Find companies:
UnitedHealth Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,388 reviews

UnitedHealth Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Senior Business Analyst (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 7, 2014
Job Satisfaction
Management is good
Employee satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have ever worked for
Pharmacy clerk (Former Employee), Cypress CaJuly 5, 2014
Cons: corrupt
Was a pharmacy tech at OptumRx for 6 years in Cypress, Ca. First few years when it was Prescription Solutions were good, it was a nice environment, I enjoyed the work and felt good about helping patients obtain their medications.There were no inbound calls, we processed prescriptions as they came in to our system, worked with pharmacists, contacted – more... patients and Dr.'s offices...Then it became Optum. Poor inexperienced mgmt. who talked about the employees to others, fudged numbers, Micromanaging, inconsistencies in policies from one mgr. to another, very high hourly production goals that went up every time a few people consistently exceeded because hey if they can do it..which greatly impacted the service you could provide since calls had to be timed and they gave us a script to follow, and if you veered from it or used any filler words ( like saying " I see" or "yes" as patient talked, to show you were actively listening or to add a personal touch.. Most customers are seniors and you might be the only voice they heard that day) well you were dinged. Paramedics at our site weekly treating employees and a number of people on stress leave ( even supervisors) chained to a desk with assigned bathroom breaks so if you had any kind of medical problem you needed a note because no one should have to use restroom more than 3x daily, mandatory overtime at times was 20 hours a week and if you couldn't do it or signed up and had to change the hours you wrote down due to family or illness you were written up. All the OT caused exhaustion and processing errors but they didn't care. Our dept. Demoted those without a tech license who had been doing tech functions for years because according to them they suddenly found out it was illegal. So to cover themselves they reduced those folks to a role that had them saying "can I charge your credit card?" And became an inbound call center. Left a year and a half ago to work with dementia patients, so happy now and I hear it has only gotten worse since I left. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job just isnt for everyone
Benefits Analyst (Current Employee), Sugarland, TexasJuly 1, 2014
UHG is a good company to their consumers/members, but this is a horrible company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chained to desk with assigned bathroom & lunch breaks.
Licensed Sales Professional (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIJuly 1, 2014
Pros: ping pong & pool tables to use on breaks and lunch.
Cons: felt like a "number" due to size of company being enormous.
Leading healthcare insurance company that did not provide excellent healthcare insurance themselves. Ability to make "okay" money as a licensed agent, but have made better money elsewhere!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting enviroment with intense deadlines
Appeal Coordinator (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNJune 30, 2014
Pros: work at home
Cons: benefits
We are required to do TennCare appeals within a timeframe of usually 14 days for a turn around time with serious consequences of liquidated damages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
massive layoffs going on now
Provider Claims Resolution Specialist (Former Employee), Frederick, MDJune 30, 2014
Pros: work from home option for soome positions
Cons: layoffs, management, inconsistency in management styles.
production based position. not a bad place to work. work from home option is nice. they are sending a lit of jobs offshore to India and the Philippines. Optum, which is part of UHG is growing, not the UHC part
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job has been eleminated two times in one year
Sales AcctMgr/Comm Outreach Mgr/Provider Rel Mgr (Current Employee), Lubbock, TXJune 29, 2014
My position has been eliminated two times in one year, last year in March and this year in August. Leads are very hard to obtain from the nursing facilities due to Medicare rules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Provider Relations Representative (Current Employee), Ridgeland, MSJune 28, 2014
Pros: being able to buy extra vacation time to be away from this place
Cons: supervisors and upper management
This was the most unprofessional work environment that I have ever experienced. The supervisors talk about other employees to other employees. There is no open door policy because if you speak about something that you have a problem with upper management goes right to that person and tells them exactly what you said. The only thing that matters here – more... are bonuses and getting callers off the phone. They teach you that its about the customer but really its about the money. The plan seems unstable and there is little communication between lower level and upper level management. The job requires you to be robotic and perfect. There is no room for error or you will be threatened or talked about by your supervisor behind you back to other employees. The standards to receive a bonus are constantly being increased while the amount of the bonus constantly decreases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste of time
Asso Provider Installation Rep (Current Employee), Richardson, TXJune 27, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: job security, micromanagement, benefits
I was hired on permanently after only a month but now 6 months later the department is being laid off. Was hired as a Provider Installation Rep but I couldn't tell you what that is bc the only work we've had since I've been here is processing return mail. Almost everything we were told about the work/security have been wrong. I turned down other more – more... secure positions bc I was told this was a great company with plenty of room for advancement . Not only are we being laid off but the company is still hiring ppl just to turn around & lay them off. We were told yes you will be laid off but we are not at liberty to give you a date. That is unacceptable. My supervisor resigned the week after we learned about the lay offs & we were split up amongst various teams awaiting an end date. Most of the supervisors don't know our job role & mostly work from home so we are left to figure things out amongst ourselves – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work
