Find companies:
Universal Protection Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
353 reviews

Universal Protection Services Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review
Security Officer Supervisor (Current Employee), Miami, FlDecember 1, 2014
Poor Management
I enjoyed my schedule 6-2pm
I love working with Business Minded People
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lonely
Security Guard (Former Employee), West Los Angeles, CANovember 21, 2014
Pros: uniforms were provided
Cons: the job only for the summer
A typical day at work I would patrol building perimeters on foot. I learned multiple ways to stay awake. the hardest part of the job was staying awake and writing hourly reports if nothing happened.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not A Reliable Organization
Security Professional (Current Employee), Salinas, CANovember 12, 2014
Been working with the company for a few years. Countless disputes over hours missing from paychecks, random schedule changing without any notification, as well as threats from management if we were to go to the Labor Commission Board about their wrongdoings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another Security Company
Security Professional (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 9, 2014
Pros: its work
Cons: no opportunity. pay, shifts, management
No management at all. The office only plays to the favorites.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job. Enhanced many skills and learned new ones
Post Commander (Former Employee), La Jolla CaliforniaNovember 9, 2014
Cons: great atomosphere
I was Post Commander at this location. Learned many things and met some great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need improvement on the company.
Security Officer (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 28, 2014
They don't really do a lot for there employees and they need to work on more on getting the employees raises and vacation paid. Also the way they treat there employee's is very poor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience in Security Officer Field
Security Guard Officer (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAOctober 27, 2014
Pros: awarded for good customer service
Cons: health care to expensive
Gate Officer check Employee Badges at Entrance Gate

Checked in Visitors visiting the Client

Gave General Directions to lost Customers

Directed Vehicles to Visitors Center that were not Allowed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a dangerous site to work at was scared all the time
Security Officer (Current Employee), houston,tx.October 27, 2014
too many differant plants in the area was scared all the time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only concerned with their needs...
Security/public safety/patrol driver/CCTV operator (Former Employee), Corona, CAOctober 26, 2014
Pros: company is in riverside
Cons: name your issue....
NO chance of advancement, ignore major issues, hard to communicate with the office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly working enviornment
Field Training Supervisor (Current Employee), Napa, CAOctober 26, 2014
Pros: public interaction
Cons: lack of advancement oppotunities
A typical day for me starts by arriving to work 20-30 minutes early. I receive a pass down from coworkers and receive materials to start my route. I travel from any where from 90-200 miles per day. This includes property checks and deliveries. This job is not a difficult job just fast paced. The most enjoyable part of this job is knowing as a supervisor I can help my fellow coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive days with unpredictable outcomes
Security Officer (Full-time) (Former Employee), Rock Hill, SCOctober 24, 2014
Never dull or slow moments along with attentive and cautious times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse Security Company
Supervisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 24, 2014
Pros: $450 sign-on bonus
Cons: unprofessional, no training, unfair treatment to officers, management sucks
I learned that management will not keep their word for giving you a reward. I was never late or called off from work and management told me I would receive a reward, but I never did. However, they are now offering a $450 sign-on bonus. Not to mention, their mission is to provide unmatched services and security officers are not properly trained or cannot spell nor write legible on a Daily Activity Report that can be viewed by the client or court.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, the company has a friendly working atmosphere.
Security Officer (Current Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 22, 2014
Pros: generfally the employees and management are cordial and sincere.
Cons: little room for improvement and benefits are minimal.
Assisting and coordination with other employees to receive Fire Rescue Personnel;
Coordination among the employees was effective and professional.
Local management appears to be listen but no benefits given..
Co-workers are wonderful to work with. Doing overnight work for a longer period of time.
Reliving other officer on duty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of driving time to and from different locations.
Security Officer/ Supervisor (Current Employee), Abilene, TXOctober 19, 2014
Balanced between supervision and standing post for a security officer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unarmed Security Officer
Unarmed Security Officer (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCOctober 15, 2014
Just know that this company is full of it. Sucky pay, temp job sites, and messy management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to Start out
Security Officer (Former Employee), Otay, CAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: networking
Cons: short lunch
At my job site we were required to log the entry of many semi's with cargo. On many occasions there was hardly any time for lunch, I mainly learned how dispatching works and much patience. My co-workers whom I shared graveyard shifts with were very friendly but the day shift always seemed to be trying to get rid of me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Guard
Security Guard/Receptionist (Former Employee), Burlington, NCOctober 13, 2014
was the people i went through to get my security licenses

they still aint paid me for 40 hours i worked thats why i quit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transitional Position
V.P. OPERATIONS, SOUTHEAST REGION (Former Employee), San Jose, CAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: the sale of allegiance security to universal protection
Was employed to assist in the transition of the sale of Allegiance Security Group to Universal Protection.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place to work
security (Former Employee), riversideOctober 13, 2014
Cons: everything
Don't do your job, because you'll get fired. I reported a possible theft to my employer and they automatically assumed I was the one who had something to do with it. The staff could care less about the employees, they never had any work for me but always hiring and placing new people in positions. Jamie is a real bi!/% go anywhere else but here for work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND FUN WORKPLACE
SECURITY (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 13, 2014
Pros: free lunch, gifts, money, and daily compliments
Cons: short breaks
SAME AS OTHER REVIEW FOR THE OTHER SECURITY COMPANY.I LOVED WORKING FOR THE COMPANY BECAUSE THEY ALWAYS HAVE EXTRA WORK FOR ME BUT WHEN IT WAS TIME TO GET PAID,THERES ALWAYS A FEW HOURS MISSING OF MY CHECK.

Universal Protection Services Salaries

Security Officer
$10.25 per hour
Security Guard
$10.50 per hour
Security Officer
$21,600 per year
Security Guard
$20,000 per year
Security
$10.50 per hour