Find companies:
United States Postal Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,056 reviews

United States Postal Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Window Clerk/Mail Handler/Passport Agent (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYDecember 15, 2014
Good Place to work at. Other employees were very friendly. High pressure situations when it got late became a challenge from time to time, but was always able to work through it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Post Master/PMR (Current Employee), Ace, TXDecember 15, 2014
Pros: customer interaction
Cons: hard to advance within the company.
Arrive at work 9 am. I sort mail and put in correct boxes. Enjoy my time interacting with customers daily and providing them with needed items and answering questions. Being post master means that I am on the computer daily making sure that all forms are correctly filled and processed via email.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
TE- Mail Carrier (Former Employee), Columbus, GADecember 14, 2014
Management good and serious. co workers helpful went needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overtime
City Carrier Assistant (Current Employee), Easton, PADecember 14, 2014
Pros: federal position
Cons: lots of hours
Working at postal office I would start my day at 9:30am and work until all mail was delivered. My scheduled ranged from 6-7 days a week which didn't allow me time for my family. I enjoyed the employees and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Mail Clerk (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHDecember 13, 2014
Cons: no benefits, a temporary job
Collected mail from outside boxes and carriers; loaded/unloaded mail trucks, processed and routed mail for delivery. Managed mailbox keys, petty cash and bookkeeping of mail carries.I learned how to keep up with a fast pace. Management was helpful. The hardest part of the job was loading mail off the trucks. The most enjoyable part was challenging myself – more... to get the mail sorted at a fast pace so the carriers can receive their distribution of mail to deliver at a pacific time. My co-workers were playful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved working with different people and different locations
custodian/maintenance (Former Employee), Merrifield, VADecember 13, 2014
Pros: authority
Cons: site location
the post was very interesting and exciting, there was always something new to tackle on the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Not Quit another job for this one
CCA (Current Employee), Los AngelesDecember 13, 2014
Pros: none yet
Cons: none yet
I quit my fulltime job because the post office promised me that they would be busy and Ill work 40-50 hours a week.. That's a joke.. I got hired November 6 and its been over a month and Im waiting to be trained. Ive finished my driver's training and a week of class training. My rent is going to be late.. no Christmas gifts.. insurance cancelled all – more... because they said "we are super busy" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work for this place
City Mail Carrier (Former Employee), dallas texasDecember 12, 2014
Pros: work alone
Cons: breaks lunches overloades, vehicles not reliable management sucks
Terrible place to work no benefits, no life, do not have any care in the world for there employees at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, management is stuck in the 1950's. Good old boys club.
Clerk (Former Employee), Portland, ORDecember 12, 2014
Pros: pay, okay benefits but not great
Cons: horrific management decisions, paranoid supervisors.
Promoting from within into high level management positions has killed the USPS. They think the people who got them into the financial mess that they are in are somehow going to get them out of it, (na├»ve or plain stupid). Need to axe 2/3 of the management and 1/3 of the dead wood clerks who don't care if they case 2 feet of mail per shift or 20 feet – more... (and management doesn't care). They'll just make the other two thirds who actually work make up for the slack. Real fair system you got going there. No wonder half of the employees are on anti depressants or anti anxiety meds. The carriers work their butts off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Customer service and community relations (Former Employee), Kimball, TnDecember 12, 2014
Cons: went out of business
Trained store staff by reviewing and revising orientation to products and sales training materials. Contribute to team effort by accomplishing related results as needed. Attracts customers by originating display ideas. Helped customers by providing information, answering questions. Maintains inventory by checking merchandise to determine inventory levels; – more... anticipated customer demand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my job as a Rural Mail Carrier
Clerk (Former Employee), Twin Falls, IDDecember 12, 2014
Pros: benefits excellent
Cons: no advancement
I worked as a rural mail carrier from 1984-1997. I then became a clerk. It was a good job but they only move up the ladder people that aren't honest and like to get people into trouble. The pay at the Post Office was Excellent and I will probably not ever make that kind of money again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for benefits
Postal Clerk (Former Employee), MissouriDecember 12, 2014
Poor for long term physical well being. Odd hrs and a very physical job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career !
Postmaster (Former Employee), Venango, PADecember 12, 2014
Pros: close connection to the public
I worked for 35 years for the US Postal service, starting as a part-time clerk & carrier in 1979 and moving into a management postition at the District Office in 1983, finally transferring out to a satellite office as Postmaster to be closer to home while I raised my children.

