Find companies:
University of Alabama
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
114 reviews

University of Alabama Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable learning experience
Personnel Coordinator (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALNovember 8, 2014
Very structured, great place to grow and learn. Opportunities for advancement exists.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
faculty position
Assistant Professor (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALNovember 3, 2014
Went from tenure track to clinical faculty position. Tenure track position was work intensive with research, grants, teaching, and publication. Work as clinical faculty full-time is great. Love my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier, Customer Service, Accounting
Resident Advisor (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALOctober 28, 2014
With this position, the store had a grand opening and I started off in Customer Service. From that point, I moved to the accounting room where I balanced the registers and managed the floor as well. When they needed me to run the register for relief, I also did that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great On Campus Job
Math Lab Tutor and Monitor (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALOctober 27, 2014
Was great for my class schedule. Learned how to balance work and class load.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALOctober 26, 2014
This was, by far, one of the best jobs anyone could have! The opportunity to work for The University of Alabama was one that I will be forever grateful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive working atmosphere.
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 13, 2014
As a research assistant, my day to day task involved working on projects doing systematic literature review, data entry and analysis. I learned to work with deadlines. It was a very supportive working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with a lot of great people
Project Manager/Mechanical Design Engineer (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALOctober 11, 2014
Great people to work with and always made you want to do more.In charge on new construction projects. Met a lot on great contractors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Equipment Manager for the Men's Track team at the University of Alabama
Track Manager (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALSeptember 28, 2014
Great place to work. I made sure that the men's track uniforms were clean and ready for the next track meet. I helped coaches with data entry of stats of the team members. I traveled with team to various track events and helped to ensure that everything transpired as smoothly as possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A reserved, quiet atmosphere with friendly and caring employees.
Office Associate II (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: gifts at christmas. recognition of milestones. staff meals.
Answering phone calls, greeting visitors and guests. Preparing correspondence, arranging meetings. updating calendars, gathering data, invoicing clients, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and helpful environment for postdocs
Postdoctoral Researcher (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALSeptember 11, 2014
I have enjoyed my work at the university. The faculty and staff that I work with are very supportive and helpful. I have been exposed to many research and teaching opportunities, which are very important for my career development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and collaborative culture
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALAugust 14, 2014
The University seeks to further scholarship and promote an atmosphere of learning inside and outside the classroom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALAugust 5, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: nothing major
Graduate school has been a challenging feat but it has also been rather rewarding. The hardest part of my job was establishing a work/life balance. Overall, I truly have enjoyed my graduate school experiences. By pursuing a doctoral degree, I was finally able to devote my effort towards a subject that has really been interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Easy Job
Computer Technical Support (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALAugust 1, 2014
I was required to sit at my desk and answer the phone as teachers would find problems with their computers or projectors. I would then troubleshoot with them and try to get it working or go to the room myself and take a look in extreme cases. I was also responsible for checking equipment in all of the rooms during the summers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Computer Lab Monitor (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALJuly 15, 2014
wipe down a few desk, help a few people, finish your homework for pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment for research
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALJuly 5, 2014
As a Graduate Research Engineer, my main tasks are to carry out research, and complement my supervisor's teaching efforts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Volunteer Assistant Soccer Coach (Current Employee), TuscaloosaMay 14, 2014
Overall, the learning experience has been very beneficial and has given me tools to work anywhere. The staff were always available and gave continuous guidance to enhance my knowledge and experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Research Student (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALMay 14, 2014
Loved my job. Great people. Learned a lot about engineering. Fantastic experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Job
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALMay 6, 2014
• Delivered and installed office furniture to various buildings in the Tuscaloosa area
• Read blueprints and installed furniture for entire new school building projects
• Worked with a team to accomplish jobs and tasks over a course of different projects
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Assistant Community Director (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALApril 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great culture, beautiful campus
Great university culture. Students are generally great. Staff was great in Housing and cared about work/life balance. As a graduate assistant, I really knew my supervisor and others cared about my education and allowed me a flexible schedule to make sure all academics were first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please see my other review of UA
Part-time Teaching Instructor (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALApril 18, 2014
If you have to be a grad. assistant somewhere, UA is a great place to be one!

1 2 3 4 5

About University of Alabama

The University of Alabama (UA) is a public research university located in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA, and the flagship of the University – Read more