Find companies:
UnitedHealth Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,376 reviews

UnitedHealth Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health Advisor
Health Care Specialist (Former Employee), san antonio,txJuly 10, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Cons: long hours
A typical day answer incoming calls to members helping them with whatever is needed. STRESSFULL! STRESSFULL! STRESSFULL! company does not have good benefits for employees, no gratitude is ever given for the hard work that has to be done, management is bad no real communication about how you are doing or what you would like to accomplish at work. A lot – more... of b*** kissing and favoritism, no true fairness. The only enjoyable part was the people that I worked with on my team made the day bearable. A job you dread going into. No real hope of move up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive job work / life balance
Business Analyst (Current Employee), Irvine, CAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: work from home
Cons: has a cap on promotion or advancement
flexible schedule
manager cares about employee development
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexiblle
Project Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, gaJuly 9, 2014
Flexible but unstable. Seems okay to work there.
Give it a try. Culture is not always professional, but people are nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre
Customer Service Advocate (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSJuly 9, 2014
This company doesn't really focus on the advancement of individuals. It's more so a numbers game.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Sr. Compliance Coordinator (Current Employee), Edison, NJJuly 9, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: employee benefits could be better
Working with United, you learn how to multi-task very quickly and to work independantly. Fast paced environment and you will never be bored.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing
Medical Claims Processor (Current Employee), Sugar Land, TxJuly 9, 2014
Pros: team interaction and daly commute.
Cons: salary not commensurate w/daily job functions, inadequate training and poor management
I received wonderful reviews re:Unitedhealth Group but once employed with the company, I experienced differently.

-I really enjoy the short daily commute
-I enjoyed my co-wokers and their sense of humor which assisted in team morale.

Management-judgemental, un-empathetic and completely oblivious to our daily duties and processes.

Hardest part of – more... the job -Being poorly trained and the expectation of adapting to multiple positions within less than a year with inadequate training. Pay not commensurate w/daily job function.