It has been a wonderful career. I have made lifelong friends both at work – more... and in the community.

It was all enjoyable, but now that I have chosen to retire, feel that I need to do something as equally enjoyable and rewarding on a part-time basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
casual carrier
Letter Carrier (Former Employee), Wichita, KSDecember 11, 2014
I had taken the test to get hired on at the post office. I was able to get a casual carrier position (temp) until my number was up for hire. I delivered mail for around eight months. The full time employees were very helpful. I enjoyed a lot about this job except for being chased by dogs that were running loose.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're 20 and have nothing else to do, go for it!
CCA (Current Employee), Portland ORDecember 11, 2014
Pros: pay, exercise
Cons: over-worked, under-appreciated
As a CCA you are expected to be on-call EVERY day and you generally work EVERY day, including Sundays. At the end of each work day you are so tired you can't really do anything at all. At first you have extra energy, but then after 5 days you're ready for a day off. BUT, you don't get one. On nice days and when you get a route you've been on before, – more... it will seem relatively easy. But then it rains. And you get a bundle full of ads that fall apart and won't fit in the tiny slots and you can't find the mail boxes and vicious dogs bark at you and the mail gets so wet it falls apart in your hand and you just want to break down and cry and then it gets dark and you can't see and you come back to the station and they tell you you aren't fast enough. Shall I continue?

Don't make any plans to do anything but work. You will make boatloads of money, but you will work your tail off for it. Have no expectations and pretend you love what you are doing otherwise it will get you down and you won't make it. If you can last a year...that's a long time...you may get on as a regular and then you'll have days off and life will get easier. But forget about it if you're older and if you have family and a life because you won't be able to do anything...like go shopping for food and cleaning your room...unless you are a super hero. Good luck! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active and rewarding work
Transitional Employee (Former Employee), Brookville, INDecember 10, 2014
Pros: personal satisfaction when the mental and physical work was complete.
Cons: being part of a military family meant never becoming full-time.
I enjoyed the mental challenge of memorizing and collating mail for sometimes+500 customer addresses per route. The physical challenge of carrying mail door-to-door was mitigated by the warmth of the customers on the mail route who anticipated their mail everyday. I loved my coworkers and miss the camaraderie of working to, "hit the street."
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work , upper mobility and good benefits.
Mail Carrier (Current Employee), Ozone Park, NYDecember 10, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: extended hours
learn to work independently and also learn to work as team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal
PSE Clerk (Former Employee), Richmond, VADecember 10, 2014
doesn't offer benefits good pay. a chance to work for god people and company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good paying, fast pased
Mail Processing Clerk (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INDecember 10, 2014
Pros: good pay, benefits
Cons: work time mandation
Processed mail on a distribution bar code sorter.
Learned how mail is processed and the procedures used to ensure mail is delivered in a timely manner.
Management were friendly and considerate.
Most co-workers worked as a good teammates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work at your own pace type of job
Mail Handler (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 10, 2014
Pros: good hours 40+
Cons: worked in all types of weather
Daily responsibilities include build and cutting sheet metal. One skill I developed while working with the union was how to utilize my time. I learned how to use several different types of power tools such as power shears and a drill etc... While employed with this company I had taken on several different roles. One of the roles I took on was lead. – more... I was responsible for delegating certain task that was given by the foreman and journeyman. The most enjoyable part of my working experience was developing skills of a leader. – less

About United States Postal Service

USPS

United States Postal Service Photos