Find companies:
UnitedHealth Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,349 reviews

UnitedHealth Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong team environment
Case Coordinator (Former Employee), Malvern, PAJune 3, 2014
Pros: telecommuting opportunities, training, free lunch fridays
Cons: healthcare benefits were expensive
Initially, I worked in the office. The company provided continuous training for new upgrades and assistance learning how to navigate the various hospital facilities we worked with. The company was good at keeping team spirit up by providing things like free lunch friday, games and events geared to competitive productivity, opportunity to obtain sports – more... tickets and providing events for golf and other activities. I learned important things regarding the healthcare industry. The most difficult part of the job for me was keeping my productivity consistent. I was then able to apply for a telecommuting position with evening hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with!!
Utilization Manager (Current Employee), Brentwood, TNJune 3, 2014
I work remotely from my home in TX for TN Medicaid/Medicare insurance as a Utilization Manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive workplace
Provider Service Representative/ Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), Oldsmar, FLJune 3, 2014
• Receptionist
• Clerk
• Data entry
• Processing data for Real Estate Agents
• Billing
• Filling
• Appointment Setting
• Updating Profiles
• Answering Inbound calls
• Making outbound calls to Agents
• Greeting customers at the front desk
• Processing applications
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations
SB Sales Operations Specialist (Current Employee), Plano, TXJune 3, 2014
Challenging and fullfilling, great work culture, good customer service skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training is very informative
Health Advisor/customer care (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYJune 3, 2014
Prepares you for the job, and keeps you very knowledgable.Very challenging always attempting to keep the job intresting for the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A reliable and stable company
Sr. Recovery/Resolution Representative-Client (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 3, 2014
Pros: work from home opportunities
Cons: job promotion pay increases between 1%-5%
United Health Group is a very reliable and stable company with room for growth. However, it you are promoted to a new position they tend to only want to give an increase in salary of only 1%-5% regardless of your experience or qualifications.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Stable place" but no room for advancement
Accounts Payable Processor (Former Employee), Cypress, CAJune 1, 2014
Cons: dysfunctional work group
A typical day at work consists of spreadsheets and assigning tickets to their appropriate parties. I was the admin for the entire department, and other departments relied on me to make sure they had the right tools (software, hardware, chairs, desks, etc) to work with.

I learned much about working with a fairly dysfunctional group of people. When problems – more... between co-workers arose, managers just put their heads down until the conflict became verbal and disrupted everyone's work day. Issues were never fully resolved.

The hardest part of the job had nothing to do with the work, which was extremely easy and tedious. It was working with a group of people that were more concerned about their emotions instead of getting the job done. After working there for three years, there was absolutely no way for me to advance my career. The department continually downsized, and they were not helpful in educating their employees about other job opportunities within the company.

