Find companies:
Universal Protection Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
190 reviews

Universal Protection Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Protect employees and property from theft and vandalism. Contact supervision on all events during shift.
Security Supervisor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 10, 2014
Pros: work not hard
Cons: low pay, no recognition for doing good job
Company was bought out several months ago. Typical day at work is low key. really have not learned anything that already knew. Management needs to communicate better. Co- workers are easy to work with. the hardest part of the job is the boredom at times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Security Officer (Current Employee), Augusta, GAAugust 4, 2014
Cons: everything
I work at Georgia Regents University as a Security Officer for this company. Universal Protection Service isn't a company I would recommend to anyone. It is very hard to get into contact with HR and they're incompetent. They do not work with you even if you let them know in advance about certain events. The work environment in the hospital is awful. – more... The leadership is tactless, the lunch hours are variable, and they often treat fill-in officers as if they are less than the permanent officers. There are dozens of locations in the CSRA yet Universal Protection Service tries their hardest to put everyone in the hospital and keep them there. The pay is not enough to sustain yourself and live comfortably. This company is absolutely awful and many of the officers are waiting for the day they can quit. If you like a job where you sit all day then go for it, but you will not advance and you will deal with ridiculousness on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
HUMAN RESOURCE COORDINATOR (Current Employee), Cleveland, OhioJuly 30, 2014
Pros: able to make my own work schedule in the office environment
Cons: no additional overhead allowed and everyone is stretched to the limit with no releif in site
This a fast paced company. Growing by leaps and bounds. Not enough Support and resources for our office in Cleveland. Our company chooses to not let us add any overhead and everyone in our office is totally stretched to the limit with no additional resources allowed.
Benefits are great. My Division Manager is Awesome but we are not allowed to add to – more... overhead. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Professionalism
Security (Former Employee), Atlanta,GAJuly 25, 2014
Pros: the actually sites are nice people
Cons: management
I only have experience with the Atlanta branch on Roswell rd.This company does not pay for the 3 day 9hr training. They do not really pay much, but they make it seem like it will 10 an hour. The management is Rude, they lack the proper customer service communication skills. They loose important documentation like copies of SSN, License, Bank statements, – more... and Birth Certificates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place but no Hours
Security Officer (Current Employee), Riverside, CAJuly 25, 2014
Pros: lunch on duty
Cons: not enough hours
The people were nice and the clients were respectful. I was just not getting any hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional work place
Security Officer (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 25, 2014
Wonderful place to work, lots of diverse that changes frequently
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a fast paced work place, which I like because it keeps me busy and the day goes by fast.
Logistics Supervisor (Current Employee), Cartersville, GA / Budweiser PlantJuly 24, 2014
Pros: we can take our breaks whenever we want.
Cons: the pay could be better
Typical day would be checking in all inbound and checking out all out bound trucks. Also setting up loads / Logistics. And doing a lot of customer service / human resources.

At this job I learned a lot about how Budweiser is ran and what it takes to be part of their team.

