United States Cold Storage Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of favoritism towards certain veteran employees. No real progression.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PANovember 14, 2017
Terrible place to work alot of unnecessary overtime. They treat you like your a temp. They treat the temps like they are expendable. The GM is obnoxious and very unprofessional as well as the supervisors.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Always mandatory 10 hour days 6 days a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the place to work if you plan on seeing your family
Undefined (Former Employee) –  Multiple LocationsNovember 13, 2017
For the environment you are dealt with you would think that there would be more understanding from the manager but you would be wrong. This does depend on which location you work at. Some are great to work at and some are just god awful and it is directly a cause of management and how they treat the employees. For the ones that I worked at it was a terrible experience and I witnessed countless acts towards employees that were unfair and uncalled for that corporate knew about but did nothing to correct the problem. I would suggest if you decide to work for this company just be aware the sales pitch is all great and sounds like a life long commitment but you better leave your soul at home because they will eat it for lunch.
Pros
Benefits are decent
Cons
No advancement, low pay, Poor management, nasty work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Challenging and great hours
Warehouse Man (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 11, 2017
This was a great company however the supervisors would go out to bars and talk about confidential information regarding employees personal situations.
Pros
The hours were absolutely incredible
Cons
I had to deal with harassment throughout my shift and supervisors were aware.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Shipping/Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth Stock Yards, TXNovember 10, 2017
This job was one of the best jobs I could have ever gotten. We stored 15 million pounds of frozen food for businesses and the U.S, Army. It was interesting because we had a blast freezer that could take fresh product and froze it solid in two days.
Pros
Great job to work for
Cons
My plant was sold with only a weeks notice!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots to Learn cold food storage.
Shipping/Receiving Admin (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 8, 2017
Warehouse employees were so much fun to work with. It is a very fast pace environment. Training wasnt very up to speed. The management is not very professional at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 3, 2017
this was not the worst place i have worked but def not the best has a very low pay for the job and you work a lot of hours with crazy shifts and days off
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful environment
Fork lift operator (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, ILOctober 25, 2017
The managers have no idea what they are doing
They over work you constantly and say they are family oriented but they are not at all
This is the worst place I have ever worked at
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best coworkers ever, very very poor management
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXOctober 25, 2017
Management sucks, -10 of flexibility, you cannot get sick and be absent for one day because you are fired. Definitively not an option if you are a student.
Pros
payment and work conditions
Cons
poor management, no flexibility at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work.
High Reach Operator (Current Employee) –  Hazleton, PASeptember 24, 2017
Not a bad place to work. Lots of voluntary time off when we are slow. Lots of overtime when we are busy. Biggest negative is alot of supervisors don't seem to care. Some do then others dont.
Pros
Laid back, good benefits, okay pay
Cons
Unorganized, alot of people who dont care work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work/home balance
Dock Worker/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PASeptember 23, 2017
Don't work here if you have a family. You'll never see them. Benefits are great though. Management is very poor. They give promotions only to people that they favor over everyone else.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Poor management, never ending forced overtime, Blatant favoritism/nepotism
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Lift Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PASeptember 6, 2017
Excellent place to work. Quick pace but laid back at the same time. Rewarded with different lunches throughout the year. Supervisors are usually easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Cold place to work
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Dinuba, CAAugust 30, 2017
It is a good company to work for. United States Cold Storage also team players and provided me with all equipment I needed to do my job. only thing is it is very cold.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for just need some more support from upper management
Chief Engineer (Former Employee) –  Tulare, CAAugust 28, 2017
Would be doing paper work for PSM, RMP and plant maintenance
I learned how to troubleshoot VFD'S electrical, 480 volts systems, rebuild pumps, drive forklift, PLC'S,
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Not enough people in engineering
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, ILAugust 24, 2017
The hardest part of the job was working in 20 below temperatures.I learned how to operate a standup forklift with the great training that I got at USCS.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place!
Equipment operator on Crown Pacer (Former Employee) –  Lebanon, INAugust 3, 2017
Enjoyed working there! The team is great! Make sure you pick the right shift you want! Once you are in there is no tryna change schedules because your stuck for a while.
Pros
Monthly meetings
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent but wouldn't recommend it
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Covington, TNJuly 31, 2017
It's busy and sometimes stressful which I do not mind but actually thrive in ... however I feel there are some unfair practices within the current management. The hardest part of the job for me has been working hard, being committed yet not being given chances for growth or promotion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lead Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAJuly 24, 2017
Job could be better if we had more support from corporate. Benefits are good . Could use more training in refrigeration and electric and other skills to help do the job better
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Need more support from corporate
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good paying job
Fork Lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAJuly 22, 2017
This job pays you pretty good from the start. The benefits are pretty decent as well. Management is iffy and some of the supervisors can be a bit of a jerk.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold Storage warehouse
Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee) –  La Vergne, TNJuly 11, 2017
Nice people to work for and three shifts to work on for the order selectors. The building is on the older side so working in the maintenance department kept you busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yard truck operator
Switch truck opr (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 21, 2017
I'm in charge of checking seals truck numbers compliance making sure the temperatures are in control level product going in and out of vehicles starting trucks in the doors organizing the yard
Pros
A very stressful free job
Cons
very understandable and agrees with workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United States Cold Storage. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 156 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2