Find companies:
United Way
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
84 reviews

United Way Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Internship-Office Assistant (Former Employee), Martinsville, VAOctober 29, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: in the bottom of a bank
Very educational job, easy work load, nice associates, and great hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Feeling
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee), Ashtabula, OHOctober 22, 2013
I helped paint and clean up houses and work offices for people in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Volunteer work (Former Employee), Houma, LAOctober 18, 2013
It was for service hours for high school. Stuffed envelopes for their yearly campaign.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering is FUN!
Volunteer (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 4, 2013
Pros: helping the community
I enjoy volunteering with the United Way, the skills I am acquiring by helping others is phenomenal. The work they do enhance lives, and give people second chances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good, but pursuing to expand my career
Bilingual Navigation Specialist (Current Employee), Austin, TxSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Very good, but pursuing to expand my career. A typical day at the calling center is taking calls from callers who are in need of any social services in the local community. Most enjoyable is to hear the callers, say thank you, you have been a big help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting at a coffee shop to discuss issues
Software Developer (Former Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 17, 2013
Most of work is done at home. My co-workers are friendly and very competent. Management is very supportive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly workplace
Senior Bilingual Contact Center Agent (Current Employee), AtlantaSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: friendly workplace.
Cons: no much possibilities to growth inside the organization.
I learn different way to help individuals and families in need. My co-workers are very kind and respectful, as well my supervisor.
What I most enjoy of my job is the recognition of my effort and capability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voluntary
volunteer (Former Employee), Carlisle, PASeptember 10, 2013
it wasnt a paying job. just something to volunteer for. very rewarding work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard internship
Babycare Cupboard (Former Employee), Provo, UTSeptember 3, 2013
• Working directly with clients from the student population (18-35yrs) as their therapist
• Participating in weekly supervision sessions
• Taught workshops to Mental Health clubs on campus
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Finance Clerk (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 22, 2013
Pros: helping other
Cons: short time to work there
United Way was a good company to work for. I learned how to process different company pledges. I saw how they helped people who was in needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, friendly people
Marketing Intern (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIAugust 13, 2013
Fun work environment
People were friendly
Always willing to teach
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding work enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 7, 2013
Greeting all customers as they walked in. Helping all customers with any complaints or problems. Keeping a positive attitude at all times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people and good place to work
Program Officer (Former Employee), Vestal, NYJuly 29, 2013
Learn a lot about program development and evaluation. I participated in two projects during my internship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Helped customers set up appointments
Call Center Representative (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJuly 26, 2013
Productive, helped customers set up appointments. Compensation was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Teamwork.
Event Planner (Former Employee), Union, NJJuly 9, 2013
I was able to work with many individuals in a team with a goal to work towards event planning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff most apprecitive of what volunteer work you can do.
VITA/TCE Tax preparer (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAJuly 1, 2013
Pros: free lunch while working, luncheon when tax season over, dinner cruise in la harbour
United Way staff were always accommidating while you were volunteering. Everyone was so happy doing whatever needed to be done so clients getting there Income Taxes prepared felt special also. I plan to volunteer my time again. It was a gratifying experience to give back to the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Refuse to ever support this company
I & R Specialist (Former Employee), MassachusettsJune 29, 2013
Pros: pay was decent
Cons: no benefits, uncaring management, toxic environment, stressful
I refused to support the United Way. I worked at one of their programs that was severely underfunded and management kept tackling more & more tasks to employees without anything in return. There were no benefits for the job. If you had to take a day off, then you had to lose on the pay. The stress was unbelievably high! This is a job I took as a Part – more... Time position and I could not believe how high the stress was. Management did not care and refused to listen to employees ideas on how to improve the work place. The only thing worth it was the pay until they started laying off those who made the most, in return for hiring lower paying individuals. UW is a joke. The CEO makes just under 300k and no non profit CEO should ever make that MUCH! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee), Hattiesburg, MSJune 27, 2013
Coordinate volunteer teams to complete Hurricane and Tornado Relief efforts.
Lead team of up to 50 people at a time
Help clients rebuild property and restore their lives back to before the storm.
Work one on one with Habitat for Humanity and United Way, Local Churches and community leaders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Opportunity
Women's Leadership Council - Member (Current Employee), Mason City, IAJune 19, 2013
This is a new Council in the Mason City area. We only started this year and it have been exciting to be a part of. We have decided to focus on Mental Wellness/Health at this time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Opportunity
Women's Leadership Council - Member (Current Employee), Mason City, IAJune 19, 2013
This is a new Council in the Mason City area. We only started this year and it have been exciting to be a part of. We have decided to focus on Mental Wellness/Health at this time.