Health Advisor/Commitment Champion (Current Employee), north carolinaJune 27, 2014
Very efficient and friendly place to work. Professional at all times and customer focused.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was great to work from home
Trumbull CT-Provider Data Specialist (Current Employee), Trumbull ctJune 27, 2014
love working with provideres
i add provider contracts and update there profiles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Appeals Representative (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJune 26, 2014
Pros: work from home, overtime
Cons: unorganized, expensive benefits
Plenty of room for growth. I worked from home for the last two years so I didn't really have too much interaction with my co workers. The first year I was there and did interact with them, they were great. Management in the call center was nice. Once I went to appeals I noticed the differences right away. Their management styles were very different. – more... Appeals was not as organized as the call center. I was still able to learn a lot, but from my peers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Medicaid Eligibility Specialist (Current Employee), Moline, ILJune 25, 2014
Pros: lots of variety and learned lots of new things
Cons: having the widgets per hour and logging them
Work several different reports from the States of TN and MS. Most of them had a 24 hour turnaround time.
I learned alot about insurance, how to look up eligibility of members and doctors. I worked with a good group of people. Always willing to help each other out.
Hardest part of the job was logging widgets per hour.
Most enjoyable part of the job was – more... the work...the researching of things and the variety. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJune 25, 2014
Handle calls from physicians and patients regarding claims and healthcare benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment with friendly staff
Provider Resolution Specialist (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJune 25, 2014
Pros: quarterly bonus
Cons: statistics not based on one's sole performance
A typical day requires logging into a computer and phone system set up to take calls from medical providers regarding an array of topics in health insurance. This includes claims processing, member benefits, contract issues, credentialing information, and authorizations of medical procedures. I have learned a vast amount of medical insurance information – more... from coding and processing claims, HIPAA practices, and maintaining professional relationships with providers. Management is wonderful on a personal level, yet tend to lack in fundamental information needed when seeking guidance on a particular topic. The hardest part of the job requires the redundant nature of the phone calls and questions, along with sticking to a "script" to de-escalate irate calls. The most enjoyable part of the job is providing offices and facilities the proper medical benefit information and assisting in higher quality professional relationships to bridge the gap between healthcare and health insurance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paste
Member Scheduling Representative (Current Employee), Elkridge, MDJune 24, 2014
Cons: short lunch, being micro managed
Typical day at work would be sitting on the phone for the majority of the day taking inbound calls from members trying to get scheduled for a house call visit. I would also receive with inbound calls from the Health Care Practitioners to assist with ordering their supplies to assisting with finding a members house. The hardest part of the job was hearing – more... the heart felt stories from our members about their hardships. It was a good job, but very demanding with your time and patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Claims Representative (Current Employee), Trumbull, CTJune 24, 2014
Pros: gym on hand 24/7 ....onsite cafeteria
I have been working in the medical insurance field for almost 13 years now. When I first began working, we were under the Oxford Health Plans platform. Now under United Healthcare.
A typical day here is coming in and knowing that I have work to accomplish which i access on my own. I have all the tools I need to get the job done and I also have resources – more... available when needed. This helps make the job go alot smoother for the day. My manager at this current time is a wonderful person who is very dedicated to keeping her team together. Therefore my co-workers and i are like family . We all know what our jobs are and we do them to the very best of our ability. What I have enjoyed about this job is knowing that at the end of the day , I made a difference for the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to start your career with
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 24, 2014
I worked for the company when they were in the midst of them eliminating their service department (where I worked). The culture of the company changed drastically, and many people were afraid of losing their jobs. Although, In the beginning it was a pleasurable job to have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good work place.
Temporary position for HEDIS project (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 23, 2014
Pros: good position
I worked for United Healthcare for 2 years doing a temporary project for Hedis. I had extensive Excel, customer service, and reviewing patient charts. It was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service Rep/Specialist (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 23, 2014
Greeting all sorts of people. Meeting new people to the area and making them feel welcome. Co-worker are amazing. Hardest part of this job is making sure that everyone is safe and having a good time.

About UnitedHealth Group

When you work to better people’s lives, one of those lives will always be yours. We have modest goals: Improve the lives – Read more

UnitedHealth Group Photos