United States Postal Service Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment
Clerk and Mail Handler (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIOctober 18, 2017
The area where I was stationed at had some positively and negativity in the air. We all work together as a team, one would help each other even though its not their station.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
usps
CCA- City Carrier Assistant (Current Employee) –  PAOctober 18, 2017
horrible company to work for, they don't care about your health or you personal situations. a lot of people get sick and die from working here. its either you give your life to them or your fired
Pros
hourly pay
Cons
hours and how many days you work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay and benefits are above average. Toxic work enviroment.
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Waterville, MEOctober 18, 2017
In the clerk craft you would sort mail in the early morning. Load and unload trucks full of mail. Distribute to the carriers for delivery. Handle cash and accountable mail at the counter. Maintain automated machinery. Sort packages and scan them properly.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Toxic work enviroment, problem managers are moved around and not fired.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
about job
RCA (Current Employee) –  Wilson, NCOctober 18, 2017
it is face paced and requires plenty of memory and some speed and good driving skills. management could be better and benefits because you can only get health if your not a regular.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management regularly engages in fraud and work place harassment
City Carrier Assistant (Current Employee) –  Evanston, ILOctober 18, 2017
Illiterate and incompetent management use harassment and bullying to get the desired work from employees. Carriers average 6 days a week, 10-12 hrs a day. Postmaster has worked new carriers for 13 days straight without a day off. Constantly threaten to fire or discipline employees for not moving fast enough, for being sick, injured, etc.

Management regularly engages in fraudulent practice of altering timecard clock rings to shave off overtime hours that employees have worked.

If you have any other job prospects don't work here. The carriers are great people to work with but management is a nightmare.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
RCA (Former Employee) –  Neenah, WIOctober 18, 2017
The people are great and I really enjoy this job. However the cons out weigh the pros for me. There are either too many hours or too little. I have a family and most hours are during the weekend which take away from spending time with my children.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a great job just not good pay
Postal Carrier (Current Employee) –  Sandy Hook, KYOctober 17, 2017
I would recommend to someone with low income standards. They don’t provide benefits or 401k or anything. The pay is very low and you only get paid once a month.
Pros
Easy short work days.
Cons
No benefits, not good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to get into, hard to survive
Postal Support Employee Clerk (Current Employee) –  Paso Robles, CAOctober 17, 2017
When they tell you this is a hard job... listen.

If you aren't into physical Labor don't even apply.
You are constantly watched and any mistake you make could be a federal crime.

Great way to get in shape though
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady pace enviroment
Express mailman (Former Employee) –  Hicksville, NYOctober 17, 2017
Set up delivery route daily.
deliver express mail before 12:00 PM. deliver special delivery
items.
Delivered mail to over three different towns. Drove at least 55 miles per work day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpaid and unappreciated
Supervisor Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 17, 2017
When I first aspired to be a supervisor I wanted to make a difference in how employees were treated, because as a carrier I wasn't always treated well; and although I don't agree with the conduct, now I understand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about United States Postal Service?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Mail Handler (Former Employee) –  Melville, NYOctober 17, 2017
i enjoyed working for them until i was moved onto tour three and i met corrupt managers/ supervisors. they were not understanding and disobeyed union policies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor communication
Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZOctober 17, 2017
Serious lack of none biased oversight has left the Post Office an arrogant mess.
Poor communication.
Daily threats of firing for things seasoned workers do everyday. (Not delivering mail, taking the day off w/o notice, deciding to go home without completing daily route without any notice, etc)
Union has no power to compell Post Office to stick to regulations.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Lack of hours, undue work stress, poor management, lack of communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and lots of overtime work hours
City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Westchester, NYOctober 17, 2017
good stable job but with lots of work hours...physical hard work with lots of walking. Good physical exercise and management is also a bit on average. Not the best but is also ok to work with. Need to be punctual. Hardest day is when the weather is too hot or when it is snowing, you still have to go out there and delivery the mails and packages. The most enjoyable part of the job is when you get to know the customers and their appreciation.
Pros
lots of hours, great pay with lots of overtime paid
Cons
no time for day offs and high demanding attendance for the job, no private life to enjoy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Mail Carrier, mail clerk (Former Employee) –  OhioOctober 17, 2017
The only good thing about working at the PO was the pay. They start you as a part time employee but work you like you are a full time employee with no benefits! And don’t even think about having a life outside of the PO cause you won’t have one. They definitely have their “favorites”. I got screwed out of 2 full time position working there. I wouldn’t recommend anyone working for this company! Management is horrible only looking out for themselves.
Pros
Management, long hours
Cons
Good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back environment
Postal Carrier (Current Employee) –  Willimantic, CTOctober 17, 2017
No career opportunities. Only hire part-time workers. You have to be ok, with only working a few days a week. You have to deal with an HR that is not in your area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good to work for
Postal Clerk/Postmaster (Former Employee) –  Milton, IAOctober 17, 2017
Very small selection of current jobs available and they are not picky about who they hire anymore -- hard to advance in a small community -- not enough full time positions available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is horrible
City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIOctober 17, 2017
VERY unorganized management at the Kalamazoo facilities. I was surprised how messy the Drake Road post office was. Didn't receive any guidance or training from my supervisor once I left the "Academy" which only covered letter types. They basically handed me the mail truck keys and booted me out the door to deliver packages, in plain clothes, on a Sunday. I didn't even know what time to report to work the next day as the supervisors had all left by the time we were done with the deliveries.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Lack of direction and training from the supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and strenuous, great pay/benefits, and government perks
Mail Handler (Current Employee) –  Allen Park, MIOctober 17, 2017
Great place to work if your looking to make good money. Co workers are great and you have the option of joining the union. Only complaint is the only day to get things done is on a Sunday until you are hired in. The post office will be your life.
Pros
Pay is great, benefits, great co workers and government perks
Cons
10 to 12 hours a day 6 days a week no social life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Rural Mail Carrier (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 17, 2017
Job was a temporary assignment without any benefits; Job did not match education and career goals. Nor did wages exactly match the hard labor and duties that were required such as,

heavy lifting, bending, driving, and other random duties.
Pros
no comments
Cons
no comments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXOctober 16, 2017
Extremely stressful/ time lines must be met no excuses/ rain sleet snow fire hurricane DOGS you must be willing to do it all/ great group of co workers/ part of a union/ stable job/ excellent income if willing to sacrifice personal life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United States Postal Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 12,228 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4