Find companies:
United Way
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
114 reviews

United Way Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Non-profit organization
Volunteer Work (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: no lunches
A typical day of work consist of staying 100 % earshot of the Shef so you could help him cook the meals. I have learned that being creative could lead to good results in the food industry. My co-workers supports me and I support them. The hardest part of the job was leaving because I enjoyed It so much. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning new things
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Vice-President, Resource Development (Former Employee), Lawrence, MAJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: great community asset
Cons: merged with large organizion
This United Way Office merged with with larger unit. It was a great place to work and raise funds for more than 50 non-profits. The corporate and community networking opportunities were wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with a great non-profit organization within the community of Los Angeles County
Financial Account Coordinator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: diverse organization
Cons: professional growth
Excellent opportunity to utilize my financial and accounting skills. The most enjoyable part of this job was being able to give back to the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helps you really understand what it takes to help a community
Parent Outreach Worker for BAYC (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTDecember 16, 2013
I have been a volunteer here for the past four going on five years and i have the chance to give back all that i have learnd over the years it an honor to be apart of such a community of builders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained useful tax experience
Volunteer of Income Tax Assistant (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXNovember 30, 2013
Pros: kindly stuff
Cons: no lunch
Working with experienced site coordinators, helped people done their tax returns with happy feeling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
DATA ENTRY/CASEMANAGEMENT/CLIENT SUPPORT (Former Employee), Atlanta, Ga.November 19, 2013
Pros: flexibility of hours and commute
Cons: no benefits for temps
Answer phones and entering data. I learned to evaluate customers needs and how to give assistance to those in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a bookkeeping job that kept me busy.
Secretary (Former Employee), Hays, KSNovember 13, 2013
Enjoyed all of my work at the United Way that was combined with the Chamber of Commerce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Call Center Agent (Current Employee), Saint Louis MONovember 4, 2013
This job is very rewarding because if provides opportunity to work with the a diverse population. We are providing human services referrals to callers that could possible assist them with financial means or human service needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Internship-Office Assistant (Former Employee), Martinsville, VAOctober 29, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: in the bottom of a bank
Very educational job, easy work load, nice associates, and great hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Feeling
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee), Ashtabula, OHOctober 22, 2013
I helped paint and clean up houses and work offices for people in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Volunteer work (Former Employee), Houma, LAOctober 18, 2013
It was for service hours for high school. Stuffed envelopes for their yearly campaign.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering is FUN!
Volunteer (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 4, 2013
Pros: helping the community
I enjoy volunteering with the United Way, the skills I am acquiring by helping others is phenomenal. The work they do enhance lives, and give people second chances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good, but pursuing to expand my career
Bilingual Navigation Specialist (Current Employee), Austin, TxSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Very good, but pursuing to expand my career. A typical day at the calling center is taking calls from callers who are in need of any social services in the local community. Most enjoyable is to hear the callers, say thank you, you have been a big help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting at a coffee shop to discuss issues
Software Developer (Former Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 17, 2013
Most of work is done at home. My co-workers are friendly and very competent. Management is very supportive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly workplace
Senior Bilingual Contact Center Agent (Current Employee), AtlantaSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: friendly workplace.
Cons: no much possibilities to growth inside the organization.
I learn different way to help individuals and families in need. My co-workers are very kind and respectful, as well my supervisor.
What I most enjoy of my job is the recognition of my effort and capability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voluntary
volunteer (Former Employee), Carlisle, PASeptember 10, 2013
it wasnt a paying job. just something to volunteer for. very rewarding work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard internship
Babycare Cupboard (Former Employee), Provo, UTSeptember 3, 2013
• Working directly with clients from the student population (18-35yrs) as their therapist
• Participating in weekly supervision sessions
• Taught workshops to Mental Health clubs on campus
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Finance Clerk (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 22, 2013
Pros: helping other
Cons: short time to work there
United Way was a good company to work for. I learned how to process different company pledges. I saw how they helped people who was in needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, friendly people
Marketing Intern (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIAugust 13, 2013
Fun work environment
People were friendly
Always willing to teach
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding work enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 7, 2013
Greeting all customers as they walked in. Helping all customers with any complaints or problems. Keeping a positive attitude at all times.