United Rentals, Inc. Employee Reviews in United States

Found 272 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTMay 26, 2016
days are 8 hours unless they need something
learn to wash equipment fast if you want to work there
management can't make a decision with out endless emails
most coworkers are good people
the most enjoyable part of the day is 3:30
Pros
last day
Cons
going to work there
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People were fun to work with, but the job can be stressful.
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Marietta, OHMay 5, 2016
Learned to manage many different personalities. Learned to deal with customers during stressful situations. Encouraged employees to strive for more productive days. The hardest part of the job was being on-call 24/7, even on while on vacation. Dealing with different personalities. Most enjoyable part of the job, was working with team members, and building relationships with my customers.
Pros
building relationships with customers and co-workers
Cons
work never ends
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company with share holders in mind
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Sulphur, LAApril 22, 2016
Great company to work for if you are in right position. Good commission opportunities for rentals and sales. Being such a large company, management focuses on revenue only and not customer satisfaction. Micro Manages everything.
Pros
Commission opportunity
Cons
Large Company, heavy micro mangement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Exciting Work and fun Learning & Operating Heavy Machinery
Inside Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Acworth, GAApril 20, 2016
Establishing new rental accounts. Ensuring customer satisfaction while working with all inside, and outside branch staff. Coordinating and track daily equipment pickup’s and returns with the branch, within the district, and with Central Dispatch. Processing rental quotations, reservations, contracts, and invoices in compliance with company policy. Cycle accounts, housekeeping, merchandise sales, service calls, and maintaining knowledge of proper use of all fleet on yard. Branch Safety Champion. Forklift certified, as well as certified to operate scissor lift and boom lifts.

Management would talk poorly about other employees performances on the floor, which I believe is unethical. They seemed out of touch with the immediate need to hire more employees for such an incredibly busy branch.

Hardest part of the job was the 50-60 hour work week on top of the hour long commute.

I had an amazing team, who would always look out for not only your safety, but would go out of their way to teach you something new and help you accomplish your individual as well as team goals.
Pros
Salary & Teammates
Cons
Hours away from family & difficulty in promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Driver/ Delivery and pickup of Rental equipment (Former Employee) –  Elk Grove, ILApril 20, 2016
overall good company very safety concerned very friendly,, loved the customer contact and the year round work,,enjoyed being everywhere in the chicagoland area
Pros
freedom no management looking over your shoulder
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Mates
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Converse, TXMarch 29, 2016
Day to day operations including filling last minute rentals along with ensuring delivery and pick up of equipment is done in a timely manner.
Pros
Training for entry employees
Cons
Lack of training for management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Organization with many opportunities
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Milan, PAMarch 21, 2016
A Dynamic Organization in an ever-changing and busy Industry.
United Rentals provides first class training by investing in their Employees training and tools to succeed within the Organization.
Pros
Employee Benefits and Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace and bad management
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 18, 2016
Liked the people in my office but my boss had a god complex and liked to control everything. The office was good and there was always a different campaign being called.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Technician at a General Construction branch (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 14, 2016
I started as a Technician 1. Was able to advance quickly. Was a good work environment. Great benefits, great people to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working conditions and people at this branch
Equipent Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Gonzales, LAMarch 11, 2016
working with the employees there was a great blessing to me. the management was open and helpful.The notice was not expected but the management was nice about it
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
no notice as to a layoff
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Inside Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 8, 2016
Management shows favoritism. they off good workers and keep workers that are disruptive
All departments do not work together
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very physicly demanding
Equipment Representative (Former Employee) –  Downey, CAMarch 7, 2016
my experience at united rentals was not good i work very hard and dedicated but i got sick at work and the people there left my behind at the hospital i have to find my own way and the next day i have to call for a rive home all do they were inform about my situation
Pros
none
Cons
benefits and pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No support from management
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 27, 2016
Company is great but branch management to quick to past judgement on employees especially field technician few coworkers are good
Pros
Free transportation
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good.
Property Manager (Current Employee) –  Etowah, TNFebruary 24, 2016
Overall good. decent place to work. I would recommend to anyone for employment. Good employers. However no benefits. Apply you wont regret it.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, bad job
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Denver, COFebruary 17, 2016
Good pay. Constant cold calling. UR is the most expensive game on the block and 75% of the customers view the construction rental industry as a commodity. The 25% that don't are customers who are locked up by national account reps.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable calling on jobsites with contractors
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Ventura, CAFebruary 12, 2016
I learned how to run and operate all construction equipment from compressors to reach fork lifts, booms and all heavy equipment.
Pros
versatility in customer types
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for growth
Territory manager (Current Employee) –  Allentown, PAFebruary 10, 2016
Company does not offer much room for advancement. Lots of stress from management and constant change in commssiion structure
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but Good money
Greet customers and assist (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 10, 2016
wake up at the crack of dawn to start work. Had to use a tracho to load up trucks so they could haul it off. Had to use a centerfuge to clean the mud that the rig would use to drill. This job had long hours and long work days, but the money was worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Yard Tech, Driver, Forklift (Former Employee) –  Prairieville, LAFebruary 1, 2016
a typical day at work would consist of using the wash bay to clean hoses and pumps, I used the forklift to move the pumps and or hoses around the shop yard. I sometimes made pick up and drop offs inside of plants.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees were Great.
Inside Sales/ Yard Foreman (Former Employee) –  Carmichael, CAJanuary 12, 2016
As the foreman for United Rentals my job consist of safety, equipment maintance, operation and employee scheduling and job duities on a daily bases.
Pros
Management was great in allowing me to run the yard my way to ensure customers, employee were happy.
Cons
Work Life. Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 294 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture