Find companies:
UnitedHealth Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,174 reviews

UnitedHealth Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current job summary
Health Advisor (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCApril 21, 2014
A typical work day starts with greetings to coworkers then logging in to several systems in order to be ready to take incoming member calls. Also, reviewing email for any alerts, changes, or additions to our standard operating procedures. In addition, part of the work day preparation includes checking outlook calendar for scheduled meetings and events. – more... I've learned a lot about the healthcare industry as it pertains to administering member benefits. Management is accessible and coworkers work as a team. The most enjoyable part of my job is when a member tells me what a great job I've done with helping them and explaining the information in a way that they can comprehend. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production and quantity
Licensed Vocational Nurse (Former Employee), Cypres CAApril 21, 2014
Pros: competitive pay
Cons: difficult on productivity and quantity
push for numbers and quantity of work.
I learned about having confidence in my skills as a nurse.
I learned how to be a team player.
Never had problems with co-workers or management.
I enjoy learning, I enjoy working with others, I enjoy helping and being a team player.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work with
Network Systems Engineer (Current Employee), MNApril 21, 2014
Very good company to work for. As I was a telecommuter this allowed for me to save on wear and tear on my car as well as save gas. I enjoyed the people I work with as they were fun an knowledgeable in their fields.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sr. Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHApril 18, 2014
Great place to work and wonderful people. Really balanced job work and family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work unless you're an acquired entity...
Former Employee (Former Employee), Dallas, TXApril 18, 2014
Pros: benefits (for the most part), flexible schedules, good technology.
Cons: corporate mandates that make little sense, deadlines, off-shoring and keeping weaker staff, lack of communication by executives to smaller entities within uhc.
For the most part UHC is a wonderful place to work. Good pay, good benefits (PTO, flex time, etc). The problem that exists there is that as an acquired entity, you will be picked apart and the acquired company's staff will be eliminated. They also send positions off-shore due to cost, but the productivity is low and stateside personnel end up re-doing – more... the work. United Healthcare also talks about promoting "telecommuting" positions, but fail at that aspect in many areas (Finance, Sales/Account Management, IT), yet these seems to be the areas that have the most open positions. They also talk a good game about keeping the staff that they have rather than training someone new off the street - again, they fail at this as well. I actually trained a person for 6 months in a role similar to mine and because he was local to headquarters, his position was safe, but mine was eliminated. This speaks volumes about how experience is not held in high esteem, but overloading a lesser paid employee is ok. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Company
Clinical Administrative Intake Coordinator (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 17, 2014
Pros: spot awards
Cons: quality
Typical work day seem like it changes everyday.
It's no structure, and the schedules fluctuate each daylight savings time if you are on the team of Arizona (taking AZ calls).
The company care more about how much you need to do for the providers and not enough about their employees. Very tight with bonuses and raises each year. The co-workers are somewhat – more... nice and easy to get along with. The hardest part about the job is quality, quality is very picky on documenting the calls and how you speak and need to say to the providers. The most enjoyable part about the job is working from home!!!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
tier III associate (Current Employee), Roanoke, VaApril 16, 2014
Pros: none at all
Cons: process a call in 6 minutes, process guide to follow with 30+ steps, advancemnt based on who you know not what skills you have to do the job, very untrustworthy mangement team
Work in the Roanoke, Va Call Center...The worst management team ever. Your people are only as good as the leaders. 10 year employee...to the point now you are being told how to respond to questions. Unrealistic expections set by people in cooperate offices who couldnt take a phone call and research the issue and solve the problem if their lives depended – more... on it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place for broad healthcare experience in business and technology
Senior IT Architect, Business Solutions Architect (Former Employee), Golden Valley, MNApril 16, 2014
Pros: a great place for people willing to roll up their sleaves and provide unique solutions for business
Cons: the work load is challenging
During the 8 years with UHG, I have had broad experience with 20 different business segments and their respective application landscapes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very bad company
customer service (Former Employee), cypressApril 16, 2014
not a good experience with this company had to quit, the training class was rude, the trainers did not have control over the class. overall it was a horrible employment experience and I will not apply to them again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good sturdy place to work. kinda drab
member and provider (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 15, 2014
Pros: alot of overtime available
Cons: very short breaks and if you needed help, it was up to luck
the work was difficult but not impossible. they set very high standards that are hard to meet but you wont get fired unless you have attendance issues for the most part. everyone says they are all about compassion for the customers but they are really about their pay and could not care any less about the people. Training was good when they actually – more... taught something but out of an 8 hr day in training, 3-4 of those hrs were actually learning something. the rest was sitting waiting for something to happen.training did not feel complete. You could be trained on many different things but hardly a pay raise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Flexible
Adult Nurse Practitioner (Current Employee), Brooklyn NYApril 15, 2014
This job is very flexible, and I work independently. A typical day involves driving to members homes, completing medical history and physical exams on members, then commuting back home. The hardest part of the job is the paperwork. Working from home with a secure system, multiple sign in process, programs and system failure during documentation makes – more... it time consuming to complete notes. The most enjoyable time is the time spent with members doing assessments, educating them regarding their health, preventative care and treatment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of training!
Customer service representative (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMApril 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: benefits, management and training.
Bad medical insurance benefits, the deductibles and premiums were ridiculous.
Poor training.
The system the used to give employees a bonus seemed immoral.
WARNING: Don't ask questions! Management does not like it when an employee needs assistance!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Co-workers
Software Asset Management (Former Employee), Minnetonka, MNApril 14, 2014
I enjoyed working with most of the people that I came in contact with at UnitedHealth Group. They were hard working individuals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accountable and Responsibile
LEAD TECHNICAL ARCHITECT (Current Employee), Plymouth, MNApril 14, 2014
Pros: many experiences
Cons: limited resources
For the period of time working for UnitedHealth Group I found as time went on that the job was extended from the original Enterprise Business Architect to Project Management, Solutions and Technical Architecture as well as Development and Testing.

