Find companies:
University at Albany
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

University at Albany Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work environment.
Residential Assistant (Former Employee), Albany, NYSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: amazing team building activities, group morale always high
Cons: sacrificing a weekend to be on duty
As a residents assistant you need to be able to work closely with others. It was a fun experience with your residents as well as staff. The job becomes like your second family and help you manage the daily requirements of the job. Being on duty you never know what to expect. You may have a smooth night or you may end up writing many incident reports. – more... Overall it is still a great work experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Attend monthly meetings of faculty, students and staff
Senate Parliamentarian (Current Employee), Albany, NYAugust 25, 2014
Mostly the job requires contact with the Chair to make them confident with meeting procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with students
Resident Director (Current Employee), Albany, NYAugust 9, 2014
Working in residence life is extremely student focused. Each living area is set up in quads with a 22 foot tower, except the apartments. There are 8 low rise buildings with about 100 residents each and the tower holds about 400 residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Security and Staff Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 24, 2014
job was ok,no support from supervisors.it was ok,pay and bennifits were good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Tutor Assistant (Former Employee), Albany, NYMay 29, 2014
I am a tutor in the SUNY-Albany when I was undergraduate, the job is interested, I reviewed lots of materiel from teaching the students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great learning experience
Landscaper (Former Employee), Albany, NYMay 22, 2014
A typical day at work was basically a routine. I was given job assignments each day and had to complete them by the end of the day. I learned how to manage my time correctly, work as a team, and lead by example. My co workers ranged from the age of 18-50. Very relaxed and safe environment to work. The hardest part of the job was working outdoors in – more... very hot weather other than that my job was ran very smoothly. The most enjoyable part of the job was that the atmosphere was very friendly and everyone got along. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, great facilities, up-and-coming Research U
Graduate Intern Spring Semester (Current Employee), Albany, NYApril 18, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: parking
Though I'm doing an unpaid internship, I've spent 3 semesters on this campus, giving me first hand information on the culture, climate, pay, benefits of working at UAlbany. The culture is inclusive, the climate is collegial, the pay on the administrative side is the best in the Albany-Troy-Schenectady-Saratoga area, and there is room for lateral movement – more... and advancement.

Down side is the extremely large size of the campus and of the campus parking lot. You will likely always find parking, it's just a matter of how far away from the building you are. Be prepared to walk! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Professors
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Albany, NYMarch 8, 2014
Grade assignments, create assignments, and discuss ideas to cover in class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent and academic work environment
Post-doctoral Researcher (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 6, 2014
Working in Dr. Alexander Shekhtman's lab is the happiest job I can have. I was encouraged to have numerous trial with my own ideas on research projects.
We have people from different countries and we share different ideas on each others' projects.
Most of the time, you need to individually deal with all your work. We have very few co-working issue.
I – more... have learned a lot of new biochemical techniques and knowledge in my work. And every new project is a totally exciting new challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student- Athlete at Suny Albany
Student-athlete at UAlbany/ Personal Trainer (Former Employee), Albany, NYDecember 12, 2013
Pros: winning a championship and going to the ncaa tournament playing duke made my 4 years worth it, i wouldn't of changed my experience for anything.
Cons: i honestly can't say there was a problem because i was doing something that i loved.
My Schedule was heavily consisted of school work and basketball. Here's my daily schedule for the past for years:

5:00 a.m.- wake up and eat breakfast
6:00- 8:45a.m.- practice
10:25a.m.- 2:35p.m. - Class
3:30-4:45p.m.- Lift
6:00-8:00p.m.- Study Hall
8:00- SLEEP
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good indeed
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Albany, NYDecember 1, 2013
I am delighted to be with you. very accommodating company and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Danes after Dark Student Assistant (Former Employee), Albany, NYJune 7, 2013
Very friendly and team work oriented workplace. Had to know how to start work on your own. Fun atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and rewarding
Teaching Assistant University (Current Employee), Albany,NYMarch 23, 2013
I am currently working under an assistant ship. The University at Albany is a University that offers bachelor and masters and doctorate degrees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indeed is amazing to match job seekers and recruiters
Math / Teacher Assistant (Current Employee), Albany, NYMarch 5, 2013
I would recommend Indeed to a friend. I learned the effectiveness if working together as a team during my tutoring experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dysfunctional beyond your wildest dreams
University Administrator (Former Employee), Albany, NYFebruary 28, 2013
Just so we are clear, I have been in higher education for 20+ years and have worked at both private and public colleges. The last 11 years I have been at public universities.

The things that I saw were breathtaking, not just the politics, but activities that were criminal. In trying to address these various situations, I brought information to my boss – more... who took it up the chain of command and nothing happened. This pervasive mindset/culture started long before I arrived.

Sadly there are many good men and women at UA whose hearts and work ethic are in the right place. Unfortunately those people are over shadowed by the tramps and thieves who have slithered they way up the food chain. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Miss SUNY
Office of Geography and Planning (Former Employee), Albany, N.Y.February 21, 2013
Pros: great school spirit
Cons: reputation on alcohol use
Some of the greatest times of my life were at SUNY Albany. I would love the opportunity to go back and be a student for a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot, was really fun working with other students , helping them fix their code
Teaching Assistant for Java (Former Employee), Albany, NYJanuary 11, 2013
The experience of working as a Teaching Assistant was very helpful in getting better understanding of JAVA because in order to help other students to fix their code , i got a valuable experience of understanding somebody else's code.I was accompanied with one more TA which was a bit help too. The hardest part of the job was help students to come up – more... with the bug in the code so they can fix it themselves. It was a nice teaching experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a teaching assistant, I learned how to juggle the demands of the students and the professor while furthering my own education.
Teaching Assistant to Professor (Former Employee), Albany, NYJuly 31, 2012
This was a unique and valuable experience that allowed me to conduct research, while learning how to provide services to the class and juggle many responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance
Temporary Facilities Assistant (Former Employee), Albany, NYJuly 9, 2012
Pros: hours
Cons: management
Working at SUNY has merely helped me pay my bills. The job didnt hold much responsibility which it turn made quality of work poor. I typical day consisted of trying find things to do to keep you're mind occupied. If the workplace offered any advancment it would not be a terrible place to work but there is no chnce to advance. The hardest part of the – more... job consisted with dealing with management. The easiest part of the job are the convenient hours. – less