Find companies:
Universal Orlando Resort
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
74 reviews

Universal Orlando Resort Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Service Cashier (Current Employee), Orlando, FlApril 27, 2015
Universal was a fun work place. Everyday you met new people and new cultures, it was fun getting to know guests. My co-workers were fun and great to be around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good summer job between college years
Seasonal Team Captain (Current Employee), Orlando, FLMarch 31, 2015
Pros: Free meals for food service team members, free admission/parking, good benefits for full-time
Cons: working outside with no break, team captains, rude guests.
Same as a previous review:

It's a great place for a short amount of time, but when you're there full-time you feel like you're becoming jaded towards other people because the amount of rude guests you receive is always greater than the number of kind guests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management team, and good company to work for
Team Captain/Food Runner (Current Employee), Orlando, FLMarch 25, 2015
Pros: foucher for lunch
Cons: the lunch is too short
I have been working for the company almost a year, and so far I am satisfy with everthing about the company except for the pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Theme Park destination in the world.
Show Systems Technician, Video and Audio editor (Former Employee), Orlando FLFebruary 20, 2015
Pros: good benifits
Cons: not much room for advancement in my field.
It's a great place to work. I learned allot working there. I was able to work with some of the best audio video technicians around. I had the opportunity to edit, remake several videos for several venues. Great experience for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Service Cashier (Former Employee), Orlando, FLFebruary 8, 2015
Pros: seeing new people, free access to the theme parks.
Cons: not enough hours, no room for advancement.
My day would start with preparing food such as rice, beans, and our fresh veggies. Most of the day was preparing food that the customers would order. The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing new facing all the time and it being fast paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away from Consumer Insights
Survey Research Recruiter (Former Employee), Orlando, FLFebruary 6, 2015
Pros: co-workers, learning every day
Cons: management, lack of opportunities for advancement
Worked here for almost 2 years. Co-workers are wonderful and most guests are pretty cool. A typical day as a Survey Recruiter is outside, rain or shine (unless there's lightning), talking to guests and trying to get some to take what ever survey you have that day, for nothing. It's challenging, but that is not what bothered me. I like the outdoors and I am a friendly person. You are expected to meet ridiculous quotas no matter what and no one advances unless you are 99% perfect. Senior management is rude, condescending and always seems to be in a bad mood. I was really involved in getting quotas and team building activities outside of work shifts. I never missed a shift on purpose and I came into work with no voice, after a car accident and with a cold. My dedication was never enough and I got in trouble a couple of times because a few people thought I was being rude. Got to learn a lot but I would never work for that department again unless I got hired for a management or more technical position there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Universal studios
Security Officer (Current Employee), Orlando, FLFebruary 5, 2015
Pros: interacting with guest
Cons: insuffienct hours, poor management, non-stable job
Typical day at work are standing from 8 to 10 hours, interacting with guest and team members. I've learned all procedures and protocol. The co-workers are friendly and easily to get along. The hardest part of the job is standing for 10 hours if not 8 hours, not interacting with guest when it is slow. The hours are constantly fluctuating. Your schedule can be exhausting, its not a 9am to 5pm job. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with the guest, you meet people from all over the world and learn a great amount of information about different places.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional work environment
Attractions Attendant (Current Employee), Orlando, FLFebruary 4, 2015
Fun work environment but far too unprofessional, inappropriate behavior by management that trickled all the way down to the lowest level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace for college students
Team Leader (Hourly Paid Supervisor) (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 30, 2015
Good place to work as a college student. Advancement is hard in certain areas. Good benefits.Work with you to make sure schedule is correct.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MY EXPERIENCE ATU NIVERSAL ORLANDO RESORT
PARK SERVICES/CUSTODIAL (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 28, 2015
Pros: lots of people
Cons: not alot of hours to work/seasonal worker
I THINK OVER ALL IT WAS A GREAT JOB TO START YOU OFF TO LEARN MORE ABOUT WHAT IT MEANS TO HAVE A JOB AND THE SACRIFICES YOU MAKE TO KEEP A JOB. MY TIME THERE SHOWED ME HOW HARD IT WAS TO DO MY JOB AND SHOWED ME HOW STRONG OF A PERSON I AM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something different every day
Attractions Attendant and Trainer (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 28, 2015
As an attraction attendant, I spoke to different people on a daily basis. We operated the ride while ensuring guests had the most fulfilling experience. Management moves around somewhat frequently but their open door policy helps to keep communication clear.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 7, 2015
Pros: free passes
Cons: short breaks
Always a new and exciting place to work filled with great employees and appreciative guests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an experience
Security Officer (Current Employee), Orlando, FlDecember 19, 2014
Pros: mobility, fun environment, great experience
Cons: poor attuides from leadership, low pay
An interesting experience for sure! As a CityWalk Security Officer our area included the road ways, garages, bag check and citywalk itself.

