Universal Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and laid back environment while maintaining a fast-paced settimg
Busser/Stocker/Food (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 22, 2017
The coworks and managers are fun and easy to talk to but there's always enough work to keep you busy. The downtime is usually not long lasting so it requires a lot of energy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Guard (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 13, 2017
decent job, some pros and cons but at the end of the day the cons outweigh the pros, management could be ran better unfortunately its not, therefore making it decent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard confusing work
Employee (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIOctober 10, 2017
You have to really be quick load the tugger with parts on the paper they give you have to match the parts that goes on the tugger meaning the shelves and don't mess up you will be fired gotta make the truck to load it then you have to stack the plastic boxes and trash the cardboard boxes the take your tugger back then wait for the next paper to come out
Pros
Hour lunch break some long breaks
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense and quick paced
DIRECTOR Digital Marketing (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 3, 2017
depending on which label you are housed under at Universal, the environment can change. One of the common issues is job security and overtime work. There are still many with old-school mentalities on work/life balance and the rights to have opportunity to grow.
Pros
its a cool place to work
Cons
no breaks, after work commitments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced but hours could be better
Admissions Host (Current Employee) –  Universal City, CAOctober 2, 2017
I love working at Universal Studios Hollywood, There is a lot of room for advancement and you truly do feel that the company does care for you. Though, the hours really could be better after Summer peak season.
Pros
Employee Benefits
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Personal Support Associate (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCOctober 2, 2017
It was OK place to work. Had to drive to a lot of places. Not much mileage and gas stipends giving. It was flexible. They paid you on time. The benefits are not that good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Universal
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  King of Prussia, PASeptember 30, 2017
Working at Allied Universal Security has its perks but I am a Certified Medical Assistant and would like to be in my medical field. I prefer the Health field.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Universal Studios Hollywood
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Universal City, CASeptember 22, 2017
It was so much fun Greatest experience yet! You meet so many new people, co workers and just great guest Experience with random people it just makes your day.
Pros
So much fun experiences
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company no longer located in Milwaukee
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 30, 2017
School had great potential;

Hired a lot of talented, dedicated educators;

Administration questionable in terms of skills and experience;

Systems not consistent from Philly to Milwaukee
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
School closed due to mismanagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work during the night.
Order Puller (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXAugust 23, 2017
Its a great company very laid back. I like the work that they do. Its kind of boring but when you get your check you will feel different about it. You have alot of down which can be a con but the at the same time its a pro because you can rest. Its not a hard job at all. The people that wprk there are very good and nice to you.
Pros
Alot of down time
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you're just out of high school.
Security Officer (Full-time) (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 22, 2017
Very poor management. They never seem to be in contact with employees even when they are missing pay. When Universal merged with Allied Barton they eradicated our benefits making them not affordable on our meager wages. They also did away with paid vacation. Even after signing an official job offer outlining my hours and pay management continued to try and force shifts on the employees at my post that they could not accommodate. Allied Barton was a great company to work for, but with current middle management Allied Universal is a nightmare and has been losing a multitude of contracts.
Pros
work life balance is good. Good starter job
Cons
management, no vacation, poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Event Guide (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 21, 2017
Super awesome team. Everyone loves their job and are excited to come work. Poor communication though. Awesome benefits. Got into the park for free and had passes for guest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Counting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXAugust 16, 2017
a typical day at work starts with me starting up my computer and waiting for a count request, i gather all the informantion that i need to find the location of the parts that i have to count and i go and do my inventory count, then i input my data into a databesa to see the results of my count
Pros
good peolpe
Cons
work six days out of the week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding firm with a wide group of professionals that put in the time to transform you into a great salesman
Agent (Former Employee) –  Aurora, IL 60505July 24, 2017
Traveled around the state of Illinois doing door to door Energy sales under the Energy supplier, Direct Energy. We met at the office at 9:30 to work on peoples scripts and to train new employees on the basic of Energy and deregulation. The hardest part about the job was, the unnecessary amount of hours we were required to work and having to work during the winter time in 20 below weather. The best part about the job was the people and the money. We got paid very well with not only hour commission but, we received plenty of bonus's and other compensations.The employees and team leaders were a tremendous help with whatever i needed.
Pros
Phenomenal work place with great loyal employees
Cons
Strenuous amount of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits but very unprofessional
ORDER PICKER (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJune 27, 2017
The company in itself takes care of their employees but there management is very unprofessional and unproductive, employees are left to do as they please without any direction.
Pros
Healthcare
Cons
poor enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJune 18, 2017
fast pace lots of calls per day fun co workers meeting all of customer needs hardest part is the explaining to customers whats going on the most part was being off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 15, 2017
Fast pace working entire shift
How to work with team members
very big and hot
cleaning it up after a very busy and chaos day
Pay day and finally having a lunch break
Pros
Lunch Voucher
Cons
Very hot in the Kitchen
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
adventurerous, personnel interesting to work with, always something new to learn or experience , nice uniforms and great work atmosphere
Security Guard Officer (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 3, 2017
a typical day is average sometimes long, learn several things job requirements, and what is expected of you daily at work, management is pretty good most of the times, work culture varies at different job sites,hardest part of the job being efficient when not being told of certain information, the most enjoyable part of the job can be the personnel you workaround at times.
Pros
good
Cons
good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Owner and Operator (Current Employee) –  Romulus, MIMay 16, 2017
Good place ,to work goof management, friendly Dispach,is good company to work as driver or owner operation the pay good ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee) –  Warren, MIMay 11, 2017
Good work place. Fun people to work with. Good equipment. They have very nice disopatcher. They have better opportunities for long term employed. Not a bad place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Universal. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 170 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7