Find companies:
Universal Protection Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
174 reviews

Universal Protection Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and fair company to work for
Armed Guard/General Atomics (Current Employee), palmdale caMarch 23, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
The job here allows me to work with others and different personalities. It has allowed me to use the knowlege I reciveid from school and transfer it over to the work force.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last employer?
Security Officer (Former Employee), Wichita, KSMarch 22, 2014
Was not very truthful with employees. Had an area supervisor that showed up at clients wearing partial uniforms, was not a good example of a company representative. Was at my post one day wearing company sweater under T-shirt with blue jeans not the company issued pants.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee), Fort Collins, COMarch 18, 2014
It's a lot different than a lot of Security jobs, but it keeps it interesting longer, and you grow close with coworkers pretty quickly, but it's not something you can stay with unless you imagine yourself heading to the very top of his private security company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the different accounts I was assigned to.
Security Professional (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 18, 2014
Enjoyed the different accounts I was assigned to, enjoyed the people I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good
Security Officer (Former Employee), Lexington, KYMarch 18, 2014
Management is friendly. Pay kinda sucks but you get to meet alot of fun people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contracted Employee
Security Operator/mobile driver (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCMarch 8, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: health care
My position deals with the security of employees, monitor buildings, alarms and fire systems and answer emergency phone calls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Security
Security Guard Supervisor (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 7, 2014
Professional setting, comforable evironment, helpful co- workers etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work place was very interesting dealing with people from different cultures.
Site Supervisor (Former Employee), Albany, GAMarch 5, 2014
My typical day at work starts with answering emails form contractors, visitors, vendors, management, clients, and upper management.
Answering multiple phones and solving problems enforcing rules and regulations policies and procedures to make sure my co workers follows. My hardest part of the day is when coworkers cry like a baby wen things do not go – more... their ways. My enjyable part of the day to keep the clients and management happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable
Security Guard (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAMarch 4, 2014
You are underpaid here and they will frequently mess up your check.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co workers and people around to work with, I dont see this as a company to move forward with.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 2, 2014
Pros: breaks, lunchs, good co workers, and people
Cons: management not to great but theyre ok, policies need updated, no advancement
I love the co workers theyre all great people, they have your back and make jokes to make the day go by, I work only part time. I am going into the corrections department so this is why I dont see a career in this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive
Field Training Supervisor (Current Employee), Lombard, ILFebruary 28, 2014
a very productive and busy where the usual days. I move around a lot to different locations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Universal Protection
security guard (Former Employee), Winston salem NCFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: have medical in surance
Cons: most unorganized place to ever work for i hope everyone in nc sees this review do not go work there
if you live in Winston Salem do not I mean do not apply at one at 1365 WEst Gate Center Drive not giving my name but the check I got Jan. 3rd 16th 30th only had half my hours then they fired me for some silly reason they made up. You will not get paid your hours . You are not treated well and it will take you forever for them to adjust your pay d. You – more... would think because it says Unversal Protections that they would be best in NC they are absolutely the worst and I am one of the nicest people you could ever get along with so don dot anyone apply here whatsoever no matter how desperate you are for job. You will get fired less than 6 months no matter how nice you are. I had perfect attendance also was nice every day!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very unorganized place to work. Managment is awful.
Security Officer (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: its a job
Cons: hostile work environment.
Very unorganized company. They change things in the handbook without telling the employees. They set you up for failure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comical Professionalism
Security Lead (Former Employee), Raleigh NCFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
A typical day consists of you sitting in your car for 8-12 hrs and cant leave for any reason. Don't get too hot or cold because adding or taking away from the uniform is grounds for termination. They will lay you off one week, then give you more work than ever after a month going without hearing from them. Pay is a joke compared to the work and management – more... will never hear you out but instead listen to the client because of the contract. JOKE – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Security Officer (Current Employee), LouisianaFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: self-management environment, flexible hours
Cons: lack of communication, check fluctuation per 40 hour pay period, no access to paycheck stubs.
Overall this is a great transitional company for veterans like myself. This job allows me the opportunity to further my education while working flexible and reasonable hours. I am a week away from my 6 month qualification period to be considered eligible for benefits, so therefore I am not able to speak on the benefits offered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one day
Security Officer (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: worked with school schedule
making sure everything is closed and locked. walk around the property, making sure theirs on one there that is not suppose to be there that certain time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
growing company but management sucks
Security Guard (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 26, 2014
the pay for certain post were great however the management part of this company sucks. call in to the office and managers dont return calls or answer any questioins. easy job though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good starter job to get accustomed to being a security guard
Security Guard (Current Employee), Napa, CAJanuary 18, 2014
Depending on the site, every security guard's day varies. My typical day at work includes securing buildings and monitoring sites for activity, including employee entry and exit and non-employee visitors. Management does their best to work with you on your schedule and making sure that your job needs are taken care of. Depending on the site, coworker – more... interaction may be minimal to required. The hardest part of my job is having to commute to the site where I currently work. The most enjoyable part of my job is the sights that the area I work currently has to offer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get what you put into it.
Security Officer / Site Supervisor (Current Employee), Gastonia, NCJanuary 17, 2014
I work a site that has one officer a day on the main gate. After the first two hours (except during a shutdown) it gets very boring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leanred a lot of things!
Dispatcher/Security Guard (Former Employee), Canoga Park, CAJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: experience, guard card, consumer affairs
Cons: management, but other than that everything was positive.
Typical day at work:
Monitoring work crews, equipment, doing daily action reports every hour (DAR)
Learned: How to dispatch whatever was needed to my job site or else where.
Management: Was not the best people to get along with, but were really friendly when needed,
Co-workers: Worked with my buddy I grew up with.
Hardest part: NONE
Enjoyable: Flexible – more... schedules. – less

About Universal Protection Service

Founded in 1965, Universal Services of America combines an innovative mix of tradition with cutting – Read more

Universal Protection Service Photos