Find companies:
UNIVERSITY HEALTH SYSTEM
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37 reviews

UNIVERSITY HEALTH SYSTEM Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most enjoyable part of the job
Human Resources Recruiter (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 9, 2014
Offering opportunity to people to be a part of a great organization was the best part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good first place to be a medical assistant
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), San Antonio, TexasJune 10, 2014
I learned so much working with University especially in the ExpressMed clinic, we did a little bit of everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment
Medical - Surgical Assistant (Current Employee), San Antonio, TexasMarch 30, 2014
great co-workers, working as team. The hardest part is the schedules, specially working during night.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all a Friendly atmosphere to work at, everyone was very helpful
Outpatient Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 22, 2014
Pros: interacting with other departments celebrating birthdays, holidays, gift shop variety of things to buy, other shops within the hospital to eat at and shop, newsletter of events that was going on in the departments in the hospital classes, conferences, training and community events, shuttle transportation from parking garage to hospital
Cons: lunch time cafeteria crowded, elevators are unavailable during this time
Insurance verification, entering lab requests.

All patients demographics must be correct.

Communication with employees was always open between management and the employees.

I enjoyed working with my co-workers in my department and other departments I encountered with. Attitudes were always good, very good working environment.

Sometimes systems didn't – more... link with one another made it hard to put in request for the patients.

Working together to get the work done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn on the job training
Medical/Surgical Technician (Former Employee), San Antonio,TXMarch 20, 2014
Great health system that is very caring to each and every patient
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UHS TEXAS DIABETES INSTUTUTE
Reg medical assistant (Former Employee), San Antonio,TXMarch 11, 2014
Pros: cafe food
Cons: see for your self
I worked for university health TDI for many years . The system was corrupted form admin to the out patient clinics . You ether followed the rules did what they said , your good. But you go against the head your were screwed. I Worked there for many years as an rma I played by the rules .its not what you know its who you know . I did not like how things – more... were going . I was a favorite I spoke up and that when it started . I would go call the employee help line and report they found out and retaliated against me. administration would not help. I was so stressed out that I got sick. HR. knew what was going on . did not care I had to file for FMLA . finally IN 12/2013 I HAD TO LEAVE I WAS BEING BULIED BY THE UPPERS. long story short no other medical place will hire me because of my bad reference. I am stuck working a 8.50 hr job . WHEN I WAS LEAVEING THEY WERE – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to learn Level 1 Trauma Management
Critical Care Registered Nurse/Nurse Manager (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: learn and develop level 1 trauma patient management
Cons: rotating shifts was exhaustive but manageable
The position afforded the opportunity as new nurse to be exposed to and develop within the critical care environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible customer service
MEMBER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJanuary 20, 2014
Very bad structure no action for those who treat members horribly HIPPA regulations constantly being compromised
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had no problem dealing with the troubled juvenile offenders at the long-term correctional facility!
LVN (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 24, 2013
Pros: set schedule
Cons: lowest pay i have ever accepted, but i had just moved to san antonio and needed a job fast
Management would only speak to us "workers" when she had an "important" sentence or two to bark at us, otherwise they hid behind their emails, in their offices or meeting all day. Also, long story short I was experiencing terrible migraines at the time so I asked to use 3 days of PTO, which was fine (or so I thought at the time) I returned to work after – more... my regularly scheduled 3 days off and was asked by my supervisor, "what are you doing here?" I said well im here for my shift and she said, "Oh (dept. head) put you on FMLA for the 2 weeks, didn't you know?" Uhhhh NO. The next day I received a certified letter in the mail stating that I was terminated for no call/no show for my regularly scheduled 3 days off?!?!?!?! I was shocked and hurt. I really enjoyed my position there. I would have appealed the decision, but in the end I decided I didn't want to be a part of a team that would go behind my back in such situations as a health reason, then try to hide it from me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most awesome place to work.
Housekeeping (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 14, 2013
I loved working with University Health system team. Always great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Clerk I (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 30, 2013
Pros: nice people and nice environment
Cons: parking is horrible and lunch is 1/2 hour
helping others find a job and the employment process is easy and productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University hospital is not a place I would recommend to work
Network Engineer (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 25, 2013
Pros: looks good on a resume
Cons: you are asked to work overtime without compensation on a regular basis.
Unless you are a heart transplant doctor or have some very valuable medical skill you are treated like cattle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
ap clerk (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 27, 2013
Cons: no talking
management needs to be look at management did not not know the system higher up need to pay attention to the higher management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greay company
Medical Assistant Externship (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 9, 2013
I only did my extern hours at this location but I would be willing to work at this place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Expirience
EEG Technician (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 11, 2013
Pros: room to grow
Cons: at the time there were only two eeg people on staff (myself and my boss)
I had a GREAT Boss that gave me on the job training for EEG's . She was a postive influence and always pushed her staff to excel. My work was always checked by her before I would run a study and would correct my mistakes with constructive critisism. Best part of my job was seeing our patients being upgraded to transitional units.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting people
Out patient Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 1, 2013
Pros: excellent doctors
Cons: too stressful, no help
I love to see patients leave with a smile, Its super satisfying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
our workforce is our gratest asset FInance AP
FInancial Accounting (Former Employee), Business CEnterMay 18, 2013
Pros: you have the right to work in a healthy environment finance
Cons: witness mis treatment of staff
Management display derogatory comments , staff is stereotyped as uneducated overpaid . IF you are a on the list you are given extra work that you cannot ever finish. As management states "it"s like buying a car you call H.R tell them what color and style you want and they help them write you up and place you on a plan or your forced to resign. You are – more... given a long list of duties that do not match your job description. You are embarrassed in so called team meetings everyone is a witness that you cannot take time off or given too much work and being singled out. There are too many that have been forced to resign. Think twice about reporting misconduct to senior management cause there is retaliation and intimidation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't even recommend my worst enemy....
Accounting/Finance (Former Employee), Business CenterMay 13, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: horriable mgmt and director. vp is clueless of staff unhappiness
Although it may be a great place to work if you are in the medical field but if you are looking for an finance/accounting related position this place is horrible. Unless you like stress, highblood pressure and hostile working enviornment you would not survive. The Director is horriable to its employees and only looks down on them pitifully. Run you – more... over the bus in a heartbeat just to cover their own. everything is still done manually, piles of bills & accounting reports everywhere.

