Find companies:
UnitedHealth Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,481 reviews

UnitedHealth Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United Healthcare
Wellness Operation, Team Leader (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 9, 2014
United Healthcare is a healthcare company and there is no place to grow.. Give promises they don't keep and working 3 positions within the company and will not hire others
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be very boring for those that do not like an office setting
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 9, 2014
Pros: get to sit down all day
Cons: can be very boring and people gained a lot of weight
Overall it's a nice paying job. Just hope that the management will show genuine love and care to the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Healthcare filled will constant changes.
Physician Network Manager (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCAugust 9, 2014
Average Healthcare filled will constant changes located north of Greensboro. The commute was very long. Some management is in need of skills while other is supported the entire team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Network Account Manager (Hospital Contractor) (Current Employee), Cary, NCAugust 7, 2014
Pros: education
Cons: high stress
Great company with great benefits. Invest in employees. Adequate compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Middle Management is great.
Underwriting Consultant (Current Employee), Hartford, CTAugust 7, 2014
Co-workers are helpful and middle management is flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely do not recommend working here
MARKETING SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Minnetonka, MNAugust 5, 2014
You see the essence of corporate greed every day. You're worked to death, and never complimented. It's a CYA environment. Your coworkers will stab you in the back at the very first opportunity to save their own butts. People are let go for sneezing too loudly. Do not apply to work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company and culture
Health Advisor, Customer service (Current Employee), Tonawanda, NYAugust 5, 2014
Pros: gym
Large company, good benefits. Local site is very good and tries to balance work and life. Too many outsources support areas for employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FAST PACED
FOOD PREPER (Former Employee), Fresno, CAAugust 4, 2014
Pros: was nice to have the free drinks as needed and a meal or snack per shift worked
Cons: n/a
ALWAYS ENJOYED WORKING WITH OTHERS. LOVED THE FAST PACE AND STAYING AS BUSY AS I COULD. TIME FLEW BY ALWAYS WILLING TO STAY WHEN I COULD
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible workplace majorly micromanaged
Resolving Analyst (Former Employee), Richardson, TXAugust 4, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling opportunities
Cons: micromanaged time tracking systems
Working for UHC was a rewarding experience, but did not live up to the ideals and values the company sold me on during my interview. The ideals are strong, and the team I worked with directly and immediate superviosors were all great! However "upper management" was in a time of transition and as such there was a lack of accountability, often no one – more... would claim responsibility for things that directly impacted me which was out of the control of my immediate supervisors. That was the hardest thing to deal with. There was also the issue of "omega tracking" which essentially means every second of your time must be accounted for through a time tracking system. For every project you work on there's an allotted amount of time you should stay under (not always realistic time goals) and it's absurdly micromanaged.

The most rewarding part of my job was the relationships I built with my coworkers and the team around me. I worked with some great people. In my specific case I was able to have a lot of flexibility with my schedule (still 40 hours a week, but sometimes if I had an appointment I was able to flex time- sometimes working 8hr days sometimes 10hrs one day, 6 the next, etc.) Another pro would be the relaxed dress code- during training it was business casual, but in the office it was generally appropriate to wear jeans with a nice shirt or sweater. Most of my interaction with my team was in a virtual environment, meaning most worked in another state and we stayed connected via morning team meetings on conference call and screensharing, with office communicator chats, or phone calls. Rarely did I interact face to face with my team (both a pro and a con)

