Universal Engineering Sciences Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very physical dirty work, long hours standing
Concrete Technician (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLDecember 28, 2015
Long hours breaking concrete cylinders and beams. Worked almost every weekend and holidays. The most enjoyable part was working with a good group of guys in the lab. Management was awful.
Pros
steady work
Cons
Dirty environment, very physical, crazy hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drill helper
field technician (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLNovember 7, 2015
I gained a lot of knowledge at Universal with little education in the field. I learned a lot and traveled to different environments to learn different techniques. I am going to miss working there but feel at this time in my life it is time to move on.
Pros
Do not need education
Cons
poor scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse Work environment
Administrative Support (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 25, 2014
Communication between management and support staff was efficient.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working experience
field tech (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 12, 2014
good working experience to learn new things, but moving up can be hard. schedule is day by day, so you don't know if you work saturday until friday around 5 pm.
Pros
learn alot
Cons
extreme weather conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Field Testing Technician (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLNovember 2, 2014
Great management and environment to work in while meeting new people and trade.
Pros
take home truck.
Cons
pay not equal to work responsibility
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Group
Part-time Geotechnical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLOctober 21, 2014
Small office. Everyone works together. Guidance by the manager helped to develop skill
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Testing and Inspecting Construction Materials
Field and soils technician (Former Employee) –  TampaJune 18, 2014
Main objective was testing and inspecting earthwork operations and concrete construction. Minor plan reading and review was also performed for contractor compliance.
Pros
great people
Cons
no complaints
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drilling Assistant
Driller Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 8, 2014
Mixing drill mud and additives for increasing viscosity or lubrication down the hole. I also support operation of custom built, high speed portable hydraulic drills used for geotechnical exploration or geotechnical construction. The team digs and levels footings for drills using hand tools and devices. Once completed we clean equipment and maintaining a clean worksite I also transport supplies and equipment. The tools we use vary depending on the job.I have knowledge of tools, equipment and machinery including pickups, vans, forklifts, pipe wrenches, in compliance with state, federal and/or local regulations and company policy

I am also responsible for moving and handling heavy drill rods and other equipment necessary to set up drill sites, trip out rod and perform drilling operations. Dig and level footings for drills using hand tools and devices. Regularly work around moving equipment and components while maintain a safe approach using JSA(Job Safety Analysis)/JHA (Job Hazards Analysis) and job specific safety awareness. Other duties as required within the scope of employment.
Pros
compensation for time and travel
Cons
working out of town and not being able to spend time with my family
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Drilling Helper (Former Employee) –  Brandon FloridaAugust 1, 2013
I got there in the morning and loaded the truck for the day then we would go out to the job site and start the day. My day included breaking rods, taking soil samples out of the spilt spoon, and taking notes on what we found.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Atlanta/GeorgiaJuly 9, 2013
I was involved in material testing on different job-sites. There was a lot of driving involved, but I was able to manage my time properly.
Pros
company car
Cons
no health insurance, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pace
Sr Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FloridaMay 13, 2013
A typical day at Universal varies. I deal hands on with the field technicians and answer phone calls from clients. I type and bill reports and make sure they get out to the client in timely manner. Some days its vary laid back. My co-workers are repectful and helpful. The hardest part of the job is not enough time in the day to get the work done.
Pros
the overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a wonderful company to work for.
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 29, 2013
A great day everyday.
I learned hard work and patience
Management was great
My co-workers were amazing to work with
the hardest part of the job was lifting heavy bricks in the the sun.
The job was very exciting and i enjoyed every moment of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job is safe
Project Geologist & Laboratory Manager (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAFebruary 5, 2013
Advanced my way up the ladder. Worked for every certification possible to help acquisition of new contracts. Was laid off for a person willing to work for a cheaper salary.
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to learn
Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Rockledge, FLAugust 31, 2012
Good place to learn and work at. The days were short, as you had a lot to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is where hard work was born
Driller Helper (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 7, 2012
when you arrive at the job, you get the supplies needed for the day(mud, plug, cement) and ensure your equipment is in working order before heading out. Once at the site, you need to do a walk around to see if there are any obstructions/hazards to prevent you to getting to your initial setup. If all is safe, then you will assist the driller in getting the rig to the first setup and also bring the necessary supplies. A typical hole to be drilled can last 30-45 min(shallow hole) to up to 3.5 hrs(max deep hole) or more if you run into any deep hazards. the typical day lasts 10 hrs working 5 days a week at the minimum. In the end you will get dirty, you will get tired, and when you get home you will just want to fall asleep.
Pros
great job security, garunteed hours
Cons
50+ hours a week leaves no time to take care of personal tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for during good times
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 12, 2012
Could be a good company with some changes. It is a little relaxed sometimes.
Pros
flexible schedule.
Cons
travel with little or no notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture