Find companies:
UnitedHealth Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,352 reviews

UnitedHealth Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Appeals Representative (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJune 26, 2014
Pros: work from home, overtime
Cons: unorganized, expensive benefits
Plenty of room for growth. I worked from home for the last two years so I didn't really have too much interaction with my co workers. The first year I was there and did interact with them, they were great. Management in the call center was nice. Once I went to appeals I noticed the differences right away. Their management styles were very different. – more... Appeals was not as organized as the call center. I was still able to learn a lot, but from my peers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Medicaid Eligibility Specialist (Current Employee), Moline, ILJune 25, 2014
Pros: lots of variety and learned lots of new things
Cons: having the widgets per hour and logging them
Work several different reports from the States of TN and MS. Most of them had a 24 hour turnaround time.
I learned alot about insurance, how to look up eligibility of members and doctors. I worked with a good group of people. Always willing to help each other out.
Hardest part of the job was logging widgets per hour.
Most enjoyable part of the job was – more... the work...the researching of things and the variety. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJune 25, 2014
Handle calls from physicians and patients regarding claims and healthcare benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment with friendly staff
Provider Resolution Specialist (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJune 25, 2014
Pros: quarterly bonus
Cons: statistics not based on one's sole performance
A typical day requires logging into a computer and phone system set up to take calls from medical providers regarding an array of topics in health insurance. This includes claims processing, member benefits, contract issues, credentialing information, and authorizations of medical procedures. I have learned a vast amount of medical insurance information – more... from coding and processing claims, HIPAA practices, and maintaining professional relationships with providers. Management is wonderful on a personal level, yet tend to lack in fundamental information needed when seeking guidance on a particular topic. The hardest part of the job requires the redundant nature of the phone calls and questions, along with sticking to a "script" to de-escalate irate calls. The most enjoyable part of the job is providing offices and facilities the proper medical benefit information and assisting in higher quality professional relationships to bridge the gap between healthcare and health insurance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paste
Member Scheduling Representative (Current Employee), Elkridge, MDJune 24, 2014
Cons: short lunch, being micro managed
Typical day at work would be sitting on the phone for the majority of the day taking inbound calls from members trying to get scheduled for a house call visit. I would also receive with inbound calls from the Health Care Practitioners to assist with ordering their supplies to assisting with finding a members house. The hardest part of the job was hearing – more... the heart felt stories from our members about their hardships. It was a good job, but very demanding with your time and patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Claims Representative (Current Employee), Trumbull, CTJune 24, 2014
Pros: gym on hand 24/7 ....onsite cafeteria
I have been working in the medical insurance field for almost 13 years now. When I first began working, we were under the Oxford Health Plans platform. Now under United Healthcare.
A typical day here is coming in and knowing that I have work to accomplish which i access on my own. I have all the tools I need to get the job done and I also have resources – more... available when needed. This helps make the job go alot smoother for the day. My manager at this current time is a wonderful person who is very dedicated to keeping her team together. Therefore my co-workers and i are like family . We all know what our jobs are and we do them to the very best of our ability. What I have enjoyed about this job is knowing that at the end of the day , I made a difference for the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to start your career with
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 24, 2014
I worked for the company when they were in the midst of them eliminating their service department (where I worked). The culture of the company changed drastically, and many people were afraid of losing their jobs. Although, In the beginning it was a pleasurable job to have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good work place.
Temporary position for HEDIS project (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 23, 2014
Pros: good position
I worked for United Healthcare for 2 years doing a temporary project for Hedis. I had extensive Excel, customer service, and reviewing patient charts. It was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service Rep/Specialist (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 23, 2014
Greeting all sorts of people. Meeting new people to the area and making them feel welcome. Co-worker are amazing. Hardest part of this job is making sure that everyone is safe and having a good time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
take care of hospice patients
Customer Service Claims Lead (Former Employee), Chico, CAJune 22, 2014
i would stay over night to care for my patient. this was a great job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good work environment
Instructional Designer (Former Employee), Eden PrairieJune 21, 2014
I enjoyed my project teams, but behind the scenes, management would claim they will support you--but they don't. It is all just words.

There were many mixed messages about acceptance around team standards--what was allowed and not allowed. Published works were not consistent in font sizes--yet consistency that was the expectation--by management.

What – more... I was told by team members regarding standards, didn't match up at all with what management demanded.

Long hours and lots of stress. Stay away from here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not pay out PTO when you leave
Senior Publications Medical Writer (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIJune 21, 2014
Cons: does not pay out pto when you leave
FYI: It is their policy to NOT pay out accrued PTO (paid time off=vacation plus sick leave) unless legally mandated by your state.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team leader role
Fresh Start Advocate/Team Leader (Former Employee), Oklahoma CityJune 21, 2014
Being in a team leader was doing management task when the main manager wasn't at work. I would hold team meetings, conduct training for new material, and held one on one coaching with each team member. When i wasn't doing those task, I was on the phones speaking with customers about mail service pharmacy. Setting up mail service accounts so that individuals – more... do not have to go to a local pharmacy we will get there medication sent to them by UPS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Data Entry (Former Employee), Franklin, TNJune 20, 2014
Pros: great people, food, good pay
Cons: can get slow
Although I only worked there for a few months, they were a great company to work for. My department was laid back and really nice people. They provided food a lot of times which was nice. I also got paid every Wednesday which was nice. May be different for different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical Call Center Environment
Benefit Specialist Representative - Vision/Dental (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 20, 2014
Pros: good co-workers, work location close to home, decent benefits.
Cons: call center environment, fast-paced with unrealistic expectations, management played favoritism
Since this location was close to work, a typical work day would involve biking to work to get some exercise and when i would arrive at the work location, i would place my items on my work station, socialize with co-workers and read work e-mails to ensure that i am current on the policies/procedures/possible changes of the company.

From my time there, – more... I learned many things about dental and vision insurance that the company offered due to the training received.

The hardest part of this job was the fact that it was a call center environment, so it was constantly busy, the company sets expectations so high that it was hard to reach (i.e. talk times, break limitations, lunch time restrictions, etc.), and the management would always change rules and favoritism was apparent.

What got me through the job was the camaraderie amongst the employees and the teams having meetings to discuss what we can do to make the work environment better for us to keep moving forward. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Provider Resolution Specialist (Current Employee), Frederick, MDJune 19, 2014
Respond to complex customer calls
Resolve customer service inquiries which could include:
Benefit and Eligibility information
Billing and Payment issues
Customer material requests
Physician assignments
Authorization for treatment
Explanation of Benefits (EOB)
Provide excellent customer service
Constantly meet established productivity, schedule adherence, – more... and quality standards – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Compensation but no job security
Clinical Admin Coordinator (Current Employee), Richardson, TXJune 19, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: no job security
Too many layoffs but the company pays well. I don't have much to say about this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and Constantly Changing
Health Advisor (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCJune 19, 2014
UHC is a great place to work. A typical day for me would be log into my computer system, pull up all the programs I need to use to assist my customers accurately. I learn new procedure and policies everyday. I learn to be compassionate on a daily bases. I have a great manager, she goes above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we have the resources – more... we need to do our job accurately. The hardest part of my job would be not showing emotion for our mbrs who are going through a difficult time. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that I provided excellent customer service each and everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Oracle Database Administrator (Current Employee), MNJune 18, 2014
good company ad great learning..
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to work
Clinical Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 17, 2014
Great place to work, but not alot of opportunities for advancement

About UnitedHealth Group

When you work to better people’s lives, one of those lives will always be yours. We have modest goals: Improve the lives – Read more

UnitedHealth Group Photos