Unity Security Employee Reviews

Found 15 reviews matching the searchSee all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMay 6, 2015
This company was very unorganized. Understaffed. Scheduling issues each month. Very easy work, but not enough to do. I am someone who like to stay busy. A lot of sitting for this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIDecember 31, 2014
I worked for this company for about 5 months and they were horrible! Couldn't keep employees the hours were never consistent and management was a joke. My supervisor was awesome!
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Livonia, MIOctober 3, 2014
It's a security job with a company of out Grand Rapids, health benefits.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am very unhappy
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 3, 2014
Working for Unity was very difficult for a few reasons. I was unable to balance work and school due to scheduling conflicts. I am now seeking a position that will allow me to continue my education. Unity and I are not a good fit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BORING, UNPROFESSIONAL
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIMay 8, 2014
The Site "Supervisor" was EXTREMELY UNPROFESSIONAL!!! The pay is not worth the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a Good Job
On-site supervisor (Former Employee) –  Monroe, MIDecember 17, 2013
I was contracted to Mac Steel in Monroe. i work as an E.M.T. Security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 16
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Job
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Ravenna, MIOctober 2, 2013
Most people that get fired from a job will talk down about the job and hope that no one else gets hired in at that job b/c they don't want them to go through what they had to put up with and just to make the job and company look really bad so they cant get other workers for the company. I personally will say that I really truly loved working with Unity Security. I lost my job for stupid reasons by not speaking up and getting along with other workers. If I had the chance to work with them again I would jump to the opportunity in a Heartbeat.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to pursue a career.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  South Bend, INSeptember 26, 2013
I enjoyed this field of work a lot even though the hours were hard, I was driving more than I was making for gas, and the nights were long and cold when securing outdoor facilities. I enjoyed working in the secluded areas, and the slow pace and the minimal face to face interaction. My employers and supervisors were very friendly and professional people. It was a decent experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what i thought it was gonna be.
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Sparta, MIMay 19, 2013
Typical day at work includes, Me leaving my house at 2:30 pm getting to work at 2:45 then walking in the factory to the front desk to relieve the other security guard at the post. Then at 3:00 call this number to check in and then start my day. Every 2 hours consist of a patrol around the factory the odd hours i would be watching a monitor of the factory and the outside gates to make sure everything was perfect. Co workers didn't have any it was a individual job. What i learned working there was nothing. Hardest part of my job was keeping myself busy because it was a pretty boring job. Most enjoyable part was it was pretty easy and relaxed environment.
Pros
relaxed environment, liked doing my job
Cons
boring, too easy
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional company that is growing and has opportunities
Management (Current Employee) –  MichiganMay 1, 2013
Unity Security is growing by leaps and bounds. Opportunities are plentiful and we have a strict policy for promoting from within. Payroll system has been upgraded and is through Paychex, We have a paperless system, either direct to your bank account or bank card. A process for team members to submit ideas is in place along with a relatively new Human Resources Department.
Pros
very employee--friendly flexible scheduling
Cons
hours are often overnight and/or on weekends but daytime hours also exist.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  South Bend, INApril 15, 2013
bad training, not enough hours, one of those jobs you only get stuff if you know management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unproffesional management
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  kalamazoo, MIMarch 15, 2013
Would not recommend working for this company. Management has no idea how to manage employees. Payroll is a joke. They make several mistakes with deductions.
Pros
it's temporary work
Cons
management very unskilled/payroll errors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see resume
Assistant supervisor/Guard (Former Employee) –  MIJanuary 16, 2013
a lot to learn in a short amount of time management did not seem to know what was going on half the time the job was held togther by the guards
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Grand RapidsJuly 6, 2012
was an ok place to work part time. long hours, usually worked 10 hour shifts.

learned to work with all different types of individuals.
Pros
flexable hours
Cons
pay not so good
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture