United States Postal Service Employee Reviews

Found 9,430 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Served in distribution and as window clerk
Distribution Clerk, Window Clerk, Bulk Mail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Great Falls Mt.April 23, 2017
Postal service served in many functions. From sorting and distribution of mail to delivery of mail. My function for about 11 years was as a window clerk, serving the public but majority of it was as Bulk Mail clerk. I assisted customers understand the rates for using bulk mail an how to get the save savings. I this for over 20 years.
Pros
working with the public
Cons
working with the public
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An institution in need of new direction.
Tour one Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Valmeyer, ILApril 23, 2017
During my time with the USPS the organization ignored the internet and new online organizations as they continued to work as though change would never impact the business.

The basic structure was modeled after a military organization. New ideas and thoughts were not openly welcomed as an aging management that was based from a military background did not respond well to changes.

The advantage it did have was people grew up with it and considered it part of everyday life. They had people meeting the public face to face everyday and the majority of that contact worked in their favor.
Pros
If you can adapt to the structure you had a chance to retire with a good benefits package.
Cons
They seemed to resent the very people they employed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with all holidays off with pay.
Mail Carrier/ tech support USPS website (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 23, 2017
USPS Very nice career job with benifits. Great people to work with. There also is a union that is active with working with employees. Mail carriers work a six day week with alternating days off. Working with USPS is quite the experience. USPS has a diverse working culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits poor work place
Mail Handler (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 22, 2017
the benefits and pay is really good. the things you have to deal with in order to make some money is absolutely ridiculous! unless you are popular with management your job is unnecessarily hard. popular people get away with little to no work while the unpopular people work hard and see no reward for it. i have no clue what you have to do to qualify as suitable to be in management but it should be revised because it seems as if everyone in management has a huge chip on their shoulder. all of their attitude are the most vile i've seen in my life.the people are really messy too.
Pros
great benefits, great pay, possible career
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Mail Handler Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALApril 22, 2017
Processed incoming and outgoing mail in both plant and post office facilities using automated mail processing equipment or manual methods of sortation and distribution. Read and sorted mail quickly and accurately. Collated, bundled, and transferred processed mail from one area to another.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's all about the numbers (productivity)
Computer Forwarding Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 22, 2017
Depending on the job, you might have to stand for 8 hours. My job, I could stand or sit. The money is great plus there is overtime. My job was one of the easiest. I would put in change of address information in a computer so that it could later be retrieved to forward the customers mail. There were time I supervised at least 15-25 clerks.
Pros
Great money
Cons
Depending on what tour you're working, no life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 22, 2017
Work day was hard.
Training was great
Management stressful
Work place culture was hostile
Job not hard
Most enjoyable part of job was going home
Working for the Post Office is fair employment.
Pros
good money
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job but easy once you get the hang of it
Career Carrier Assistant (CCA) (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, VAApril 22, 2017
very demanding job. have to be fast. once you have got the right speed it is easy. just have to keep your momentum going. some routes are easier than others just depends on the area and the vacancies.
Pros
not in an office environment all day
Cons
in the elements all day (heat, cold, rain, snow, humidity)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace. Opportunity to work as team members
PSE Mail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLApril 22, 2017
One of the best companies to work for. A typical day at work is 'fun'. Learned to be part of a productive team. The hardest part of the job is waiting for mail trucks to arrive. The most enjoyable part is receiving that paycheck for all your hard work.
Pros
Team Building
Cons
Standing all night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
for 13 years the postal service was a great place to work, it's not anymore.
City Carrier (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYApril 22, 2017
It's no longer about the customer its about the numbers and what they look like. The Carrier is not a person and they don't matter. you are there to do whatever management tells you and if you don't your threatened with discipline of loss of your job. They are out of control.
Pros
good benefit
Cons
Management does not know how to manage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced processing plant
PSE Mail Processing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYApril 22, 2017
My job covered many areas of mail processing. Letters, magazines, news papers and periodicals, all processed thru various mechanical means in order to ensure on time delivery and accuracy. Machinery both involved mechanical and computer use. Warehouse work required lifting and sorting of packages to various zip codes and coding bulk separations to assist dock workers in loading departing trucks.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced Job
Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Hudson, NYApril 22, 2017
Not a bad job at all. It is really fast paced and is a rough start due to the amount of different routes you must do until you earn a solid position. Only down side was they couldn't guarantee hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
PSE Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 22, 2017
Great pay! Hard work and its full of drama. You're always on your feet and you have to lift heavy boxes but you get to wear you headphones I always like that. Overall it's a great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security
Delivery Route Driver (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 22, 2017
Mostly toxic environment. Some say its management some say its worker attitude. It really both. Very few managers earned the position and go on a power trip. A few workers, knowing that its tough to get fired, are very unproductive and go out of their way to make it hard on management but it actually makes it hard on everyone else
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Worket attitudes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postal Service
Mail Processing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bell, CAApril 21, 2017
I enjoyed the variety of job duties and functions that I was tasked with. Safety was top priority and made it great to work along side staff and management that reflected this.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Mail Carrier/Casual (Former Employee) –  Richmond, CAApril 21, 2017
Great place to work. I worked as a mailman/mailhandler, but job was not permanent. I enjoyed being out within the community and delivering mail. I enjoyed people I worked with.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
Great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding requires patience good memory organization skill and time management
PSE CLERK (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 21, 2017
My experience with the postal service taught me a lot. You gain a better understanding for the postal system. You gain knowledge in the area of commute. The postal service provides great experience in the field of customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great atmosphere
Casual Mail Handler (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYApril 21, 2017
When you work here the people make you feel like family. Everyone has a job to do, but are willing to help each other out. Starts to feel more like a family. Really great people to work with.
Pros
Lots of overtime available
Cons
During busy seasons, you will pretty much live there.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
PSE Mail Processing Clerk (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 21, 2017
Research the job really have nothing to say, you got to experience it for your self....something are different for every one, so do the research as I suggested
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced environment to work in
RCA Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee) –  Clearfield, PAApril 21, 2017
Customer satisfaction and revenue is the key to a successful career and business gain. The cca, clerks, rca and managers kept an open communication to keep a position work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United States Postal Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 9,441 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

69%
2,136 ratings
Add your rating

United States Postal Service Reviews by Location