Find companies:
UnitedHealth Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,164 reviews

UnitedHealth Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
tier III associate (Current Employee), Roanoke, VaApril 16, 2014
Pros: none at all
Cons: process a call in 6 minutes, process guide to follow with 30+ steps, advancemnt based on who you know not what skills you have to do the job, very untrustworthy mangement team
Work in the Roanoke, Va Call Center...The worst management team ever. Your people are only as good as the leaders. 10 year employee...to the point now you are being told how to respond to questions. Unrealistic expections set by people in cooperate offices who couldnt take a phone call and research the issue and solve the problem if their lives depended – more... on it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place for broad healthcare experience in business and technology
Senior IT Architect, Business Solutions Architect (Former Employee), Golden Valley, MNApril 16, 2014
Pros: a great place for people willing to roll up their sleaves and provide unique solutions for business
Cons: the work load is challenging
During the 8 years with UHG, I have had broad experience with 20 different business segments and their respective application landscapes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good sturdy place to work. kinda drab
member and provider (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 15, 2014
Pros: alot of overtime available
Cons: very short breaks and if you needed help, it was up to luck
the work was difficult but not impossible. they set very high standards that are hard to meet but you wont get fired unless you have attendance issues for the most part. everyone says they are all about compassion for the customers but they are really about their pay and could not care any less about the people. Training was good when they actually – more... taught something but out of an 8 hr day in training, 3-4 of those hrs were actually learning something. the rest was sitting waiting for something to happen.training did not feel complete. You could be trained on many different things but hardly a pay raise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of training!
Customer service representative (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMApril 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: benefits, management and training.
Bad medical insurance benefits, the deductibles and premiums were ridiculous.
Poor training.
The system the used to give employees a bonus seemed immoral.
WARNING: Don't ask questions! Management does not like it when an employee needs assistance!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Co-workers
Software Asset Management (Former Employee), Minnetonka, MNApril 14, 2014
I enjoyed working with most of the people that I came in contact with at UnitedHealth Group. They were hard working individuals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accountable and Responsibile
LEAD TECHNICAL ARCHITECT (Current Employee), Plymouth, MNApril 14, 2014
Pros: many experiences
Cons: limited resources
For the period of time working for UnitedHealth Group I found as time went on that the job was extended from the original Enterprise Business Architect to Project Management, Solutions and Technical Architecture as well as Development and Testing.

So, basically the division had a limited number of resources and too many tasks to be accomplished in – more... the period of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stable place of employment.
IT Critical Facilities Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Elk River, MNApril 13, 2014
Daily listen to operating engineers concerns and provide them with guidance, answers, or will provide them with a solution forthcoming. I enjoy coming to work because each day new issues arise and need to be resolved. My co-workers and manager are fun and enjoyable to work with and our accomplishments ensure that the facility is operating efficiently. – more... I have welcomed the opportunity to learn about electrical distribution, controls, CMMS and water treatment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Provider/Member Services Specialist (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 13, 2014
Pros: occasional free lunches; always busy
Cons: benefits are mediocre at best; management shows favoritism
Fun place to work but little to no room for advancement. You're also never sure of what you are doing from a day to day basis. One day they will have you on one line of business and halfway through the day put you on another line. Getting time off can be a nightmare and calling out for an emergency or illness three times in a year gets you a corrective – more... action plan up to and including termination. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning new things
Customer Care Professional (Former Employee), Maryland Heights, MOApril 13, 2014
I loved to speak with new people and learn more about the medical field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a family person
Licensing and Commissions Representative (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, ILApril 11, 2014
Pros: balance with life at home is wonderful.
Cons: future of the company is very unknown.
UnitedHeatlhGroup is a very caring company that offers great benefits. Management is very pleasing to work with and care a great deal for the people that they work over.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable place to work but very challenging
Provider Phone Representative/Team Lead (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 10, 2014
Pros: advancement opportunities
Cons: more work for less money
It has the potential to be one of the best places to work depending on the department you work in. It is very stable and the compensation is ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Most enjoyable job
Banquet Server/Concession Worker (Current Employee), Lakeland, FLApril 10, 2014
They care about there co-workers and if you going through something they very supported
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just an all around good job
Claims Adjuster/Processor (Former Employee), Matteson, ILApril 9, 2014
I liked the flex hours, the ability to work from home, & my co-workers which turned out to have a long lasting friendship since the office closed after the 9/11 attack.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starts out well
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Cypress, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: great benefits, personal life will not be compromised unless there's mandatory ot
Cons: lack of consistency, too many chiefs
Great relationships amonst your team and coworkers. Lots of favoritism among management towards supervisors. HR direct sucks which is who you're to contact when there is a problem. When hired pray you are not workong under Marina, all she knows is policies & procedures she's not very helpful when it comes to the very important things. Will be given – more... a directive it may change at the blink of an eye. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The largest health insurance company in the US
Sr. Business Architect (Current Employee), Hartford, CTApril 9, 2014
United HealthCare is an industry leader in health insurance. As the company expands by acquisition, technological challenges are many.

As part of a diverse IT team, I was responsible for development and support of the Business Process Modeling 3rd party tool Casewise Corporate Modeler. After building the environment and expanding it to an enterprise – more... level ( Citrix, SQL databases, Windows Server ( IIS ), UHG Intranet access and direct database access through the use of the products web services) I shifted to the Modeling team and began to use the tool to provide Business Process Modeling that reduced the cost of programs / projects by introducing the reuse concept for application development and project initiation research. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health Insurance
Benefits Adjustment Specialist (Former Employee), Duluth,MNApril 9, 2014
Pros: working at home, bonuses, overtime
I worked for this company for 22 years. Twelve of those years were spent processing claims at home. I had an office in my home and everyday I would start my day at 8:00am and finish at 4:30 pm. Everyone thinks that if you work at home you go to work in your pajamas, not the case for me. I would get dressed and ready just like I was going to into the – more... office and sitting in my cubicle all day. My coworkers were great because they too also worked at home and we would have daily meetings together so we had interaction with one another. I am a team player so I enjoyed working as a team. We had goals to meet and all pulled our weight to reach those goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for advancement..
Workforce Analyst (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCApril 8, 2014
I truly enjoy working for UHC. It is a great place with great opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Associate
Client Service Associate (Former Employee), Green Bay WiApril 8, 2014
Pros: answer in-coming calls in regards to members' questions and concerns.
Answer incoming calls in regards to members' questions and concerns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
**
Network Account Manager (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIApril 7, 2014
Pros: team environment
Cons: prejudicial in working from home remote accessibility
Discriminated against me in same situation as opposed to alternate employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work!
Customer Care Professional/Health Advisor (Former Employee), Chico, CAApril 7, 2014
Pros: awesome benefits and pay
Cons: very stressful job
the training they put you through is intense but they want to make sure you are prepared to work individually after training. Great work environment with great benefits and pay!

1 2 3 4 5

About UnitedHealth Group

When you work to better people’s lives, one of those lives will always be yours. We have modest goals: Improve the lives – Read more

UnitedHealth Group Photos