If you have children you can forget it - if you get sick then forget that as well. Sick and children are for weekends (if you have any time of it). If they tell you it's work until the job finishes great but don't expect to this to be a 8-5 job. It's not and they will write you up if you don't stay late everyday.

Management & Directors micromanage employees. They may act as your friend but in their office it's bad talking about all its employees. Call them into tell them how incompetent they are 3-5 times a day Most unprofessional management staff I have ever experienced. this is definitely not an open door policy. If you feel stressed and what to talk to them go for it...but they will just tell you that you complain and then you're the one in trouble.

Best advice - STAY AWAY!!! even if you are desparate. – less

– May 18, 2013

Management displays derogatory comments staff is stereotyped you are given a long list of duties that Don,t match up to you job description. The way ,management puts it "It'$ like buying a car they call H.R. tell them what style and color and H.R.Will write you a plan for termination or forced resignation." You are embarrassed in so called group meetings and reprimanded for asking questions. You try to engage in you daily work only to be given more work to intimidate you from asking questions. Forget about reporting misconduct there is retaliation your forced to resign too many to count .

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Health Information Services Manager (Current Employee), San Antonio TexasApril 6, 2013
A great place to work, but not much room to advance in upper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work environment
Nurse (Former Employee), Juvenile detention CenterMarch 14, 2013
Pros: great experience
Cons: horrible management that mistreats staff n patients
I worked in the juvenile detention center. The work itself was great and an awesome experience as a nurse. But the management was a nightmare. The managers are allowed to create a very hostile work environment. They are cruel to inmates n if your a caring n loving nurse it's a bad facility to work in. You have to work with nurses that are burned out – more... n have no sympathy for these patients n the hospital does absolutely nothing about it. – less