So, basically the division had a limited number of resources and too many tasks to be accomplished in – more... the period of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stable place of employment.
IT Critical Facilities Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Elk River, MNApril 13, 2014
Daily listen to operating engineers concerns and provide them with guidance, answers, or will provide them with a solution forthcoming. I enjoy coming to work because each day new issues arise and need to be resolved. My co-workers and manager are fun and enjoyable to work with and our accomplishments ensure that the facility is operating efficiently. – more... I have welcomed the opportunity to learn about electrical distribution, controls, CMMS and water treatment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Provider/Member Services Specialist (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 13, 2014
Pros: occasional free lunches; always busy
Cons: benefits are mediocre at best; management shows favoritism
Fun place to work but little to no room for advancement. You're also never sure of what you are doing from a day to day basis. One day they will have you on one line of business and halfway through the day put you on another line. Getting time off can be a nightmare and calling out for an emergency or illness three times in a year gets you a corrective – more... action plan up to and including termination. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning new things
Customer Care Professional (Former Employee), Maryland Heights, MOApril 13, 2014
I loved to speak with new people and learn more about the medical field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a family person
Licensing and Commissions Representative (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, ILApril 11, 2014
Pros: balance with life at home is wonderful.
Cons: future of the company is very unknown.
UnitedHeatlhGroup is a very caring company that offers great benefits. Management is very pleasing to work with and care a great deal for the people that they work over.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable place to work but very challenging
Provider Phone Representative/Team Lead (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 10, 2014
Pros: advancement opportunities
Cons: more work for less money
It has the potential to be one of the best places to work depending on the department you work in. It is very stable and the compensation is ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Most enjoyable job
Banquet Server/Concession Worker (Current Employee), Lakeland, FLApril 10, 2014
They care about there co-workers and if you going through something they very supported

1 2 3 4 5

About UnitedHealth Group

When you work to better people’s lives, one of those lives will always be yours. We have modest goals: Improve the lives – Read more

UnitedHealth Group Photos