Find companies:
UNIVERSITY SETTLEMENT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

UNIVERSITY SETTLEMENT Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here
Camp Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 25, 2014
Pros: i got to enjoy my summer
Cons: there wasnt any
it was the best volunteer job ever. i went on outside trips and got along with the workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in side a school and community center
Senior Group Leader (Current Employee), Brooklyn ,Ny,11201March 3, 2014
working with kids helping them learn, helping kids understand they homework.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering work
PREP COOK (Former Employee), Cleveland,OHNovember 18, 2013
Pros: working with senior citizen
Nice place to work at and to meet new people when working here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. My position was as a consultant.
Computer Specialist (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: comfortable environment
Cons: late hours
The environment was very relaxed and family oriented. The staff consisted of college students and everyone worked well together. The company did a lot of social responsibility events for the urban community where their office is located. Alll employees contributed their time and talents beyond the call of du ty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
energetic and productive work place
Front Desk/ Office Assistant (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: free trips and free food
Cons: summer outings were too hot
i enjoyed being employed at this particular job. i love kids and the smiles they have when having fun and feeling loved. If you were having a bad day seeing the kids made you happy again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place, flexible and great benefits
Children's Intensive Case Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: cell phones, monthly metrocards, many acalades.
Cons: no room for growth and salary doesn't increase
I enjoy my job because I like what I do. I am in the field most of the day visiting clients and advocating related services for their well being. I like the flexibility that comes with the job. I get along well with all colleagues and administrative staff. We have staff meeting and supervision bi-weekly. The hardest part of the job is dealing with non – more... compliant client's. Overall I have developed a good rapport with everyone on my caseload and other service providers as well. I am seeking change because I no longer wish to do field work as I have been doing this for over ten years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun ,fast pace enviroment
Volunteer (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: free lunch, great people to work with
Cons: short break
this company that i work for was really cool i got to meet new people and elderly people at that! they showed me that with just a smile can make a bigger an brighter day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grassroots Nonprofit Community Center
Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYDecember 23, 2012
Pros: working with wonderful families, relaxed work environment
Cons: low pay, and little room for growth
University Settlement is a great place to work. The people are friendly and the benefits are competitive. The work environment provides a sense of purpose to creating a true community feel. However within each program there is little room for growth and you can possibly end up in a silo.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Cook/Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHOctober 31, 2012
Pros: short breaks
Cons: it was volunteer
go to work 8am i got to greet everyone how walked in the door and answer phone calls some times i would have to make a copy or a fax
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very Professional and fun environment
Group Leader/K-5th Grade (Former Employee), Brooklyn NYOctober 24, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: no breaks
A typical day at work is taking the kids to supper, then go over lession plans, Play games, and then assist children with home-work.
Through out this experienceI i learn how to deal with kids of different ages and how to be better at what I do.Management was very fair, My co-worker was very very helpful and was always there to assist you in whatever – more... you are not comfortable with the hardest part of my job was leaving , I enjoyed every day spent with those kids. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and safe environment with a chance to interact with children
Senior Group Leader (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 25, 2012
The most enjoyable part about the job is watching the progress the children make while the hardest part might as well be finding a way to reach all the children. Its an almost family oriented setting between co-workers and management. Two things this job teaches you is patience and leadership. A typical day at work entails feeding the children supper – more... followed by homework help and then ending the day with team building activities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, fun and eductional
Senior Center (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 31, 2012
Pros: good food
Cons: sick clients
A typical day at work very Challenging, I deal with a lot of different personalities from Older Adults (Senior citizen). Most are good and some bad. I've learn alot of different cultures and languages (not fluently of course). With management and co-workers wroking as a team it all comes together with no worries at the end of a shift. Sometimes the – more... hardest part of my job is if one my clients is injured needing medical attention, when there is so little to do when looking at someone in pain. The best part of my job is when at the end of the day I know I helped someone in need – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Group Leader (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 22, 2012
I help the students with their homework and any other areas they struggle in academics. My co-workers are great they are there when i need assistane with anything. the ,st emjoyable part of my job is working with the children and seeing that smile on their faces.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Interviewer
Volunteered for Call Interviewer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 16, 2014
*Contacted individuals by telephone and explained the purpose of the interview
* Conducted surveys over the phone and gathered information based on personal opinion through individuals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture to be part of
Volunteer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 5, 2014
I love every minute I volunteer there. It is a great opportunity, and I love to help people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to be to learn
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 12, 2014
Pros: friendly staff and people
Cons: long hours and sitting in class rool
I loved learning a new trade skill it was fun and I am ready to join the workfore
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very pleasant when doing my placement at University Settlement.
Newcomer Settlement Worker - Volunteer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: a lot to learn, flexible hours
Cons: sometime gets too busy, lunch time delays
I did translation, tax return, filling out various application forms for clients who doesn't speak and write English. Many days of work that I have learned how to determine clients' indeed needs and sensitive on certain topic that they would rise up. The Settlement program is organized. I often help my supervisor putting up files in place in order to – more... get the files for clients in a efficiency way. The co-workers are nice and decent. They are always client-centred and focus on helping clients to achieve their specific needs.The hardest part of the job was doing tax return. Some family has complicated situation that require placement students to concentrate and be careful when doing tax return for them. We are responsible for any mistake that we made and should deliver the best service to our clients. The most enjoyable part of the job was being a computer class tutor. As I'm still volunteering at this agency as a computer tutor. I build bonds with all my students and strongly improved my computer and language skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Legal Assistant (Co-Op Placement)
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 14, 2013
Assisted clients in completing immigration applications and filed cases directly with the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada
Liaised between client and lawyers, scheduled and organized appointments, hearings and court dates
Delivered and picked packages and parcels when required
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Legal Assistant (Co-Op Placement)
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 14, 2013
Assisted clients in completing immigration applications and filed cases directly with the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada
Liaised between client and lawyers, scheduled and organized appointments, hearings and court dates
Delivered and picked packages and parcels when required