I deal with a variety of situations from disorderly guests to lost kids or issuing team members ciations for traffic violations. We have bag check posts and alcohol control points.

There is a lot of hurry up and waiting. A lot of mobility, Corporal, Sergeant, Supervisor, Investigator, Dispatcher, bike officer and Loss Prevention are some examples.

Plus, the benefits are awesomeee!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scenic Painter
Scenic Painter (Former Employee), Orlando, FLDecember 14, 2014
Repair and maintain props and themed environments. Spray, brush, roll, etc and various faux finishes for both Islands of Adventure and Universal Studios.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very learning experience and if you show iniative in you job you can advance within the company.
Ride and Show Mechanic (Former Employee), Tech Services IOA West Harry PotterDecember 6, 2014
Pros: great benefits, team member discounts, reduced food prices and special team member events, overtime
Cons: working nights, days of the week off, work on holidays, difficult to schedule vacations.
Lack of job security as an at will employee. Company more concerned with being sued by guests Than the welfare of team members. Coworkers show a lack of enthusiasm about their job, just there to collect a paycheck. Constant turnover from team members being terminated for any mistakes made on the job. Despite the time and money spent training team members management will let them go to save the company from any lawsuit brought about by a guest being injured while at the parks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy job, tight knit culture
VIP Tour Guide (Current Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 14, 2014
Working in a theme park no two days are the same. It is high energy, always busy, and always changing. The management and team members are all enthusiastic, positive, and don't mind getting their hands dirty. When it is busy, upper management does not hesitate to jump in to any position and help out. Company culture is very inclusive, with lots of events promoting diversity and work-life balance. During the holiday season, for example, employees receive free turkeys, free family portraits, and a free hot meal when they work on holidays. You also get a free meal on your birthday. The company goes out of its way to express gratitude to the long hours and hectic schedules we work during peak seasons and work hard to make it enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a wonderful place to work.
Seasonal Coordinator Entertainment (Former Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 3, 2014
Pros: lots of learning and experience.
Cons: people can be so rude.
Universal Orlando Resort was a great place to work. I learned a lot about the entertainment aspect of a theme park, and customer service. I also gained a ton of experience with problem solving and thinking quickly on my feet. I loved everyone I worked with, it felt like we were a family. Even if we all didn't get along we would all still rally together if someone needed us. This included management, they always had our backs and were there for us if we needed them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great first job
Parking Attendant (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 28, 2014
if its your first time working great place to start lots of advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace where everyone is a family.
Merchandise and Customer Assistant (Current Employee), Orlando, FlOctober 20, 2014
I love my job. I interact with people all over the world on a daily basis. I try to make their day memorable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at first, then just too repetitive
Attractions Attendant (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 14, 2014
Pros: free tickets to amusement parks and events
Cons: minimum wage, sometimes boring, too long of a commute in my case
If you are an attractions attendant, you arrive early to get your uniform on, unless you have a take home uniform. Then you walk to your location/attraction and clock in and see where you start the rotation. It's fun to talk to guests and coworkers. But some times it's just boring and nothing new or interesting happens. But if you love free tickets to amusement parks then this job is great for you!

1 2 3 4

Universal Orlando Resort Salaries

Planner
$25,000 per year
Security Officer
$10.60 per hour
Team Captain
$9.00 per hour