Find companies:
University at Buffalo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

University at Buffalo Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day called for sorting books and helping scholars find the resources they need.
Page (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYAugust 21, 2014
Working as a Page at UB's Special Collection for Poetry and Rare Books was fun. The work was not very taxing. All I had to do was sort books and other records, make labels, and find things for UB scholars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
student (Former Employee), Amherst, NYJuly 25, 2014
I have enjoyed my school life at the University at Buffalo. The professors are quite helpful to students and I could get to meet a lot of domestic and international friends in the school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Place to Work, Great Management, Great Benefits
Staff Asst (Business & Finance Staff Asst) (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJune 30, 2014
Great place to work, team work efforts as well as individual projects, great benefits and good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJune 20, 2014
great amazing where you want to learn how to work
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undewhelming and lackluster school
Researcher (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYJune 14, 2014
Pros: "cheap" tuition
Cons: where do i start?
Learning/reviewing course material.
Aerospace-mechanical engineering.
Professors cared more about their research than doing an excellent job of teaching and explaining the course material.
Plenty of students who care about learning, working-hard, teamwork, and moving forward with their dreams.
Hardest part was understanding and applying course material – more... to real-world applications.
Most enjoyable part was finally graduating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work for
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJune 10, 2014
Pros: on college campus differnt place to walk
time management
phone calls
meetings
people are very friendly
just a beautiful place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Premiere academic institute
Ph.D student (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYMay 17, 2014
Excellent laboratory research opportunity where I was trained in world class cutting edge technology in Neuroscience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producutive work place
Student Worker (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYMay 2, 2014
Overrall, I learned a lot about customer service and being able to provided and answer questions for people. I learned a lot about mannerism and professionalism. Also, punctuality was a skill that I got better with. Co workers were fun and out going, managment was good. Most fun part was I was able to get school work as well as the job it self done – more... , without either conflicting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate School
Teaching Assistantship & Fellowship (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYApril 12, 2014
The University at Buffalo (SUNY) department of sociology is an excellent location to achieve a graduate level degree. The department is competitive and collaborative in ways that challenge the student to achieve higher levels of academic, research, and literary aptitude. The vast specialties of the faculty provide expertise in broad and narrow areas – more... of research that accentuate the skill sets that are needed in the work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developed a Methodology for Knowledge Discovery in Engineering Design
Research Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 4, 2014
• Worked with Dresser-Rand to apply the KTI inventory model to the compressor’s return channel design process as a case study and understanding the deviations between "as-implemented" and "as-prescribed" design processes via interviews with 8 designers
• Understand and analyze deviations as emergent system behavior, since it is critical to implementing – more... a process that optimizes information infrastructure and firm knowledge
• Proposed the captured design processes for training purposes, capturing knowledge from engineers who are about to retire and KBE systems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYMarch 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches/dinners. quite flexible.
Cons: none that i can think of
Learning and application is at its maximum. Rolling out orders in less than the stipulated average time was overwhelming. I learned a lot in terms of time management and optimal level of customer satisfaction. Co-workers are, to use one word, simply superb. They helped me fit in and learn everything. They were always supportive and made me learn from – more... my mistakes. They were more than willing to help me initially, so that I could deliver my best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an awesome experience to work at UB as a Research Assistant
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYMarch 13, 2014
It was an awesome experience to work at UB as a Research Assistant
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable and stimulating work place
Graduate Student (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYFebruary 15, 2014
For my needs, the best graduate research experience that I could have wanted.
Very collegial workplace with free flow of ideas and support between the students.
Liked the variety of projects I was working on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Medicinal Chemistry Research Assistant (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYFebruary 12, 2014
A typical working day involves with experiments and paper reading. It was a good and productive place to work. Nice coworkers, people would discuss about experiments and articles. The hardest part was that there were always a lot of projects and deadlines, and you really had to work late sometimes. All in all, a great place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service, Prioritize tasks. Resource Management, Consultant
IT Consultant (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYFebruary 8, 2014
Working part time at college really helps in making the best use of time. I could learn to manage my heavy course workload and the hectic job schedules perfectly, which gives me immense pleasure. Interaction with other students at the workplace, responsibility to manage the resources at the workplace was a good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job as a student.- allowed for schoolwork during slow shifts
CIT Consultant (Current Employee), buffaloFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: allowed for school work to be done
Cons: no set schedule
typical day at work included maintaining and servicing campus printers and aided patrons in computer/network troubleshooting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great place to work
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: friendly working environment
Cons: not challenge
My boss is very understandable, and kind. As an office assistant, I mainly help to organize the documents both in hard copy and on computer. It is a good place to work and good people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
comprehensive research-intensive public university
Assistant Professor (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYDecember 31, 2013
Pros: mentoring students and seeing them successfully gradute and acruire meaning full jobs
Cons: publish or perish, success measured by the amount of money brought in
Maintain a collaborative research agenda that emphasizes multidisciplinary scientific inquiry and discovery, explore and pursue extramural funding to support faculty research, educate undergraduate and graduate students, and engage in service to the community, university, and professional organizations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University at Buffalo
Clarence Senior Center Flu Clinic (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYAugust 14, 2013
I had a great learning experience administering flu vaccines in my community
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYAugust 13, 2013
learned how to construct an 80 foot algal turf scrubber and make all the necessary structural calculations and estimation costs of supplies and operation.

1 2 3