I have some of the best co-workers that make the day go by easy and make it – more... a fun environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very disrespectful
SECURITY GUARD (Former Employee), Blue Island, ILJuly 16, 2014
the citizens and students were nice but the management has a nasty attitude and a very smart mouth meaning they don't know how to talk to other people like adults. co workers were cool. Hard part about the job was having to work with that company. Dont get me wrong i love working and my pay it was just i didn't feel comfortable working with negative – more... people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job Some oppurtunities
Security officer (Current Employee), Augusta, GAJuly 14, 2014
The job experience is great for anyone that wants to start in the security industry its a good step in the door
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an awful company
Security Officer (Former Employee), blue islandJuly 7, 2014
Was a well rounded environment until I had gotten laid off.
Job was close to home as well as not horrible pay. Until they were bought out. Then It became a nightmare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace with chances for advancement
Director of Public Safety (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 1, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: low wages for the staff
Most days were a challenge as with many jobs and this company has the same issues as many out there these days. Typical days were mostly routine with a few moments such as during an emergency situation manmade or by nature would cause some excitement. I have learned that you must be flexible in these times. Management was firm but fair. Co-workers worked – more... hard for what they got but most were there to get the job done and done right, always a few bad apples in any organization. Hardest part was seeing good people leave. Most enjoyable part was hiring and keeping the good ones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Security Officer (Current Employee), San Jose , CaliforniaJune 28, 2014
On a typical day at work i control entry into the UPS facility and exit when employees are going home.I check badges when employees enter the facility,and when employees exit the facility i check bags,and use a hand wand to scan employees to ensure no goods leave the facility.The most enjoyable part of the job is greeting employees when they come to – more... work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good company to work for.
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 25, 2014
Pros: experience, co-workers, schedule, pay.
Cons: lack of communication, turnover.
The office had a friendly atmosphere but remained busy. I learned customer service skills, staffing, multi-tasking, & working within a team. My co-workers for the most part were helpful & were friendly. The hardest part of the job was finding qualified applicants for our locations & dealing with excessive turnover rates. The most enjoyable part was – more... the schedule, pay, co-workers & the experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job Ever
Security Guard (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 23, 2014
Pros: hours, co workers
Cons: everything imaginable
It's a rotating door for guards with this company. They don't care about the guards and favoritism is everywhere. Some of the working conditions are inhuman. They make you feel guilty for requesting a day off. The field supervisors are horrible and half of them don't know what they are doing. Post orders are outdated, and Guards are never held responsible – more... for incidents that were the guards fault. Guards are moved from a site to save face with the property manager, but never fired in order to keep the guard from collecting unemployment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management lacking in personnel skills
Security Officer (Former Employee), San Diego, CaliforniaJune 19, 2014
Long hours
Poor breaks
No review process
Poor communication
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employees to work with.
Napa Patrol Supervisor (Current Employee), Napa ValleyJune 17, 2014
Pros: great employees
Cons: no paid time off/ sick leave and low pay for an expensive area to live.
I like this job in that they have good employees to work with and friendly superiors to talk to if their is a problem with anything. I only don't like that their is no paid time off/sick leave and the pay is already low for such an expensive area to live.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun workplace
Security Guard (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 17, 2014
Pros: meeting new people everyday
Cons: short breaks, low pay
A typical day at work involves lots of standing and answering multiple questions, mostly questions that involve travel and and train and bus information. I learn something new at work everyday, I learn to be more patient every time I walk into my work place, because I never know what to expect. Management is mediocre, we have some people who don't appreciate – more... the things that my co workers and I put up with. I enjoy all of my co workers, they are very hard working, and very exciting to be around, we all work on a common goal, and that is to get the job done with efficiency. The hardest part of my job is dealing with the patrons, sometimes they can be very disruptive, and difficult to deal with, but with patience and a strong work ethic, I find ways to deal with most of the patrons. The most enjoyable part of my job is interacting with the people, I meet all types of people from all over the world and they all have different personalities and different characteristics that make my job fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SECURITY GAURD
Security Guard (Current Employee), Miami, FLJune 16, 2014
IT WASNT A LONG TERM JOB ONLY SHORT TERM HAD TO KEEP MOVING FORWARD
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
SECURITY OFFICER (Current Employee), Roseville, MNJune 16, 2014
Working for Universal is fun for the most part, you become exposed to a lot of "behind the scenes' stuff that makes it interesting. Depends on what shift your working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow moving
SECURITY OFFICER (Former Employee), Santa BarbaraJune 4, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: boring work
During the time in the company there was a lot of slow time. Sitting down and it felt you was killing time more than you were working.
I learned to do more with my time, also took the time to improve on other skills and do small studies as long as it did not interfere with the job duties.

About Universal Protection Service

Founded in 1965, Universal Services of America combines an innovative mix of tradition with cutting edge systems and technology – Read more

Universal Protection Service Photos