Find companies:
University at Buffalo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
54 reviews

University at Buffalo Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benifits as with most state jobs but job culture is suspect.
Maintenance/Custodian (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYNovember 2, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Cons: job culture is suspect
Great benifits as with most state jobs but job culture is suspect. Management is acceptable but supervisors, at least where I am stationed, lack proper communication skills. With this in mind an easy job is made more complicated than it should be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is college
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, NYOctober 15, 2014
-Had below part-time job
-Nice place to work in.
-Learned a lot working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 14, 2014
Teaching assistants in the department teach recitations, hold office hours and grade exams and quizzes. The work environment in the department is pretty good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UB has an active and vibrant atmosphere
Research Associate (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 12, 2014
UB has an active and vibrant atmosphere. It provides a great opportunity for creative minds to invent and investigate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work opportunity for full-time students
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 5, 2014
Good work for full-time students. Flexible schedules, decent pay, and opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service provider and troubleshooter
Student Assistant - CIT Public Sites Consultant (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 18, 2014
My job deals with providing customer service for students regarding computing and technical problems and also troubleshoot workstation. The most enjoyable part of the job is the interactions with the students and collaborating with colleagues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
engineering school
Senior Engineering Design Project (Former Employee), Buffalo,NYSeptember 12, 2014
great experience, knowledgeable faculty, great facilities, excellent foundation for an engineering career
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical college research job
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYSeptember 10, 2014
Nothing to write home about. Worked in a lab to get some job experience before graduating college. Professor was great. Other research assistant weren't very welcoming due to their being in grad school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is nice place to study and work !
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYSeptember 3, 2014
I enjoy my life in SUNY buffalo overall, I have learned a lot through my research and teaching assistant experience in past years from advisor. My primary focus on mobile and cloud computing development. In addition, the most important thing i have learned from this position is independent study and self-learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day called for sorting books and helping scholars find the resources they need.
Page (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYAugust 21, 2014
Working as a Page at UB's Special Collection for Poetry and Rare Books was fun. The work was not very taxing. All I had to do was sort books and other records, make labels, and find things for UB scholars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
student (Former Employee), Amherst, NYJuly 25, 2014
I have enjoyed my school life at the University at Buffalo. The professors are quite helpful to students and I could get to meet a lot of domestic and international friends in the school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Place to Work, Great Management, Great Benefits
Staff Asst (Business & Finance Staff Asst) (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJune 30, 2014
Great place to work, team work efforts as well as individual projects, great benefits and good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJune 20, 2014
great amazing where you want to learn how to work
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undewhelming and lackluster school
Researcher (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYJune 14, 2014
Pros: "cheap" tuition
Cons: where do i start?
Learning/reviewing course material.
Aerospace-mechanical engineering.
Professors cared more about their research than doing an excellent job of teaching and explaining the course material.
Plenty of students who care about learning, working-hard, teamwork, and moving forward with their dreams.
Hardest part was understanding and applying course material – more... to real-world applications.
Most enjoyable part was finally graduating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work for
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJune 10, 2014
Pros: on college campus differnt place to walk
time management
phone calls
meetings
people are very friendly
just a beautiful place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Premiere academic institute
Ph.D student (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYMay 17, 2014
Excellent laboratory research opportunity where I was trained in world class cutting edge technology in Neuroscience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producutive work place
Student Worker (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYMay 2, 2014
Overrall, I learned a lot about customer service and being able to provided and answer questions for people. I learned a lot about mannerism and professionalism. Also, punctuality was a skill that I got better with. Co workers were fun and out going, managment was good. Most fun part was I was able to get school work as well as the job it self done – more... , without either conflicting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate School
Teaching Assistantship & Fellowship (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYApril 12, 2014
The University at Buffalo (SUNY) department of sociology is an excellent location to achieve a graduate level degree. The department is competitive and collaborative in ways that challenge the student to achieve higher levels of academic, research, and literary aptitude. The vast specialties of the faculty provide expertise in broad and narrow areas – more... of research that accentuate the skill sets that are needed in the work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developed a Methodology for Knowledge Discovery in Engineering Design
Research Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 4, 2014
• Worked with Dresser-Rand to apply the KTI inventory model to the compressor’s return channel design process as a case study and understanding the deviations between "as-implemented" and "as-prescribed" design processes via interviews with 8 designers
• Understand and analyze deviations as emergent system behavior, since it is critical to implementing – more... a process that optimizes information infrastructure and firm knowledge
• Proposed the captured design processes for training purposes, capturing knowledge from engineers who are about to retire and KBE systems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYMarch 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches/dinners. quite flexible.
Cons: none that i can think of
Learning and application is at its maximum. Rolling out orders in less than the stipulated average time was overwhelming. I learned a lot in terms of time management and optimal level of customer satisfaction. Co-workers are, to use one word, simply superb. They helped me fit in and learn everything. They were always supportive and made me learn from – more... my mistakes. They were more than willing to help me initially, so that I could deliver my best. – less

1 2 3