Find companies:
University of Alabama, Birmingham
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
146 reviews

University of Alabama, Birmingham Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and taught me discipline.
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALDecember 10, 2014
Good place to work and taught me discipline with irate people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Associate
Administrative Associate (Former Employee), Alabama, BirminghamNovember 13, 2014
Pros: the benefical and positive of helping others and being a team player.
Cons: having to say goodbye and leaving my work family and friends.
Typical workday included budget planning, purchasing, personnel duties, time management, contract management, travel arrangements & reimbursements, conference set up and management, invoice billing payments and disbursements, coverage of main office and disaster planning. The most enjoyable part was being a team player and the family aspect of the environment. – more... Helping others during the disaster in our city and surrounding cities made my job beneficial to see I could help and be a positive person in their lives. I would not have left if it not had been due to family reasons and taking the role as a guardian to my 2 yo granddaughter in a crisis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electronic Parking Equipment
Electronic Technician (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALNovember 12, 2014
Pros: first shift schedule
Cons: compensation
Installed, maintained and repaired electronic parking gates.

Installed, maintained and repaired keypad entry systems

installed, maintained and repaired card reader systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Annual Fund Advocate (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 30, 2014
Good way for students to earn extra money without interfering with school work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall great place to work to learn and grown
Office Administrator/Receptionist (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 20, 2014
Pros: the staff worked as a team
Cons: doctors had schedule difficulities
I learned to understand patients and help with their visits, I really enjoyed meeting new people and working with the staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work.
Animal Lab Technician II (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 13, 2014
Pros: good benifits
Cons: poor parking
A typical work day was hard work but fun and meaningful. I learned how to work with other people and to help them out. The management was ok. My coworkers were helpful as well as ready to finish the work day. The hardest part of the job was still working when a machine broke down. But it never stopped you from working. The most enjoyable part of the – more... job was working with other people and helping them with their problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UAB Health System
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 1, 2014
The centerpiece of the UAB Health System is UAB Hospital, one of the largest and most advanced in the nation. It was established in 1945 as the teaching hospital for what now is the UAB School of Medicine. Situated among major research centers and clinics, UAB Hospital provides patients with a complete range of primary and specialty care services, as – more... well as the most up-to-date treatments and innovations in health care. As a university hospital, UAB Hospital is a major center for clinical research and home to some of the top medical programs in America. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UAB Health System
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 1, 2014
The centerpiece of the UAB Health System is UAB Hospital, one of the largest and most advanced in the nation. It was established in 1945 as the teaching hospital for what now is the UAB School of Medicine. Situated among major research centers and clinics, UAB Hospital provides patients with a complete range of primary and specialty care services, as – more... well as the most up-to-date treatments and innovations in health care. As a university hospital, UAB Hospital is a major center for clinical research and home to some of the top medical programs in America. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UAB Health System
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 1, 2014
The centerpiece of the UAB Health System is UAB Hospital, one of the largest and most advanced in the nation. It was established in 1945 as the teaching hospital for what now is the UAB School of Medicine. Situated among major research centers and clinics, UAB Hospital provides patients with a complete range of primary and specialty care services, as – more... well as the most up-to-date treatments and innovations in health care. As a university hospital, UAB Hospital is a major center for clinical research and home to some of the top medical programs in America. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back research
REU Summer Research Assistant to Dr. Renato Camata (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALSeptember 22, 2014
Great opportunity to do paid research for a physics professor when I was still a young student.

Very laid back culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and never a predictable day.
Perioperative Svcs Care Tech (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALSeptember 21, 2014
Working in the OR consist of very busy days, working 10 to 12 hours days or nights. Some days you have to deal with working with a short staff and doing double duties, that's the hardest part about the job. Co-workers are very helpful and the management is average but could be better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Good and the Bad at UAB
PATIENT ACCOUNT REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALSeptember 12, 2014
A typical work day at UAB was coming in to the office and preparing for the patients daily. I was responsible for checking in patients and checking out patients, taking payments, making appointments, following up on calls, and also, pulling charts for 10 doctors. The management team was Ok as well as the co-workers. The hardest part of the job was getting – more... patients to understand policies and procedure set for the office. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning how to productively run a business office in a professional and comfortable manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Clinical Trials Billing Officer (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: off holidays
Cons: pay for parking
great co-workers
work 8-5 Monday thru Friday
great management for our department
off all holidays
good benefits/ vacation time
nice retirement plan
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same job
Specimen Processor (Former Employee), Surgical Pathology DepartmentAugust 27, 2014
Pros: great insurance
Cons: careful to list all specimens.. ensuring none get lost
Busy days. I learned be on a team. Management is fair. Co-workers are caring. The hardest part of this job was the accumulation of specimens after surgery that required daily assessioning. The most enjoyable part was there was coworkers dedicated to getting the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical staff was excellent, very professional
Clinical Work (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 15, 2014
Pros: occasional free lunch, great atmosphere
I found my time spent at sites were pleasant and educational, some of the most brilliant minds are employed at UAB.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at UAB
Administrative Associate (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 14, 2014
I love my job at UAB. I am able to take classes to advance myself. My day is extremely full of events, planning, and interactions with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and laid back
Food Service Worker (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 24, 2014
We prepare the food for delivery and we take it to the patients throughout the hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 20, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: too many "mico managers"
Friendly work atmosphere. I worked in the Urology clinic which is one of the busiest departments in the clinic. I most enjoyed assisting with procedures (vasectomy, prostate biopsies, Cystoscopies).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
#######
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 19, 2014
I really enjoyed learning in this environment. I learned the different insights from the different doctors when it comes to patient care. I have also learned from the nurses with the best way to do patient care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and people.
Engineer (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 2, 2014
UAB has a great atmosphere for people with a desire for high performance and low stress. The positive thinking individuals here working as a team making getting even the most difficult and time sensitive projects done without the headaches.

1 2 3 4 5