Find companies:
United States Postal Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,635 reviews

United States Postal Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard and demanding job, but it taught me a lot of life fulfilling attributes I need for the future.
Sales and Service Associate (Former Employee), Conrad, MTSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: pays very well, has very good insurance and benefit package including retirement.
Cons: they treat you like a robot instead of a human being, the better and harder a person worked, the more work would be stacked on them, the lazier a person was, the more work was taken away from them, it was as if a hard worker was being punished for being a good employee.
Be respectful, show courtesy and professionalism to others at all times in a friendly manner; Sort mail, deliver mail, and sell merchandise accurately and efficiently; Above everything else, safety of the mail and of me as an employee was the the number one requirement and was portrayed on a daily basis. Confidentiality also played a vital role in this – more... position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair and Adequate
Mailhandler, Industrial Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Forest Park, ILSeptember 14, 2014
Forklift Operator, distribution of First Class mail, third shift, enjoyable co-coworkers, responsible and self-disciplined managers.
Convenient and beneficial rewards are the most important assets of having this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Machine operator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 13, 2014
One of my favorite jobs. Very fast paced and easy to learn. I worked all over the post office. I worked alone and in groups. It was a beautiful learning experience although it was seasonal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun work environment very deprsseing mural
PSE Clerk/ CCA (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 13, 2014
I wouldn't recommend anyone to try and make this company a career job. The management sucks, no one has leadership, they are very unprofessional and unorganized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PSE Mail Clerk
PSE Mail Clerk (Current Employee), DenverSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: good pay range
Cons: management
The job is not difficult but management is very unprofessional and likes to remind you that they can let you go whenever they want. No matter how good you are, you're just a replaceable number. Working six nights a week and only making 40 hours is not so great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging company to work for, but one that offers great pay, and benefits to their employees.
Distribution Clerk (Former Employee), Katy, TXSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: company benefits, pay, union
Cons: poor management, lazy workers
A typical work day at the U.S. Postal service was challenging at times. Meeting deadlines, as well as company goals was at times rather complex. Often, there was a lot of mismanagement amongst my superiors. The hardest part for me, was working with others, that didn't care so much about performance, but merely pay. The most enjoyable part of this job – more... was setting higher standards for myself, with expectations of achieving the goals for my particular unit. Working for this company has taught me a lot about customer service, and also how to deal with problems that may arise in the workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Certified Production Technician
Postal Worker (Former Employee), Williamsport, INSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: its a plus having good insurance
Cons: working 2nd or 3rd shift
I have experience with quality.Checking material for defects. Working as a team is important for getting the product to the customer in a timely manor. Safety is # 1 in any workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Rural Carrier Associate (Current Employee), Reno, NVSeptember 11, 2014
Hard work! Must push yourself faster and faster. Nice part of the job is your out on the road by yourself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work
Sales & Service Associate (Former Employee), Bronx, NYSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: great advancements
customer services skills a must. Expediting,mail sorting ,delivery to Sales And Service Associate with 13yrs. experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Post-Office Clerk (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WISeptember 11, 2014
the job requires a lot of hardwork and dedication,
you need to have patience
my managers and are very firm but compationate
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rain, Sleet, Or Snow
Mail Carrier (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 11, 2014
If You Can Learn to Adapt to Management and No time For Your Personal Life, You Will Do Great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THE POSTAL SERVICE IS A FAST PACE PRODUCTIVE COMPANY
RURAL MAIL CARRIER (Former Employee), Woodbridge, VASeptember 10, 2014
Pros: no supervision doing street delivery and training new employee's
Cons: customer complaints
PRODUCTIVE WORKPLACE AND EVERYDAY IS AN ADVENTURE. I HAVE LEARNED TIME MANAGEMENT AND BETTER ORGANIZATION SKILLS.THERE IS SUPERVISION IN THE OFFICE AND SOMETIMES NO SUPERVISION WHILE DOING STREET DELIVERY.THECO-WORKERS ARE GOOD PEOPLE TO WORK WITH FUN AND HIGH ENERGY.THE HARDEST PART ABOUT WORKING FOR THE POSTAL SERVICE WOULD BE THE EXTREME HEAVY LOAD – more... OF MAIL AND PACKAGES DURING THE HOLIDAY SEASON AS WELL AS CUSTOMER COMPLAINTS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent job if you can get the hours
Sales and Service Associate (Current Employee), Wapakoneta, OHSeptember 10, 2014
I have worked here for almost 8 years. In that time I have worked as a clerk, a city carrier, a passport acceptance agent, and as acting supervisor. I have definitely learned a lot. However, I don't see things getting any better for my job classification. That's why I'm beginning to look elsewhere as well as start back to college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work.
Mail Processing Clerk (Current Employee), Hartford, CTSeptember 10, 2014
good place to work, great benefits but crazy hours. very fast paced job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard-working job but very beneficial with great pay and benefits.
City Carrier Assistant (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 10, 2014
Working for the Post Office gives you a different look on life. Early mornings casing mail in sequential order to deliver on routes, watching out for dogs, walking long streets, being accountable for your actions, and time management. Seeing how much mail goes to one route could be over-whelming at first, but as you deliver it falls off very quickly. – more... Co-workers are very helpful and friendly, its like one big family. Management is like every other management do your job properly and efficiently, and you'll do just fine. I've learned to be very observant and more receptive, i enjoyed meeting all the people at work and hearing their stories of life and why they chose to work for USPS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Mail Carrier (Former Employee), Palm Coast, FLSeptember 10, 2014
Delivery of US Mail along a route....................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning environment for positions held.
Human Resources Specialist (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 10, 2014
Many eLearning and training opportunities within one's job descriptions. I loved being creative with our web page (which I took responsibility for) and creating Macros to speed our operations (sharing with co-workers), creating PowerPoint tutorials for our District employees less familiar with computers, and assisting with teaching our employees how – more... to navigate their computers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review Summary
Mail Handler/Custodian (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 10, 2014
A typical day at the USPS entailed specific cleaning duties throughout the distribution center. I cleaned bathrooms, offices, cafeterias, work stations, etc. I also buffed, waxwd and sanded floors. these are things I learned as well. the hardest part of the job was knowing it was not a permanent position. The most enjoyable part was being able to network – more... and meet new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job I ever hated.
Electronics Mechanic (Former Employee), Urbandale, IASeptember 9, 2014
Poor management. Excellent co-workers. I was surrounded by people with a diverse set of skills acquired over years of diverse work histories.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, low chance of becoming career
Rural Carrier Associate, Clerk (Former Employee), Pearl, ILSeptember 9, 2014
Overall I enjoyed working here. Becoming a career employee is very difficult and can take years. I'm looking for more sustainable work.

1 2 3 4 5

About United States Postal Service

The United States Postal Service (USPS) handles cards, letters, and packages sent from sea to shining sea. The USPS delivered┬ásome – Read more

United States Postal Service Photos