Find companies:
United States Postal Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,347 reviews

United States Postal Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USPS
SUPERVISOR (Current Employee), chicago, ilJuly 10, 2014
Easy work, rough hours. Move mail manage employees. There are three shifts at this company. The building never closes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative Workexperience
Assistant City Carrier (Former Employee), Coolidge , AZJuly 10, 2014
Have nothing positive to add about this job. The work load is not reflected in the pay you get for this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
cca (Former Employee), Triangle, VAJuly 10, 2014
loved working for usps great pay and benefits. carrier job keeps you physically in shape. Loved getting a workout and getting paid for it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appropro
Supervisor (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJuly 10, 2014
I worked my adult life in this atmosphere , nothing unusually negative to say. I worked according to the procedures desired, for my last two years I was management and my co-workers respected me and so did my employees. In fact under me, many of the employees work record and habits improved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was an Distribution Clerk
Mail Sorter (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 10, 2014
At that time, working nights was not something that I actually signed up for but the job was secured and it paid my bills. I did not have a lot of friends there because it was more like "factory work" but it was a job. I was able to get different positions/promotions but it was still a very demanding job. The most enjoyabe part of my job was after 17 – more... years, I was able to leave and enjoy the rest of my son's life before he had to go to the Navy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy Hours
Temporary Letter Carrier (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 9, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: hours
NO work , life balance. NO work , life balance. NO work , life balance. NO work , life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay Long Hours
Rural Carrier Associate/part-time (Former Employee), Fishers, INJuly 9, 2014
OK job they gave us double the work for the same pay and couldn't work the part time hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place was ok
City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee), Granite City, ILJuly 9, 2014
besides management everything was ok. i was very active 6 days a week. i learned how to better manage my time and how to drive a LLV.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would love to work for USPS
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNJuly 9, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: long drive
Great management team. Good job security. I have a good understanding of the work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convergys is a good company with good people to work with
Convergys Customer Service (Former Employee), Orem, UTJuly 9, 2014
Pros: convergys was always doing things for the employees as in lunches, pizza day, drawings and a great christmas party.
Cons: at times, the different schedules could make it difficult to have a consistant life stye.
I enjoyed my time at Convergys, especially the people that I worked with. Customer service for the post office can be enjoyable and challenging. I learned to handle irate people in a better manner. It is always fun to soothe someone's anger and help them understand what we can do to help them. Every day was a little different, never knowing what kind – more... of calls you might get. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life in the fast lane
Rural Mail Carrier (Former Employee), Cookeville, TNJuly 8, 2014
Pros: making people happy
Cons: working in the heat in the summer. and in the ice in the winter.
I learned something NEW everyday over a 13 yr span. Just when you think you know everything there is to know about your job you learn something new. Great people to work with. I loved my job, I miss my customers, The hardest part of my job was the day I had to tell my customers that I was leaving there route to go to another route, the most enjoyable – more... part of my job was bringing people mail or packages that brought smiles to their faces.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ThomasGomez
Casual City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee), Pacoima, CAJuly 8, 2014
Everyday for me to work was a blessing, when i had a job at the post I learned a lot. I was usually able too arrange packages in order, process paperwork, delivering mail ect. My co-workers were great i was always very attentive and polite to them and they were the same with me.In other words my cow-workers would make me feel like i was at home working. – more... I enjoyed every single duty i had on my job, but i think the hardest part of my job was maybe dealing getting bit by a dog lucky for me everything went ok i never got bit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking and friendly atmosphere
Letter Carrier (Current Employee), NJJuly 8, 2014
Pros: exercise
Cons: exercise in three feet of snow
A typical day started a 8am reviewing the mail that that had to be sorted. Sorting began and during that time a supervisor would instruct me on what was expecting of me. I would pull down my mail and load it in a hamper and push the to hamper to my vehicle and load it. I would sign for any accountable mail. I would drive to my route. Obeying traffic – more... and driving laws and begin my day delivering the loaded truck. When my deliverys where done i returned to the office turned in my vehicle keys and accoutables. I would check with my superivor if any more was needed of me and clocked out. My co-workers and management were a friendly diverse group with one goal..deliver all the mail. Hardest part of the job was the inclement weather. The most enjoyable part of my job was the beatiful weather. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Post Master (Current Employee), Millsboro, PAJuly 8, 2014
Very busy, but it is also nice to work independently. organizing mail and meeting all deadline.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just Ok or Average
CCA (Current Employee), San Ramon, CAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: good pay, great benefits
Cons: late hours, supervisors are no help, management will bully you if you let them
Load your truck start your day. Management and supervisors are little to no help. Co-workers are very helpful, more helpful than management & supervisors. Hardest part of the job not knowing where you are going throughout the day. Most enjoyable part is the customers. The pay is good, benefits are great, the days are long & stressful you have very little – more... help from management – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant work
City Letter Carrier (Current Employee), Detroit, MIJuly 8, 2014
Pros: working alone and supervising yourself.
Cons: working alone
No day was the same. You may do the same thing everyday but no day is the same. Do to weather, how heavy your work load is for that day and whatever new system USPS is trying to implement your day changes from day to day. This job is for a person who likes working alone and in the different weather climates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
RCA (Former Employee), Wake Forest, NCJuly 8, 2014
Cons: all cons!!!
Hard work
Heavy Lifting
Too hot in summer and too cold in winter in a mail truck with no heat or air
Management treats people like slaves and they do not care about their employees.
Management expects you to work no matter how sick you may be
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to grow in the working environment.
City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee), Huntington Station, NYJuly 7, 2014
Pros: meeting new people.
Cons: not being briefed on exactly what my task or assignment is.
Working at the post office offers no room for leniency when making simple errors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Post Master Relief (Current Employee), Pillow, PAJuly 7, 2014
I enjoyed working here I also learned a lot working here. I enjoy the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work sometimes the pressure gets to be a bit much
Rural Mail Carrier (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 7, 2014
Pros: the pay, insurance, leave and the civil service part. enjoyed serving the customers.
Cons: the extremes in the wether. the pressure that i put on myself to perform better and accurately.
I learned to stay focused to complete the tasks at hand. The people always makes a job more enjoyable. Mgt changes a lot so there were different styles of managing. The hardest part of the job is the weather. The most enjoyable part of the job is the feeling that my job really did impact all of the customers that I delivered to.

1 2 3 4 5

About United States Postal Service

The United States Postal Service (USPS) handles cards, letters, and packages sent from sea to shining sea. The USPS delivered┬ásome – Read more

United States Postal Service Photos