United States Department Of Defense Employee Reviews

Found 2,584 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
military environment
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  United KingdomApril 27, 2017
very busy work environment
not subject to state laws
co workers all take good care of each other and families
stay and work until the job gets done
lots of staff deploy and you have to fill the gaps
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Place
Education Aide (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 27, 2017
The culture working with kids is amazing. Living overseas and working in a school setting with culturally diverse students was life changing. Very understanding and room for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communitive balance
Airman First Class (Former Employee) –  Mountain Home, IDApril 26, 2017
Mind focus environments, dedication and devotion to serve our everyday people. Helping one another build better lives and surrounding communities to help our nation
Pros
Benefits with health care and dental
Cons
Not enough one on one training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes amazing work place who only seems to care about and take care of their favorites.
Cryptologic Linguist (Former Employee) –  Fort Lewis, WAApril 25, 2017
My experience was not that good with them for the most part. For every good person there are 50 horrible human beings. The leadership typically only cares about themselves even if it is at the cost of those below them that they have taken an oath to protect and care for.
Pros
Occasional good leaders, meeting many many people
Cons
Long hours, little appreciation for work, horrible leaders
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Released a Veteran
Cusodian (Former Employee) –  Fort Benning, GAApril 24, 2017
I was released from the job without being given adequate and reasonable accommedations, for my diagnoses disability. I was told that they didn't have work for me at the hours I requested,
Pros
Federal Benefits
Cons
Lack of Supervision and Training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
got to meet interesting people
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Redstone Arsenal, ALApril 23, 2017
had regular 8 hour days, learned how to do overseas travel arrangements. Management was very fair working with. Hardest part of the job was meeting suspense times/date. Most enjoyable part of the job was learning about different cultural people.
Pros
paid time off
Cons
no overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  APO, AP, 96264, USApril 21, 2017
Great place to work. It is very diversified and welcoming. It affords opportunity to all workers who desire to move up the ladder. I have worked for the DOD for over 11 years and I enjoyed every minute of my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Human Resource Manager - Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Bliss, TXApril 21, 2017
Your typical day in the army starts off with one hour of physical training. Once I get into the office I generally have department head meetings. Generally after my department head meeting I have a staff meeting before I actually can start to do my daily responsibilities.

I truly enjoyed serving my country the team concept of what we do builds strong bond and comradery.The military culture is about Army Values are Loyalty, Duty, Respect, Selfless Service, Honor, Integrity, Personal Courage.
Pros
Military benefits
Cons
Relocating every two to three year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team and contract Leadership
Laptop Support/Hardware & Trainer (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 21, 2017
Defense Logistics Agency - Defense Supply Center Columbus:

This is one of the best working environments I've experienced. My immediate supervisors are supportive, encouraging and empowering. The work environment is professional, comfortably relaxed and polite.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working with incredible individuals
Network Defense Manager (Former Employee) –  Albany, GA Cherry Point, NCApril 20, 2017
Never was a typical day. Exciting fast paced environment. Trained to be an effective leader and team player. A large portion of my career required a Top Secret/SCI clearance working with classified to sensitive information.
Pros
Enjoyed work in domestic and international life threating environments
Cons
Relocate for promotion opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about United States Department Of Defense?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nasp
Psychologist (Current Employee) –  Pensacola, FLApril 20, 2017
great place to work; if you enjoy working with the military and within a large government structure....military mental health is at the forefront and there are great training opportunities
Pros
great docs
Cons
ridgidity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome career, schooling and benefits
Firefighter/EMT (Former Employee) –  McChord AFB, WAApril 20, 2017
24hr shifts
Recevied many qualifications
Hardest part of the job was running into a burning building while everyone else was running out.
Helping people was the most enjoyable and gratifying part of the job.
Pros
Every other day off
Cons
Time away from ffamily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strenuous but interesting
Motor Transport Operator (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIApril 19, 2017
The Army is nothing like any other job. They require you to do lots of training such as carrying heavy gear while doing hikes or runs, and sometimes it is hard to get sleep.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its the military
Rifleman (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCApril 19, 2017
I was in the military, the United States Marine Corps. It was an amazing experience i wouldnt trade for anythign, had plenty of ups and downs..........
Pros
Experiences gained while in
Cons
Work hazards.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Senior Messaging Architect (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 18, 2017
Excellent place to work and learn. Great work experience and the culture is awesome. The management structure is very organized and people are very friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well
Federal Technician (Former Employee) –  Clackamas, ORApril 18, 2017
If your in the ANG this is s very cool place to work. People maybe work for 2 hours a day and spend the rest of the time slacking off playing cards. balh blah
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Air Force
Command Operations Intelligence Inspector (Current Employee) –  Scott AFB, ILApril 18, 2017
Great job depending on your career field, excellent benefits, and a pension after 20 years. Must be able to work under a deadline and sometimes in a no-fail environment. Medical system can be a hassle but it's free!
Pros
Retire at 39 and get a pension in time for another career
Cons
Depending on your job you could find yourself in a war zone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was hard work and competative but could be fun if you had the right mentality for it.
Team Leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Stewart, GAApril 18, 2017
I enjoyed working there for the most part but as far as advancement is concerned you end up hitting a road block and you cant learn anything else which is why I have decided that I would like to move on and find another place of employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting position
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 17, 2017
Great environment. The personnel are encouraging and polite as well as professional. It's a rewarding job that is more than just counting money and giving receipts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detail oriented and Structured.
Rank of Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort Knox, KYApril 17, 2017
The DoD is there to make sure that you learn what you need to and lean how to be productive. Ive learned many leadership skills and life skills that I use today in my everyday life to be a better person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United States Department Of Defense. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 2,856 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

CEO Approval

87%
534 ratings
Add your rating

United States Department Of Defense Reviews by Location