Universal Music Group

Universal Music Group Employee Reviews

Found 70 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Technology Buyer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 15, 2016
UMG is a fun place to work but not much room for advancement. Its a good environment and cool perks and good benefits. Gift week during the holidays is especially nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and great employees
Publicity Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 7, 2016
I interned with Def Jam for 2 semesters and it was the best work environment for a first time working with a major label. The employees were always willing to help with any questions you may have and they always showed their appreciation in whatever help you provide.

A typical day in the Publicity department as an intern: you are usually the first one in (days start at about 10 am), unlock all of the executives' doors, sort out email and place on all of their desks, start going through all of the newspapers you receive every day in order to find any valuable clippings on the label's roster – Wednesdays are magazine days, that's when all of the new magazine issues come out, so you go through those as well as the newspapers. Once done with that, you have to scan everything and clip it/send to your supervisor in order for them to keep an archive as well as email to artist management. Once those things are all done, generally you will be given different tasks dependent on whatever needs to be done. Some days may be slower than others but overall you will always be busy with work to be done, whether it's creating and organizing one-sheets, ordering new CDs for inventory, mailing out new releases to magazine/newspaper reviewers, moderating artist interviews, etc. no two days are the same.

The most enjoyable part of the job was going out to moderate artist interviews. Getting out and experiencing what publicists truly do for television appearances or in-person/phone interviews was the most valuable skills I would never have gained through coursework.
Pros
Paid internship, helpful employees, positive work environment, they value your help and input
Cons
I honestly have no cons for this one
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Sr. Financial Accountant (Contract) (Current Employee) –  Woodland Hills, CAJune 29, 2015
I worked at this company as a contract employee. I really enjoyed working there, unfortunately, I had a mixed experience with the management since I worked in different areas, some of them good some of them bad.

The compensation is great, they are very flexible with the schedules and most people are really friendly and seem to get along well.

The company is outsourcing most of the accounting/finance mid level jobs to India so many lay off in 2015
Pros
Free Lunches, flexible schedules, good culture
Cons
hard to advance in career, no training for contract employee, lots of free music goodies
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Executive Consultant of Artist Repertoire (A&R) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 3, 2016
it was an awsome work place and experience, i learned so much in regards to music and bussiness and management and budgets.
Pros
money
Cons
contrated
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely environment
Digital Productions Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 3, 2016
I interned for UMG 2 summers ago and it was the best experience of my life. The people were friendly, and the work was right up my alley.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Working There
Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Universal City, CAJune 28, 2016
I loved working at Universal Music Group and I would love to go back. It has to be one of the lay back environment but also fast pace. It is the perfect combination.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work of you like the music industry
Executive Assistant to Executive Vice President (Current Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAAugust 18, 2015
I really like working at Universal Music Group, having an inside view of the music industry and learning what what the business of music is all about. If music is your passion, the artist roster is incomparable. For some, the work life balance is not great and the current state of the business overall tends to lead to constant upheaval and restructuring, so it's hard to get comfortable if job security is a must.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace that allows you to be creative
College & Lifestyle Marketing Representative (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 24, 2015
The company was great in supporting its interns to help them grow and advance in the company. The downside was its expectations with little compensation.
Pros
Ability to be creative
Cons
Poor communication with management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Assistant IT (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAMay 22, 2016
It was one of the most best experience anybody can have. The Co- Workers are very friendly, the environment has to do with music, working there was a dream come true
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and cut-throat environment
finance (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAJanuary 7, 2016
• Most of the Finance has been outsourced.
• No loyalty to employees.
• Lots of reorganization in order to let people go.
• Finance Department is a mess. No internal controls whatsoever.
• Great health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The entertainment industry is a great place to work within.
Senior Project Manager - Digital Asset Management (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 25, 2014
Music is a part of every human's life whether published or just made for on person's ears. UMG is the largest music distribution company in the world. The enormous operation to present music to consumer spans continents. The management level, the top grade life benefits and the teamwork of the various internal and external networks make UMG a desirable company to be associated with.
Pros
Free music! Vacations encouraged. Non-adherance to traditional business attire.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun atmosphere to work in - surrounded by music
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CaliforniaOctober 6, 2015
I was an executive assistant in the financial department and had a very diverse day of liaising between the CFO's of all the labels and the head of the finance department. Created team building outings and kept my overburdened executive on track with his scheduling.
Pros
Music at your desk
Cons
difficult to advance from the corporate level to other labels
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Music Industry is a fun place to work
Sr. Service Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Studio City CaliforniaSeptember 9, 2015
I used to work with an energetic team. Team players and project oriented. Our team chemistry was awesome to solve issues as a team and find new solutions to provide a higher level of service to our customers. The management was great and very supportive and always encourage the team to develop our skills to provide exceptional customer service support.
Pros
Free music
Cons
Not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding company but too far of a commute
Internship (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAAugust 8, 2013
As an Intern for Universal Music Group, the main responsibility was to take on the administrative work such as paper filing, typing, appointment setting etc. Management at this location was very helpful and the co workers were the same. The hardest part about this job was the fact that it was extremely fast paced. The most enjoyable part about this job was the compensation and the fact that we go free lunch everyday.
Pros
Great Compensation, great work environment, Great company
Cons
Distance
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Universal music group
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 18, 2012
Same as all the music companies. Cool people and culture, low pay, tough job security and difficult to move up.
Pros
culture, coworkers, excitement, bragging rights, decent benefits
Cons
low pay, difficult to get promoted
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No growth or common respect
Label Marketing Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 19, 2013
VEry fun atmosphere to work in if your just starting out in the buisness however there was a great miss with the company where there was no room for advancement from the senior staff. In addition there was no respect given to the reps on the ground level. work load would increase 10 fold but compensation and reward were not pressent.
Pros
abiity to work in the arts
Cons
compensation, advancement, encouragement, respect
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable, Safe, Friendly Environment
A&R/Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 23, 2013
- Responding to email correspondence, Conference Calls, Scheduling Meetings, Booking Travel, Processing Expenses.
- How to compromise & muti-task
- Great Management Team
- Dealing with non team players can become frustrating
- Family Oriented and friendly joyful vibes
Pros
perks: free concert tickets, special events, private parties
Cons
limited lunch breaks, extremly late hours, vision insurance, job security
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at Universal Royalties
Executive Director/Director Royalty Acct Group (Former Employee) –  Woodland Hills, CAJanuary 9, 2015
The department is filled with incredibly nice people. The benefits are great with this company. The management is friendly and available at all time; an open door policy. The management is knowledgeable and will to train and teach when needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and an excellent place to work.
Most recent was "Customer Service Manager" (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, ILFebruary 4, 2014
I worked at EMI Music which was bought by Universal Music. I found the company to have generous benefits and overall a nice place to work. I have learned and grown in many ways over my employment in the last twenty years....
Pros
Excellent Medical Benefits & Generous Holidays
Cons
Small Raises at times...
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest record company in the world representing artists from Taylor Swift to The Beatles.
Vice President Non-Trad Sales (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 25, 2015
Fun company and the home of the biggest music artists in the world. Challenging but rewarding industry and with lots of layers but exciting to be a part of bringing music and artistry to market.
Pros
connection to music, fun people
Cons
24/7 industry and lots of politics
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Universal Music Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 85 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
4.1