Overall, I appreciate the skills and experience I gained at UHC, but I did feel like as a company they do not live up to their advertised core values. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work summary
Configuration and Testing Analyst (Former Employee), Richardson, TXAugust 4, 2014
• A seasoned and successful Configuration Testing professional with more than 12 years of hands- on experience in Testing, Customer Service and Claims. Subject matter expert ;Pricing methodologies, enrollment processing, claims adjustment, provider contract management, provider data management, coordination of benefits, quality assurance, collections – more... and call center experience
• In-depth knowledge of Medicare, Medicaid, Commercial, Workman Compensation, ASO, Medicare Secondary Payer, MediGap, MediCal, and Tricare lines of business
• Computer proficient and very detailed knowledge Rims, Trizetto Facets, Facets 3.11,QNXT Diamond 9.580 and the upgrade perdigm, TeamTrack, SERENA, Citrix, Power MHS, Amisys, WGS-STARZ, Call care browse, CAS, DRG Pricer,, Blue Chip Processing, Blue Card Host, Blue Card Home, PIE, EPPS rewrite, Blue source,
• An analytical, self-motivated and goal- oriented professional with strong organizational abilities, who requires little or no direct supervision.
• A flexible, proactive, detail- oriented professional with strong leadership capabilities and excellent interpersonal communication skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace with flaws.
CCP, After Hours CCP, Health Advisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 4, 2014
Pros: structure
Cons: pay and inconsistant work
I would say that this place is pretty much an enjoyable job to have as long as you fully understand what it is that you are signing up for. Don't expect 100% consistency especially if they interview you for an upcoming position in a new segment that they are adding to the corporation. I understand that things need working into and circumstances change – more... as things come up but also show us the employees a little more compassion just like they want us to show the members. A typical work day outside of your 8-16 week training is very structured (a PLUS) you have about 5 minutes to start your day and bring up your systems. After that depending on the department that you work for its back to back calls approximately 45-65 per day. Breaks and Lunches are scheduled based on business needs and are scattered throughout the day depending on your choice of 30-minute to an hour lunch. Management will give you the typical I have been there and done that.... I have held the same position as you and in most cases almost always they are being honest. Management will sometimes pick favorites and carry out conversations with individuals about other individuals. In the training department they seem to like to alter the company policies to their liking to suit their own needs. As stated on their Human Resources webpage "Company Policy" you do not overturn company rules unless there is absolute need with explanation. I learned a lot about health care at this company and still learn very much every day. I have never endured a training like they supply to their newbies I have completed three of their training's successfully and I would say that the first two were the best and most informative. Co-Workers are Co-Workers you all know how that is. My favorite phrase is "Come in, do your job, go home." Not that I don't like to build great morale and have culture within the company its just that when you are dealing with someone for more than 8 hours a day it can get to be a lot like your second family. With that being said there are ups and downs with each individual you meet but as UHC like to stay just give them the positive intent and we can all get along. The hardest part about the job is feeling like there is no end and never feeling accomplished. Maybe I never was able to grasp the point that upon completion of a call you should feel satisfied but..... I just don't I would like a job that gives me a task to work on and makes me work my hardest and really put my noggin to work in order to feel like "wow I just solved that issue" to have that satisfaction of completion in your workday is amazing. The most enjoyable part of my job that I experienced here at United Health Group was that I was able to take the time for my members that I had a really great connection with and write them a personalized letter about the conversation that took place on that day. Although it is still scripted and approved by legal its nice to add that personalized touch. :) One more thing I really liked about it was when I worked for the After Hours Crisis Dept. we were all like one big huge family; we did everything for each other all of the time. From birthdays to baby showers, holidays (including st. Patrick day) to mourning. We were all there for each other and I honestly can say that I would go back and work for free for that dept at any time. :) Well I hope this review is helpful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive above and beyond work load.
Employee Installation Coordinator (Current Employee), Wausau, WIAugust 3, 2014
Pros: cookouts and vacation time.
Cons: over abundance work load and daily overtime to complete
Processing Cobra insurance,checks,waivers,terminations,reinstatements and processing of the Cobra action forms in a time sensitive data entry process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
customer service (Former Employee), san antonio txAugust 3, 2014
Pros: constant change new experiences
Cons: management could be more employee friendly
typical day was always learning experience.
one thing constant was change which i enjoyed
management a little stale
co-workers enjoyablle
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Case Manager (Current Employee), Lisle, ILAugust 2, 2014
Great place to work. Management is great. I feel appreciated and have been able to take advantage of the tuition reimbursement program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Benefit advocate (Current Employee), Green Bay, WIAugust 2, 2014
Cons: short breaks and minimal time between phone calls.
While this can be a very high stress job, working with individuals that you can relate to is extremely valuable. I have learned so much about healthcare and continue to learn everyday. This job can be very challenging at times, but knowing that I am able to make a difference in peoples lives by listening and being understanding of each and every situation – more... makes this a very rewarding place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Contract Inventory Specialist (Former Employee), IllinoisAugust 2, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: jobs out sourced
• Create and discuss process Improvements to improve service & mitigate service gaps with other functional areas that may be impacted.
Successes
a. Created The Navigator Job Aide to assist internal Implementation Team on how the Navigator system is utilized.
b. Revamped the entire Internal CES Inforce Control Manual to Coincide with the ACIS System

 – more... Implement Tools (Process Flows, Job Aides, P & P’s, Manuals etc.) that streamline links between our Customers, Business Process & Internal/External Team and Customers
• Create Visio, Word, & Excel docs
• CES Inforce Control SME for specific system enhancements impacting CES ( Consolidated Eligibility System)
• Involvement in system enhancements to increase capacity and reduce risk of defect to include UAT development and testing
• Improve Data Integrity of source systems & reduce defects.
• Maintain BPST helpdesk for internal/external CES Inforce control issues that impact Eligibility area, claims area upon ACIS release.
• Past experience in CES Enrollment Eligibility (data entry, Customer Service, Id Card Unit)
• Resolved issues between Optum and CES coding
• Work Special Management Project ‘s when assigned – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized company. Culture is one of accomplishment. Good place to work.
Director of Benefit Interpretation (Former Employee), Cypress, CAAugust 1, 2014
Pros: rewarded accomplishments
Cons: large company sometime hard to find correct person to help with a project.
Days were busy and always varied. Enjoyed most the people I worked with in the clinical department. Hardest part of the job was instituting change, however, the culture was changing to one of cooperation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Case Management Associate/Subject Matters Expert (Current Employee), Brentwood, TNJuly 31, 2014
• Dispatching directions to satellite technician, to customer's homes
• Ensuring customer's are satisfied with Dish Network service
• Status installers in and out of jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging;yet Productive
Benefits Coordinator (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 31, 2014
Pros: wonderful co-workers
Cons: no set schedule, poor benefits
My typical day involves helping others of which I enjoy. I do however dislike the critical nature of my job. They have other cultures grading us and to me is not fair do to they may not understand the American culture when it comes to tone, politeness, and courtesy. I enjoy my atmosphere, coworkers and the fact that I learn something new each day I – more... work. I would say If you have the ability to deal with multiple personalities, understand the basics of Medicare/Medicaid, be a good listener and submit claims at the same time, you will enjoy the work I do on a day to day basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very unique place to work. Fun and very relax atmosphere
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Spring Hill, TNJuly 30, 2014
Pros: very flexibles. compensation was good
Cons: late nights
Had a to make 1700 calls a month, in/outbound. Managers were great. Very caring and willing to help you at all time. My coworkers were lots of fun, friendly. It was a very nice atmosphere to work. The hours was the hardest part of my job because it was 11:30am to 8:00pm. What I enjoyed the most of my job was working with the patients. Talking to them – more... and be able to help them the best I can depending on their circumstances. I did enjoy working with UHC – less

About UnitedHealth Group

When you work to better people’s lives, one of those lives will always be yours. We have modest goals: Improve the lives – Read more

UnitedHealth Group Photos