Universal Music Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Talent Acquisition Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Woodland Hills, CAAugust 11, 2016
UMG which was a more entertainment company is moving towards media so a lot of departments ar going through changes and this is affecting many positions. Although they dont offer the best pay they do have a great learning and development department and have good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for growth - amazing team to work with too!
College Lifestyle & Marketing Representative (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INAugust 10, 2016
My experience working as a marketing representative for Universal Music Group was nothing short of incredible. I've grown so much both personally and professionally over the two year span of my employment with this company.

The team consists of 50+ reps, all working remotely from their respective college campuses, and a management team primarily located in California. The reps are responsible for executing between 6-12 marketing initiatives/priorities every two weeks. For each priority, reps are required to complete a marketing report that covers any content relating to the artist priority: this is including but not limited to digital marketing, tour coverage, event coverage, or physical visibility on campus, at lifestyle or at retail locations that make sense for the artist. Reps are also responsible for establishing relationships with campus newspapers, radio stations, bloggers, tastemakers, etc. to secure coverage on new releases, album reviews, and other related topics for artist. Bi-weekly conference calls are held to keep the team up-to-date on all artist priorities as well as address any issues, challenges, or concerns that arise.

We'd have multiple priorities due around the same time, which taught me to manage my time and manage it efficiently. I also greatly improved both my written and verbal communication skills - since the team works remotely and we're all on different schedules, it was up to me to effectively communicate any issues or delays occurring on my end with the management team.

Generally speaking, the hardest part of the job was working individually
  more... on campus, in the sense that we didn't have a co-worker or a team on campus to reach out to for help with setting up events specific to our schools. However, the management team was always very willing to work with me in the event that any issues came to play. Though this part of the job was difficult, it was also an opportunity to challenge myself and see how I could overcome any issues on my own. I can confidently say that I left the position with greater leadership, communication and organizational skills as well as a greater sense of confidence than I would've thought possible in the beginning.  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits/not much of a work/life balance
Vice President, Promotion/A&R/Digital Research (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 22, 2016
Learned everything about the music industry and UMG. Best part of the job was the colleagues/friends I worked with. The 401k plan and health insurance coverage was awesome; dental not so much.
Pros
Concert access
Cons
Work on time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun gain alot of great experinces
Internship Student / Artist (Former Employee) –  ATL GADecember 27, 2014
Very fun gain alot of great experinces that I may use throughout life.
Pros
Traveling and meeting people.
Cons
No Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative Environment
SENIOR DESIGNER & RETOUCHER (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 9, 2014
Great place to work for designers who want a variety of projects.
Pros
Creative, steady work
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 12, 2014
working 12hrs a day with a 30min lunch. i had to quite to take care of my mother.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Digital Marketing (Current Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAFebruary 2, 2014
UMG has a fun work environment. It's much more laid back than the typical corporate america job. You can truly be yourself.
Pros
Work Environment/Music
Cons
compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Spontaneous working environment
Internship (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 6, 2013
Very informative place to work at. developed an understanding of the business and legal aspect to the music industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture, and the highest quality music in the industry.
Sales/Licensing Executive (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 22, 2013
Great place to work, licensing the best music in the industry. Friendly atmosphere and cohesive team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady working envirment ...nice people ..teamwork ...
forklift dr  (Former Employee) –  Fishers IndJuly 4, 2013
I truly enjoyed working for this company ...enough to were I had perfect attendance
Pros
monday- friday ...paid every friday ....
Cons
very short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding work environment for music business professionals
Controller / Director of Strategic FP&A (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAMay 22, 2013
UMG is a great opportunity to work with top senior music executives and leaders. Meeting high expectations and delivering goals to management daily is rewarding, while building a solid career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very relaxed, laid back environment
Publicity Intern (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAApril 30, 2013
- Handled administrative duties such screening phone calls, emails, photocopying and filing important inventory, receipts, and expense reports respectively. Prepared press kits for the label’s artists for publicity and press inquiries
- Obtain, scan, and edit any press clippings of label’s artist and organize them in the appropriate archive and deliver to the appropriate label representative

Pros
Flexible hours and accommodating towards my student schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere, awesome people
Manager, Program Finance (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 29, 2013
Exciting, interesting field to work in
Management takes very long to make decisions
Not a very secure place to be with the current market
People are great
Great work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Marketing (Former Employee) –  Universal CityFebruary 22, 2013
FUN! It was fun being your average intern for this company. The usual paper work, social media, mail room, promotions help was required but cool. It was fun working between different departments and staff helping with anything regarding music, marketing, and or mailings. I wish this company tried hard to keep in contact with former interns and also networking between staff and students to become potential employees
Pros
free lunches with label managers, product meetings, and free new music
Cons
9-5pm as an intern....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A&M/Octone Records is a great starting point!
Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 9, 2013
Everyone there is really supportive of the interns, and wants to help you be successful in pursuing your dream job. They also take the time to teach you a lot of great office and administration skills.
Pros
they represent maroon 5, and if one of their artists is in town, you're more than likely able to go to the show.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Production Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CANovember 27, 2012
A stressful and unpleasant employes to work with, otherwise the company itself is a great company to work at depending on the department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Marketing and Promotions Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 23, 2012
Fun atmosphere, very cultural. id recommend anyone to work here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Universal Music reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Universal Music. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
4.1