Most enjoyable part of the job - Team interaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional workplace
Clinical Administration Coordinator (Former Employee), Elkridge, MDJuly 9, 2014
Pros: fun, easy environment.
Cons: redundant script, yelled at by elderly insurance members.
A lot of fun, but quite redundant. We had a lot of company events. Break time was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful place to work
Customer Service/Medicare and Retirement (Former Employee), Maryland Heights, MOJuly 8, 2014
Cons: everything
Impossible standards to meet for quality. Treats their retirement and medicare members horribly. Mandatory overtime. Terrible trainer. Chained to desk. Unreachable goals set by management so that they don't have to give bonus' or raises. The company always has their hands out to the employees for something. You have to pay them 2.00 a day or 20.00 a – more... month to wear jeans. They are always asking for donations for something. For a health care company, they have the worst insurance for employees I have ever seen in my 32 years of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Clinical Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee), San Antonio TXJuly 8, 2014
Pros: good people work here
Cons: no growth opportunity
I love the people here, everyone is very friendly and helpful, but in my department there lacks job advancement opportunities, pay increases are given rarely or not at all. The job changes constantly, it seems like I am doing a totally different job from what I applied for 3 years ago.. with so many changes there is very little training available for – more... us and expectations are still required to be met. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Senior Business Analyst (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 7, 2014
Job Satisfaction
Management is good
Employee satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have ever worked for
Pharmacy clerk (Former Employee), Cypress CaJuly 5, 2014
Cons: corrupt
Was a pharmacy tech at OptumRx for 6 years in Cypress, Ca. First few years when it was Prescription Solutions were good, it was a nice environment, I enjoyed the work and felt good about helping patients obtain their medications.There were no inbound calls, we processed prescriptions as they came in to our system, worked with pharmacists, contacted – more... patients and Dr.'s offices...Then it became Optum. Poor inexperienced mgmt. who talked about the employees to others, fudged numbers, Micromanaging, inconsistencies in policies from one mgr. to another, very high hourly production goals that went up every time a few people consistently exceeded because hey if they can do it..which greatly impacted the service you could provide since calls had to be timed and they gave us a script to follow, and if you veered from it or used any filler words ( like saying " I see" or "yes" as patient talked, to show you were actively listening or to add a personal touch.. Most customers are seniors and you might be the only voice they heard that day) well you were dinged. Paramedics at our site weekly treating employees and a number of people on stress leave ( even supervisors) chained to a desk with assigned bathroom breaks so if you had any kind of medical problem you needed a note because no one should have to use restroom more than 3x daily, mandatory overtime at times was 20 hours a week and if you couldn't do it or signed up and had to change the hours you wrote down due to family or illness you were written up. All the OT caused exhaustion and processing errors but they didn't care. Our dept. Demoted those without a tech license who had been doing tech functions for years because according to them they suddenly found out it was illegal. So to cover themselves they reduced those folks to a role that had them saying "can I charge your credit card?" And became an inbound call center. Left a year and a half ago to work with dementia patients, so happy now and I hear it has only gotten worse since I left. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job just isnt for everyone
Benefits Analyst (Current Employee), Sugarland, TexasJuly 1, 2014
UHG is a good company to their consumers/members, but this is a horrible company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chained to desk with assigned bathroom & lunch breaks.
Licensed Sales Professional (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIJuly 1, 2014
Pros: ping pong & pool tables to use on breaks and lunch.
Cons: felt like a "number" due to size of company being enormous.
Leading healthcare insurance company that did not provide excellent healthcare insurance themselves. Ability to make "okay" money as a licensed agent, but have made better money elsewhere!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting enviroment with intense deadlines
Appeal Coordinator (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNJune 30, 2014
Pros: work at home
Cons: benefits
We are required to do TennCare appeals within a timeframe of usually 14 days for a turn around time with serious consequences of liquidated damages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
massive layoffs going on now
Provider Claims Resolution Specialist (Former Employee), Frederick, MDJune 30, 2014
Pros: work from home option for soome positions
Cons: layoffs, management, inconsistency in management styles.
production based position. not a bad place to work. work from home option is nice. they are sending a lit of jobs offshore to India and the Philippines. Optum, which is part of UHG is growing, not the UHC part
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job has been eleminated two times in one year
Sales AcctMgr/Comm Outreach Mgr/Provider Rel Mgr (Current Employee), Lubbock, TXJune 29, 2014
My position has been eliminated two times in one year, last year in March and this year in August. Leads are very hard to obtain from the nursing facilities due to Medicare rules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Provider Relations Representative (Current Employee), Ridgeland, MSJune 28, 2014
Pros: being able to buy extra vacation time to be away from this place
Cons: supervisors and upper management
This was the most unprofessional work environment that I have ever experienced. The supervisors talk about other employees to other employees. There is no open door policy because if you speak about something that you have a problem with upper management goes right to that person and tells them exactly what you said. The only thing that matters here – more... are bonuses and getting callers off the phone. They teach you that its about the customer but really its about the money. The plan seems unstable and there is little communication between lower level and upper level management. The job requires you to be robotic and perfect. There is no room for error or you will be threatened or talked about by your supervisor behind you back to other employees. The standards to receive a bonus are constantly being increased while the amount of the bonus constantly decreases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste of time
Asso Provider Installation Rep (Current Employee), Richardson, TXJune 27, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: job security, micromanagement, benefits
I was hired on permanently after only a month but now 6 months later the department is being laid off. Was hired as a Provider Installation Rep but I couldn't tell you what that is bc the only work we've had since I've been here is processing return mail. Almost everything we were told about the work/security have been wrong. I turned down other more – more... secure positions bc I was told this was a great company with plenty of room for advancement . Not only are we being laid off but the company is still hiring ppl just to turn around & lay them off. We were told yes you will be laid off but we are not at liberty to give you a date. That is unacceptable. My supervisor resigned the week after we learned about the lay offs & we were split up amongst various teams awaiting an end date. Most of the supervisors don't know our job role & mostly work from home so we are left to figure things out amongst ourselves – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work
Health Advisor/Commitment Champion (Current Employee), north carolinaJune 27, 2014
Very efficient and friendly place to work. Professional at all times and customer focused.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was great to work from home
Trumbull CT-Provider Data Specialist (Current Employee), Trumbull ctJune 27, 2014
love working with provideres
i add provider contracts and update there profiles

About UnitedHealth Group

When you work to better people’s lives, one of those lives will always be yours. We have modest goals: Improve the lives – Read more

UnitedHealth Group Photos