United Rentals, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 344 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Driver (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 7, 2017
deliver and pick-up construction equipment in DFW area

you learn what you want ability to move up quickly

management is good

workplace is good everyone nice and helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good steady work
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 6, 2017
good place to work, fast pace but easy going. steady work. no much weekend work, vacation policy is no appealing. easy to relocate. managers easy to get along with.
Pros
weekend work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Truck Driver/Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Savage, MNMarch 3, 2017
I worked here before they bought out RSC and i was an employee of RSC. United Rentals has lots of potential to move up in the company and around if your will to relocate if you so to do. I was relocated from MN to Kansas, everything went very smooth the employees where very nice. I had to relocate back to MN and things went just as smooth as I expected. Both mangers in each location where i worked where better then expected. The training that i have received was very impressive and i have carried with me each and every day and to every job that i have been at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work at.
Outside Sales (Former Employee) –  Denver, COFebruary 28, 2017
Very stressful and put micro management to a new level. They are more concerned about the information you enter into the sales call rather then actually making a good call.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Outside Sales (Former Employee) –  Denver, COFebruary 21, 2017
Good experience gained here. The rate of turnover for sales reps is very high which can leave you feeling a bit like just a number. Too much pressure put on managers
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Outside sales (Former Employee) –  Napa, CAFebruary 17, 2017
build new customers. sell and rent equipment. visit customer on the job and in the office. Make quotes and bid jobs. train labor workers to work on job cites. Management was great i am still friends with them and other employee i worked with. Work locations where great and safe. I started as entry lever person and grew fast. lost of opportunity. Hardest part fighting the economy at the time, but loevd all the new jobs and places i visited. Gave me great experience
Pros
company vehicle great compensations
Cons
economy issues and closed down locations
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fast pace
Class A CDL Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLFebruary 11, 2017
Love working at United Rentals. Pay is great. Equipment is well maintained. Management is questionable.Days can be long and you work in the elements alot.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Equipment associate (Former Employee) –  Pinson, ALFebruary 8, 2017
I would test and rent out industrial grade tools such as hydraulic tools, electric tools, and pneumatic tools. I would test them for defaults, and to make sure they properly work, I dealt with alot of customers on a daily basses.
Pros
great people
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Territory Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MOFebruary 7, 2017
United Rentals is a great company with a lot of opportunity to advance. Very structured work environment with strong emphasis on safety. Days are busy and go quickly.
Pros
Lots of good people to work with.
Cons
Sometimes long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLFebruary 6, 2017
I really enjoyed my time being with United Rentals.It was so fun learning construction equipment. The environment is awsome. Everyone is positive and respectful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced enviroment
Sr. Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCJanuary 31, 2017
Productive, fast paced environment with great benefits, safety culture, competitive compensation. Delivering top notch service to customers. Not a very good work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look after workers, a good place work with consistent compensation for your hard work
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Elk City, OKJanuary 28, 2017
Hard work in the elements at times, but a good place where they looked after you. Dealt with oilfield a lot, so repairs would differ as equipment could be abused in any manner.
Pros
Weekly cookouts, good pay, team atmosphere
Cons
Lived and died by point system imposed by corporate
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and lots of advancement opportunities
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma city, OK USAJanuary 14, 2017
The job was for insides sales to lead into the outside sales position.

Learned the operations of the counter, products and safety equipment standers.

Dealt with logistics, ordering equipment and lead daily safety meetings.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive challenging work environment
Territory Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 4, 2017
7am-6pm standard field hours, with quotes/follow ups/prospective night work involved. Skilled negotiator with customers & internal counterparts a must. Most enjoyable aspect of position is the fundamentals of calling on Construction Project Contractors onsite.
Pros
Sales Visits to Construction Projects
Cons
Mandatory co-calling with fellow sales reps.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employees
Class A CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Chippewa Falls, WIJanuary 2, 2017
They have great people to work with most of the time. There advancement program needs work. Typical rental company that is based on keeping the public happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work life balance
Credit Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCDecember 13, 2016
It is a fair job that has a decent work and life balance. It puts on a lot of stress on the employees because hires the bare minimum to operate at a branch.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXDecember 12, 2016
Gaining work experience and having the pleasure of advancement lead to a very successful career and allowed for great personal growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Field Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Keller, TXDecember 1, 2016
Nice place to work but don't let mechanics work on anything like I want to. Not what I was looking for in a mechanics position.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Losing track of where they came from
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  IANovember 30, 2016
Fast paced environment, can be stressful especially during busy time of year. Good group of people to work with. Corporate company
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
CDL Class B Driver (Former Employee) –  East Liverpool, OHNovember 28, 2016
Excellent benefits, Good co-workers, Good overtime, Home every night, Close to home, Good work schedule, Overall good place to work for 16 years, Good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Rentals, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 386 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5

United Rentals, Inc. Reviews by Location