United Service Companies Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy working place with a lot of people.
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 18, 2017
Either you work in one convention center or you work in another. No fixed schedule. Beginning of work is by oneself cleaning up hallways and throwing away trash from trash cans. Mostly no supervision, its expected from you to clean. Every two hours there is a 15 minute break and a 30 minute break which is for lunch. overall it a friendly atmosphere.
Pros
individual work, friendly atmosphere.
Cons
unregulated work hours/Shifts, temporary
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mas o menos
Areas publicas (Former Employee) –  FloridaJanuary 4, 2017
Creo q la empresa debe mejorar mas a los supervisores de los empleados los tratan muy mal
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it here had fun seeing the cubs going out after a win
Janitorial Worker (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 27, 2016
Cleaning Wrigley Field Stadium.Taking garbage out picking up trash in the line seats,backpack blowing the peanuts and popcorn. cleaning bathrooms...everyone was nice there got the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable hours
Temporary Employee (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 14, 2016
- you have a good work-life balance
- it is a casual environment
- work is largely done through a computer
- the workday goes slow at times
- flexible hours
Pros
free lunches
Cons
tense company culture
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Lake Buena Vista, FLJuly 30, 2016
Worst job, horrible schedules. No holidays off, no paid holidays, you will be required to work on christmas.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor corporate management, lacks in keeping salary competitive, corporate culture is outdated.
Technical Analyst (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 19, 2015
From a corporate employee perspective, they are not a modern forward thinking company. The culture is outdated, with a "watch over your shoulder" attitude.

Salary for average I.T. employees falls 20,000 dollars below city average. When asked about a raise after my first year, was given an excuse about I.t. not being a profit making team, and budget cuts. However they had 2 employees leave the department that they did not replace, they simply put their task on the remaining members of the team, with no raise.

I'm expected to be on call 24/7, as my job can be performed from any where, but when I am suffering from my long term medical condition, or need to work remote for my own reasons, I'm told I have to use my PTO time, but when something went wrong while I was on PTO, They had me work from home.
Pros
a paycheck.
Cons
everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes63No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Makes you a true leader
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 16, 2015
Different from what I'm used to but helped me be a better leader.

General Manager
• Managing guest services issues.
• Manage a team of over 200 employees.
• I manage 2 accounts that are worth 2.2 million dollars.
• Marketing and generating new accounts in different fields. Ex; Hotels, Security, Events & conventions.
• Host and attend gathering for local clients to product more accounts.
• I manage the payroll for all dept which includes over 200 people.
• I make sure quality of our service stay up to par.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning experience
IT Support Intern (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 12, 2014
A typical day at work is checking email for help desk inquiries. Imaging and deploying laptops and desktops. Operational procedure documentation for internal and remote user's. Issue resolution and planning. Following up with user's to ensure productivity. System's troubleshooting and processes.
Pros
Chef on site. Close commute.
Cons
Not a permanent position
Was this review helpful?Yes16No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no benefits
managment (Former Employee) –  BostonMay 20, 2014
poor company to work for no benefits
(sick days,Health insurance)
just work until you get sick and then will get someone else
I wont recommend this to anybody.
unless there is nothing up there make sure you ask for
benefits company rather pay the fine $300.00 dollars then
give you benefits think ABOUT IT
Was this review helpful?Yes33No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The room for advancement with this is very good.
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 22, 2014
I am the account manager for 2 major contracts for this company. I have to keep my customers happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 27, 2013
Manager or Corporate Level positions you get benefits. Growing company. High paced and be able to deal with turnover rates.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United Service Companies
Financial Planning and Analysis Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 25, 2013
-Great Accounting and Finance team in place
-Entrepreneur spirit
Pros
Free lunches, workout facility
Was this review helpful?Yes16No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working company on the rise.
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 9, 2013
A typical day of work at United usually starts with a breakdown of which clients are going to be high priority, which conventions or shows are comings, and finally any recent high concern areas that had cropped up in the last few days. From there, pertinent issues were quickly resolved, and then we would move on to billing, invoicing, payroll, and contracting. The atmosphere around the office is jovial and friendly, and most employees have been there for long enough to form friendships. Management is diverse and helpful, with a variety of individuals covering a variety of positions. The hardest part of the job is on-site supervision, wherein I'd often be called upon to deal with difficult clients and customers during high traffic times of the day at convention center. Most enjoyable part of the job is the people.
Was this review helpful?Yes27No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great productive company
Lead, Security (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City UtahSeptember 12, 2012
Company was good with its employees and giving them what they need
Was this review helpful?Yes21No11Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Service Companies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.1

United Service Companies Reviews by Location