United Way Employee Reviews

Found 122 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a wonderful opportunity to learn about your community
Director of Community Outreach (Former Employee) –  Opelousas, LAMay 19, 2015
It was a GREAT experience to know how other non-profit agencies operate on a daily basis. Meeting other CEO's during campaign season was such a leaning experience. You get a an opportunity to visit plants, distribution centers, and many large corporations.
Pros
great community partnership
Cons
no benefits; bare minimum compensation, low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  PAMay 15, 2015
Clients, co-workers and supervisors are nice people.
it's a wonderful opportunity to learn something about tax return, but no payment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Experience
Volunteer Income Tax Preparer VITA/TCE (Former Employee) –  Saginaw, MIApril 26, 2015
The felling you get from helping people is just unbelievable. They have a great teaching system that will give you everything you need to know.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job for someone in high school
Call Center Agent (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 24, 2015
this was a job i had to get for one of my high school classes but it turned out to be pretty awesome. my issue was that when it came to finals time management was not cooperative about working with my schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Outreach
Tech, Research Info & Planning Admin (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 21, 2015
A lot of interaction with influential people that help get things done in the community. I lot of pledges for purposes. A lot of marching to get thing done within communities.
Pros
Met Interesting people
Cons
Need to have marching feet.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Court Appointed Special Advocate (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAApril 16, 2015
Working with children and making appropriate decisions in the best interest of the child. I love being able to be an advocate for children and helping them find permanent placement.
Pros
helping children
Cons
volunteer, not paid
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive. Instrumental in life changing help to clients.
Administrative Assistant / United Way Spark Point (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAApril 15, 2015
My work was fast paced and I multi-tasked beautifully,

Again it was my positive people skills and knowing what manner to speak to each person that helped me in this position.

We assisted with financial management and career development for a diverse socioeconomic client base.
Pros
Excellant management and fast paced.
Cons
Non-cooperative clients
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
AmeriCorps Project Member (Current Employee) –  Lynn, MAMarch 18, 2015
United Way is a very supportive company and it provides many different resources to their employees. United Way is always notifying its employees of opportunities available that will help the employee grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful organization
Event Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAMarch 13, 2015
I worked for the United Way as a volunteer event coordinator. We put together a new and excited event to fund-raise for our local chapter and had a great success. Very rewarding to work with such great people for great causes.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to thrive
Director, Marketing & Communications (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 3, 2015
Outstanding staff and leadership who are just as dedicated to improving other people's lives as they are to making sure you get ahead in life as well. A phenomenal place to develop in your career.
Pros
great staff, strong leadership, wonderful benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn about a ton of not for profit organization
Campaign Manager (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMarch 1, 2015
The United Way is the best place to explore the best non profits to work for by interaction with the agencies that they fund. The typical volunteer is very active in their community and driven. There is an ability to move around and try different positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucessfully met goals and objectives that was set for the city-wide programs.
loaned Executive with United Wa (Former Employee) –  San AntonioFebruary 27, 2015
Served as a loaned Executive with United Way to give presentations to corporations and businesses on employee participation programs with United Way.
• Sucessfully met goals and objectives that was set for the city-wide programs.
Pros
to assist with coporation and buisness
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a forkl life operator
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 23, 2015
I enjoyed the work enviorment and be ing able to wrk the night shift was piecful, the envioemrnt was always clean and we always had the propper ampount of people to work with on our team
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning atomsphere
Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSFebruary 19, 2015
I started out as a Resource Development VISTA. It was my first office job. The staff really helped me adjust. I learned so much.

Once my VISTA year was up, I was able to come on as a temp for the Volunteer Center as coordinator.

Great atmosphere all over the office!
Pros
able to work around my schedule if need time off
Cons
no healthcare with being temp.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At every event everyone has a blast helping the homeless.
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 10, 2015
I sponsor United Way on my facebook and ask for donations online to help stop homeless families from living in the streets. I am proud to support this charity "The United Way of LosAngeles"
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding community service
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAFebruary 2, 2015
Daily supporting the community through multiple projects and providing education, work referral, and outstanding community contributions.
Pros
daily encouragement
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily matches
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Stafford, TXJanuary 26, 2015
Talking with clients & dealing with there daily issues. Matching kids with volunteers & dealing with monthly issue with each match.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive area
Lego Robotics Technician and Teacher (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, NYDecember 8, 2014
The job was very good I got to experience teaching other students how to build robots, while at the same time helping them improve in school.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive community agency
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VADecember 6, 2014
Excellent non-profit organization that cares about the community.

I work closely with the executive director and assist the entire staff.
Pros
great staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great way to give back to your comunity.
volunteer (Former Employee) –  Selma AlabamaNovember 20, 2014
I worked at doc-in-a-bus where I helped people who needed to see a doctor but could not afford one see volunteer doctors at a free clinic. I worked at registration, took vitals, and run labs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 137 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture