Find companies:
United Way
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
95 reviews

United Way Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for extending education/experience.
Tax Preparer (Current Employee), Wichita Falls, TXMarch 26, 2013
This internship took my college courses and put them in direct use while also dealing with the general public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
custoner-based emphasis
Administrative Coordinator II (Former Employee), Wichita, KSFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: trusted that i would get the requested job done
Cons: did no micro manage
typical day at work - slow had o set personal daily goals for self
what you learned - how far reaching Unite Way is
management
your co-workers -knowledgeable
the hardest part of the job - was not having enough to do
the most enjoyable part of the job - was the customer contact in the overall client base
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work.
Internship (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: friendly people
I interned at United Way of Greater Chattanooga the summer of my junior year in College. It was the best experience of my life and opened my eyes to what I wanted to do for the rest of my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nurses Aide, taking care of a patient in which he was bed ridden and could not do anything for himself.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Wooster, OHJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: the assurance of a job well done.
Cons: no benefits
Complete care of the patient, cooking and feeding him, Complete care of the Laundry, light housekeeping, Using a lift to take him in and out of bed, Short walk in a wheelchair, if the weather permitted in the afternoon before putting him back in bed. I learned what it was like for a person whom was very active, (like my husband), to never be able to – more... communicate or do anything for himself. Co-workers, there were none. The hardest parts were using the lift to put him in his wheelchair and out of bed, and to see what a good and active man so helpless. The most enjoyable part, I guess was being able to help and care for the patient, and being there for his wife, Whom loved and cared for him. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great company
Administrative Assistant/Volunteer (Current Employee), monroe,laJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: there is nothing i dont like
Its a company that really reaches out and helps the community with any help needed housing,paying bills,schools, food bank, a safe place to go
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
Success by Six Program Coordinator (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: good health benefits
Cons: grant
Exceptional company to work for. Good working enviornment. Excellent advancements available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, nice environment
Work Study Student (Current Employee), Berwick, PAJanuary 13, 2013
my boss always says thank you, all of my coworkers are very nice. I work in a clean, warm environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work at
Customer Service (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: not being able to help every call
the work day consisted of anwereing phone calls from people that needed assistance with rent, utilities, food and medical care.
I learned to be able to refer clients to other agencies of assistance.
Management was nice and helpful with any questions I had.
Co-workers were nice. The hardest part of the job was having to tell the caller that there were – more... no funds available. the most enjoybale was when we were able to help a family with food and money for rent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
REWARDING EXPERIENCES BY ASSISTING THOSE IN NEED IN MORE THAN ONE WAYS
Medical and Legal Interpreter/Translator (Former Employee), MARLBOROUGH, MADecember 6, 2012
(note) The United Way just recently took over the Old Marlborough Community Services (MCSI), I never worked for United Way directly.

In a typical day at work, it varied every day, different persons, different needs, but always a smile afterwards and a thank you.

I learned to be more patient and to appreciate the different problems to be resolved in – more... pro of other people's needs.

Management were always willing to cooperate in resolving the patient's needs.

My co-workers always with a smile an eager to assist.

Never hard, sometimes slower but never hard

The most enjoyable part of the job was the opportunity to help other in their problems by assisting them with their language barriers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and productive place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Shelby, NCNovember 12, 2012
A typical day at work was making sure payroll was done correctly and all mileage was accounted for. I learned how to do payroll. Management was firm put great to work for. My co workers were the best. The hardest part of the job was during campaign season. Making sure we had all the letters out and had the correct address and letter in each envelope.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volunteer Work/Community Service (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKOctober 20, 2012
For United Way I took a day to help pick up trash in a area. The only thing I didnt like about it was the heat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to volunteer at.
Volunteer Work (Former Employee), Traverse City, MIOctober 16, 2012
Pros: get to get out in the community to help others.
Cons: no cons as i enjoy the time to help others.
a lot of fun, and balanced time to help others in need that very well might not have had help otherwise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never met such a hard working group of devoted people
Director (Former Employee), Elizabeth City, NCAugust 28, 2012
Unted Way. what can I say other than "Great group of local business people with lots of heart for those in need. I really enjoyed working with this group. I wish them lots of good fortune in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people
Volunteer Tax Preparer (Current Employee), Boynton Beach, FLAugust 24, 2012
Enjoy interacting with people and helping them understand their tax liability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal Oriented
Operations Manager, Community Investment (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 20, 2012
Pros: the relationships you build
Cons: extremely fast paced
Very fast paced day to day activities and a lot of collaborative work and continuous communications. I've learned to work independently as well as with a team. Working here has helped me develop skills that allow me to handle high volume work loads, manage relationships internally/externally at various levels and across different sectors, trouble shoot – more... and provide resolution, manage various data systems, use several micro soft applications with high proficiency, and to be adaptable even under the most strenuous circumstances. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
volunteer (Former Employee), Dumas, TXAugust 3, 2012
It was strictly a volunteer job. I traveled to various businesses and gave programs to help raise money for United Way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful organization
Internship (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJuly 18, 2012
I had a great experience as an intern at United Way, I learned so much and would love to work for an organization like this in the near future
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great extracurricular work
Volunteer Income Tax Assistant (Former Employee), Modesto, CAJuly 5, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: the work was a trial by fire
I loved being able to volunteer and work for my country. Also, it was great to know that I was helping people without charge to them so all they had to worry about was waiting for their returns or paying their taxes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work for a good cause
Director Assistant (Former Employee), Buffalo,NYJune 28, 2012
A typical day at United way was always busy. The day started off with filing records from the previous day. Recording the pledges into the computer system. Recording the amounts that was giving for donations. After all the records was entered into the system. The Directed and I worked closed together. I had to write and send thank you letters out to – more... many corporation. I also entered information into spread sheets for the director. The hardest part of my job was making sure that the donations matched the amount on the folder to the amount in the system to the amount that was actually donated. That was the hardest part and the most enjoyable. Just to be apart of an organization that shows you everyday that people do care and we can make a difference was a GREAT experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Work
Volunteer and donor (Current Employee), Cincinnati OHJune 17, 2012
Pros: flexible schedules
Very easy to find ways to volunteer and really nice people. There are tons of organizations to get involved with and it's an extremely diverse organization to volunteer for.