Find companies:
United Nations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
137 reviews

United Nations Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations, administration and Finance works in the project
United Nations of Development Programme / Project (Former Employee), Abidjan/Côte d'IvoireAugust 29, 2014
Pros: travels fee
Cons: short breaks
Planing of activities, Organization of duties, Monitoring and evaluation
Multicultural life; Management of conflict, Financial analysis
Budget managementt; Financial analysis, Financial management, Human resources and adùinistrative management; Financial report;
Minimum 02 and maximum 12; Professional staff and Support staff;
Budget and finance
Finance, – more... Accounting and budget – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support Information Technology daily operation in the Organization
LAN technician & Help desk Specialist (Former Employee), Lebanon, Syria with training in Italy, IsraelAugust 4, 2014
Pros: happy hours, letters of appreciation and encouragement
Cons: lack of appreciation, ignoring the strong silent achievers within the team, when staff effort goes unnoticed, when partiality and favour becomes a practice, the team spirit becomes fake and staff leave, get sick and take a long leave, anxiety takes over the team then the team suffers, projects could be delayed, motivation would decrease.
I ensured daily with punctuality that Information technology services at available and in use by both military and civilian personnel.
The related issues with computers, printers, emails, password are sent to the desk through help desk software application and is being taken care of . In many cases remote access is done with the agreement of the customers – more... and issues are resolved online.

In terms of management, the job is based on core values: Team spirit, respect of diversities, planning and prioritizing work, responsibility and accountability.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when the team has to complete a project such as installation of outlook webmail application or rollout, the team works with perfect harmony, perfectly helping each other and focus on great results. I love working with co-workers who have got or are close to the core values and support each other for the best of the company, I personally invest more time and energy too help a team mate and satisfy customers for the interest of the organization.
The most difficult part if when there is a dictator playing games by taking advantage of other staff's achievements and reporting to the Chief of the section as his personal achievement which obviously the chief would find out through general meeting. We sometimes end up having a weak team that will make any change or bring success because of one staff acting around maliciously, some staff end up leaving the job regardless of money, other staff just get sick r take a long leave ....which will affect either productivity and customers satisfaction or stay an institution with the same repetitive issues.
A good company could definitely value every staff contribution encourage upgrading of skills, continuous learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peaceful and fun workplace
General Coordinator Assistant (Internship) (Former Employee), Valencia, VenezuelaJuly 23, 2014
Pros: working with all king of people
Cons: n/a
• Raising awareness of what the United Nations does, indeed, in favour of peace, justice, humanitarian assistance.
• Promote research, information, training and education on the United Nations, human rights, democracy and human development.
• Promote and facilitate civil society participation in the activities of the United Nations, and the great international – more... issues, derivatives thereof, specifically affect them, through the presence in international activities.
• Encourage the construction of a universal citizenship culture of peace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United Nations - World Food Program
Program Associate (Former Employee), Erbil, IraqJuly 17, 2014
Pros: free lunch, transportation, medical insurance
Cons: field work
Iraq Emergency Operation / Syrian Regional Emergency Response
 Managed and collected data from five refugee camps and conducted weekly onsite visits to ensure food delivery and to coordinate food distribution dates
 Reviewed thousands of camp voucher requests each month; coordinated logistics for incoming funds in order to account for all vouchers – more... and distribute money efficiently to implement all programs
 Input data including commodity requirements, financial commitments, and country/regional information into WFP Information systems to maintain updated and accurate information
 Summarized and analyzed monthly financial and operational reports on camp data for WFP management
 Ensured financials such as new estimates/budget revisions, insurance claims, funding requests and cost information was being correctly allocated
 Trained and managed six field staff on commodity management, data collection, surveys and assessments – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
guard
Security Guard (Former Employee), Afghanistan HeratJuly 9, 2014
Pros: helped my country .
Cons: did hard job
Have done good job was honest in my job .keep securety of the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a temporare job
Head of awareness campaign department (Former Employee), depends on the taskJune 24, 2014
Pros: a school to learn in both life and work levels
Cons: high exposure of other miserable cultures
It was a great place to work in yet as a start in my career i wanted something stable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my work with service desk has been,a good exprences & lot of fun as well and also good interaction with diffrence national.
IT-Assistant (Former Employee), MonroviaJune 18, 2014
worked with service desk /Help desk responsible to Log calls, provide first line support using remote tools prepare daily NOC report work with various application like CACTI, averted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Translating
Volunteer translator (Current Employee), HomeJune 12, 2014
Translation and proofreading of texts concerning children rights.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi cultural environment
Resident Coordinator Office, Jordan (Former Employee), Amman , JordanJune 7, 2014
Pros: exclusive diplomatic privileges
Cons: selective bureaucracy
- set up meeting with volunteers
- go to selected events to represent the resident coodinator
- write local reports concerning current jordanian demographics
- spread ballots concerning the post 2015 goals in order to involve local population
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enviroment to help people and projects that fights against worldwide hunger
ICT Assistant & Security Focal Point (Former Employee), Bolivia, La PazJune 4, 2014
Pros: excelent working politics and procedures
Cons: limited contract for all staff menbers
A typical day is involver with a starting procedures of verification of services and all system administration basic standarts. Then I have to check all activities involved in running projects, continious user assistance, interagency coperation, IT team continuous capacitacion, IT conferences, Review Security standarts for Most operative compliance, – more... IT device improvement.

