Find companies:
United Wholesale Mortgage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

United Wholesale Mortgage Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company with solid benefits and good people to work with
Account Executive (Former Employee), Troy, MIJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: working with clients and my co-workers
Cons: micro-managed to the extreme
As an account executive at United Wholesale Mortgage, my responsibilities included working with brokers helping facilitate their mortgage transactions. Communication was the most important part of the job. I enjoyed working with my co-workers which made the job most enjoyable. United Wholesale Mortgage moved into a new building when I started and hired – more... many account executives. But their goal to join corporate America needed more planning and many of the changes were never followed through.But overall my experience with United Wholesale Mortgage was enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no pay
Closing Coordinator/ Underwriting Support (Former Employee), Troy, MIJanuary 25, 2014
Management did not want to work with worker schedule. Also did not want to offer ant raises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sadly Not a friendly place to work at
Underwriting Support (Former Employee), Troy, MIJanuary 14, 2014
One of the worst person I worked for. I just did my work and the best I could and I got very mis-treated and I was always looked over for trying to move ahead since I didn't know or work in the past with others that were there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some Perks but very stressful
Wire Coordinator (Current Employee), Troy, MINovember 14, 2013
Pros: free fountain drinks, valet service, in house gym facilities
Cons: poor management.
Hardest part is dealing with poor management. Very degrading, unapproachable, multiple labor law violations. Not much advancement unless you're among the "favored" by management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best first job out of college
Underwriter II (Former Employee), Birmingham, MISeptember 26, 2013
Great people to work for in Troy MI, made everlasting friends and will always know the who's who of the mortgage industry. I learned the basics of Mortgage loan underwriting by working my way up from the rate lock desk. internal mobility was smooth, and everyone was always friendly and eager to help. Company closed during sub-prime, but we will never – more... forget our colleagues "smack, smack" off of Big Beaver rd, Exit 69. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic Work Environment
Account Executive (Former Employee), Troy, MISeptember 24, 2013
Good teamwork in an open call center type environment. I learned great in-depth mortgage industry practices. knowledgeable and helpful team of co-workers. management style is somewhat inflexible, micromanaging, and at times out of touch. The hardest part of the job is managing stressed relationships. In the mortgage industry, things sometimes go sideways – more... and small mistakes can have large costs. When these issues happen, how you handle the situation will make or break your success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Mortgage Underwriter II (Current Employee), Troy, MIAugust 10, 2013
Pros: good leadership
Cons: pay and benefits
- Fun and friendly atmosphere
- Good and productive culture
- Extensive knowledge about the mortgage industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't believe the hype!
Closing (Former Employee), Troy, miJuly 10, 2013
I am a past employee. You will not be respected, the pay sucks and I was near cussed out everyday by brokers and title companies due to OTHER People's mistakes! The company tries to deliver more than what they are capable of. Some of us was told we would get raises after a so-called promotion but never did, but got the run-around instead. The bonus – more... programmed was not good either. The manager and her assistant are not approachable at all. Don't believe the other people before my comment saying its the best job they ever had...I never ran into ONE person there actually said that...not one...always the opposite. Run fast... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UWM ... A Great Place to Work!
Coordinator (Current Employee), Troy, MIFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: incredible growth, incentives, company events, location, open door policy, positive culture, what more can i say?!?
This is a great company to work for. This company's culture is AMAZING, with a good support structure for professional development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good
Underwriter (Current Employee), Birmingham, MIJanuary 21, 2013
Good company, growing, still working out some kinks, alot of room for growth however.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Coordinator (Current Employee), Birmingham, MichiganDecember 8, 2012
Relax atmosphere and great people to work with everyday. The owner is very friend and approachable. Manager are always listening for new ideas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job I've ever had!
Graphic Designer (Current Employee), Birmingham, MIOctober 30, 2012
Pros: free fountain pop, lots of employee perks, great benefits
Cons: cramped work area until we move in a couple months
I've had many jobs, from slinging ice cream to Kmart, libraries, and jewelry stores, but UWM is by far the best workplace of them all.

The managers are very understanding and more than fair. The president of the company makes himself available for you. There's always something fun to work on, and the fact that my job involves boosting company morale – more... is the best of all!

I was a little intimidated at first, but everyone here is very friendly and always willing to help.

I highly recommend working here, but you do have work hard. The wonderful people and environment make it worth it, though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to be
Manager (Current Employee), Birmingham, MIOctober 30, 2012
Pros: incentives, growth from within, rewards, great people
I have worked for some dynamic companies, but none so unique as UWM. To say the growth is explosive is an understatement, and from the top down, all employees feel instrumental in UWM's success. The work atmosphere is very positive and the people are what make the company so special. Opinions and ideas are heard, and I feel very secure in my role. It's – more... a pleasure to have a job that you look forward to being at each day, and I think it's rare to find a company like UWM. I expect to be here for a very long time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company to work for
Manager (Current Employee), Birmingham, MIOctober 23, 2012
Pros: opportunity to interact with senior leaders on a daily basis, location, positive energy, great co workers, hour lunch and the best company events!!!!
I have been with UWM for 4 years and in my profession for 12. This is by far the best job I have ever had and best company I have ever worked for. The camaraderie, the leadership and the opportunity to grow are unparalleled. Getting up and coming to work every day is enjoyable and does not feel like "work." I hope to be a part of this success story – more... for years to come. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Working Environment
Account Executive (Former Employee), Birmingham, MIOctober 19, 2012
United Wholesale was a great place to work. The people and the environment made united wholesale a fun place to work. Even though it was a relaxed atmosphere you were there to work for a full 8 hours a day. When it was business time you conducted business. President to Division managers were great, however, some of the team leaders could be more helpful. – more... While working you were on the phones non-stop trying to gain business and make strides to reach your individual goals. The most enjoyable part of the job was talking to various brokers and loan officers while building lasting relationships with your clients. – less

United Wholesale Mortgage Photos