i love to be around them they like my family.
mats give training everyday and language is a problem.
to love each other and make jokes after a long day and hard work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good and fun
supervisor (Former Employee), EntebbeMay 2, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: we would start at 8:00am to 5:00pm sometimes over time.
All my days at work were good apart from some days were bad during rain season, i learned the international standard of doing works,management was so good in that i was cooperating with them,my co workers we were working as a team,the hardest part of work was the delay of materials,the most enjoyable is the day am seeing the progress and consults or – more... clients approve our works. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving Organization
Project Management Assistant (Former Employee), BaghlanApril 18, 2014
United Nations is really a great organization which gives opportunity to all nation to get together and work. UN really cares about its employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like security guard work because it needs too much attention to details as will as wisdom patience mental and physical alertness
pharmacist (Former Employee), lebanonApril 1, 2014
Cons: interesting and much joy
a typical day is a day when I reach my work site a little bit earlier to have some time to discuss with my college in the previous shift about the problems that I may face, Smoothly solve any problem may appear, learn something new from senior co-workers, manage all situations properly and in safe way,
The hardest and most enjoyable part in security – more... guard job is the ability to protect the property of the employer with involving my self in the risk. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in development programmes
TEMPORARY EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Gaborone,BotswanaMarch 17, 2014
Pros: no
Cons: staff retreats and inter-staff visits
Very productive and busy Organization.I learned a lot about programme management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with different angle
Administrative Assistant/Staff Assistant (Former Employee), Ethiopia, Addis AbabaMarch 11, 2014
The work is focused on the countries safety and peace. As it is the UN organization, work with diversity and relations with different countries
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i have great experiance
Instructor of Air Conditioning and Refrigeration (Current Employee), srilankaMarch 1, 2014
Pros: free vechiles
Cons: long hours
i have nice experiance also i learned new things..i was a instructor in that company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional international United Nations Agency
Health/Nutrition program assistant (Former Employee), Cote d'IvoireFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: four department, health, education, protection and logistics
Cons: stress management is done after any emergent circonstance or situation
Very high technology performance and work based on competency. You can work with this agency because you want to. But if you really deserve. You will get ready to deal with various projects and have a result of any project management.
You will be evaluated before a contract renewal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORKING
Art Collection Manager (Former Employee), Genève, GEFebruary 26, 2014
I have just moved to London from Geneva for family-related reasons and to enhance my work experiences in a new foreign country.

In Geneva, I have been working for the United Nations as Art Collection Manager, with the main duties of organising and managing all the activities (inventory, conservation, documentation, dressing/exposition and ceremony – more... events planning for 2200 art-works).

Before that, I had been working in Torino, my home city, for the Italian Culture Ministry as Warehouse manager and Communication Assistant in charge of the logistics and conservation of the Italian Sacred Art paintings (from the XV century to XX century) in Racconigi Castle (Unesco Heritage).

My second passion is for the jewelry sector. I’m a jewelry advisor for friends and private customers, in my free time. I follow the jewelry auction where I buy the objects. I know the new fashion tendencies and when it’s possible the sector’s fairs.

I’m flexible, organized, I’ve good negotiation skills and the ability to handle sensitive situations with diplomacy and also the ability to stay calm under pressure and manage multiple priorities and deadlines.
For me, the attention to detail is essential like the great taste.
Please note that I would be able to begin full or part time, immediately. My enclosed CV details my skills and experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An International Civil Service Organization
Chief Human Resources Officer (Current Employee), Kinshasa, Dr CongoFebruary 18, 2014
A diverse, multi-cultural, organization oriented to doing good. A peace-keeping mission in the middle of the African continent where politics and doing what is right often work at cross-purposes. It is rewarding work, but work it is. Tough to be innovative in the UN context where the confidence that one has done the best they have to offer is its own – more... reward. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Property, Materials and Procurement, Logistics Jobs
Material Specialist - Procurement Department (Former Employee), IraqFebruary 11, 2014
Detailed and result oriented professional with strong history of achievements. Accustomed to handling sensitive, confidential records and demonstrated a history of producing accurate, timely and comprehensive reports for meeting corporate/client expectations and deadlines. Have an extensive experience on finance, accounting and bookkeeping. Proficient – more... in handling tax compliance issues, bank reconciliation, financial statement preparation, payroll processing and payroll tax filing. Strong team-working and multi tasking skills, successfully completes projects within time and budget constraints. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided Career Opportunities and Empowerment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), LiberiaJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: career opportunities and empowerment
My typical day at work was multitasking, being a team player and paying attention to details but above all providing exceptional customer service.

I learned the act of multitasking and enjoyed the ability to use that skills in my daily life. I also learned to understand and work with individuals of different geographical and cultural backgrounds.

Management – more... was great. They were pleasant, always willing to listen and resolve issues and the best possible ways.

My co-workers were very productive at work, team players and self starters.

Hardest part of the job was the very first week of going through orientation and understanding the core values of the United Nations.

The most enjoyable part was being able to serve in every capacity, in accordance with the core values of the United Nations that provided a great outcome for the department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly educational and intensive experience
Development Programme Internship (Former Employee), Tirane, AlbaniaDecember 28, 2013
The day started with data entry and wrap-up of the previous day's initiatives. I had the responsibility of keeping project notes during seminars and meetings, and briefing others on the goals, values and overall objectives of the UNDP in Albania as well as other similarly political Eastern Balkan countries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amaizing, productive, enriching
Treaties Division Intern (Former Employee), Genève, GEDecember 21, 2013
Worked as an intern at the treaties division for CEDAW/OHCHR

About United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining – Read more