Telecomunications priorities, administration of specific equipments, radio comunications, VSAT maitenance and installation.

Were very supportive and copearate all the time, understanding the needs and the requirements.

Leading with fast activities, and following beurocratic procedures.

Helping beneficiaries, and people in need, also learning new cultures, and technologies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Confindent and reliable working place
Quality Assurance/Quality Control in Fuel/Jet A-1 (Current Employee), Darfur, SudanMay 28, 2014
Pros: charting with colleagues at break time
Cons: holidays
Under the direct supervision of the Chief Fuel Unit, as OIC Fuel Operations on daily basis my duties are the following but not limited :
- Monitor closely the fuel stock at all 34 fuel sites of Darfur to ensure the provision of aviation and ground fuel, oil and lubricants for aircrafts, vehicles and generators.
- I liaise and coordinate with Logistics, – more... Military and Police contingent, Transport Section, Generator Unit and with the Contractor/Supplier of fuel, PETRONAS.
- I process and review the fuel request from all the above components of Darfur mission and forward to Chief Fuel Unit for approval.
- I ensure Quality Assurance/Quality Control of ground/aviation fuel and equipment in the Contractor sites.
- I ensure training of UNAMID colleagues at all level/International and National Staff.

The job becomes challenging during the rainy season in Darfur when roads are impassable. To tackle this problem, I plan ahead of rainy season by reinforcing the stock of fuel increasing DOS/Days of supply to cover the entire period of rainy season.

I work with more than 20 colleagues assigned in various hubs and Team Sites throughout Darfur mission ensuring that fuel operations are carried out according to Fuel Unit SOP/Standards Operating Procedures.

I feel more confident and encouraged when my Chief is happy about the work performed by me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
LAN/WAN Administrator (ICTA) (Former Employee), MONROVIA, LIBERIAMay 19, 2014
The United Nations is one of the best places i have work, the work environment is very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support technician/Security officer
Security Officer / Driver (Former Employee), Port au Prince, HAITIMay 19, 2014
 Protected UN personnel and Properties; provided secure escort services and patrol.
 Supervised officers and handled scheduling.
 Called upon to handle occasional IT support matters.
 Assisted in setting of PCs and workstations (cabling, desktop configuration).
 Troubleshot issues with operating systems and printer connectivity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Security Officer (Current Employee), Matadi DR CongoMay 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
assess control at gate and main entrance to UN facilities
report all security information and threats around the province.
I have learned more about UN security system and how to prepare a security plan for evacuation or relocation.
I can manage a team work of more than thirty staffs.
all my co-workers are happy to be supervise by me and all my supervisors – more... are lucky to be assisted by me because I did all and they can only approved.
the hardest parts of my job are: when we are investigating for an incident or accident in which UN staffs or properties are involving.
when we are supposed to provide briefing to the non UN staffs.
the most enjoyable part is serving others and contributing in promoting security for people in their duty and in helping people in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright
Surveyor & Field Engineer (Former Employee), sawtMay 9, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
on the ramp (tarmac)
duty manager (Current Employee), DRC CongoMay 9, 2014
Cons: long hours
hard work everyday.
other peoples culture and food.
stress and to much of work load.
locals are very friendly and i learn everyday and i love to be around them they like my family.
mats give training everyday and language is a problem.
to love each other and make jokes after a long day and hard work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good and fun
supervisor (Former Employee), EntebbeMay 2, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: we would start at 8:00am to 5:00pm sometimes over time.
All my days at work were good apart from some days were bad during rain season, i learned the international standard of doing works,management was so good in that i was cooperating with them,my co workers we were working as a team,the hardest part of work was the delay of materials,the most enjoyable is the day am seeing the progress and consults or – more... clients approve our works. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving Organization
Project Management Assistant (Former Employee), BaghlanApril 18, 2014
United Nations is really a great organization which gives opportunity to all nation to get together and work. UN really cares about its employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like security guard work because it needs too much attention to details as will as wisdom patience mental and physical alertness
pharmacist (Former Employee), lebanonApril 1, 2014
Cons: interesting and much joy
a typical day is a day when I reach my work site a little bit earlier to have some time to discuss with my college in the previous shift about the problems that I may face, Smoothly solve any problem may appear, learn something new from senior co-workers, manage all situations properly and in safe way,
The hardest and most enjoyable part in security – more... guard job is the ability to protect the property of the employer with involving my self in the risk. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in development programmes
TEMPORARY EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Gaborone,BotswanaMarch 17, 2014
Pros: no
Cons: staff retreats and inter-staff visits
Very productive and busy Organization.I learned a lot about programme management

About United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining – Read more