Find companies:
UnitedHealth Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,433 reviews

UnitedHealth Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Intake Coordinator - Call Center (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 16, 2014
A typical day at work answering phones and entering prior authorization requirements. I enjoy talking with providers and researching information regarding ICD-9 codes and procedures.

Management needs improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Ever-changing Work Place
Customer Service Advocate (Current Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 15, 2014
Pros: beautiful work environment, great benefits, good management
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work consists of speaking with members and health care professionals about insurance claims, eligibility, benefits, and prescriptions.I'm learning that change is constant. Policy is subject to change on a daily basis, but management is very good about keeping employees involved and up to date. My coworkers are very nice, hard-working – more... people from all walks of life and experience. the hardest part of the job is explaining why anything went unaccordingly. The most enjoyable part of the job is hearing about how great the customer service is from the members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Yet Fulfilling
Claims Account Manager (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 14, 2014
Pros: telecommuting
Cons: constant management changes
I process and audit high level transplant medical claims. I use contacts, job aids (some I have assisted in writing), teammates and innate skills to get through the processes daily. My team has changed drastically over the past 2 years and I loved working with them and we became a very close family unit. The hardest part of the job is trying to get – more... new management to understand exactly what we have done the past 9 years. The most enjoyable part is knowing that with my dedication, attention to detail, efficient and concentrated work, I make a difference in the lives of people and their families during probably one of the most difficult and emotionally/physically challenging times in their lives. I love working with the nurses, together we try to figure out the quickest and correct way to make the claim/provider/payer/patient satisfied with our results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee engagement is a positive feature
Customer Research Group (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: the employees are cared for a lot.
Cons: bad benefits
UHG offers employees the opportunity to learn and grow within the company and help their members live healthier lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workforce Management
Sr. Workforce Business Analyst (Current Employee), Richardson, TXJuly 14, 2014
Handle several different projects as Sr. Workforce Business Analyst and managed several contact centers. Also provided very detail report and staffing models for Operations Leaders at the contact centers I managed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Provider Resolution & Intake Specialist (Current Employee), Richardson, TXJuly 13, 2014
Pros: pay ok
Cons: insurcance could be better
Good Place to work, and there is always advancement. The only thing is that the turn overrate is bad due to this is a call center environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment that is ever changing
Customer Service Representative II (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 13, 2014
A fact paced company that is also evolving and trying to go above and beyond,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with enormous potential to change US healthcare
Senior Director, Knowledge & Learning - Optum (Current Employee), Minnetonka, MNJuly 12, 2014
Great experience managing corporate learning & development organization within the healthcare industry.

There is so much learning when the company you work for is a +$80 billion global healthcare insurance and services company with offices on all major continents.

I've become an expert at learning organization design, program management, learning – more... management, knowledge management, people management and financial management.

This experience gave me that ability to lead teams consisting of over 50 direct reports and contractor resources. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Representation (Former Employee), City of Sunrise, FLJuly 11, 2014
I grew and learned alot from united haelthcare. I learned more of insurance marketing and claims, evolved as a expert in customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Claims Processor (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 11, 2014
Pros: offeres medical benefits
Offers an excellent training classes that helps understanding the how to s in processing a claim. Always will to help in solving problems while processing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health Advisor
Health Care Specialist (Former Employee), san antonio,txJuly 10, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Cons: long hours
A typical day answer incoming calls to members helping them with whatever is needed. STRESSFULL! STRESSFULL! STRESSFULL! company does not have good benefits for employees, no gratitude is ever given for the hard work that has to be done, management is bad no real communication about how you are doing or what you would like to accomplish at work. A lot – more... of b*** kissing and favoritism, no true fairness. The only enjoyable part was the people that I worked with on my team made the day bearable. A job you dread going into. No real hope of move up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive job work / life balance
Business Analyst (Current Employee), Irvine, CAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: work from home
Cons: has a cap on promotion or advancement
flexible schedule
manager cares about employee development
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexiblle
Project Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, gaJuly 9, 2014
Flexible but unstable. Seems okay to work there.
Give it a try. Culture is not always professional, but people are nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre
Customer Service Advocate (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSJuly 9, 2014
This company doesn't really focus on the advancement of individuals. It's more so a numbers game.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Sr. Compliance Coordinator (Current Employee), Edison, NJJuly 9, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: employee benefits could be better
Working with United, you learn how to multi-task very quickly and to work independantly. Fast paced environment and you will never be bored.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing
Medical Claims Processor (Current Employee), Sugar Land, TxJuly 9, 2014
Pros: team interaction and daly commute.
Cons: salary not commensurate w/daily job functions, inadequate training and poor management
I received wonderful reviews re:Unitedhealth Group but once employed with the company, I experienced differently.

-I really enjoy the short daily commute
-I enjoyed my co-wokers and their sense of humor which assisted in team morale.

Management-judgemental, un-empathetic and completely oblivious to our daily duties and processes.

Hardest part of – more... the job -Being poorly trained and the expectation of adapting to multiple positions within less than a year with inadequate training. Pay not commensurate w/daily job function.

Most enjoyable part of the job - Team interaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional workplace
Clinical Administration Coordinator (Former Employee), Elkridge, MDJuly 9, 2014
Pros: fun, easy environment.
Cons: redundant script, yelled at by elderly insurance members.
A lot of fun, but quite redundant. We had a lot of company events. Break time was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful place to work
Customer Service/Medicare and Retirement (Former Employee), Maryland Heights, MOJuly 8, 2014
Cons: everything
Impossible standards to meet for quality. Treats their retirement and medicare members horribly. Mandatory overtime. Terrible trainer. Chained to desk. Unreachable goals set by management so that they don't have to give bonus' or raises. The company always has their hands out to the employees for something. You have to pay them 2.00 a day or 20.00 a – more... month to wear jeans. They are always asking for donations for something. For a health care company, they have the worst insurance for employees I have ever seen in my 32 years of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Clinical Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee), San Antonio TXJuly 8, 2014
Pros: good people work here
Cons: no growth opportunity
I love the people here, everyone is very friendly and helpful, but in my department there lacks job advancement opportunities, pay increases are given rarely or not at all. The job changes constantly, it seems like I am doing a totally different job from what I applied for 3 years ago.. with so many changes there is very little training available for – more... us and expectations are still required to be met. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Senior Business Analyst (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 7, 2014
Job Satisfaction
Management is good
Employee satisfaction

About UnitedHealth Group

When you work to better people’s lives, one of those lives will always be yours. We have modest goals: Improve the lives – Read more

UnitedHealth Group Photos