United States Postal Service Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very Good
Maintenance Tech/Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Fort Walton Beach, FLFebruary 18, 2018
. I learned that the postal service is not what it use to be. I felt a significant lack of intelligence at the management level. Benefits and career advancement are not readily open. A mediocre job that ways heavily on time in service.
Pros
fresh air
Cons
lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Mail handler (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 18, 2018
As a temporary employee, I did not receive any benefits. I enjoyed the people that I worked with greatly. I was able to learn a lot about the many different type of machinery there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Bel Air, MDFebruary 18, 2018
The compensation is poor. The managers aren't fair. Working there you have no time for personal time, I would not recommend working there long term. Only thing that may be good is retirement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Mail Carrier (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAFebruary 18, 2018
loved it honestly wish the could transfer me but i need to get back home. this place takes care of you and can almost never be fired after your 90 days. GREAT PLACE TO WORK
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything is great. I recommend everyone to apply.
PSE Clerk (Former Employee) –  Elkhart, INFebruary 18, 2018
I think that the post office should not take so long to do turnovers and with holiday help, you should not make someone work 2 or more years to get on the 365.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the Post Office is a Nightmare
CCA- City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lanham, MDFebruary 17, 2018
I worked at the Post Office as a CCA for a few months, working for the United States Postal Services was one of my dreams, until I figured out what is the real life in the Post Office, technically CCA's have to be like "RAMBO", no time to eat no time for bathroom, rushing all the time, the supervisor called me every two hours asking me about my delivery progress, because she wanted me to finish ASAP and go to help others, long walking hours in the rain, snow, windy days, etc., when I first started my weigh was 248 pounds in less than three months I lost about 35 pounds, I got blisters on my feet because as I said I used to walk for about 8 hours every day, the paid is not bad, but as a CCA there are not benefits until you became a regular which probably takes for ever, because every station has CCA's that have been there for years waiting for an opportunity to became regulars and of course it goes by seniority, the cooworkers are very helpful, the management is the worst ever, I guess they need some kind of special training, I do not recommend this job to anyone but as I always say, "you have to try", if you don't try you won't ever know.
Pros
Good pay, helpul co-workers
Cons
Management, long working hours, no time for family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Mail Handler (Current Employee) –  OhioFebruary 17, 2018
The overall experience was great! Very fast paced,but I liked it and look forward to going back on the next contract. I would highly recommend the USPS.
Pros
xxxx
Cons
xxxx
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salary
Sales and Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 17, 2018
Great job that I enjoyed. Customer service is my favorite and I had alot of experience at the Post Office. The company was changing alot at the end of my career and management was becoming untrained new employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
RCA Rural Carrier Associate (Current Employee) –  Ontario, CAFebruary 17, 2018
Theres always something to do here.. Whether I'm delivering a route or doing pick up's for companies in my city there is always something to do. So the times flies fast when your busy working.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in all weather conditions, sometimes lifting heavy parcels, work is repetitive
Highway Contract Mail Carrier (Current Employee) –  Antlers, OKFebruary 17, 2018
Transporting mail from main Post Office to smaller Post Office and then casing mail and preparing mail for delivery on route. Loading mail and parcels for delivery over 100 mile route with 150 boxes. Delivering mail and sometimes having to deliver parcels to residences if too large to fit box. Collecting outgoing mail, selling stamps if needed, filling out notice forms if parcel can't be delivered and has to be picked up at Post Office. Carrying outgoing mail back to main Post Office when route is finished. Updating and maintaining route book on a daily basis to be turned in monthly to update and maintain address records. Management is helpful and knowledgeable. There is generally a team work atmosphere. The hardest part of the job is driving and delivering mail under severe weather conditions, i.e. flooding, ice, snow. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the seasons change and seeing the wildlife in the countryside.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Good place to work
PSE MAIL PROCESSING CLERK (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHFebruary 17, 2018
Very fast paced and easy to learn the job. Great co-workers and good people to learn from while I was there. Manager was a nice person to work for. Chance for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job and I am a very productive worker
Window Clerk (Current Employee) –  Munster, INFebruary 17, 2018
I love my job and I am a productive worker. I made the customers feel at ease. I received the most 100% survey and rewards for them. And the customers would pass their post office to come to the one I work at. They would tell me it's hard to come across a good Clerk like me. Always friendly and very helpful. I worked back and forth from Valparaiso to Munster. I enjoyed Munster but the management in Valparaiso made it hard for me to want to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
PTF Clerk (Current Employee) –  Hydro, OKFebruary 17, 2018
Although the job is fast paced and sometimes very stressful, it is worth the benefits! Has great insurance plans and pretty good retirement plans available.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Weird hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day at usps post office
Shipping clerk (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJFebruary 17, 2018
The day starts slow with good vibes, nice work environment . Everyday you learn something new , how to pack boxed , separate mail, and find lost mails. my boss was always supporting me and answering my questions. the hardest part of the job was the weather , it was usually cold but i enjoyed doing my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
who knew 'casual mail handler' meant seasonal
Mail Handler (Former Employee) –  Melville, NYFebruary 17, 2018
no one ever mentioned during the interview process that the position was seasonal. Didn't even hint at it. And I clearly stated that I was looking for f/t permanent.
that said, I was hired with a group of 20. Trained, and moved as one with 20 for a month. And then dismissed with the group of 20.
Left a bad taste for the postal federal government.
In my travels there through conversation, if you were already long-term, your job security was untouchable. New hires?
Re think your think.
Pros
A paycheck
Cons
No straight answers, ghost-like mgmt, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but worth it (sometimes)
Mail Carrier (Current Employee) –  Hampton, VAFebruary 17, 2018
days are long
hard work
you have to catch on really fast
the workplace is hectic before you leave on your route
if you like the out doors its the job for you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feels like your in prison
City letter carrier (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CA 93705February 16, 2018
Work too many hours with maybe 1 day off a week. Mandatory 12 hour work days. Mandatory sunday delivery. May take up to 3 years to become a regular but still have to work over time if they mandate you. Wouldn't recommend for someone who has a family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
PSE Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dulles, VAFebruary 16, 2018
It is very excellent place to work.
Good teamwork
Good Pay Rate
Management is very cooperative
Supervisor is very helpful and always guide us when we need
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a Rural Carrier Substitute
Rural carrier substitute (Former Employee) –  Traverse City, MIFebruary 16, 2018
Typically involved in week end delivery, Saturdays. Also when the regular carrier took a vacation. Depending on the size of your Post office, you can also work as a relief carrier for another route.Typical day started at around 6 am. On the road from 10 am to sometimes 7 pm. The scary part was peoples dogs. I carried a bag of dog treats to distract them. So you sort the mail into the addresses and deliver it. I enjoyed it for the most part. I did not like having to use my own vehicle though.
Pros
Pay is good. So are some of the people you work with.
Cons
Hours can be hard on you. Trying to drive your own vehicle is a little stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Enviornment
PSE Clerk (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAFebruary 16, 2018
My experience as the post office was amazing. I enjoyed working in a fast-paced environment. I enjoyed helping customers with their mail. My hours though longer were great! I enjoyed building relationships and working for such a great company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United States Postal Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 14,068 reviews
54.7K
43.6K
33.3K
21.2K
11.3K

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.4Culture