The most enjoyable part of the job was just having the job and a source of income. I took to job to climb, and there were no opportunities to do so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great from the Outside
Health Advisor (Current Employee), Green BayMay 31, 2014
I love what I was doing in helping customers understand their health investment and how to maximize that investment. My main co-workers are all awesome people, and I can honestly say there was no major drama concerns. However, the system is set up alot like other call centers: capitations of days off (including if it's an emergency situation - no discretion), – more... change in schedule for HA's every 3 months, and you have to take your days off at the beginning of the year for the whole year. Also, I found that there were a lot of loopholes to getting occurrences: if workforce forgets to schedule you mandatory overtime and you don't say anything, if you are a closer and your schedule says off the phone at 8 and you don't stay on until 8:05 it's grounds for termination for stealing.... all of which no one ever explains to you. And that's the main source of wanting to leave the company. Any time you have a question you'd usually start with your peers, and then go to your supervisor. Every time I had to ask someone above my peers, it was "oh go look over here; or check with so and so" ; and even checking with whoever "so and so" was, I never could get direct answers. This included if I had an error and asked how I could go about fixing it, my supervisor always said he'd send me a link to the call and I could review it and ask him questions then. And then he never sent it. Also, if you want to go higher up in the company it's all about who's favoritism you fall into. I work right next to an amazing person who wants to be in sales. She's been awarded quite often on innovation and development AND has been a service hero. Yet she is still working as an HA and has not been allowed to move up. Just be aware of the job that you are getting into before agreeing to the position. I know quite a few people that have been there between 1-6 years that are leaving or are planning to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced "operations" environment
Sr. Data Analytics Consultant (contract) (Former Employee), Franklin, TNMay 30, 2014
Trial by fire work environment makes for a very cohesive team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced call center whose main focus is to have the best customer service in the industry.
Healthcare Administrative Specialist (Current Employee), Columbia, MDMay 29, 2014
A typical day at work is taking at least 30 inbound provider inquiry calls. I assist providers with the investigation of claim denials, claim under and overpayments, appela, and an array of other complex issues that may hinder a claim from being paid. My co-workers make the call center a fun place to work, we try to make one another laugh and get through – more... the day especially if we are faced with difficult callers.
The hardest part of my day can be a very irate provider who is upset that he/she has had to call the insurance company several times to get claims reprocessed. I tend to put myself in the provider's shoes and will make a call last longer than 30 minutes just to get to the root of the problem, I am a problem solver and very passionate at getting things right the first time around. The most enjoyable part about my job is reading the claims, researching and digging for reasons claims denied. I also enjoy giving provider's good news such as claims paying, it seems to make them have a different outlook on the insurance company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was Ok
Assist providers (Former Employee), HoustonMay 29, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Cons: chaotic environment
It was ok. Lots of favoritism here. I came in at a bad time. Lots of change always having you moving around. Never got comfortable here. The employees were a bit tacky also. Lots of system outages. As one the most reliable top performers I was disappointed that the opportunity promised to me was given to someone else for attributes other than skill – more... and knowledge but it happens. I didn't stay long after that and neither did my manager who was later fired. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Customer First Representative (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHMay 28, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: long hours
Good company-good benefits. Long hours. Good managers. Lots of time on the phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative, fast paced environment
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIMay 28, 2014
Pros: great work/life balance
Cons: benefits
Typical days don’t exist, this ever changing fast paced environment has taught me how to quickly adapt to change without compromising my perfomrance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Structured
Health Care Specialist (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 28, 2014
Pros: great pay.
Cons: no job security
Great pay and well established company. Enjoyed my duration there although it was very short.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Health Advisor (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 27, 2014
united healthcare is ok, just under pays there employess. and training is very long
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value Oriented Company
Sr Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Cypress, CAMay 27, 2014
Pros: benefit package, room for growth
Typical work day consists of heavy call volume assisting inbound callers with health savings account needs, handling escalated calls and providing outstanding service to all callers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Application Support Tier 2 and Business Reporting
IT Business Analyst I (Former Employee), Horsham, PAMay 27, 2014
Pros: team oriented, training, flexible hours, excellent benefits, generous pto days
Cons: reorganization of departments
Analyze and resolve HPSM tickets by logging onto end user's desktops via webex. Teach end users about the application or test for defects in software. Research the issue and resolve the issue within SLA requirements. Write up results for coworkers on Sharepoint. Work on Change Control tickets to be presented to a Change Control Board. Monitor change – more... tickets. Compile monthly metrics to be reported to senior management. Write up Knowledge base items for all new software problems found. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and fun place to work
Intake Coordinator (Former Employee), Lisle, ILMay 27, 2014
Pros: jean day on fridays
Cons: short breaks
Fast pace environment with room for growth and advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
must meet deadlines to get sales. motivated to meet sale goals
New Business Analyst (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 26, 2014
Pros: no long distance traveling.
Cons: pressure to meet deadlines on daily basis.
computer entry, phone calls with underwriters, insurance brokers. Coordinated new business request for health insurance and sold health insurance plans. Health Insurance is constantly changing and I had to be flexible and learn each product change and process change. Took care of all business when the Account Sales Rep was out of the office. Worked – more... with internal Staff to meet deadlines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day in the life as a Health Coach
Wellness Coach/ Health Advocate (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 26, 2014
Pros: helping others live healthier lives!
Cons: time crunch! enjoy every minute spent.
-A Typical day in the life of a Wellness Coach includes starting my day focusing on how to approach member concerns for improving their lives by setting wellness specific goals for improving life concerns and circumstances that may hault progression and a life and mindset of progressive wellness.
-The Learing process has been challenging but an awesome – more... experience of learning the empathy needed to serve and coach members for living healthier lives. My greatest lesson learned is to have patience, faith, and understanding of each and every individual as a intity who who needs specific attention to address the needed concerns for improving and creating a habit for a healthier mindset for self care.
-Mangement has a way of directing thay allows for self growth and expression of each employees unique gift and talent.
My Co workers are an inspiration and educational tool for not only improving the lives of our members but also the lives of our internal and external employees and members.
-The hardest part of my job is the limited time I have to spend with each member. To know a member is to experience a connected relationship that ultimately becomes a temporary extension of self.This connection is sometimes challenging to break apart from once the goal growth process takes shape.
The Most enjoyable part of my job is the blessed ability and gift for helping others. Its like no other expression of love that can be given from one person to another. I enjoy the moment of it all. – less

About UnitedHealth Group

When you work to better people’s lives, one of those lives will always be yours. We have modest goals: Improve the lives – Read more

UnitedHealth Group Photos