Find companies:
United Way
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
95 reviews

United Way Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive area
Lego Robotics Technician and Teacher (Former Employee), Williamsburg, NYDecember 8, 2014
Pros: free lunches
The job was very good I got to experience teaching other students how to build robots, while at the same time helping them improve in school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive community agency
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Williamsburg, VADecember 6, 2014
Pros: great staff
Excellent non-profit organization that cares about the community.

I work closely with the executive director and assist the entire staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great way to give back to your comunity.
volunteer (Former Employee), Selma AlabamaNovember 20, 2014
I worked at doc-in-a-bus where I helped people who needed to see a doctor but could not afford one see volunteer doctors at a free clinic. I worked at registration, took vitals, and run labs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, Good being able to help people in need.
Handyman (Current Employee), Hemet, CANovember 5, 2014
Pros: helping people in need
Cons: low pay, no healthcare, not enough hours
mostly driving a large tractor with large mower, mowing 100 acre lots for weed abatement, for people unable to do so. also home repair for the elderly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Word Processor
Word Processor (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 28, 2014
I worked at the United Way as a temp doing several assignments. The staff there were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Intern (Former Employee), houston txOctober 26, 2014
Pros: great experience
Work was always fan but a bit busy, i was always working on the computer setting up emails and planning meetings. As well as answering important phone calls. I did not really had anything hard because it was basically team work so if i needed something i was never stuck i had a coworker help out. United Way was great i had a chance to work and help – more... people at the same time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Producative and exciting place to work
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee), Lapeer, MIOctober 1, 2014
Pros: hour long lunches
Cons: healthcare and short term postion
A typical day would be answering phone calls, filing paper work, taking messages, greeting clients, assisting people on where to get assistance, directing phone calls and copying paperwork. I learned there is so many places for people to get all kinds of assistance. My co-works were very friendly, very enjoyable to work with each and every day. The – more... most enjoyable part was going to work each and everyday knowing I could help people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun co-workers, good life-work balance
Internship- Accounts Receivable (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: good life-work balance
Cons: no benefits for interns
As an intern, the hours were flexible with school. Good life-work balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Interim Site Associate (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: work envionment
United way does wonderful things

They reach out to the community

everyone is super friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very warm and inviting company with creative freedom.
Front Desk Volunteer Staff Supervisor/Trainer (Current Employee), Frederick, MDAugust 12, 2014
The work days are usually very active withthe staff completing a pre-set agenda.

Team work and time management is the key to getting the days work done.

The employees are all dedicated to giving 100% effort to the company and we all work well together.

The challenge is planning an event at sometimes a moments notice, Customers find us and need us – more... immediately to execute a party plan with little time to do it.

The best part of being apart of a creative business is your mind is full of imagination and you get to use it. Ideas spring up and come to life, even at the last minute to deliver an awesome event. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place where people are working hard creating opportunities for a better life for all its citizens in the community.
Intern at United Way (Former Employee), Lancaster, SCAugust 2, 2014
A typical day at United way is a day of people being persistent, and having the drive to push an issue so that goals are accomplished. While working for United Way, I acquired the knowledge, skills, and attitude needed to become a professional, while learning the value of professionalism. I learned how to communicate effectively and interpersonally – more... while working with others outside the parameter of the organization, and within it. I gained a great deal of knowledge about the organization and the knowledge needed to succeed personally and professionally in the organization. Through my supervisor at United Way I gained administrative, marketing, critical thinking, active listening and speaking skills. United Way convinced me that it takes being pleasant to others, displaying good-nature and cooperative attitude in order to receive the respect from those I am working with or helping. However, while working for United Way, the hardest part of the job is knowing that there are people in need or having a crisis, and you can't help them all right away or at all. On the other hand, the most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you are showcasing good citizenship because your daily job consist of you having the drive, and the enthusiasm to push issues, in which you strive to improve citizens life daily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job opportunity
Pledge Processor (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 30, 2014
Great job opportunity to gain the experience. I obtained this role via a temp agency. There was not an opportunity to go permanent in this role.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome place to get involved with charitable giving.
Volunteer Staff Trainer/Front Desk (Current Employee), Frederick, MDJune 25, 2014
Pros: meeting great people
Cons: i can not stay forever
I love volunteering at United Way oF Frederick. I the CEO and management team are a great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
Funds Allocator (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNMay 29, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: time
Had the opportunity to volunteer and the experience is very rewarding. This agency functions on low staff but high productivity. Great place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the work and the staff
Internship (Data Entry) (Former Employee), West Alabama, ALMay 23, 2014
Pros: i enjoyed the work and the staff
Answer calls from clients needing assistance with community referrals.
Make referrals to appropriate community agencies
Contact community agencies and updated United Ways Community Directory.
Maintain agencies information database
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Information and Referral Specialist (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKApril 15, 2014
United Way of Anchorage is a great company to work for. A typical day at work for me is coming in and checking email and voicemails and making appropriate call backs and replies to emails.
I have a learned a lot of useful information about agencies and companies within the State of Alaska. I have also learned a lot about information and referral and – more... maintaining a resource database.
Since I work in a call center I work very closely with a small amount of people, four of us including me, and we have a director who is very supportive.
The hardest part of my job is having to be the one to tell people there are no resources available to help them in their situation. Another difficult aspect of my job is that I feel unchallenged, and have a desire to have more responsibility and excel further in my career and unfortunately United Way does not have that to offer for me.
The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to assist people with resources that are available to them, and also to make connections and relationships with service providers in our great state. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Food Drive
Volunteer (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCApril 10, 2014
The United Family was great!
They not only were very professional and organized they made sure everyone was doing ok and having a good time.
I met a lot of people this weekend, and I worked long hours of just standing and talking to strangers, but it was a blast!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee), Tarrytown, NYApril 8, 2014
Working with The Volunteer Center of the United Way was an incredible experience. Doing what we love, plus being able to help others is double the reward, especially when working with a great team of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Human Resources Associate (Full time 40hrs/wk) (Former Employee), Jackson, MSMarch 27, 2014
This position was temporary. I worked as an Asst HR associate. I didn't have any one specific thing to do: I reviewed apps; filed paperwork; answered phones; office duties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This site is easy to understand
Volunteer (Current Employee), NYMarch 25, 2014
Fun Place to work, I learned how to appreciate fellow workers and clients.

1 2 3 4 5