Find companies:
United States Postal Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,353 reviews

United States Postal Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing a useful service to a community is what this company is about.
LSM operator/Clerk (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WI 53203June 26, 2014
Pros: good benefits.
Cons: not every worker had pride in their work as i did.
What I learned about the mail service for our country is that the customers needed to be informed about our services in order for them to make the best possible decisions regarding their mail. When the customer did not receive what they expected, and after researching the dilemma, answers were provided to the customer but not always to their satisfaction. – more... Management and co-workers worked together for the good of the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities for learning and improving your job skills
Mail Carrier (Former Employee), Marcus Hook, PAJune 26, 2014
Pros: working independently
Cons: weather
A typical day at post office work until shift is over. you are constantly meeting deadlines and returning before pickup. you really dont have time to talk because you are busy.The hardest part of the job is making sure you dont lose no postal equipments. The most enjoyable part is delivering all mail to right destination.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved being an extern at Jefferson!
City Carrier Assistant (Current Employee), PAJune 26, 2014
Being as though my position was unpaid, that was the only thing I didn't enjoy about being here. The staff, environment and all other aspects were perfect. I would love to go back anytime!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
surrounded by good people
Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee), derry, NHJune 25, 2014
The work hours flew by fast because of the fast pace work environment. Co-workers were nice and they had a good team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postal Service is a much under rated company.
Manager, Operations Programs Support (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 25, 2014
Pros: civil service retirement
Cons: company misunderstood by the public.
While the organization is currently struggling financially those burdens were caused by a congressional mandate that moved funds away in 2006.
Overall the stress levels have increased as we moved to downsize (without laying anyone off), but I believe a close scrutiny of actually occurs in the Postal Service would impress most executives.
While the days – more... were generally busy and long, and often I was called after hours or on weekends; I always felt that I had accomplished something when tasks were done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCJune 24, 2014
Great opportunities for learning and improving your job skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding job.
Letter Carrier (Current Employee), Palmdale, CAJune 24, 2014
Pros: many hours of work available
Cons: very physically demanding.
For a petite person, this is a very difficult job to do every day, 8-10 hrs a day, 6 days a week. Very stressful because management wants you back at a certain time and if they give you too much work (which was usually the case) then I would have to run all day to make sure I made the deadline.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well defined and highly structured
Post Master Relief (Former Employee), Scotland, MDJune 24, 2014
I love dealing with the mail! It was a personal challenge to build up my speed at casing the mail and maintain 100 % accuracy. I bloom in routine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee), Tomball, TXJune 24, 2014
Pros: working independently
Cons: heat
A typical day at post office work until shift is over. you are constantly meeting deadlines and returning before pickup. you really dont have time to talk because you are busy.The hardest part of the job is making sure you dont lose no postal equipments. The most enjoyable part is delivering all mail to right destination.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Mail Carrier (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 24, 2014
Pros: cost living pay
Cons: long hours
over all great company everyday is different some good some bad
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work with excellent benefits
Manager (Former Employee), Mechanicsville, VAJune 24, 2014
I interacted with people of all backgrounds, attitudes and opinions.You are able to advance if you are willing to put yourself to the task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USPS
PTF-City Carrier (Former Employee), Vernon Hills, ILJune 24, 2014
Pros: great freedom
Cons: umbrella hires.
Working for the USPS, a typical workday is full of variety. Operation of mail truck in all weather. They hire many people for one spot, and weed out people because they're not what they're looking for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TYPICAL GOVERNMENT JOB
Postal Clerk (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILJune 23, 2014
Pros: having a well paying job with good benefits
HAVE WORKED DIFFERENT SHIFTS WORKING NIGHTS WAS VERY CHALLENGING , MY DAYS WERE VERY FUFILLING HAVING THE KNOWLEDGE TO DO ALL DUTIES I KEPT MYSELF VERY BUSY ALSO WAS AN EMPLOYEE THAT HELPED OTHER FELLOW EMPLOYEES I FOUND EVERY JOB WAS A CHALLENGE BUT NOTHING I COULD NOT LEARN
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unprofessional workplace
City Carrier (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 22, 2014
Pros: working with the senior citizens.
Cons: unprofessional environment
Assist Residents with Care Cleaning, Bathing, companionship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USPS
Casual Clerk (Former Employee), Boston, MAJune 22, 2014
As a Casual Clerk, I was mainly responsible for organizing incoming and outgoing mail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a seasonal position for the Christmas holidays.
Mail Clerk (Former Employee), Brownstown, MIJune 21, 2014
This position was a short term holiday season position. I sorted mail for mailing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
equal opportunity
Casual Clerk Seasonal (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJune 21, 2014
good rate, kind a strict because is very high confidential, fun to work at, workers has working as a group.love this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USPS
Postal Support Employee /PSE Clerk (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 20, 2014
Pros: excellent pay
Cons: graveyard shift
Excellent benefits and pay - worked graveyard shift. Processed mail for mail carriers utilizing sorting equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 20, 2014
Pros: great
Cons: great
i really liked working for this company i would like to go back and work for them if i can
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough and sometimes dangerous job
City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee), PAJune 20, 2014
Pros: great work out (walk 10-15 miles a day up hill, down hill, up stairs, down stairs), alone most of the time while you work, outside most of the day
Cons: deliver in any weather conditions, on a strict time schedule, training is good but you will be overwhelmed and thrown to the wolves, dogs (bites, barking) and sketchy neighborhoods, you will miss lunches on days where you are lost or confused as to where to deliver next
This I'm sure is a great job when you make it to a career level employee. You have to start off as a CCA (City Carrier Associate) and hopefully one day become a career for pay increase and full benefits. You could be a CCA for a long period of time. I met a guy who was moved up after 6 1/2 years, but it all depends on when you were hired and how many – more... people are fired above you or quit. It's tough, tough, tough work and you begin on a 90 day probationary period. So if you make mistakes you won't be employed for very long. Again, there are people there that are very happy to work at USPS, but I've learned that many don't make it. Out of our 20 something person class only 3 or 4 were projected to make It. It also definitely depends on the location where you are stationed to work. For me it was near the downtown area in the not so safe neighborhoods, with routes that nobody wanted to deliver on (which are primarily the routes you will get) so it was pretty hazardous to work day in and day out on some of the routes. – less

About United States Postal Service

The United States Postal Service (USPS) handles cards, letters, and packages sent from sea to shining sea. The USPS delivered┬ásome – Read more

United States Postal Service Photos